HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Swan Hostel

Hostel | Carrer Ali bei 15, Barcelona, Spain 08015

89.1% Overall Rating

67 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Jessica Smith thinks…

"The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. There was also plenty of facilities making it a home away from home."

Read all Black Swan Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note, for groups of 10 people or more the following conditions will apply. The hostel will charge first night of the total booking at the time of reservation to secure the booking. failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled. This charge and HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable. In Barcelona every tourist have to pay 0.72 euros of city tax and it is not included in the price.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

360 Hostel Barcelona
12.29 USD

Hostel 88.7% 287 reviews
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
15.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hip Karma Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 78.2% 161 reviews
Hostal Dos Reinos
23.47 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 200 reviews
LA ISLA HOSTAL
31.06 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bed&Art Hostel
34.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chill Out BCN
19.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bon Moustache Hostel
23.47 USD

Hostel 96.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

67 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Swan Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. There was also plenty of facilities making it a home away from home.

Disliked: Everything felt a little crammed in. I was on a bottom bunk in the corner and it did feel claustophobic but what do you expect in a dorm of 10? The toilet cubicles were very small as were the showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Poltera

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2014 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Suuper freundliche Mitarbeiter!!! Gute lage, leicht zu finden, man ist in kurzer Zeit bei den Sehenswürdigkeiten. Die Zimmer waren ordentlich, bequeme Betten. Genügend Duschen und Wc's! Werde auf jeden Fall wider kommen!!

Disliked: In unserem Raum hatte es in jedem Schliessfach Steckdosen, die leider nicht funktionierten. Wir mussten uns 2 Steckdosen teilen, war aber kein Problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joana Treffert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Joana would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms with nice balkony

Disliked: First Rom was without a window

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LESLIE PAYNE

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 LESLIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very good design - it's the best hostel I've stayed at so far .- metro and buses nearby.

Disliked: I have no dislikes - for what I paid I cannot complain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loek Tonnaer

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Loek would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable, though also very good accommodation. Staff is very friendly and helpful, the place is always clean, the location is very nice, and most (or even all) services you might need are offered.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike... the only minor thing to mention is that some rooms (like bedrooms and showers) are not that big, but who needs that in a hostel?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa McCosker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, vibe of the hostel was fantastic. Good kitchen facilities and public areas for socialising. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff and kitchen were excellent

Disliked: the constant music especially in the morning was annoying

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Over all Extremely clean, neat and cozy place to stay. Of course it is not a five star hotel! But this hostel is very clean and staffs are very friendly. I would definitely come back to this hostel, if I need one in Barcelona. 2. Good to hang out with other travelers and get informations. And also, since the size of hostel is not too large, it is easy and relaxed atmosphere to have small talk and hang out with other travelers. (From my experience, if the hostel is too big, it is more difficult to talk to other people and hang out with them, because most of the time they are traveling as a group...) 3. Perfect Location And the location is also perfect, either you are into beach or tourist attraction stuff.. You can reach most of the popular stuff on foot!! It is not in the middle of touristic place.. it is clean, safe and quiet at night. But at the same time, you can go the crowded place in 5 min by walking!! So I think it is perfect for travelers.. :-) 4. Staffs are willing to help you! If you need something, just ask them. They are extremely friendly and They are willing to help you. :-) 5. Extremely clean. I stayed here for a week. And from what I observed, I think they clean every single room every day. For toilet and showers, I have never seen it dirty. (I dunno how often they clean it, tho.) And I guess once a week, maintenance... I saw how they do the maintenance.. I think they clean all the bed and woods and fabrics with hot steam thing... really really clean!! 6. Price. I dunno how the price things work, but in my case, It was extremely cheap and quality very good.

Disliked: Really nothing!! But this was way better than I expected!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jiarui wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 jiarui would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I've ever stayed while I travel throughout Europe! Bar craw and free walking tours are organized to mingle all the travelers from every corner of this planet! Got to meet up with a bunch of lovely souls during my three nights stay! perfect location and super clean on top of only 9 euros a night. you really cannot beat this!

Disliked: im serious, there was nothing I didnt like about it...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kher Wee Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Kher Wee would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Prefer to assign beds, than have free selection. My bed was taken by someone else during the day when I got back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, staff, vibe, facilities and all round hostel was fantastic!

Disliked: The bathroom cubicles and showes are a little small but that's the only thing, and it's easy to get by.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was always clean and the design was very modern! Shower and toilet facilities were great.

Disliked: Not many plug facilities available especially for top bunk users.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Marlow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Kate was amazing - she provided so much helpful information and was excellent with the free events supplied by the hostel! Thank you so much! Love Danielle and Sara X

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor and furniture of this place is amazing. Kitchen is wonderful and fully equipped. The pub crawl organised by the staff was nice and a great way to meet others in the hostel.

Disliked: It must have been because of old pipes or something, but it often smelled like sewer (humidity?) in the washrooms and hallways. The air conditioning helped and they had air fresheners as well. Another negative is the loud music blasted throughout the hostel (gets very annoying after 2 days).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bed and good staffs good location. closed to bus terminal

Disliked: nothing about dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nice tidy rooms and felt very safe! very close walk to city centre and multiple metro stations!

Disliked: location of showers in relation to room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Shabalkina

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: It's a realy good and cheap place with the great atmosphere! It's a lot of good people there. I love it

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jared Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Walk to Sagrada Familia, Arc de Triomph or the beach.

Disliked: The lack of customer service skills. Seems as though the front desk help had no idea what to do. Upon checking out, I am sure the guy at the front desk was completely drunk.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Clean restrooms and showers and great computer area.

Disliked: We came for check-in and the sheets were still on the beds from the last guest. We had no idea which beds were ours. We had to wake everyone up in the middle bof the night for check-in. Will not be staying again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Spacey-Helder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, modern feel, small enough to feel included

Disliked: Dirty mattresses was about the only downside

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Millar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were good and the location was excellent.

Disliked: If you are travelling alone this is not a good hostel to meet people. The communal areas are quite small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013

Liked: Nice staff, though not from barcelona. Nice balconies, though no furniture on them.

Disliked: The hostel didn't really have a feel of a hostel, it felt more like a boutique hotel. The atmosphere an communal areas weren't conducive to socialising and it had quite a cold clinical feel to it (though the decor was smart). The rules felt overly strict - it was no drinking or smoking at all, not even on balconies. At my time there the hostel didn't arrange any sort of activities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Derya Yavuz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Derya would recommend this property

Liked: Although the room was crowded it wasn't overwhelming. Guests were respectful. Bathrooms and sheets were clean. And location is pretty good. It is 5 minutes walk from placa catalunya.

Disliked: Derya left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 STEPHANIE KA YING would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is in an old building with big balcony, the ceiling is so high so the room feels very spacious. the kitchen is awesome, i cooked every meal there and there is just one medium supermarket right next to the hostel, so it's easy to buy food with cheap price. the staff was very helpful and nice, u can always ask them questions.

Disliked: the location is a little bit in the middle of everything, so u have to walk a little extra everytime.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, facilities & staff.

Disliked: Nothing.