We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Swan Hostel

Hostel | Carrer Ali bei 15, Barcelona, Spain 08015

94.9% Overall Rating

80 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/11/2014)

serena grimaldi thinks…

"The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I arrived late at night, unable to locate my friend who was supposed to meet me, as my phone wasn't working. The young man at the desk helped…"

Read all Black Swan Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note, for groups of 10 people or more the following conditions will apply. The hostel will charge first night of the total booking at the time of reservation to secure the booking. failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled. This charge and HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable. In Barcelona every tourist have to pay 0.72 euros person/night of city tax and it is not included in the price. The front desk is open 24 hours. We do not have any age restriction. You are all welcomed and our staff will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. FREE morning snack ( includes: Muesli, Cornflakes, Milk and Juice) Check in 14h Check out 11 We accept credit cards Breakfast not included 48h cancellation policy .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

360 Hostel Barcelona
9.99 USD

Hostel 88.6% 292 reviews
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
9.87 USD

Hostel 94.4% 23 reviews
Hip Karma Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 79.4% 167 reviews
LA ISLA HOSTAL
25.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Urquinaona
75.90 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Bed&Art Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chill Out BCN
88.55 USD

Guesthouse 76.2% 3 reviews
Bon Moustache Hostel
12.27 USD

Hostel 95.7% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

80 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Swan Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 84 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Marlow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Kate was amazing - she provided so much helpful information and was excellent with the free events supplied by the hostel! Thank you so much! Love Danielle and Sara X

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor and furniture of this place is amazing. Kitchen is wonderful and fully equipped. The pub crawl organised by the staff was nice and a great way to meet others in the hostel.

Disliked: It must have been because of old pipes or something, but it often smelled like sewer (humidity?) in the washrooms and hallways. The air conditioning helped and they had air fresheners as well. Another negative is the loud music blasted throughout the hostel (gets very annoying after 2 days).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bed and good staffs good location. closed to bus terminal

Disliked: nothing about dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nice tidy rooms and felt very safe! very close walk to city centre and multiple metro stations!

Disliked: location of showers in relation to room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Shabalkina

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: It's a realy good and cheap place with the great atmosphere! It's a lot of good people there. I love it

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jared Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Walk to Sagrada Familia, Arc de Triomph or the beach.

Disliked: The lack of customer service skills. Seems as though the front desk help had no idea what to do. Upon checking out, I am sure the guy at the front desk was completely drunk.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: Clean restrooms and showers and great computer area.

Disliked: We came for check-in and the sheets were still on the beds from the last guest. We had no idea which beds were ours. We had to wake everyone up in the middle bof the night for check-in. Will not be staying again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Spacey-Helder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, modern feel, small enough to feel included

Disliked: Dirty mattresses was about the only downside

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Millar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were good and the location was excellent.

Disliked: If you are travelling alone this is not a good hostel to meet people. The communal areas are quite small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013

Liked: Nice staff, though not from barcelona. Nice balconies, though no furniture on them.

Disliked: The hostel didn't really have a feel of a hostel, it felt more like a boutique hotel. The atmosphere an communal areas weren't conducive to socialising and it had quite a cold clinical feel to it (though the decor was smart). The rules felt overly strict - it was no drinking or smoking at all, not even on balconies. At my time there the hostel didn't arrange any sort of activities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Derya Yavuz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Derya would recommend this property

Liked: Although the room was crowded it wasn't overwhelming. Guests were respectful. Bathrooms and sheets were clean. And location is pretty good. It is 5 minutes walk from placa catalunya.

Disliked: Derya left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 STEPHANIE KA YING would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is in an old building with big balcony, the ceiling is so high so the room feels very spacious. the kitchen is awesome, i cooked every meal there and there is just one medium supermarket right next to the hostel, so it's easy to buy food with cheap price. the staff was very helpful and nice, u can always ask them questions.

Disliked: the location is a little bit in the middle of everything, so u have to walk a little extra everytime.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, facilities & staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pamela Migalska

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in the city center but not as central as one would hope. Its a 15-30 min minute walk to attractions, which isnt bad but i thought it was better located. Hostel itself is very modern and has great character. The guy at reception was very helpful, and we only stayed a night but could see there were many services offered we wish we were there long enough to take advantage of (ie walking tour, bar crawl etc)

Disliked: While the beds were REALLY comfortable the mattress was dirty. There was hair all over it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gábor Trefán

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Gábor would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice interior and good location

Disliked: A bit tiny rooms and shower places but it didn't affect my overall satisfaction and experience.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Cândido

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms and bedrooms, nice atmosphere, nice location and kitchen. Really good one!

Disliked: Lucas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location and overall nicest hostel I have ever stayed at! No complaints with my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay, big rooms, friendly staff, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brigita Ho?evar

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Brigita would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is extremely nice and friendly, especially stefano. the hostel is very close to la rambla, the main street.

Disliked: Brigita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gohar Baghdasaryan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Gohar would recommend this property

Liked: it was really very clean, and the place was perfect, very close to everything what we needed

Disliked: only toilets weren't so clean as we expected

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasya Shabalkina

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Anastasya would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and good conditios

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was absolutely amazing! It's very clean and tidy, it has free and secure lockers, free wifi and comfy beds with new linen. I never had to wait for toilet or shower, my food wasn't eaten by the cookie monster :) and the location is perfect as it's in the middle of three best places: Park Güell, beaches and Old Town.

Disliked: I guess it's just my bad luck staying at the same time as a school trip and eating at the very same time, but kitchen area seemed quite small... However, there's definitely enough cookery and cutlery!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastiaan van der Burg

Alone

City break

15 April 2013 Sebastiaan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to the city, it's only 5 min walk! In the locker is a powerpoint with USB connection and a plug, also very good free internet!

Disliked: To small showers and toilets!! You must put your clothes out of the shower when you go to the shower, otherwise all your clothes a weth!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yun Shen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Yun would recommend this property

Liked: It"s overall a nice hostel. Decent Location, and very nice atmosphere. We actually love the small livingroom and the kitchen, The staffs are very friendly and helpful, speak also very well english! The rooms are pretty small, though, very clean and safe. We had a very nice time here!!!

Disliked: You have to keep pushing the button to get water when you are taking a shower, this is a little bit annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Maimoni

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is brand new and modern... Staff is very helpful, especially Natalia which was very friendly. Kitchen has everything you need.

Disliked: Not much about the hostel.... but had the unluck of staying in a 14 bed bedroom.. where 10 people were american "spring break" girls.... you do the maths.Many noisy people at night as well.