HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gracia City Hostel

Hostel | Carrer De San Pere Martir 18, Barcelona, Spain 08012

92.1% Overall Rating

222 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Anthony Middleton thinks…

"A hostel with an excellent location. I stayed in the room for 12 people mixed and although you have to be a lot of people, I have spent great."

Read all Gracia City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.70
  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Please note that the check in time is between 3 PM and 22pm. Check ins after time can be arranged, but its necessary that the clients advise before. Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 48hrs. before arrival (local time). If this is not the case and the booking is about 1 to 6 nights, we will charge 1 night. If the reservation is about more than 6 nights (from the seventh night) we have the obligation to charge the full amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
26.37 USD

Hostel 94.5% 1040 reviews
Hip Hostel Barcelona
22.69 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
Rodamón Hostel
36.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sant Jordi Gracia
22.69 USD

Hostel 98.2% 106 reviews
Barcelona Sport Hostels
19.47 USD

Hostel 80.0% 3 reviews
Duo by Somnio Hostels
26.86 USD

Hostel 86.4% 119 reviews
Generator Barcelona
18.80 USD

Hostel 89.8% 157 reviews
Generator Hotel Barcelona
55.06 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

222 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gracia City Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 150 of 249 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SELMAN VAROL

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 May 2013 SELMAN would recommend this property

Liked: it was great time at gracia, especially staffs

Disliked: walking from fontana is long ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kevin broni

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff. really makes this a pleasant experience. I planned to stay a few days and ended up staying over two weeks. Its extremely clean, with great facilities, the staff are very considerate and proud, and this is evident, they take thier time to show you around, suggest, and are on call 24 hrs they are the best hostel staff I´ve come across, excellent

Disliked: It´s difficult to find something to dislike, but some the hostel is not in Gottica, Its in Gracia, which is a traditonal Catalan area, so its a little Quieter, it´s not really a hostel where people are looking to party hard, most people, eat in the kitchen at night, then maybe hang out in tv area, go on the computers and maybe have and talk to other travellers, its that kind of vibe, very chilled, very repectful, but that wont be for everyone and those looking to get hammered and hook up might be a bit dissapointed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable common room with big flat screen tv-- a great place to stay. I would definitely come back.

Disliked: Sometimes you have to shower at off peak times if you want hot water. They had signs saying if you had cold water the staff could find you a solution, but I never asked, and staff was super helpful on everything else. So if you ask this might not even be an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Im so glad, that I choosed this hostel- it was just a perfect stay! Really one of the best hostels I stayed in- it started already with an symphatic e-mail contact. I had a lot of questions and they answered me all and also gave me extra tips to come on the easiest way. The staff members do a great job, good atmosphere and a really nice location!! They gave me a map for free and a lot of good tips for topspots- I felt like having tips from real insiders!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gabriela Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel stays in a really good area, few minutes to the metro. You can go walking to visit a lot of things! The staff are very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is very cool, I've met a really good people there. The bed linen smells very well.

Disliked: Sometimes people left the dishes dirty, what it was impossible to wash mine. The bathrooms are too small, but everything okay for me

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Hernández Rivera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the best part of my experience

Disliked: the kitchen area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Kiely

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in so far - I stayed 2 nights more than I initially booked. Nice, quiet area of Gracia away from the touristy hustle and bustle, but close enough to walk anywhere. Really friendly staff, always ready to give really helpful advice - showed us a really great bar nearby! Great atmosphere in the rooms and common area/kitchen meant I had no trouble meeting the other friendly people staying there. Felt safe and secure with 24-hour keycard access to the rooms, I did use a locker but it never really felt necessary.

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: the water in the shower is usually cold

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethel Hailemichael

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Bethel would recommend this property

Liked: The best people at any hostel I have stayed at. Whatever you need there is always someone to help. Handwritten directions to all the best sites and clubs also is a favorite of Alina. Great atmosphere, great location, and one of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right from the start the stafe was very helpful, welcoming, and friendly. They were constantly offering help, direction, or even just a nice friendly smile upon entering and exiting. I felt safe and secrue wit hthe key system they use both on the entire facility but in the rooms as well. The kicthen atmosphere was really cool and a fun place to chat with other travelers. I never actually used the facility to I can't speak on that but it was a fun vibe.

