HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cool & Chic Hostel

Hostel | Travessera de Collblanc 5, Barcelona, Spain 08904

92.6% Overall Rating

108 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Katren Rogers thinks…

"Very clean, air con, good beds, and absolutely outstanding, friendly and helpful staff! Conveniently located right near a good metro line, close to the central station, and around the corner from…"

Read all Cool & Chic Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. We consider groups, more than 9 people and long term booking (more than 7 days) and those will have to cancel 1 week in advance of the arrival date, and in case of no show, we will charge the first 3 nights of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Feetup Yellow Nest Hostel Barcelona
18.36 USD

Hostel 85.6% 467 reviews
Hostel One Sants
26.53 USD

Hostel 90.3% 408 reviews
ROOM 018 BCN
25.33 USD

Hostel 87.4% 15 reviews
Apart Center Sants
32.16 USD

Apartment 83.2% 112 reviews
Apartment Fira Gran Via
40.20 USD

Apartment 88.5% 34 reviews
Hostelscat
28.08 USD

Hostel 88.1% 17 reviews
Alberguinn Youth Hostel
30.82 USD

Hostel 88.5% 977 reviews
Flowery Palace
16.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

108 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cool & Chic Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 111 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katren Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Katren would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, air con, good beds, and absolutely outstanding, friendly and helpful staff! Conveniently located right near a good metro line, close to the central station, and around the corner from Camp Nou (so you can go early to beat the crowds). WELL-EQUIPPED KITCHEN TOO!!

Disliked: Katren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stuart o connell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. the location was fine because the cheap and quick metro was next door. the facilities were lovely. the staff were the nicest Ive met in a long time. And really cool people were staying there.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Xiaoyang Jia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Night time staff took a long time to let us in back late at night after going out, had to ring buzzer like 10 times, have to hold a button to keep showers running( got pretty annoying), night staff didn't really know the raas well, couldn't tell us where an open store was and we found it 2 min walk away, pretty clean hostel. Wouldn't stay Here unless you are in bed by 11pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Levick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and extremely friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Some noise still after 11pm from guests

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really modern and has a friendly feel

Disliked: No double beds when you book for a double

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Angkasa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: For me, it is perfect! On location: It is really near to the metro station, just 2 mins walk. On facilities: It has everything I need and want. Big and cozy lounge area, big and complete communal kitchen, good wi-fi, free big lockers, clean and big bathroom, washing machine, etc. (oh, and I can print too!) On bed: Clean and I get more than enough space for myself (not like a typical dorm where I hardly move) On staff: they are very very helpful. They also gave me a map and recommendation where to go clearly. It really helped me to maximize my short stay in Barcelona. There is also some information about free walking tour and free offers. So if you are tight budget, it will be very helpful information. What more can I say? It is totally recommended, one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed in! With relatively cheap price, it is really worth it.. Oh, and if you are Barcelona's fans, you will be happy to stay here ;)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location - walking distance from the Nou Camp. Very helpful staff. Nice, big communal area with TV, sofas, kitchen, dining room and computers. Comfortable beds. We would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sonja Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was good, the facilities were fine, the location was not that close to anything but we'll connected by the metro. The staff were nice.

Disliked: Towels cost money, wifi was slow and didn't work in the rooms, there was no bench space in the kitchen, the, the beds were average.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from city center and around the corner from camp nou. Clean. Staff is friendly and willing to help at all times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and the dorms spacious! Lockers adequate - even in a 12 bed didn't feel packed in like sardines. Bathrooms were great, despite sometimes having to walk to the other side of the hostel if you're not of the correct sex to use the big bathroom on your side and the unisex is occupied.

Disliked: Didn't "dislike" - but they could use a more well equipped kitchen. Really only two meals can be cooked at once. Common area isn't super comfortable, but great value for money anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paroczi Agnes Zsuzsanna

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Paroczi would recommend this property

Liked: We stay 3 nights here, and it was perfect. The staff were kind and helpful, we can cook some meal for ourselves, our room was comfortable and perfectly enough for two of us, we loved everything. The hostel is just a few steps from Camp Nou and that was one of the most important aspects of our hotel search. The metro station is really near and we can reach every popular tourist attraction in minutes. That is a really good place! We loved it.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were the best. Very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sathyanarayanan Subramanian

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 February 2014 Sathyanarayanan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent ambiance. Being a foreigner I felt at home in this place. Worth the money.

