HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sunshine Hostel

Hostel | Carrer Escudellers 6, Barcelona, Spain 08002

85.4% Overall Rating

91 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Hoang Nguyen thinks…

"Moti the caretaker was extremely helpful and made my friends and I feel right at home. He offered lots of helpful advice about places to see and eat. The space was clean and well maintained. The…"

Read all Sunshine Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Escudellers House
28.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Kabul Hostel
36.26 USD

Hostel 83.5% 1440 reviews
Picasso Boarding House
37.60 USD

Guesthouse 56.9% 183 reviews
Cool Hostel
22.81 USD

Hostel 80.3% 140 reviews
Stay in bcn suites
60.43 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews
Sun and Moon Hostel
21.49 USD

Hostel 76.7% 865 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
38.94 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
ideal youth hostel
27.53 USD

Hostel 94.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

91 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunshine Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 100 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Hunter

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 November 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic position near great bars and cafes.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Yuriy Nakonechnyy

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Location is perfect - in the very centre of the city; also the staff was very nice and helpful. Also double room has more space which we liked a lot.

Disliked: Though everything was clean in the hostel, we saw cockroaches in the kitchen from time to time, which lowers general impression greatly. Also, there is no normal place for parking bicycles which was really problematic for us

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Joao Faisca

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpfull. As far as i needed, they were always present. Wi-fi it's free and works well. Nice lockers in the dorm (key is provided).

Disliked: No breakfast though it's mentioned to be included. No common living room with TV like shown on pictures. Only one kitchen and not 2 like (once again) shown on pictures. 2 toilets were available but not very clean. Very dodgy street and building. For people with a light sleep can be tricky. Our dorm is turned to a school playground which was very noisy on the week days. Also there's no way to avoid light in the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the place is perfect! Right at the center, very close to the harbor and the main street. The owners are really nice and welcoming.

Disliked: The building where the hostel was situated was a bit creepy. It's an old house where other families are living as well. We experienced some very noisy neighbors. We were also a bit annoyed by the fact that the computer for general use was put right behind our door so there was always somebody sitting there. Depends of course what you are looking for,a hostel stay is never perfect but if you are looking for just a rooftop over your head, it's a great place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Van Der Poel

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Location, Location opposite restaurants/ shops and night clubs, you do pay for it when you try to sleep as the street noise is very loud but you don't come to Barcelona to sleep

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, friendly stuff, quite cheap.

Disliked: Breakfast is not provided but was mentioned at website.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really nice and clean, we wound up with one even better than id expected. The location is amazing it is right on las Ramblas so your right in the middle with all the action. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel really relaxed about staying there.

Disliked: The door you first come to is signed at all, there is a sticker on the buzzer and thats all so could do with some better signage but thats about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Kaluza

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2012 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was great! Arti and Bell are 2 people who will stay on my mind as one of the most friendly and hospitality couple i've ever met. If i'll ever go to Barcelona again i'll definitly come back to that place

Disliked: Damian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalya Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: The location is amazing, absolutely perfect. Met some lovely people there too in the common area within the dorm.

Disliked: Walked up and down La Ramblas 4 times looking for the street, then the door or buzzer didn't have signs on them either. Outside the hostel seemed pretty dodgy, which they can't really do anything about, but inside was nice. The staff were great and helpful but had a strange situation with one of them sleeping in the dorm, then being awoken by the other and told they were a disgrace et cetera? Not sure if this exchange woke anyone else up but it made me feel uncomfortable for the next day and night...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very helpful staff, excellent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Blount

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: I was really pleased we stayed at this hostel. It's SO conveniently located, there's no way you could be any closer to the centre of things. The outside does look a little dodgy, but don't be put off, inside it's so nice, and very clean. It's not a party hostel, and we really appreciated the calm after a long day of sightseeing. Finally the staff are really lovely and friendly. It really feels like a home and has a great vibe. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Being so close to the Rambla, it is a bit noisy at night sometimes, but as long as you take some earplugs you'll be fine! Also (in the building we stayed in anyway, I think there are two?) you have to walk through the lounge to get to the bathrooms, which can be a bit annoying/awkward if people are watching tv. Not that they can do anything about the layout!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Carlos Duarte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the helpful staff.

Disliked: Carlos left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ciara O'Hara

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, lovely staff, great location, very clean, and a good atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kinsella

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location, just off las ramblas and plaza real. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended

Disliked: Air conditioning would have been nice but it was still great overall

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nichola Edmans

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2012 Nichola would recommend this property

Liked: I was looking for a slightly quieter hostel this trip and the Sunshine Hostel was perfect. It was kept very clean, there was a computer available most of the time and the kitchen was well equipped. Two bathrooms to share with the dorm room and private rooms, but it was usually free when I needed it. Amazing location, just of La Rambla and in the hustle and bustle of the gothic district. Some other reviews mention no lockers...there are lockers in the dorm, you're given a key and they're plenty big enough!

Disliked: If you're looking for a larger hostel with bar and lots of people to meet etc, this is probably not to you, but I very much enjoyed my stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and accommodating staff, comfortable beds, small sitting room within each bunk room (great for when it's past midnight and the common room is closed), and quiet.

Disliked: No A/C, but the fans were usually enough to cool down with, and it was a little difficult to find, even when we were in the building - just a general lack of directional signage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - they went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable the whole time and were super accommodating despite being fully booked. Nice little kitchen where we could cook and the location could not have been better to explore Barcelona. Would highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff, safe and secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inna Arushanova

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping

16 July 2012 Inna would recommend this property

Liked: Wery nice and unique hostel located in a Gothic Quarter of Barca with warm atmosphere and friendly staff. If i will ever go to Barcelona again, i will definitely stay in Sinshine hostel. It's not a "modern" or "technological" place, but you will fell like home there, because it's not crowded even when full. and the stuff is increbibly friendly! we had an interesting conversation about a lot of things in our last evening in Barcelona. They are happy to help you and give you an advise and even help you with your laundry just for 5 euros (:

Disliked: Inna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Se respira una buena atmosfera, y es genial porque queda en pleno centro y esta muy bien de precio. Ha sido una experiencia muy agradable. La gente es muy amable, y se duerme a gusto.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina Savage

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Sunshine was a really chilled place to stay. It's in the perfect spot off las ramblas but perfectly sheltered from noise. Adam and Sarah were really sweet too. We went to saint juan festival with them and they were really easy going. Super clean and attentive too.

Disliked: Georgina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Su

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: It is extremely good value for money. The location is perfect. Right on the La Rambla and close to the old town part of Barcelona. Not difficult to find although the building looks shabby outside and in the stairs. It is 15 mins walk to the Barceloneta beach, which is quite convenient. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The neighbourhood are friendly and nice. The communal area is not too big but it is lovely with plants and sunshine. The room is clean and tidy. The bathroom is quite clean in terms of hostel standard. We had a wonderful stay there. Recommend for people who are looking for good value for money places to live in Barcelona.

Disliked: Nothing with that price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Not your usual hostel. You would never know there was a hostel from the street, but would recommend this hostel. a personalised approach and very friendly. Felt like my home away from home.

Disliked: a sign to the entrence