We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Swan Hostel

Hostel | Carrer Ali bei 15, Barcelona, Spain 08015

94.5% Overall Rating

87 out of 92 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2015)

Maya Kirby thinks…

"I arrived at the Black Swan Hostel after traveling around on my spring break staying in other hostels and this was definitely my favorite. The place has a really nice atmosphere and the staff is…"

Read all Black Swan Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note, for groups of 10 people or more the following conditions will apply. The hostel will charge first night of the total booking at the time of reservation to secure the booking. failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled. This charge and HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable. In Barcelona every tourist have to pay 0.72 euros person/night of city tax and it is not included in the price. The front desk is open 24 hours. We do not have any age restriction. You are all welcomed and our staff will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. FREE morning snack ( includes: Muesli, Cornflakes, Milk and Juice) Check in 14h Check out 11 We accept credit cards Breakfast not included 48h cancellation policy .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

360 Hostel Barcelona
16.68 USD

Hostel 89.3% 294 reviews
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
22.27 USD

Hostel 94.5% 24 reviews
Hip Karma Hostel
14.55 USD

Hostel 79.4% 167 reviews
LA ISLA HOSTAL
34.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Urquinaona
83.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Bed&Art Hostel
27.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Don Moustache Hostel
16.79 USD

Hostel 95.1% 14 reviews
Best Location in the Old city of Barcelona
39.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

87 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Swan Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maya Kirby

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived at the Black Swan Hostel after traveling around on my spring break staying in other hostels and this was definitely my favorite. The place has a really nice atmosphere and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The way the hostel is set up makes it easy to meet other travelers and make new friends.

Disliked: The bathrooms were clean but the showers were kind of small and difficult to use and the rooms were cramped but we barely spent any time in the room since there was so much to do in Barcelona so it wasn't that big of a deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan scrimgour

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, organised bar crawls, sorted us free entry to clubs every night

Disliked: jonathan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall facilities are new and neat

Disliked: Too cramped for 8-person room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Ian Craig

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 David Ian would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were friendly and helpful. They organised activities that were great fun and ideal for a Christmas stay. Great crowd of other guests. Good position, clean, friendly, secure and reasonable. Can't ask for much more.

Disliked: David Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom lowes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2014 tom would recommend this property

Liked: Black Swan is the best hostel i've ever stayed in in my life. The style and decor of the whole building is amazing, it's clean, the staff are friendly and very helpful (without even having to ask them). It's very sociable, they have lots of activites everyday, and lots of spaces to chill and chat with people. Free breakfast is offered daily, you can choose from 3 cereals and milk and free OJ! The location probably couldn't be better, it's a 10 minute walk to placa de cataluyna and a 3 minute walk to arc de triomph. The beds are super comfy, maybe memory foam, and they are extra long, im really tall and never fit in beds in hostels but here was an exception :D It feels like your staying over in a big house rather than a hostel. It's much nicer than most budget hotels so for around 7€ it's amazing + + + + +

Disliked: Literally nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Dillon

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: This was hands down the best (and cheapest!) hostel I've ever stayed at, and I've done my fair share of traveling. The hostel is nicely decorated and quite clean. Plus, the staff are super helpful and friendly!!! I casually mentioned that I was thinking of going to La Maquinista shopping center, and 5 minutes later, the staff member found me and gave me a map she had printed off of how to get there! Also, great location. A minute from the Arc de Triompf, and walking distance from Plaça de Catalunya, La Rambla, and the beaches. I highly recommend this hostel, and it's definitely where I will stay next time I come back :)

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serena grimaldi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2014 serena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I arrived late at night, unable to locate my friend who was supposed to meet me, as my phone wasn't working. The young man at the desk helped me fix the problem, and all was rectified. The location is great, it is near the Estacion Nord Bus station, and in a quiet area at night, although it is within easy walking distance of Placa Catalunya and The Ramblas, the Barri Gotic etc...There are 2 metro stations nearby Arc de Triomf, and Urquinaona. The place is very clean, with lockers in the room, and the building itself is a very elegant C19th Barcelona apartment block. There were 9 other women in my dorm, but, although it is a bit of a party hostel, I found the other women in the room that were coming in late, were very considerate, and did not disturb (too much), I stayed 6 nights, and saw a few people come and go, so I think I was lucky with my fellow travellers. I am (a very young) 68, and there was never anyone anywhere near my age in the hostel, but everyone was pleasant and I'm full of admiration of the young people who travel the world....

