HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gracia City Hostel

Hostel | Carrer De San Pere Martir 18, Barcelona, Spain 08012

92.2% Overall Rating

189 out of 217 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Lara Rose thinks…

"The service and excellent staff! A nice place to spend holidays in the best city in the world!!!"

Read all Gracia City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.14
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Please note that the check in time is between 3 PM and 22pm. Check ins after time can be arranged, but its necessary that the clients advise before. Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 48hrs. before arrival (local time). If this is not the case and the booking is about 1 to 6 nights, we will charge 1 night. If the reservation is about more than 6 nights (from the seventh night) we have the obligation to charge the full amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
23.62 USD

Hostel 92.8% 992 reviews
Nikbor
69.07 USD

Hostel 87.7% 167 reviews
Rodamón Hostel
26.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sant Jordi Gracia
12.29 USD

Hostel 95.9% 90 reviews
Duo by Somnio Hostels
24.87 USD

Hostel 89.3% 112 reviews
Generator Barcelona
27.63 USD

Hostel 92.0% 137 reviews
Generator Hotel Barcelona
54.57 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator Hotel Barcelona
54.57 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

189 out of 217 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gracia City Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within easy reach of both the main area of Barcelona, in addition to being situated privately in an old 'pre big-grid' neighbourhood. It lends an atmosphere that you have stumpled upon a kind of a cool, secret place to operate your touring plans out of. Very friendly and helpful staff who care sincerely about your night and your stay a very nice and relaxing lounge area for sitting and resting with others.

Disliked: The rooms were a little cold at night, as there was one fairly thin blanket per bed provided and no private thermostat for the rooms. This would not be a problem in mid-summer, but in the spring/winter one would be advised to bring their own covering.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The three people who work at the Hostel at this time (Luis, David, and Alina) are all very helpful and outgoing. They remembered all the guests and tried to do what they could to help. There are keycard entrances to all the rooms, kitchen and common room downstairs, and if you walked a little ways down the main road (Diagonal) you can find yourself in the heart of Barcelona. It's about 3 blocks away from a metro station.

Disliked: The lockers were a little small and the hostel can be noisy at times (it is a hostel after all, not a hotel). The only major problem to be found is lack of hot water in showers - just take one earlier if you can so the hot water isn't all used up!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was fantastic, for every question they had an answer and always helped more than "they" normally do and how I saw it in other hostels,thank you really much, I think it's David, Luis and Alina, my friends and me we were really happy!! really good service! everything was brandnew and clean and they have all you need. I would definitly recommend this place, unforgetable experience! See you in summer!!

Disliked: there is really nothing, maybe just that we could stay only 1 night, but we will come back!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Whitley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan the manager was fantastic to us. Could not be more helpful and spoke perfect English. Would recomend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: It was a shame cars could not pull up directly outside hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haroun Chamli

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 February 2013

Liked: Great staff great guests I'll b back there.

Disliked: Haroun left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, those guys help you in everything, the location is also good cause you are almost in Passeig de Gracia and it´s very close to the most popluar atractions of Barcelona. The Bathrooms seem to be new, so it´s very clean, also the internet is too fast!

Disliked: I needed to Leave :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Óscar Cos

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Óscar would recommend this property

Liked: Me lo pasé genial. La atmósfera del barrio es un tanto diferente, por eso que este tan bien situado. La localización, inmejorable!

Disliked: Soy un poco escrupuloso y en las duchas hubo un poco de suciedad, pero vaya, nada grave.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mireia Grabulosa

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 February 2013 Mireia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good located, Grtacia is like a soho, full of pubs, shops, people and things to do. And is near Passeig Gracia (5 minutes). Amazing staff (Ivan and others), it was like feeling at home. It's a very social hostel, really easy to socialize!

Disliked: cool

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice, they helped us in everything we asked. the location is perfect, so you can walk or bike everywhere. I strongly recommend this place to enjoy Barcelona!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013

Liked: The Argentinean staff was really, really nice.

Disliked: They were doing some works in the hostel, that was a little uncomfortable, and the place needs to improve its atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and were very friendly/helpful. Also, the internet was indeed very fast!

