HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Black Swan Barcelona Hostel

Ali Bei 15, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 89%

Location 93%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

Please note, for groups of 10 people or more the following conditions will apply.
The hostel will charge first night of the total booking at the time of reservation to secure the booking. failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled. This charge and HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable. If the group is underage, parental permission is needed. Free cancellation up to 14 days before the arrival. In case of late cancellation or no-show, the hostel will charge the full amount of you stay.

In Barcelona every tourist have to pay 0.72 euros person/night of city tax and it is not included in the price.

The front desk is open 24 hours. We do not have any age restriction. You are all welcomed and our staff will do everything to make your stay enjoyable.
FREE morning snack ( includes: Muesli, Cornflakes, Milk and Juice)
Check in 14h
Check out 11
We accept credit cards
Breakfast not included
48h cancellation policy .

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 89%

Location 93%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 11-20 of 50 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All the staff were friendly and helpful. They organised activities that were great fun and ideal for a Christmas stay. Great crowd of other guests. Good position, clean, friendly, secure and reasonable. Can't ask for much more.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Black Swan is the best hostel i've ever stayed in in my life. The style and decor of the whole building is amazing, it's clean, the staff are friendly and very helpful (without even having to ask them).It's very sociable, they have lots of activites everyday, and lots of spaces to chill and chat with people.Free breakfast is offered daily, you can choose from 3 cereals and milk and free OJ! The location probably couldn't be better, it's a 10 minute walk to placa de cataluyna and a 3 minute walk to arc de triomph.The beds are super comfy, maybe memory foam, and they are extra long, im really tall and never fit in beds in hostels but here was an exception :DIt feels like your staying over in a big house rather than a hostel. It's much nicer than most budget hotels so for around 7€ it's amazing + + + + +

Disliked: Literally nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was hands down the best (and cheapest!) hostel I've ever stayed at, and I've done my fair share of traveling. The hostel is nicely decorated and quite clean. Plus, the staff are super helpful and friendly!!! I casually mentioned that I was thinking of going to La Maquinista shopping center, and 5 minutes later, the staff member found me and gave me a map she had printed off of how to get there! Also, great location. A minute from the Arc de Triompf, and walking distance from Plaça de Catalunya, La Rambla, and the beaches. I highly recommend this hostel, and it's definitely where I will stay next time I come back :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I arrived late at night, unable to locate my friend who was supposed to meet me, as my phone wasn't working. The young man at the desk helped me fix the problem, and all was rectified. The location is great, it is near the Estacion Nord Bus station, and in a quiet area at night, although it is within easy walking distance of Placa Catalunya and The Ramblas, the Barri Gotic etc...There are 2 metro stations nearby Arc de Triomf, and Urquinaona. The place is very clean, with lockers in the room, and the building itself is a very elegant C19th Barcelona apartment block. There were 9 other women in my dorm, but, although it is a bit of a party hostel, I found the other women in the room that were coming in late, were very considerate, and did not disturb (too much), I stayed 6 nights, and saw a few people come and go, so I think I was lucky with my fellow travellers. I am (a very young) 68, and there was never anyone anywhere near my age in the hostel, but everyone was pleasant and I'm full of admiration of the young people who travel the world....

Disliked: It feels churlish to complain of anything as I did enjoy my stay here, but...I missed the lack of outside space, there's nothing quite like sitting outside at a table with a glass of wine on a warm evening, (even in November!) I'm not sure if there's anything they can do about this. Also they very kindly provide a snack free in the morning, a bowl of cereals and juice, tea and coffee, and its the coffee I have issue with. A jar of cheap supermarket instant coffee is not how I like to start the day, and I think a coffee machine and/ or a cafetiere could be supplied, a small thing I know, but I'm a coffee nut!!! (I actually bought a small cafetiere at the nearby Corte Ingles, 8 euros)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Overall facilities are new and neat

Disliked: Too cramped for 8-person room

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very central. Clean and comfy. Great kitchen and communal areas

Disliked: The aircon didn't work and one guest insisted on keeping window shut which made it unbearably hot. Rooms rather small.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel was in a quite street but not far from the centre.Staff was helpful and always smiling . My room was spacious with big lockers and air-conditioning, the breakfast was rather good and was free!!!The hostel was always clean and well kept.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Aaron was an awesome staff member. He took us on a few different activities each night. He made a special effort to take us to the magic fountain and then out to tapas one night. I felt he went out of his way to make our stay in Barcelona a good one.

Disliked: There weren't enough PowerPoints in the room and some of them didn't work. Other than that I enjoyed my stay here. It's defiantly a good hostel to stay at whilst in Barcelona

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good decor with good vibes.

Disliked: The only thing lacked with chargers in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, good breakfast, very clean, great lockers

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability