HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gracia City Hostel

Hostel | Carrer De San Pere Martir 18, Barcelona, Spain 08012

89.8% Overall Rating

239 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

Stacy Neal thinks…

"very clean and good location, hostel very close to city center . The wifi connection was very good in any area of ​​hostel"

Read all Gracia City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.43
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Please note that the check in time is between 3 PM and 22pm. Check ins after time can be arranged, but its necessary that the clients advise before. Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 48hrs. before arrival (local time). If this is not the case and the booking is about 1 to 6 nights, we will charge 1 night. If the reservation is about more than 6 nights (from the seventh night) we have the obligation to charge the full amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
17.08 USD

Hostel 94.1% 1083 reviews
Hip Hostel Barcelona
13.79 USD

Hostel 88.0% 5 reviews
Rodamón Hostel
21.38 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews
Sant Jordi Gracia
12.52 USD

Hostel 98.1% 120 reviews
Barcelona Sport Hostels
10.12 USD

Hostel 85.1% 15 reviews
Duo by Somnio Hostels
18.98 USD

Hostel 87.0% 121 reviews
Generator Barcelona
14.55 USD

Hostel 92.1% 171 reviews
Generator Hotel Barcelona
51.87 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

239 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gracia City Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 268 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013

Liked: Location well-suited for site seeing

Disliked: 1. The "private" accommodation felt very exposed, as one wall of the room was literally a sliding glass door facing the street, with virtually no shelter from the street noise and ill fitting curtains hardly managing to protect privacy and keep street light out. 2. The bed was truly the worst mattress I have ever tried to sleep on. 3. This tiny room had no closet or drawers or real facility to unpack comfortably without tripping over one's own things. 4. It's a party hostel, aimed at very young backpackers and not at all a comfortable place for anyone hoping to have a quiet, early night to rest and sleep. 5. The gentlemen running the hostel made no attempt to accommodate or offer a refund when I became ill and needed to leave two nights earlier than I planned. Instead, he shrugged his shoulders, said refunds weren't possible since I had stayed one night already, took no action to offer me a more comfortable situation, and suggested I eat more vegetables.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Bramley

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 June 2013 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Home from home .. amazingly cool staff, very easy going, very impressed!

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Odhrán Gillman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Odhrán would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, cheap and cheerful. Internet is good (when it connects).

Disliked: Not enough plug sockets in the rooms. In 6 bed there was only 4 and in a 4 bed only 2.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caterina Tavagnutti

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Caterina would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I enjoyed a lot staying at Gracia City Hostel!! The staff is very very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is easy and for every problem there's always somebody there to help. The facilities are good since there's a big kitchen, wi-fi, computer spots and Tv. The metro station is just a short walk away, and in short time you can get everywhere you want. It's clean and tidy, nobody can get in without the card so there aren't any safety problems.

Disliked: Sometimes short queues at the bath but -hey, common baths is how hostels work! It can't really be described as a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheridan McLeod

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Sheridan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! And the 2 guys on reception could not be nicer!! It is the second time ive stayed here and would definately return..... good location, good value, so clean and quite!

Disliked: however the internet is terrible it is the only one negative, but it is so important when travelling to be able to access it reliably. But thanks for a great stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JULIO CESAR TORRES PEREZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 JULIO CESAR would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very kind

Disliked: some other customers haha

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in one of ghe most vibrant districts in Barcelona. Very helpful and friendly staff. Spotless room. Unusually for Spain this hostel has FREE wifi, huge bonus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013

Liked: The sofa in the living room

Disliked: The rooms were too small and the bathroom of the zero floor is almost next to the reception (people all around)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to paseo de Gracia and its amenities, staff friendliness, well served by metro and other public transport, cleanliness.

Disliked: Nothing really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nicely decorated. A good place. There´s a really large common room and a kitchen so you can save some money by cooking yourself. The rooms are nice, quite clean.

Disliked: The lockers in our room was broken. Not sure if that was the norm though. It was kind of out of the way, being located in Gracia. But it was a good price and a nice place (much cleaner and prettier than the Ramblas hostel I stayed in subsequently)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Always greeted us with a smile and asked us how our day went. The art on the walls was quite fun as well and there was always a good reggae tune in the background.

Disliked: The rooms should be cleaned more often.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David McLean

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely location close to many major streets with fun and friendly staff in a clean and quirky hostel. What's not to love?

Disliked: Getting laundry done can take a little time, but so long as you plan ahead you won't have any problems.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEJANDRO GANA

Alone

Family Holiday

07 May 2013 ALEJANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: Es un hostel muy economico pero cuenta con todo lo necesario. Buena disposiciòn de los recepcionistas.

