We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Microtel Bauhaus Gran Via

Hostel | Gran Via 686, Flat E-1, Barcelona, Spain 08010

92.9% Overall Rating

68 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2015)

Elena Arrivabene thinks…

"The room, kitchen and bathroom are very nice and clean, and there are all comforts and the amenities needed. The staff is really friendly and kind. Marco supported us in everything, giving us…"

Read all Microtel Bauhaus Gran Via reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. Check in after 20:30 until 22:30 have a late Check in charge of 12€ Check in after 22:30 until 0:00 have a late Check-in charge of 25€ Check in after 0:01 until 02:00 have a late Check-in charge of 40€

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Gran Central Inn
22.39 USD

Apartment 84.0% 107 reviews
AptBcn Gran Via
27.98 USD

Apartment 81.4% 4 reviews
Ella Hostel Barcelona
24.63 USD

Hostel 90.5% 55 reviews
Don Moustache Hostel
16.79 USD

Hostel 95.1% 14 reviews
Fabrizzios Terrace
16.79 USD

Hostel 94.9% 14 reviews
Mediterranean Hostel Barcelona
16.68 USD

Hostel 91.2% 77 reviews
Praktik Garden
35.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.4% 112 reviews
Soul Backpackers Barcelona
19.03 USD

Hostel 88.8% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

68 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Microtel Bauhaus Gran Via'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 71 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Arrivabene

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2015 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The room, kitchen and bathroom are very nice and clean, and there are all comforts and the amenities needed. The staff is really friendly and kind. Marco supported us in everything, giving us valuable information about the city, places of artistic and landscape interest and the local surroundings The location is great: it is in the city centre and there are many interesting places nearby. It is also served by many public transport, so you can quickly reach any part of the city. Thank you Marco. It were great days!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Khokhrina

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I would say this place is perfect for a family vacation. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and unexpectedly fancy, even with a real nice modern picture on the wall. It had an AC and a big screen TV with a huge collection of movies in different languages. Beds were comfortable, blankets very warm. Kitchen is fully equipped with all cutleries, plates, mugs, wine glasses, pans. Every room has its own space in the fridge and a couple of shelves. The location of the Microtel is perfect: in less then 20 minutes on foot one can easily reach all important "must-see" places in Barcelona, such as Sagrada Familia, Old Cathedral or the beach. Futhermore, a supermarket and some bars are literally next-door. Also there are a couple of outlets such as Mango for those who likes to go shopping.

Disliked: The hotel has enough bathrooms, however, some of the are very smal, kind of tiny, one even had a fungus on the ceiling. Also not all guests followed the rules of the place, so from time to time the kitchen and bathrooms were not very tidy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, air conditioned rooms, cleaned regularly and good kitchen facilities. Staff very helpful

Disliked: Only one shower shared between 4 rooms, can be a bit of a wait when all female residents

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great chill out rooftop courtyard!

Disliked: No front desk...a bit tough to coordinate to get in the building. Late checkin fees...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent weekend, very friendly staff who gave us a great introduction to Barcelona. Lovely clean room and great location (a ten minute walk to the main attractions). Would not hesitate to recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Alexander

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing. Manuel was super friendly and load us with the best information about the City. The Hotel is Brand new, with TV in the rooms with free movies. Shared Bathrooms was never a problema very clean always. The provide all bed set and towels. I must tell the same about the Kittchen. We totaly like this place, is very nice decorated. Hope to come back again.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Star

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Every things was just perfect! That's guys so much!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Microtel Bauhaus is just a few minutes walk away from Plaça Catalunya and therefore the cite centre of beautiful Barcelona. It is the perfect location for couples or people who are looking for a calm stay in Barna. The owners are in incredibly friendly and helpful, give you lots of advice about the city and make you feel like at home. The facilities are very clean and well equipped, especially if you want to cook yourself. We highly recommend it to anyone who is not looking for a party hostel (honestly, there is party everywhere in Barcelona, so get yourself a place to relax!) and will definitely come back at some point!

Disliked: We did not find anything to dislike

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very central and within walking distance of most places we wanted to visit. The staff were very friendly and gave us lots of advice and suggestions of where to go and what to do during our visit. We arrived just after the check in time, but the staff very kindly did not charge us the late check in fee. The whole property was very tidy and clean, very good kitchen facilities and a lovely outdoor terrace downstairs. There's a tv in every room with lots of films to watch in english or spanish. We would stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Abbott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent briefing by the person that met us at the hotel (in a building of flats). Detailed guide on what to do in Barcelona, guide of the appartments and facilities available. There is no reception but the staff are easily contacable by phone in the apartment. A feel of independence yet you get to interact and mingle with the other guests, cook/store your own food and drinks. A short ten minute walk to the main Square! highly recommended!!!!

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Movies, music, safety, clean rooms, kitchen use, location! It was great

Disliked: Just had trouble getting in to the second apartment to use the terrace

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is quite new and clean, the room is big and the bed is really comfortable. The kitchen is modern and full equiped with all stuff you need.

Disliked: No negative things. Just for advice: if you arrive late you have to pay a 20 or 40€ fee. We didn't know that before reservation and we arrived on time so no problem for us.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013

Liked: Really clean, pretty good location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Well equipped. Probably great if travelling in a small group or with children.

