HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of DE LIS GUESTHOUSE BARCELONA

Hostel | Carrer Bailen 190, Barcelona, Spain 08037

93.6% Overall Rating

37 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2013)

"The hostel is very clean and spacious. It is located really close to the Sagrada Familia (about 10 minutes walking). It was nice to be able to visit the center of the city but still see the areas in the outskirts."

Read all DE LIS GUESTHOUSE BARCELONA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Generator Barcelona
21.94 USD

Hostel 92.0% 161 reviews
Generator Hotel Barcelona
51.19 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Barcelona Sport Hostels
19.94 USD

Hostel 82.9% 7 reviews
Hostal Felipe II
13.30 USD

Apartment 86.3% 10 reviews
Primavera Hostel
26.46 USD

Hostel 93.7% 145 reviews
Casa Diagonal
36.56 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Martinval Hostel
35.46 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 5 reviews
La Flor de Gaudí Hostel la Pedrera
26.59 USD

Hostel 80.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

37 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'DE LIS GUESTHOUSE BARCELONA'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daigo hagihara

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 daigo would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Difficult to find it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and spacious. It is located really close to the Sagrada Familia (about 10 minutes walking). It was nice to be able to visit the center of the city but still see the areas in the outskirts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Grace Cockburn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building

Disliked: It was a residential property and not a very lively atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally everything is at least what average man expects from a hostel or more. Staff is great and do their best. Especially meeting Karolina at the reception desk is a real pleasure. Perfect language skills, great knowledge of the city and surroundings and a lot of care for guests. Clean, modern, spacious and well equipped interiors. Rooms are new. One can find all things necessary for standard daily living at the kitchen. Living room is very comfortable and gives an opportunity to relax. Dining room is big enough, to organize a party and a terrace is a great place to sit an enjoy Spanish sun. Hostel encourages to stay longer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel sets itself apart from many others in the same price range with the very large, well-decorated common areas available to guests. While many hostels have very basic furniture simply thrown into any available space, the common areas in De Lis Guesthouse are genuinely enjoyable spaces. What was very surprising was the large kitchen with an extensive variety of whatever one may need for food preparation and dining that is freely available to all guests. There is also a large fridge that is also freely available for all guests. The actual facilities themselves (beds, storage space, showers, bathrooms) are of excellent quality. In short, this will be my hostel of choice for all my future visits to Barcelona.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Legoe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Only had a few rooms so it wasn't too noisy and was easy to get to know other travellers. Had good deals with opium nightclub allowing free entrance most nights. Clean and reasonable facilities.

Disliked: The management seemed a little disorganised. They didn't know how many nights we were staying for and some confusion arose from that but overall did not cause any problems

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Small, cute place.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The young lady who worked at reception was one of the kindest, most helpful people I've met- she was always willing to help and made our stay even better! The hostel was very clean and airy, would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Though the hostel is only a 10 minute walk away from Sagrada Familia, it's quite far away from other attractions, though there's a Metro station down the road so it's not difficult to get around.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AHMET ALP BABUR

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 AHMET ALP would recommend this property

Liked: De Lis was one of the best hostels we've ever stayed in Europe. Location was great. After a while you feel like living in Barcelona for a long time. Cleanliness was also good and impotant...Thanks for the staff and hostelbookers.com

Disliked: There wasnt anything i disliked about the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Razia Makani

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Razia would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at the guesthouse for 6 nights...had a wonderful stay! Aleksandra and Maria were both very friendly and helpful. we were given maps and recommendations for things to see and restaurants to eat in. Maria even made us really yummy banana pancakes! The hostel has a massive lounge with a TV, a separate dining room, a terrace and a fully equiped kitchen which we used daily! the 2 toilets and 3 shower rooms were always very clean! Guess we went during the off season so there was hardly anyone there so not sure how crowded these facilities can get. location wise...under 5 mins from Verdaguer metro. walking to the start of la rambla would take you about 150-20mins but its a nice walk through Passeig De Gracia. and there are super markets, bars, tapas bars around the hostel for when you dont want to venture too far.