Disliked: is quite far away from the centre, but not really much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SELMAN VAROL

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 May 2013 SELMAN would recommend this property

Liked: it was great time at gracia, especially staffs

Disliked: walking from fontana is long ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kevin broni

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff. really makes this a pleasant experience. I planned to stay a few days and ended up staying over two weeks. Its extremely clean, with great facilities, the staff are very considerate and proud, and this is evident, they take thier time to show you around, suggest, and are on call 24 hrs they are the best hostel staff I´ve come across, excellent

Disliked: It´s difficult to find something to dislike, but some the hostel is not in Gottica, Its in Gracia, which is a traditonal Catalan area, so its a little Quieter, it´s not really a hostel where people are looking to party hard, most people, eat in the kitchen at night, then maybe hang out in tv area, go on the computers and maybe have and talk to other travellers, its that kind of vibe, very chilled, very repectful, but that wont be for everyone and those looking to get hammered and hook up might be a bit dissapointed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable common room with big flat screen tv-- a great place to stay. I would definitely come back.

Disliked: Sometimes you have to shower at off peak times if you want hot water. They had signs saying if you had cold water the staff could find you a solution, but I never asked, and staff was super helpful on everything else. So if you ask this might not even be an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Im so glad, that I choosed this hostel- it was just a perfect stay! Really one of the best hostels I stayed in- it started already with an symphatic e-mail contact. I had a lot of questions and they answered me all and also gave me extra tips to come on the easiest way. The staff members do a great job, good atmosphere and a really nice location!! They gave me a map for free and a lot of good tips for topspots- I felt like having tips from real insiders!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gabriela Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel stays in a really good area, few minutes to the metro. You can go walking to visit a lot of things! The staff are very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is very cool, I've met a really good people there. The bed linen smells very well.

Disliked: Sometimes people left the dishes dirty, what it was impossible to wash mine. The bathrooms are too small, but everything okay for me

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Hernández Rivera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the best part of my experience

Disliked: the kitchen area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Kiely

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in so far - I stayed 2 nights more than I initially booked. Nice, quiet area of Gracia away from the touristy hustle and bustle, but close enough to walk anywhere. Really friendly staff, always ready to give really helpful advice - showed us a really great bar nearby! Great atmosphere in the rooms and common area/kitchen meant I had no trouble meeting the other friendly people staying there. Felt safe and secure with 24-hour keycard access to the rooms, I did use a locker but it never really felt necessary.

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: the water in the shower is usually cold

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethel Hailemichael

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Bethel would recommend this property

Liked: The best people at any hostel I have stayed at. Whatever you need there is always someone to help. Handwritten directions to all the best sites and clubs also is a favorite of Alina. Great atmosphere, great location, and one of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right from the start the stafe was very helpful, welcoming, and friendly. They were constantly offering help, direction, or even just a nice friendly smile upon entering and exiting. I felt safe and secrue wit hthe key system they use both on the entire facility but in the rooms as well. The kicthen atmosphere was really cool and a fun place to chat with other travelers. I never actually used the facility to I can't speak on that but it was a fun vibe.

Disliked: The wifi was never guaranteed as it continually would switch on and off or certain people would just not be able to connect for long lengths of time. I usually prefer not using wifi but when traveling it is a big necesity to look up information and connect with the people you are traveling with. The bed linnens were not exactly the cleanest or most comfortable. The pillows were equavilent to me scrunhing up a sweater and using it as a pillow. And the shower areas could be cleaned better. It would also be nice if they posted a check sheet / log to show when the last time the bathroom spaces were cleaned. Upon arriving they make you pay a 15 euro deposit for a key (which is pretty high , but a deposit is understandable) but this was posted nowhere on the site so I had no idea about this previously and when traveling on a strict budget and not bringing extra this is a huge problem that travelers need to be aware of when traveling. In the information it says towels are provided, I think it might have mentioned for 1 euro but they are 2 euros

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013

Liked: The staffs are very helpful, the location is great, there is a fully functional kitchen to cook

Disliked: The room I stayed in (8 beds) is very crowded and there is very little space. It's so small and I feel a bit suffocated when everybody is in there. Overall it's not very comfortable. I wouldn't really recommend it to anyone but for the good price it offers, anyone on a budget trip would probably like to stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was quite good. Receptionist was friendly. The Sunday night rate I booked was really cheap (9 euro in 12 bed dorm).

Disliked: It was almost impossible to connect to the wifi that night I arrived, probably because many people were using it. It actually worked perfectly next early morning. But still quite annoying if it doesn't work when you need Internet for doing travel research.

The property's response is...