We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sunshine Hostel

Hostel | Carrer Escudellers 6, Barcelona, Spain 08002

85.0% Overall Rating

92 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Hoang Nguyen thinks…

"Moti the caretaker was extremely helpful and made my friends and I feel right at home. He offered lots of helpful advice about places to see and eat. The space was clean and well maintained. The…"

Read all Sunshine Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Escudellers House
88.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Kabul Hostel
9.49 USD

Hostel 83.2% 1445 reviews
Cool Hostel
7.58 USD

Hostel 82.1% 146 reviews
Stay in bcn suites
56.93 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews
Sun and Moon Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 73.1% 867 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
31.63 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
ideal youth hostel
11.32 USD

Hostel 85.5% 11 reviews
Pillow One Barcelona
25.30 USD

Hostel 78.9% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

92 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunshine Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hoang Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Hoang would recommend this property

Liked: Moti the caretaker was extremely helpful and made my friends and I feel right at home. He offered lots of helpful advice about places to see and eat. The space was clean and well maintained. The kitchen had supplies for cooking with no charge. The people in the other rooms of the hostel were quiet and respectful.

Disliked: Las Ramblas is very touristic and crowded but if you want to be central and near to the beach it is perfect. My only reservations about this place are that the building is shared with other hostels and residents (not all quiet and respectful) and that it is hard to find if you don't know what you are looking for. There is no sign at all (despite what one of the other reviewer said), only a number 6. My recommendation is to call as soon as you get to the cross streets and a staff member will come get you right away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super relaxed and friendly, great facilities and staff

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Felipe Molleda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It wasn't so much safe, to close the room you use a padlock and the window was very old and easy to open from outside. The entrance is very dirty and insecure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Syed Fahmy Alkaff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Syed Fahmy would recommend this property

Liked: Have to especially mention Carlos ( the guy who takes care of the hostel ). He is a genuine awesome guy. Made us feel right at home and was very warm to all of us. Rooms were spacious and clean and toilets were cleaned regularly too. Will definitely stay there again the next time i visit Barcelona. Good location and value for money

Disliked: Syed Fahmy left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Indrayush De

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Indrayush would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't be any better. Situated just beside La Rambla and a few minutes walk from the metro; this place is perfect for tourists on a weekend break. The staff (one guy) is very nice and cheerful. The bathrooms were my biggest concern before I left but I was happy to see that they were pretty clean.

Disliked: The building looked a little dodgy. When you are outside or walking up the stairs, you might think that it was a big mistake to take this accommodation but ones you are in, I think you will be less worried.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: The owner was very friendly. The hostel is very central near Las Ramblas.

Disliked: The house in which the hostel is located is very old and dirty. The hostel itself is a flat on the second floor in which the owner himself is also living. Unfortunately the linens were dirty and full of white stains after our arrival. We spent the first night sleeping on our towels on the bed. After the first night the owner promised that the linens were cleaned and that some stains couldn't be removed in the washing machine, and we got new linens. But the stains wede definitely caused by the people who slept there before and the lines had not been cleaned (we found also a hair on the linen). There were also lots of cockroachs in the hostel (in the bathroom and the kitchen) which are not unusual in Spain, but I've been to Barcelona several times and never saw cockroachs there before. The bathroom and the kitchen were cleaned by the friendly owner every day, but the location seemed very obsolete and run-down and especially the bathroom was mouldy. All in all, I would 't recommend that hostel, primarily because of the unwashed linens and the lots of cockroachs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't be better, and the staff was extraordinarily friendly and attentive. Wifi really is free and reliable.

Disliked: The building is very old and shabby. Outside the hostel itself (which is nothing more than an apartment within an apartment building), the staircase is filthy and in bad repair. There is no AC, just a fan inside the rooms. In hot, humid summer nights, this can be a real bother. The hostel is hard to find. There is no sign anywhere on the building, just an intercom with a sticker saying "SH" above it. But if you know the exact adress and see the intercom, you will get in.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paul Kamps

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice! Easy to get to from the train station via taxi! The owner was waiting outside the hostel for us to bring us up to our rooms. Bathrooms are well equipped and clean. Good shower pressure and heat! The owner was very helpful and gave us lots of helpful trip advise. I'd recommend this place to any young travelers Canadian or not!

