HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Barcelona Hostal Céntrico

Hostel | Carrer Muntaner 175, PISO 4, DEPART. 1, Barcelona, Spain 08036

69.1% Overall Rating

35 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2013)

"I liked the atmosphere of the staff and other people staying there, everyone was friendly and happy to hang out and exchange stories. The staff were so relaxed and helpful. It was a fun stay!"

Read all AWA Barcelona Hostal Céntrico reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hostalet de Barcelona
34.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
barcelo hostel
17.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Zoo Rooms Boutique Guesthouse
48.34 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 17 reviews
Casa con estilo
41.43 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 45 reviews
Barcelona City Seven
23.56 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Kessler Barcelona
22.10 USD

Hostel 96.3% 13 reviews
Rodamón Hostel
26.10 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Valls
27.62 USD

Hostel 81.4% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

35 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Barcelona Hostal Céntrico'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 65 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free use of computer and a big fridge for your stuffs.

Disliked: only 1 common toilet and 1 shower room for many guests.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jessica Cisotto Busnello

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: There is no lockers to put the luggage or keys for the bedrooms. The hostel is a total mess, it seem that was the house of the staff and they create a hostel to make money. There is just a bathroom for all and the shower was dirty. The beds were unconfortable.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the staff and other people staying there, everyone was friendly and happy to hang out and exchange stories. The staff were so relaxed and helpful. It was a fun stay!

Disliked: There is only one bathroom and the location isn't that central

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. laidback hostel with great atmosphere and staff really make you feel at home. 4 bed rooms available. things don't work perfectly- see below. but if you can cope with that, the atmosphere at this place is really relaxed and friendly. probably my favourite hostel over 3 weeks travelling- anything could happen!

Disliked: often a queue for toilet/ shower. often noisy with people coming and going, banging doors until early hours. but no time limit on getting up in the morning! foam mattresses are hot. no aircon. door handle of room kept falling off and door often opening on it's own so not as much privacy as expected.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alan Trick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013

Liked: It's cheap.

Disliked: It was quite hard to find. If you search for "AWA Barcelona Hostal Céntrico" on google maps it actually takes you to another hostel. The beds are not very comfortable and don't look super clean. The living room area was smokey.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

steve horwood

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2013 steve would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location close to main sights and metronome. Low price so great value.

Disliked: Only one bathroom and one shower room for everyone. No lockers to put belongings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value.

Disliked: Not a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniela sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 daniela would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was perfec and the staff (juan, mata, jetro) was amazing, thank very much guys for everything, if i back to barcelona i'll back here :)

Disliked: nothing to say, just only dont want go :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere and friendliness

Disliked: I don't like that I can't close the door in my room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ahmet kiran

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2013 ahmet would recommend this property

Liked: Very lonely and calm I liked it

Disliked: I did not dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyone were friendly and helpful

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2013

Liked: If i had known i wouldnt have booked this hostel. Hostel bookers must ensure that they post the truth about hostels because what i read about this hostel before booking was not what i found there. 2 different pictures.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: The location and free Wi-Fi.

Disliked: There was no breakfast, no locks on the doors to the rooms, no lockers in the rooms to put your stuff in to keep it safe, no sheets, the pillows were practically nonexistent, and the beds were broken and uncomfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: me gusto mucho la buena onda con la que te tratan

Disliked: hubo una noche sin luz en el baño, ya la arreglaron, nada serio

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: las instalaciones

Disliked: la falta de desayuno

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and it was very close to a metro station too. Also, the hostel was cheap and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: There was only one bathroom/toilet for more than 10 people. the kitchen could be better maintained with more shelves - someone took our stored food twice and we had to buy new stuff.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012

Liked: It was cheap but can find better for a closer location

Disliked: The staff bedroom was next to ours and they have to go through your room to get to there's, so there is twice as many people coming through your room and they don't have any consideration that you might be sleeping as they slam doors and yell loudly to each other, there is only 1 bathroom and 1 toilet they all guests and staff use every morning. So it can be hard to get in there.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: DISGUSTING. The staff is very unprofessional, unhelpful, and a certain front desk man stays in the shower for LITERALLY 45 mins leaving the guests with hot water. VERY dirty and overall gross. Don't stay here unless you do not care about anything except saving money. (However, in hindsight, I would have paid a few bucks more and actually relaxed at a decent place...)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012

Liked: it is good located, that is all

Disliked: not clean, weird way organized, not too friendly,

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Difei XU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: The facility is really bad, only one bathroom for so many people!! And the window in the bathroom is broken. And NO LOCK!!!! The worst: they change our room from 4-bed to 6-bed, without letting us know. Because we arrived at 12:00pm, we have no other choice, so the reception was very rude and even didn't apologize for changing of our room. So we spent a night taking care of our belongings.... This is really the worst hostel I've ever lived......

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the hostel, was perfect and the staff was very friendly and do the crazy party with everyone, if i back to barcelona i'll back in this hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Ebel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find from the Metro stop (just be aware it's on the 4th floor since there are 2 hostels in the same building).

Disliked: The bathroom was a little dirty, but I was also using it at 11:30 PM, so it may have just been used a lot that day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff , location ...... !!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012

Liked: I didn't like a thing

Disliked: It is far from everything, if it is hot outside, inside the hostel is even hotter. Nobody can get a decent sleep, the place is not for humans.