We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Ramcat

Hostel | Tallers 18, Barcelona, Spain 08001

83.1% Overall Rating

29 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Jack Cameron thinks…

"Hostal Ramcat is ideally situated in Barcelona. The metro is less than 5 minutes away and the beech is a 20 minute walk (although I'd thourougly recommend taking the alley way, it takes longer but is…"

Read all Hostal Ramcat reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please READ CAREFULLY this hostel do not accept bookings of 7 people or more. Even if the system will let you book, the hostel will reserve the right to cancel your booking. Please also note that HostelBookers deposits are non-refundable. Free check in: 12:30pm to 21:00pm Late check in charges: 25 euros/Each room (21:01 pm to 12:29pm) Check out: 10:30 to 11:00 a.m. *Groups 5 or more will pay an extra cleaning fee of 35€ per room *Change or switch rooms you will pay a cleaning fee of 35€ per room *A city tax will be applied to all guests over 15 years. Not included in the price(The tourist rate is 0.75 euros per person, per night) Please note that cancellation must be done at least 72hrs prior arrival otherwise we will charge you first night accommodation. We never consider any cancelation same day as arrival. We will charge you 100% payment if you decide to cancel after we check you in. No reception area.(The managment office hours are everyday from 11 am to 21 pm. It is mandatory that you CALL US when you arrive in Barcelona, and before you arrive to the apartment to receive your exact check in time.)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Soul Surfer BCN
30.45 USD

Hostel 92.7% 39 reviews
Barcelona City Ramblas
32.98 USD

Apartment 71.7% 19 reviews
St Christopher's Barcelona
11.29 USD

Hostel 87.7% 658 reviews
Hotel Ginebra
42.81 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Blueberry Rooms
25.37 USD

Apartment 86.4% 8 reviews
Rambla's Point Apartments
38.06 USD

Apartment 72.9% 8 reviews
AptBcn Super Balmes
40.59 USD

Apartment 90.4% 8 reviews
Alternative Creative Youth Home
23.72 USD

Hostel 89.8% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

29 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Ramcat'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 33 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jack Cameron

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 July 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Ramcat is ideally situated in Barcelona. The metro is less than 5 minutes away and the beech is a 20 minute walk (although I'd thourougly recommend taking the alley way, it takes longer but is well worth the time). The staff were also incredibly receptive and friendly throughout the stay. If your looking for something middle of the road in price and quality and practical then I'd recommend this place.

Disliked: Unfortunately there were a few issues with the room we booked which wasn't communicated before our arrival, meaning we spent our first night in an undersized room that was 35 degrees (C) and didn't have an ensuite like we paid for (a small token refund would have been nice). However the remaining nights we were given a 6 bed door all to ourselves, which between 3 of us wasn't to bad. Major downside with any of these rooms is that there is a lack of air conditioning, but they do do provide plenty of fans which offsets the heat a little bit. If you want something comfortable though I'd say just spend the extra 30/40 euros and get a hotel with air conditioning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicholas Solomou

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms too small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: 1. Too noisy, even at 2:00 at night ! 2. Late check-in fee is too much, 25 eur.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location!

Disliked: late check-in fee

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and nice

Disliked: noise from outside and a bit of bad smell

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

D?NCER BUDULGAN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013

Liked: Fiyat ve konum olarak değerlendirildiğinde oldukça başarılı. Ücretsiz wifii bulunmaktadır. Oda ve çarşaflar temiz, yatak ise rahat idi.

Disliked: Öncelikle hosteli bulmak oldukça zor, hosteli bulsanız bile elinize bir sürü anahtar veriyolar (dış kapı ara kapı tuvalet kapısı ve oda kapısı anahtarları) her girip çıktığınızda bu kapıları açıp kapayıp kitliyorsunuz. Bize verilen oda asansör boşluğuna bakan ve kesinlikle temiz hava alamadığınız bir odaydı. Tuvaletler size özel tuvalet olsa da odanın dışında koridarda ve herkesin içinden geçerek ulaşıyorsunuz. Banyoya anahtar kullanıyorsunuz sürekli ve genel olarak rahat hareket alanı bulunmamaktadır. Bu konuda gösterilen fotolar biraz aldatıcı. Ayrıca odalarda ses yalıtımı kesinlikle bulunmamaktadır. Odanın dışında biri nefes alsa duyuyorsunuz. Otelde görevli biri olmaması da sıkıntı tabi biraz. Fiyat göz önüne alındığında bir süre sonra kendiniz bazı çözümler bulup bu eksikliklere alışıyorsunuz.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and neat.