Disliked: It smelled rather smokey in the hallway due to the neighbours across the way. Also, he only accepts Euro cash! Other than that it was great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Evelina Davidavi?i?t?

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Evelina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Evelina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good experience for us... As our first time in Barcelona the hostel responds our needs.. The stuff was very friendly and helpful... For sure we will come back!! ;-)

Disliked: The building is old... But I think is in all the gothic neighbourwood...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: me ha gustado mucho el sitio,el edificio es un poco antiguo pero dentro es muy bonito. el trato de la gente es muy agradable.muy bien situado.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place,we liked it a lot !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christabel Harnett

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

04 February 2013

Liked: The hostel was just off the Rambla so was in quite a central location. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The place (once inside) had a nice rustic feel about it.

Disliked: It took us a very long time to find the hostel as it was not well signposted at all. The only sign on the street to let us know we'd found it - was a very small sticker over a buzzer on a door that said 'Sunshine Hostel' - it was a miracle we even found the place! Going up and down stairs to reach the doors of the hostel that smelled like pee, and having to go through several locked doors (all of which were quite stiff) to even get into the hostel itself. The rooms were okay - but they didn't have any air conditioning, only a loud rackety fan, and the windows looked straight over to another rooms, so I felt there was quite a lack of privacy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ramon Schreuder

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Ramon would recommend this property

Liked: The location, double-room, no party hostel, freedom

Disliked: Thin walls, you hear everything happening in the hostel (no outside noise) Small kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suyan TIAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Suyan would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friend came for 4 days in Barcelona, the staffs are very helpful and the atmosphere is the best ever compares to the hostels I was in before. We are more than 100% happy and satisfy for this place, I think those who said negative points because they are very picky. Recommended +++

Disliked: Suyan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NAN GAO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 NAN would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a good hotel! Super super super nice! More details:The hosts are friendly, considerable, and generous. It's very safe and clean; the location is good for visiting; the breakfast, wifi, bathroom, kitchen are free, no extra money charged. All in all, it's a very good choice!

Disliked: NAN left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Dench

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic, friendly staff who speak excellent english :-) Thanks guys

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Romantic getaway

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything ! Great people, great location ! Nice facilities and cosy atmosphere !

Disliked: Nothing to be disliked

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012

Liked: Great location and staff were nice.

Disliked: Staff had friencs over on the second night and the flat smelled of smoke. Also, it was extremely hard to find as it's in an appartment building and entirely unmarked. We had to ring them and have someone come down and meet us on the street. No signs anywhere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, cozy environment, well located for walking to the majority of destinations, and great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pacheco Pérez ALgaba

Alone

Relaxation/spa

28 November 2012 Pacheco would recommend this property

Liked: Me gustó mucho el trato ofrecido personalmente. Me ayudaron en todas mis dudas sobre la ciudad y me recomendaron sitios muy buenos. La verdad que en cuanto precio calidad esta muy bien porque esta en una zona muy bien situada a pesar de tener precios muy razonables

Disliked: La unica pega es que el trabajador habla muchos idiomas y el español es el que menos se le entiende. Pero nada del otro mundo vaya.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Healy

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 November 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The best point is the place is in the centre of the old city. I liked the street where the Hostel is placed, as it resemble how should be barcelona in the old times. The hostel is a basic but lovely one. Also, It was the cheapest price I found in the city centre so I would stay again if back to Barcelona

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorna duffy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 lorna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location - it's very close to everything I wanted to see. It has a lovely traditional style, yet is very clean and new. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave me great tips for my stay in Barcelona.

Disliked: The building looked a bit old and ramshackle from outside, but inside it was really lovely.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Judith Callanan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: I can thoroughly recommend the Sunshine Hostel, but remember it is a budget hostel.

Disliked: Judith left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dovile Kenny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Dovile would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing. Felt like home. Amazing staff. Good value for money. Highly recommended!!

Disliked: Dovile left no negative feedback.