Disliked: Really noisy in terms of street noise, and hearing every whisper of other guests. Not a really nice environment to relax in when you are looking for a little time out. Not great value for money overall considering how competitive the accomodation market is in Barcelona. Didn't really suit my needs but not too bad overall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelina Bileviciute

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Evelina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, walking distance, nice and safe area to stay in. The apartment was very clean, spotless! Daria was an amazing helper, gave lots of good advises what to visit, how to get there, where to have a nice spanish dinner, and etc. I would recommend to all my friends!

Disliked: Evelina left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013

Liked: It's a good place if you want a more private stay and less partying. The shared bathrooms were always clean and we never had any problems to wait for a bathroom.

Disliked: The room fans ARE noisy and the rooms ARE HOT! We couldn't leave the windows open as it faced the main street and there was traffic all night long. It was VERY HOT and difficult to sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Grooby

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Erick the host was amazing, he spent ages checking us in and made us really feel settled in Barcelona. Room is nice and private with a full kitchen available for use

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joren Swinnen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Joren would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything. The location is really close to the central square in Barcelona (Plaça de Catalunya) so it was very easy to reach. When we got there we immediately got a tour around the apartment and everything was really beautiful and nice. We had a great room and a beautiful bathroom. The kitchen had everything anyone would need to cook and Daria and Erick were really nice and showed us around from the beginning. We could always ask them anything and they would reply really fast and truthful.

Disliked: Nothing, really a great place to stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tommy McGlynn

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Tommy would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the convenience of Microtel, with it being located within walking distance of most of the places your going to want to be going to in Barcelona, La Rambla, El Born, Sagrada Família, Gothic Quarter etc etc (and even if you intend to go further afield then it has a Metro station also very near). Whats more the staff, particularly a lovely Chilean man named Erich who we dealt with, were very helpful and pleasant to deal with, giving you a short guide to the city on your arrival with tips on where to eat, drink and visit during your stay. Additionally the cleanliness and the all round presentation of Microtel was as good as I've seen while travelling.

Disliked: My only real complaint about Microtel was the lack of any real reception area, this can be a little confusing when first trying to find and navigate the property, however this is overcome somewhat by the 24-hour phone help the staff provide you with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mirijan grahovac

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 mirijan would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutley loved staying at this hotel.I was looking for a property that was central enough to everything walking distance,clean,affordable,a place where grocieries where close by and in an area where i felt safe.This place embodied everyone of these traits! When we arrived we were happy to see how nice the building was and when we entered the hotel we recieved a tour of the appartment they have every amenity you need including extras like a balcony,and a brand new patio you can go to and have a glass of wine in after a long day of being a tourist to just kick back and relax. Overall i would return to this hotel/appartment in a heart beat! Erick and Daria were the ideal hosts and I cannot wait to be back in Barcelona in the future and stay in your little oasis! Ps.take the airport bus (6 euros) when you arrive the hotel is like3 blocks away from where it drops you off ! saves you from spending 30-40 on a cab : )

Disliked: nothing it had every amenity you need and the comfort of being at home.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Elizabeth Nott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a good location, had good bathrooms, we had a TV with an extensive choice of films, good kitchen, pretty friendly staff, we had an incident with the water which had to be turned off on the night we were staying but they provided bottle water for doing teeth etc and gave us a free breakfast at a local cafe as an apology.

Disliked: We couldn't make the first night due to trains and called ahead to let them know but we were still charged the same rate, there was no air conditioning just a ceiling fan and our little room became an oven!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adele Fawcett

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 July 2013 Adele would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location! Very very friendly and helpful staff, spend an hour showing us places we could go and what we could do on a budget in Barcelona. Very clean - an oven in the kitchen too which was useful. The fridge even had allocated shelves for each bedroom. This is more like an apartment than a hostel, it was brilliant value for money. We would definitely come here again!

Disliked: Nothing! :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was beautiful and cosy, not to mention the benefits of having 200 current films to choose from. Was quiet at most times, especially as everyone else would be out during the day time. But those around were like-minded travellers like us who were very friendly. The facilities in the kitchen were fantasic, didn't have to eat out every day so kept the costs down. And Daria was extremely helpful, gave us alot of tips and advice on where to go and how exactly to get there.

Disliked: Only having one shower between all the guests but if you time it (usually having yours at night instead) there isn't much to worry about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant with plenty of local knowledge and information and tips about the area as well as being very friendly and approachable. The location was fantastic, very central and close to the metro. Good shower and kitchen facilities. Very clean too!

Disliked: Nothing really...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, extremely clean rooms, bathrooms and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

19 May 2013

Liked: The location was good and quiet, the place is very clean, excellent cuisine, good price and the owner is very helpful and nice. Highly recommended for those looking for a good location at a good price for a place to sleep with a kitchen

Disliked: Toilet and shower outside the room and shared with other rooms, but we knew that before and it is very good for the price, and the shower / toilet are very clean so that's fine. If anyone else use the water so the shower was cold water for a few moments. If the flight in the last day after check-out, then have to go put the bags in lockers elsewhere (not that bad, explain exactly where to go and it is in central place)