Disliked: The wifi was never guaranteed as it continually would switch on and off or certain people would just not be able to connect for long lengths of time. I usually prefer not using wifi but when traveling it is a big necesity to look up information and connect with the people you are traveling with. The bed linnens were not exactly the cleanest or most comfortable. The pillows were equavilent to me scrunhing up a sweater and using it as a pillow. And the shower areas could be cleaned better. It would also be nice if they posted a check sheet / log to show when the last time the bathroom spaces were cleaned. Upon arriving they make you pay a 15 euro deposit for a key (which is pretty high , but a deposit is understandable) but this was posted nowhere on the site so I had no idea about this previously and when traveling on a strict budget and not bringing extra this is a huge problem that travelers need to be aware of when traveling. In the information it says towels are provided, I think it might have mentioned for 1 euro but they are 2 euros

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013

Liked: The staffs are very helpful, the location is great, there is a fully functional kitchen to cook

Disliked: The room I stayed in (8 beds) is very crowded and there is very little space. It's so small and I feel a bit suffocated when everybody is in there. Overall it's not very comfortable. I wouldn't really recommend it to anyone but for the good price it offers, anyone on a budget trip would probably like to stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was quite good. Receptionist was friendly. The Sunday night rate I booked was really cheap (9 euro in 12 bed dorm).

Disliked: It was almost impossible to connect to the wifi that night I arrived, probably because many people were using it. It actually worked perfectly next early morning. But still quite annoying if it doesn't work when you need Internet for doing travel research.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large communal living area.

Disliked: Inadequate bedding - no warm duvet. Kitchen didn't have hot water for washing up. Hot water quickly ran out in the upstairs bathroom.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Le Breton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff! Also, we were in a 4 person dorm, but when it wasn't busy there wasn't anyone else in our room. I don't know if this was luck or planning, but it was certainly appreciated.

Disliked: They lost a lot of my socks. I would have preferred to do my laundry myself, as it came back very damp with socks missing. I also gained two extra socks, which I only realised when I had left. I think I lost 4 or 5 socks, which is an issue when you only have 7 matching pairs :S

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is excellent! The staff was really helpful, especially Alina :) Since the hostelv is recently opened everything was in a good condition.

Disliked: The floors of the showers and the room were untidy, it seemed they hadn't been cleaned for a while.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barnabás Németh

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Barnabás would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and kind to everybody. You feel free to ask anything you want!

Disliked: It was a little bit noisy during the nights, but for this money it is perfect! There are many places worse than this one, I recommend it despite the noise!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Junzhen Wu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Junzhen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, a spuermarket is only 1 min away, very close to the street "pssig de Gracia", metro station is five mins away, walk along with the street "passig de Gracia", you can see most of the visiting sights. Staff are friendly and helpful, just feel free to ask them questions. I've tasted the best chocolate because of the nice girl's recommendation. If I have the chance to visit Barcelona again, I will choose here again.

Disliked: Junzhen left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

MªGracia Tortajada

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013

Liked: Staff was very nice.

Disliked: It was dirty and really noisy.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff were very helpful and sympathetic when I had to deal with a lost bank card in an ATM. Luis made phone calls on my behalf, since my Spanish is limited. All of the staff are very friendly and make time to converse with guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Preisinger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful and friendly. They were able to help us locate vegan food and desserts in the area and find popular tourist sites. Would highly recommend!!!

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within easy reach of both the main area of Barcelona, in addition to being situated privately in an old 'pre big-grid' neighbourhood. It lends an atmosphere that you have stumpled upon a kind of a cool, secret place to operate your touring plans out of. Very friendly and helpful staff who care sincerely about your night and your stay a very nice and relaxing lounge area for sitting and resting with others.

Disliked: The rooms were a little cold at night, as there was one fairly thin blanket per bed provided and no private thermostat for the rooms. This would not be a problem in mid-summer, but in the spring/winter one would be advised to bring their own covering.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The three people who work at the Hostel at this time (Luis, David, and Alina) are all very helpful and outgoing. They remembered all the guests and tried to do what they could to help. There are keycard entrances to all the rooms, kitchen and common room downstairs, and if you walked a little ways down the main road (Diagonal) you can find yourself in the heart of Barcelona. It's about 3 blocks away from a metro station.

Disliked: The lockers were a little small and the hostel can be noisy at times (it is a hostel after all, not a hotel). The only major problem to be found is lack of hot water in showers - just take one earlier if you can so the hot water isn't all used up!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was fantastic, for every question they had an answer and always helped more than "they" normally do and how I saw it in other hostels,thank you really much, I think it's David, Luis and Alina, my friends and me we were really happy!! really good service! everything was brandnew and clean and they have all you need. I would definitly recommend this place, unforgetable experience! See you in summer!!

Disliked: there is really nothing, maybe just that we could stay only 1 night, but we will come back!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Whitley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan the manager was fantastic to us. Could not be more helpful and spoke perfect English. Would recomend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: It was a shame cars could not pull up directly outside hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haroun Chamli

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 February 2013

Liked: Great staff great guests I'll b back there.

Disliked: Haroun left no negative feedback.