HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Olè Barcelona

Hostel | Carrer de Sardenya 302, Barcelona, Spain 08013

67.8% Overall Rating

165 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"The hostel is near the sagrada familia, and close to a metro station. The receptionist was very kind with us"

Read all Olè Barcelona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. - We DO NOT facilitate for groups. *Maximum of 4 people per reservation. -Property is not suitable for small children

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Sagrada Familia Hotel
72.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Barcelona Bed & Bike Hostel
21.66 USD

Hostel 89.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Carlit
45.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOLA HOSTAL EIXAMPLE
21.01 USD

Hostel 85.0% 21 reviews
Super Tetuan
42.67 USD

Guesthouse 96.4% 4 reviews
DES ARTISTES
42.67 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 15 reviews
Ona Barcelona
14.44 USD

Hostel 76.2% 277 reviews
Mediterranean Hostel Barcelona
21.01 USD

Hostel 90.7% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

165 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Olè Barcelona'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

jaffar khattak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Cleanliness

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near the sagrada familia, and close to a metro station. The receptionist was very kind with us

Disliked: The door of the bathroom (a shared bathroom) was broken, so you had to have a shower with the open door. There wasn't an elevator, so i had to take the luggage to the 4th floor by myself

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Richtzenhain

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: Monica at the reception was the best :-) got always helpful advice and very friendly

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Darío Herraiz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Darío would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Too much people in a small place

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, rather helpful staff, rather clean

Disliked: horrible bathrooms!!! rooms without windows

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: position it was good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is right around the corner from La Sagrada Familia which was wonderful and it's cheap.

Disliked: It was dirty, very hot, you had to pay for towels, it didn't have the best smell throughout and the way they advertised themselves online was false.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great (near metro stop/food/shopping/bars) and the staff was very friendly. This was my first time staying in a hostel and the staff was very accommodating.

Disliked: The first night we arrived we had to wait 30 minutes for someone to buzz us in to the building. They might have been out or sleeping.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zahra Amalia Syarifah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Zahra Amalia would recommend this property

Liked: It is located very close by the Sagrada Familia, Barcelona's main attraction with excellent transportation to other parts of the city.

Disliked: There was not plenty of bathrooms available around here. I had to queue for the bathroom quite often.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014

Liked: The location was nice.

Disliked: The hall smelled aweful. They put up a few air fresheners to cover the smell, but they didn't really help. The bed in our room was broken, and the shower head in the bathroom didn't stay on the wall (I had to hold it up and keep turning off the water so it wouldn't spray everywhere. It even hit me on the head the first time it fell down). Hopefully you won't get booked in a room high up, since they don't have elevators. Overall, €50 (including taxes and fees) was not worth it. Maybe if it was only €20 it would have been a better deal. I found a lot of nice hotels around the same area for around €50 a night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Murray

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Our room on the sixth floor was excellent. I loved the balcony, enough room to sit down in the small space and chill out, and check out the distant views of the sea to the South East, and Sagrat Cor to the North West. Our floor was always extremely quiet, and all the facilities (shower, toilet etc) were right next to our room. There were never any queues for either. The bathroom has a fantastic view of the Sagrada Familia from a completely unique location. The kitchen and dining areas were fantastic use on a daily basis. There were always friendly staff and other hostel guests there to help or say hi. We were welcomed by everyone, every time we stepped in the room. The hostel staff also always play music in the kitchen/communal area, it made for such a good atmosphere!