Disliked: The fact that they didn't tell us that it was under construction and everywhere there was dust.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatjana Andrejeva

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

26 January 2013 Tatjana would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for one night, however didn't encounter any disappointments. The best thing is probably location of the hostel and staff, very friendly. It is nothing special but it ticked all my boxes, i think this hostel is cool in summer when its busy, you can tell

Disliked: There were not many people staying there, but i guess its not hostels fault, low season

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rowan Wilson-Davey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and helpful and the location is great! close to lots of restaurants and shops and a metro. the facilities were good loved the high pressure hot shower!

Disliked: At the time there was some constuction happening but it is for the best and would love to stay again and see the upgrade! :)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013

Liked: Internet worked well. Good location.

Disliked: Seems to be under construction. Have to walk up to another floor to upper floors to used washrooms. Rooms are small and with no lockers in rooms. Have to pay for locker service which is in the hallway. Washroom door does not even lock. This is the worst hostels I have stayed at. I booked this hostel because of all the good reviews on Hostel Bookers. Now I am suspect that many of the reviews are embedded by a promoter. Almost none of the reviews have anything negative to say. Any person staying at this hostel would have something negative to say. In general a very unprofessional hostel. No electronic key entrance or hostel room entrance, have to knock at the front door and you room does not have a door lock. Staff guy said that everything is secure so they don't need a lock! Badly layed out, washrooms are upstairs, not even on the same floor. Washroom door has no lock! Also very noisy, yes the hostel cannot control hostel guests and ultimately this was probably just a bunch of noisy guests but the culpable part is that the staff did nothing to hush them and one even seemed to be contributing to the loud talking. My room was by the entrance and horribly loud, never been in such a loud room. Under construction, and from the reviews seems to be under construction for a long time. It should not be open for customers until the construction stops. Also not a good value, I move from this hostel to another which was cheaper, better and included breakfast. The only good thing about the hostel is the internet connection was great even in the room .

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2013

Liked: Nicely located in the Gracia district.

Disliked: Everything else. This place is a dump beyond any measures. Staff shouting at arguing higly with each other, dirty and smelly crammed full rooms. Basically no security, guy next to me got his phone and wallet stolen. Common area is basically two couches in the cellar, nothing else. Fridge stinks. Absolutely stay away from this place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location: quite, within easy reach of the city centre and 5mins from Sagrada Familia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: I liked the area - great to explore, little second hand shops, boutiques and restaurants, and a five minute walk to the metro. The staff were fun and friendly, always ready to help or chat.

Disliked: It was so dirty, especially the bathrooms. Water was more often cold that hot. The communal area is a kitchen which got a bit messy and has no ventilation.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 January 2013

Liked: The location is good; very near from the Diagonal metro station.

Disliked: The thing i disliked the most, was the lack of security. It is impossible to lock the rooms; and most of the time doors are not only unlocked, but also open. Anyone can enter the hostel and have access to your stuff. Fortunately i had no problem. The rooms have lack in space; there are too many bunk beds for the space available. I made my booking for a 10-bed room, but in reality it was a 12-bed room. If you booked in advance, like i did, you will pay an excessive price.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Livia Mariano

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: the shower and the security

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hoa Pham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: Location is just ok.

Disliked: Everything. It's gross and dirty, noisy... It's not a place for human to stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful and the hostel is in the middle of everything in the city. You can walk in some minutes to almost everywhere, or take the metro nearby if you don't feel like walking. The neighborhood is lovely too, I'd totally recommend it to any friend coming to barcelona

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trond Toft

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012

Liked: The charming old neighborhood, with small pubs and restaurants with real food The kitchen has moder n stove and refrigerators and is spacipuos It has just opened and there were some days with construction . The staff was quick and thorough in keeping it clean. The sataff works around the guests scedules and you can sleep as long as you need, No curfew, no rules except to help guests be comfy.

Disliked: I had to leave,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen Fry

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2012 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: I think the staff make this place. They are real, man. Real Argentinian heroes. Nay, gods. This place just has a sense of fun. It's relaxed and has everything you need and is always clean. I especially enjoyed using the new wheelchair ramp as me and me fellow wheelchair racing team members found it most convenient.

Disliked: There wasn't enough velvet-covered furniture. Not a single bidet in the house - and there wasn't enough spas.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Martinez Garcia

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The pace

Disliked: Not enought sockets at the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, extremely helpful staff, very clean

Disliked: room was very cold during the night