Disliked: we took the private room (for 2) which was a bit small but ok otherwise. only complaint is that the only window opened to a space which smelled bad (toilet like smell... bleh!) but keeping the windows closed would make it very suffocating. rooms were not cleaned even once during our stay, not sure if this was coz our room was private but it could be a problem if you are sharing with other people. No bins were provided in the room too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great experence at De Lis Guesthouse! It is cozey and welcoming. The staff were friendly and made my travle experence easy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meinte Vierstra

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 April 2013 Meinte would recommend this property

Liked: High end hostel with all facilities you need. It's a place to chill out, not to party. Would defenitely stay here again.

Disliked: Meinte left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Smith

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and clean hostel located in a nice leafy part of Barcelona (easy walking distance to all the major tourist attractions). Staff very accommodating and helpful.

Disliked: Whilst not a dislike, this hostel is quiet and smaller than I anticipated. Ideal for anyone looking for a nice weekend retreat in Barcelona at a cheap rate. Party-goers, I suggest you look elsewhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The recommendations by the staff were totally on point! We had only 24 hours in Barcelona and they definitely helped with suggestions on what to do and where to eat. ALSO - A HUGE BONUS is that the owner of the hostel is also a Club Promoter - so he took us out for the one night we were there and showed us around to a few different places. Everything was completely paid for and we had a blast!

Disliked: It was a bit empty in the hostel - we also stayed from Wednesday to Thursday morning, so it was a bit of awkward timing on our part.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay - feels very homely and more like staying in an apartment than a hostel.

Disliked: Bit quiet but probably just came at a bad time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Straub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about our trip to Barcelona, especially because of De Lis. This was by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in (so clean, nice, and accommodating). The De Lis Group also took us out every night and showed us an amazing time. I will definitely stay here every other time I come to Barcelona and would recommend it to anyone coming to have an amazing time!

Disliked: Courtney left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancy Valiente

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment my roommates and I arrived to De Lis Guesthouse we felt welcomed by their whole staff. They surprised us with De Lis glasses and other goodies. They gave us a tour of their hostel and told us that if we needed anything just to ask. This hostel was BY FAR the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. It was spotless clean and the decor was awesome. I felt comfortable staying there; it's nicer then my actual apartment! The staff at De Lis Guesthouse made sure we had something to do in Barcelona during the day and at night. There was not one day that we wondered, what do we do next? Also, they were very caring. They made sure to tell us to be careful before we went out everyday. Their whole staff sincerely wanted us to enjoy our time in Barcelona. De Lis Guesthouse and all of their staff made our Barcelona experience one my roommates and I will NEVER forget. I would definitely go back to De Lis Guesthouse and recommend it to all of my friends.

Disliked: I dislike that not enough people know about this hostel!! Everyone should have the same experience in Barcelona that me and my roommates had, and De Lis Guesthouse can do that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Phillip Hart

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 November 2012 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Its proximity to the Metro and the helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Non offerings of a wash cloth, but they did give me one upon request.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, I'd say this was the best hostel I have stayed in thus far. The property is located inside an apartment building, so it wasn't like any other hostel I've stayed in before. It was super clean, we had kitchen and cooking privileges, there was a TV room as well as a dining room. Also a big plus was that the wifi worked well. My friend and I got recommended to stay there and I would easily recommend it to anyone. The staff was great--especially Kike--he is the coolest guy ever and he really made sure everything was great throughout our stay. He even gave us a bottle of champagne and sunglasses upon our arrival! We just got back, and it was easily one of the best weekends I've had! Don't even think twice about it...just book it! You won't regret it!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful and hands on, they were there to make sure every member of my party had a great time. Rather than a hostel, thie De Lis Guesthouse is like a really cool apartment to share with friends. Everything we needed was provided and the entire experience was so much fun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are incredibly friendly and approachable, and the De Lis Group promotions company made going out in Barcelona a great experience!

Disliked: Toilets smelt pretty funky...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The simplicity, the clean hot showers, well stocked kitchen and free Wifi

Disliked: No table in room or shelf and lighting for top bunk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camille Peaks

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and professionaly. The facilities are SUPER clean and chic!

Disliked: Camille left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noah Hammersten

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: Don't even think, just book it. Honestly, the best experience of a long trip around Europe (and one of the best experiences of my life). Traveling solo can be a bit lonely at times, but thanks to Kike (De Lis Group proprietor), I immediately felt invited into a circle of friends. Nice rooms, nice showers, perfect location. Couldn't be better.

Disliked: Noah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Romero Niedermann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 October 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Everithing since the atmosphere till the relation cost benefit

Disliked: nothing at all