Disliked: - The hotel is extremely hard to find. There is only a small buzzer, with "Ole" written on it (in pen!). We walked around for about 20 mins, even stared at the addressed door for quite a minutes before realising. Better directions are needed on the website. - The building has no lift - which gets pretty tiring when you're staying on the sixth floor with two huge bags (I counted 100 stairs to the sixth floor). This isn't advertised on the website. - In the middle of our stay, some workers began doing some renovation work on the fourth floor. This could be heard from our room on the sixth. This was never mentioned on the website nor mentioned to us during our stay. - Our single, 2 person room only had one socket in the entire room (thank god for bringing our extension cable). The socket wasn't even close to the mirror, so my girlfriend couldn't use it with her hairdryer. - The room is also extremely bare - it contained a bed, a table, and some 15 square centimetre cubby holes (we used these for keys/documents). As such we had to store all our clothes on this single table, and on the floor. - Our balcony door never properly closed right, so we could never fully shut out the noise from downstairs - as we were on a busy street, there was always car/annoying motorbike noises, horns, as well as the constant sound of crashing glass from the recycling bins from the downstairs restaurants. - The kitchen area closes 11pm-8am, which is extremely annoying for festival-goers (we got home every night at 5am and couldn't make any food). Surely this could be allowed? - The "communal area" was only one table with 10 seats around it. The kitchen area is only around 4 square metres. At busy times (around 7-10pm every night), these two areas would get extremely cramped, at times we even had to leave and come back to make food. The kitchen also has no oven, only microwave/stove.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 June 2014

Liked: The staff is very friendly and it is definitely well located. it is not in the middle of the party scene which for me was perfect. I had good luck and there was a kind of 'comradeship of the broken ones' in my room which made me even enjoy beeing there. It is indeed a very relaxed hostel, which has also its cons: see below.

Disliked: They take 'relaxed' very literal. It seems that anyone (also non-guests I mean) could go inside the hostel at any time. The dorms have no key and the doors of each floor are almost always open. You can lock some things up, but still, there is only one small locker for the whole hostel. Also there is only one toilet/bathroom in each floor (which is not enough) so I had to use the toilet from the coffee shop next door very often. The shower was plugged and some sweeping on the rooms would be often requiered. The mattresses are too thin. You need to be very tolerant and I guess it is possible to get something better for the same price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Xin Ying Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Xin Ying would recommend this property

Liked: Female dorm

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Flora Lam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Flora would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and the staffs are friendly. Kitchen are free to use and the location is just exactly next to La Sagrada Familia Basilica - Tho a few metro station from the city centre but is convenient enough. Restaurants and shops are near.

Disliked: Wifi doesnt work so well. No individual light next to the bed. It was quite inconvenient at night when your roomates sleeping early than you. Only one washroom in one floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikram Kunisetty

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Vikram would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and informative staff good wifi hygenic bathrooms

Disliked: no elevator/lift - had to climb up 5 floors no lockers inside the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2014

Liked: The staff.

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty (hair on the floor, smell of mold). They don't have a place to lock our luggages.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stanel Laptuca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Stanel would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff

Disliked: Stanel left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Sharing a bathroom only one was clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juliana Lima

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

16 April 2014 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the shower was very good!!!

Disliked: The mattres was really slim

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane McGuire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, great location, and very nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Shane left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect for me and the staff were great . Older venue with character and charm. Nice smaller hostel without the big groups. I had the unfortunate experience of been pick pocketed , upset, angry at myself most of all the staff could not have done enough to help and support me many thanks.

Disliked: The toaster did I not work but within a day this was replaced. No elevators plenty of stairs so fitness is an extra here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ruai Gurin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2014 ruai would recommend this property

Liked: Meet friendly roommates. they clean to toilets almost every hour so its always clean. everything is close by and the metro, Or if you like to walk

Disliked: Only thing we disliked wished we booked it for more days :(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YANJUN JIANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

08 March 2014 YANJUN would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was good

Disliked: the facilities are not too comfortable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sarah Sheppard

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, kitchen hours, wifi in room, no curfew, 24 hour check in service

Disliked: not very visually appealing, hallways smelled foul, no elevator- we were on the top floor. In the summer, this would be extremely annoying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kang Won Yeob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Kang would recommend this property

Liked: 위치가 찾기 굉장히 어려웠음

Disliked: 위치