HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gracia City Hostel

Hostel | Carrer De San Pere Martir 18, Barcelona, Spain 08012

92.1% Overall Rating

224 out of 253 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Anthony Middleton thinks…

"A hostel with an excellent location. I stayed in the room for 12 people mixed and although you have to be a lot of people, I have spent great."

Read all Gracia City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.69
  • Towel USD 2.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Please note that the check in time is between 3 PM and 22pm. Check ins after time can be arranged, but its necessary that the clients advise before. Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 48hrs. before arrival (local time). If this is not the case and the booking is about 1 to 6 nights, we will charge 1 night. If the reservation is about more than 6 nights (from the seventh night) we have the obligation to charge the full amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
41.98 USD

Hostel 94.1% 1044 reviews
Hip Hostel Barcelona
19.95 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
Rodamón Hostel
32.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sant Jordi Gracia
21.29 USD

Hostel 97.9% 107 reviews
Barcelona Sport Hostels
19.42 USD

Hostel 83.4% 5 reviews
Duo by Somnio Hostels
26.78 USD

Hostel 86.4% 119 reviews
Generator Barcelona
22.09 USD

Hostel 89.9% 158 reviews
Generator Hotel Barcelona
36.82 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

224 out of 253 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gracia City Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 251 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Macdonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location - within walking distance of main attractions.

Disliked: Mix up with beds/rooms one night - staff removed belongings from one of our beds in order to accomodate another party leaving one of us without a bed. Issue was resolved but staff were hard to locate & contact after 22.00.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Volha Rusak

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Volha would recommend this property

Liked: I came there to stay for one night but ended up enjoying the place for more than a week. A fantastic hostel with a laid-back atmosphere in a great location. Very friendly and welcoming staff making you feel at home very quickly. And I met some nice people there, too, we had a great time together. I will definitely come back here one day!

Disliked: Volha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, friendly staff and clean

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nika Širca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Nika would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenna Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Brenna would recommend this property

Liked: Great property, great location, fantasitc staff. The staff allow a fun atmosphere but also have respect for those sleeping in the hostel by ensuring people are not too noisy too late at night - something that not a lot of hostels actually enforce, in my experience.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first experience in a hostel and i really liked, the staff on reception make us feel very comfortable. They are helpful in anything you need and very friendly, the location is great the hostel is on the middle of the city and the gracia neighborhood is very quiet at night, the atmosphere is always positive with all the people in the living room sharing travel experiences and sharing our food in the kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing special

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: On arrival, the reception was unmanned & we waited for 30 minutes for somebody to arrive. After travelling for 40 hours from Australia, I suppose 30 more minutes didnt make too much difference! We left after our 2 pre-paid nights to find something better in Barcelona. The bathroom was pretty revolting & shared between several rooms & there seemed to be a major shortage of toilet paper.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Joaquin Seedorf Medina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Kevin Joaquin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and the building was very nice. Location is super good and the people who go there are very very nice.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has been one of the best hostels i have stayed in Europe!

Disliked: Everything is great! :D

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, they were cheerful and they helped us in many things such as planning the trip in Barcelona. The common room was very good and people could meet there, have lunch and dinner together or watch films, it was a very fun experience. The rooms were large and it was cleaned everyday. The hostel was in the middle of the city, near metro stations and supermarkets.

Disliked: The internet goes on and off sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very silent street in spite of being central. Tidy and clean rooms and really helpful people working in there. Thank you Luis!

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 July 2013

Liked: nada

Disliked: Es lejos del centro, Internet no funciona, no hay suficientes baños, duchas con agua fría, los lockers son muy pequeños, el ambiente muy feo, y los espacios comunes muy pequeños.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Burak Büyükk?l?ç

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 June 2013 Burak would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff. good location. probably the best considering the value for money

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013

Liked: Location well-suited for site seeing

Disliked: 1. The "private" accommodation felt very exposed, as one wall of the room was literally a sliding glass door facing the street, with virtually no shelter from the street noise and ill fitting curtains hardly managing to protect privacy and keep street light out. 2. The bed was truly the worst mattress I have ever tried to sleep on. 3. This tiny room had no closet or drawers or real facility to unpack comfortably without tripping over one's own things. 4. It's a party hostel, aimed at very young backpackers and not at all a comfortable place for anyone hoping to have a quiet, early night to rest and sleep. 5. The gentlemen running the hostel made no attempt to accommodate or offer a refund when I became ill and needed to leave two nights earlier than I planned. Instead, he shrugged his shoulders, said refunds weren't possible since I had stayed one night already, took no action to offer me a more comfortable situation, and suggested I eat more vegetables.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Bramley

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 June 2013 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Home from home .. amazingly cool staff, very easy going, very impressed!

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Odhrán Gillman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Odhrán would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, cheap and cheerful. Internet is good (when it connects).

Disliked: Not enough plug sockets in the rooms. In 6 bed there was only 4 and in a 4 bed only 2.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caterina Tavagnutti

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Caterina would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I enjoyed a lot staying at Gracia City Hostel!! The staff is very very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is easy and for every problem there's always somebody there to help. The facilities are good since there's a big kitchen, wi-fi, computer spots and Tv. The metro station is just a short walk away, and in short time you can get everywhere you want. It's clean and tidy, nobody can get in without the card so there aren't any safety problems.

Disliked: Sometimes short queues at the bath but -hey, common baths is how hostels work! It can't really be described as a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheridan McLeod

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Sheridan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! And the 2 guys on reception could not be nicer!! It is the second time ive stayed here and would definately return..... good location, good value, so clean and quite!

Disliked: however the internet is terrible it is the only one negative, but it is so important when travelling to be able to access it reliably. But thanks for a great stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JULIO CESAR TORRES PEREZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 JULIO CESAR would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very kind

Disliked: some other customers haha

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in one of ghe most vibrant districts in Barcelona. Very helpful and friendly staff. Spotless room. Unusually for Spain this hostel has FREE wifi, huge bonus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013

Liked: The sofa in the living room

Disliked: The rooms were too small and the bathroom of the zero floor is almost next to the reception (people all around)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to paseo de Gracia and its amenities, staff friendliness, well served by metro and other public transport, cleanliness.

Disliked: Nothing really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nicely decorated. A good place. There´s a really large common room and a kitchen so you can save some money by cooking yourself. The rooms are nice, quite clean.

Disliked: The lockers in our room was broken. Not sure if that was the norm though. It was kind of out of the way, being located in Gracia. But it was a good price and a nice place (much cleaner and prettier than the Ramblas hostel I stayed in subsequently)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Always greeted us with a smile and asked us how our day went. The art on the walls was quite fun as well and there was always a good reggae tune in the background.

Disliked: The rooms should be cleaned more often.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David McLean

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely location close to many major streets with fun and friendly staff in a clean and quirky hostel. What's not to love?

Disliked: Getting laundry done can take a little time, but so long as you plan ahead you won't have any problems.