Disliked: No real common area, the athmosphere is not very social. It's definitely not a party hostel, but I suppose that's not a bad thing if you look for a calm place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Feja

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very cenral located at La Rambla, everything was very clean and nice, cheap prices

Disliked: It's not a real hostel (there is no reception or something similar) but rather a shared appartement. Therefore you had to call when you arrive to arrange a meeting. But for us that was totally okay! Negative: There was just one bathroom. But as we were the only guests at that time, that was also absolutely no problem!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location

Disliked: The no-guests rule.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt very comfortable in this hostel cause it was always clean and quiet. The best is that it's located in the center where you can reach everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the place was great. The hostel was clean, the cleaning lady changed our towels and bed linen every few days. We had no problems contacting the host who gave us some useful advice on things connected with Barcelona. Kitchen and all facilities were very good.

Disliked: Sometimes noises from other flats (not in the hostel itself).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Room was beyond small. Internet on the computer was terrible. Not very clean or organized. We were very disappointed in our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emina van Veen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Emina would recommend this property

Liked: Very stylish and clean, good location too

Disliked: Emina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Sheppard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel was clean and had great facilities (kitchen and wifi) and we were provided with towels and bedding and a fan in our room.

Disliked: If we had any questions there was no reception to ask.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, slept well and very quiet. Good shower en kitchen.

Disliked: Smoking people around te hostel. Opening windows means a smell of smoke. Also the cutlery wasn t conplete and only two chairs. Also arriving after 21:00 costed 25 Eu.. disapointing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tony Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

11 July 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: top location. real chilled helpful staff. clean, pretty good atmosphere. perfect for couples, less of a party vibe here but still a load of chracter and get to see some people about.

Disliked: slightly difficult to find, had to meet member of staff beforehand to be guided to. was only a slight inconvience. nothing else bad at all.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent; though loud (but it is Barcelona center so it is fine :-) ) - clean it is, and you have like a shared apartment

Disliked: No reception - you HAVE to call from your mobile phone on arrival. There is no radio or breakfast - all by yourself. it is not a hostel with the typical atmosphere but more a shared apartment. you can be lucky or not with other guests (only ONE bathroom !!!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cute place. There were 4 of us but they gave us a 6 bedroom place with our private bathroom. Shared a kitchen with about 4 other rooms, but everything was super clean and barely even say anyone else. Location was perfect for our short weekend in Barcelona, close to all the shopping and not a far walk to the beach.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013

Liked: Localization nera la Rambla.

Disliked: Private bathroom was not inside the room but at the end of corridor!!!! :// The owner wasn't nice and you should pay all amount while checking-in which is unique. We also had to pay extra 25euros for late check-in. Very uncomfortable bed!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, quiet despite being close to main streets

Disliked: little/no natural light, window opened into centre of the block of buildings (little ventilation), terrible smell in bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel, loved the apartment feel. We booked a room for 4 and got a room for 6. It was big and comfortable with a table and chairs. The communal kitchen is great and the bathroom was clean with a good shower. Fantastic location with great tapas around

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shirel zerobnick

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 shirel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very very clean! Friendly staff!

Disliked: Not much privacy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jere Tossavainen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Jere would recommend this property

Liked: It was a pleasant surprise that the pictures provided by the hostal really matched with reality. The rooms and the common areas were clean and decorated with a youthful taste. The best thing about this property was definitely its location - only a few steps away from the main street La Rambla. Cost-effective and peaceful!

Disliked: The only thing my friend and I were missing was the presence of the staff. As we were new in the city it'd have been nice to ask for some advice every now and then (e.g. about good restaurants, about the public transportation).