Disliked: It feels churlish to complain of anything as I did enjoy my stay here, but...I missed the lack of outside space, there's nothing quite like sitting outside at a table with a glass of wine on a warm evening, (even in November!) I'm not sure if there's anything they can do about this. Also they very kindly provide a snack free in the morning, a bowl of cereals and juice, tea and coffee, and its the coffee I have issue with. A jar of cheap supermarket instant coffee is not how I like to start the day, and I think a coffee machine and/ or a cafetiere could be supplied, a small thing I know, but I'm a coffee nut!!! (I actually bought a small cafetiere at the nearby Corte Ingles, 8 euros)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a quite street but not far from the centre.Staff was helpful and always smiling . My room was spacious with big lockers and air-conditioning, the breakfast was rather good and was free!!! The hostel was always clean and well kept.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central. Clean and comfy. Great kitchen and communal areas

Disliked: The aircon didn't work and one guest insisted on keeping window shut which made it unbearably hot. Rooms rather small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Bowring Bowring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Katherine Bowring would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Aaron was an awesome staff member. He took us on a few different activities each night. He made a special effort to take us to the magic fountain and then out to tapas one night. I felt he went out of his way to make our stay in Barcelona a good one.

Disliked: There weren't enough PowerPoints in the room and some of them didn't work. Other than that I enjoyed my stay here. It's defiantly a good hostel to stay at whilst in Barcelona

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Good decor with good vibes.

Disliked: The only thing lacked with chargers in the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Eisen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good breakfast, very clean, great lockers

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ahlani Adamson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Ahlani would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, fun people, clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Ahlani left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have a big kitchen is central and very clean hostel I like te atmosphere and the staff is helpfull Metro train and long line bus near hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Great staff.

Disliked: Too many people in the room. Incredibly slow computers. Decor was pretty bland. Too far from the centre of town / medieval quarter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oscar Garza

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, well located, clean and nice environment, and decent breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toma Stonyte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2014 Toma would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing was god! Place is new and clean, good location to reach everything. Staff very helpful and friendly. They have kitchen where serve breakfast or you can cook youself. Would definitely recomend this place!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Selezneva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

24 May 2014 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, great vibe, and awesome location next to the park. The place looks brand-spanking new, style reminiscent of a Manhattan loft. Cool kitchen and beautiful designer furniture in communal areas. They serve muesli and OJ for breakfast.

Disliked: You need someone to buzz you in and I found myself waiting outside the door for 3-5 minutes waiting for someone to buzz me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything about this place.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. There was also plenty of facilities making it a home away from home.

Disliked: Everything felt a little crammed in. I was on a bottom bunk in the corner and it did feel claustophobic but what do you expect in a dorm of 10? The toilet cubicles were very small as were the showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Poltera

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2014 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Suuper freundliche Mitarbeiter!!! Gute lage, leicht zu finden, man ist in kurzer Zeit bei den Sehenswürdigkeiten. Die Zimmer waren ordentlich, bequeme Betten. Genügend Duschen und Wc's! Werde auf jeden Fall wider kommen!!

Disliked: In unserem Raum hatte es in jedem Schliessfach Steckdosen, die leider nicht funktionierten. Wir mussten uns 2 Steckdosen teilen, war aber kein Problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joana Treffert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Joana would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms with nice balkony

Disliked: First Rom was without a window

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LESLIE PAYNE

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 LESLIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very good design - it's the best hostel I've stayed at so far .- metro and buses nearby.

Disliked: I have no dislikes - for what I paid I cannot complain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loek Tonnaer

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Loek would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable, though also very good accommodation. Staff is very friendly and helpful, the place is always clean, the location is very nice, and most (or even all) services you might need are offered.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike... the only minor thing to mention is that some rooms (like bedrooms and showers) are not that big, but who needs that in a hostel?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa McCosker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, vibe of the hostel was fantastic. Good kitchen facilities and public areas for socialising. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.