We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Soul Surfer BCN

Hostel | Cometa 6, Barcelona, Spain 08001

92.7% Overall Rating

37 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/12/2012)

"Soul Surfer is one of the best places i have ever stayed.The location in BCN is perfect, right next to plaza Catalunya and the Ramblas. Staying at Soul Surfer feels like you are a guest in a friends Stylish and…"

Read all Soul Surfer BCN reviews

Facilities

  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hostal Ramcat
12.65 USD

Hostel 85.6% 34 reviews
Barcelona City Ramblas
16.61 USD

Apartment 71.7% 19 reviews
Blueberry Rooms
25.30 USD

Apartment 86.4% 8 reviews
St Christopher's Barcelona
6.33 USD

Hostel 88.7% 662 reviews
Rambla's Point Apartments
36.69 USD

Apartment 72.9% 8 reviews
Hotel Ginebra
31.31 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Ramblas Portaferrissa
12.23 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 38 reviews
Apartments Ramblas Massana
25.30 USD

Apartment 83.5% 156 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

37 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Soul Surfer BCN'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: I do not know why this hostel has such a high rating, but to me, this is indeed the worst, worst, worst hostel that I could ever imagine. Let me elaborate. Location: It is true that the place is not far away from the famous La Rambla. But let me tell you the true story behind. It is in a very small dark street, one that is filled up by drug dealers at nights. Besides, there is no signs about this hostel. I was surprised when I only saw a small piece of paper attached to the wall, saying "soul surfer BCN". Yes, just a small piece of paper! I started to imagine nightmare before even entering! Staff: Well, the reception guy is the worst I ever seen. That guy is rude, not responsible for his duty, and is a GAY!! I do not discriminate gays, but this guy is the type that I really hate. At around 10.00pm the day I arrived, he left the reception, entered a room in the hostel with his boyfriend, and then started "making noises"!! Dammit, it was just 10.00pm and I was just about to ask him about any clubs nearby! This is not the end of the story. When later at 1.00am that my friend decided to go out, he knocked at the gay guy's door to ask for a key to the front entrance. Guess what happened: that fucker got so much stoned that he could not understand what my friend was saying, and, instead of giving the key, he pulled out his wallet and gave my friend money!! What the heck?!! When I left the hostel at 10.30am the other morning, I could not find the guy at the reception. But I paid 15 Euros for the key deposit, and I need that deposit!! Safety: Well, I just said the street where the hostel resides gets filled up by drug dealers at nights. This is not all. There is no locker in any room. What is worse, there is no lock to any living rooms, either! Imagine this, to enter the hostel, you need a key to the front door. Once you are in, you can access any room at your wish! Anyone will call this safe?!! Facilities: Well, no blankets are offered when I slept at night. Yes, Barcelona is not cold, but room temperature can be below 20 easily at nights, which is cold enough to feel uncomfortable. But no blankets offered, even if I asked for one!! Well, frankly speaking, I am so much pissed by this hostel and its really, really rude fucking gay receptionist. I am even wondering if the previous good reviews were actually written by the hostel itself. What a shame!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Soul Surfer is one of the best places i have ever stayed.The location in BCN is perfect, right next to plaza Catalunya and the Ramblas. Staying at Soul Surfer feels like you are a guest in a friends Stylish and confortable home.There is a beutifully equiped kitchen for guest use and your one refrigerator. Everything is perfect mainteined and clean.And the Best of all the staff is wellcoming, atentive host, ready to ofer excellent asistance and advice.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff, cleanliness, is a great place to meet people from around the world, I recommend the hostel to all types of travelers, i feltat home.Thanks for everything Agustin and Jordi hope see you soom.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Soul Surfer is the best hostel i ever been, the location is excellent a few meters from the ramblas and one block from plaza catalunya and very close to the important things of the city, the staff is very frendly and helpfully and the place is kept very clean at all times.Thanks for my great time.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very useful for other people who thinks to chose this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce, friendly staff.

Disliked: too few baths and toilets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excelent hostel, very very clean, beautiful wc and nice staff. thank for everything

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the atmosphere in the hostel was fun, friendly, and cozy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, right around the corner from La Rambla and Placa de Catalyuna where the aerobus runs. The people that work there are extremely nice and helpful. I slept pretty well there. The towels can be rented for 2 euro and there are lockers there to put your stuff in although I did not use them because I felt I did not have to.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great- . I was travelling on my own so this was a great way to meet other people. The whole atmosphere of the place was amazing- very friendly and laid back. I would highly reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

graciela alfano

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing

22 October 2012 graciela would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent hostel! The entire staff is outstanding and I recommend staying at this hostel. thank for everything guys

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and enthusiastic front desk personnel. Great home made dinner. was excellent all. thank for everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Chambers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel, very central, very clean, awesome staff & a great atmosphere, would definitely visit again!

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Evans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location! Clean & Adequate Facilities! Wonderful friendly & helpful Staff who go above & beyond to help with anything you need. By far the best hostel I stayed at on my travels, was sad to leave!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel with cosy atmosphere and nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: no lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome, really nice people. They helped me to book kayaking in Costa Brava. Extremely helpful people!!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place . Enjoyed the stayna

Disliked: Na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bicho nob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 bicho would recommend this property

Liked: seekkkkk place. to stay in barcelona. cheers guys for all your hellps

Disliked: nothink

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and great facilities.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aryn De Long

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Aryn would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great staff who go out of their way to help you and invite you out with them and one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in (cleaner than most hotels I've stayed in actually). Everything is cleaned daily and the showers were so clean that you could probably safely shower without shoes. The kitchen is also fully stocked and fairly large so there is plenty of room for more than one person at a time to cook. Pretty quiet at night for the most part despite being right near La Rambla and over a couple bars.

Disliked: Charges 8 euro for laundry, locks the kitchen at night, no lockers but there is a safe place you can keep your stuff if you ask the staff. For a new hostel the beds weren't as nice as they probably could be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

agustin bigoni

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 agustin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome ! I've lot of fun in there, it was like feeling at home meeting the best and cool people ever!. I recommended hundred percent! great location, great people working in there, very very clean and nice. Come on soul surfer bcn hostel, you really know about getting people feel comfortable and friendly!

Disliked: Nothing at all, every thing is perfect and awesome !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leonardo sendoya

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

29 August 2012 leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: He estado en la maravillosa ciudad de Barcelona 3 veces y esta ultima vez fue una de mis estadias mas agradable y placentera, la ubicacion del hostal es ideal y perfecta, no le encuentro ni un solo aspecto negativo en cuanto a su ubicacion, servicios ofrecidos, limpieza y hospitalidad por parte de sus duenos y empleados, pocos hostels en barcelona te ofrecen tantas comodidades, basta con ver su descripcion en la pagina de hostelbookers para entender de lo que estoy hablando, principal surf barcelona y soul surfer barcelona sin lugar a duda los mejores hostales en los que estuve y lugares indicados para hospedarse en barcelona, extremadamentre recomendable y reincidiria en los mismos cada vez que vuelva a barcelona, y la palabra reincindir en este tipo de servicios es sinonimo de calidad. Muchas gracias SOUL SURFER BARCELONA por tanto.

Disliked: Nada, solo aspectos positivos.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed this hostel twice! This hostel is my home in Barcelona. I like you Martin and Briaan! Thanks. Just go and stay here!! I guarantee that you will like this place!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean Bathrooms nice Staff friendly

Disliked: n/a