Disliked: Nothing much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ambarish Vaidya Mahadeva Ganapathy

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 February 2014 Ambarish Vaidya would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best possible 'home away from home' experience. Super clean, amazing facilities and extremely helpful staff. Arnau, Iracli and Diego helped in guiding us from tourist places to Metro lines, maps and everything. Language was not a oroblem at all, as everyone the staff here speak fluent English apart from Spanish and other languages!. Fully equipped kitchen and WiFi made the stay a pleasant one. Totally enjoyed my stay here and would recommend to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pushkar Deshpande

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Pushkar would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness^

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Libor Plch

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2014 Libor would recommend this property

Liked: I liked fully equipped kitchen and good clean toilets.

Disliked: Libor left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena hostal. Limpia, buen ambiente, personal amable, la cocina completamente equipada, a dos pasos del metro que te lleva a todas partes.

Disliked: Nada, todo ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mar maya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 mar would recommend this property

Liked: The place is extremely clean and comfy, decent price, and you get free and quite spacious storage. They also have this rule of 'quiet after 11 pm' which they respect and even if some people are still hanging out in the lounge late at night they politely ask you if it's okay to turn off the light and to make no noise, so really nice if you want some quiet rest and relax time after a hectic day. Within walking distance to Camp Nou. Free city and metro maps, nice and friendly staff, a guy who worked there offered me to carry my reaaaally huge and heavy luggage.

Disliked: Wifi only works in the common area. It's not exactly located in Barcelona (a suburb called L'hospitalet de llobregat if I'm not mistaken) but doesn't trouble you that much as the metro station is just a few steps away from the hostel which can take you to the Sants train station in two stops and it's actually closer to the airport than the center of Barcelona.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ROE LAOPHERMSOOK

Alone

Business / conference

25 October 2013 ROE would recommend this property

Liked: - full kitchen - nice workers - not a party hostel - great lockers, provided

Disliked: - one dude that stayed in the hostel the entire time and talked on his phone like an annoying little girl

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and cool

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013

Liked: It was clean and quiet.

Disliked: There were no organized activities and it was a bit far from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nallathambi PREMANAND

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Nallathambi would recommend this property

Liked: When I first booked through website, I had reservations on whether the hostel would be neat, clean and secure. And when i visited it, it was very cool and welcoming with hygiene of a hotel but at a minimal price. The Main thing which i liked was the friendliness of the Staff letting me and planning with me on what to see around and helping me with all the baggage and stuff..they were the best at hospitability

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013

Liked: the 12 dorm room was spacious and the kitchen has everything except for an oven. The bathrooms was modern. Close the metro station. The price was good.

Disliked: The internet was only available at reception desk. When I first arrive,I cut my finger at there door and they did not have a first aid kit for a bleeding finger. I had to treat my self with what I had. You have to pay to use there computer. also bit far from the city.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean close to Camp Nou stadium, close to metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bianca Wagner

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the staff there. Everyone was very helpful and gave us advice about the metro tickets, activities to do and so on. The Hostel is right around the corner from Camp nou Stadium, where the Barcelona City Tour stops, so in you do the tour you dont need to get into the city centre first. The next Metro Station is approximately 2 minutes away and Metros run every 5 min. or even more often. There is also a Spar-Market between the Hostel and the Metro Station, where you can buy Food and other things you may need. The Hostel has a kitchen with everything you need to cook or prepare breakfast. Eveyone can use the fridge and freezer. Whenever there was something missing e.g. Soup or toiletpaper the staff took care of ist right away when we asked.

Disliked: There was only one thing wie disliked - the thin Walls. If you do need to sleep without waking up ones or twice at night you may want to bring earplugs. But we think it is ok for a Hostel. Well, some people leave at 5 in the Morning to catch a flight, but if you have a Problem with that than you should look for a 5-Star Hotel and not stay in a Hostel :)