We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Serendipity Hostel Barcelona

Hostel | Carrer Casp 160, Entresuelo, Barcelona, Spain 08013

82.1% Overall Rating

56 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

"It's very quiet, but really spacious and interesting layout - kind of like in old school. Had a lovely dog!"

Read all Serendipity Hostel Barcelona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.58

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Confortel Auditori
58.56 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
34.21 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
HOLA HOSTAL EIXAMPLE
17.96 USD

Hostel 84.2% 24 reviews
DES ARTISTES
41.69 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 16 reviews
Barcelona Bed & Bike Hostel
19.24 USD

Hostel 89.5% 9 reviews
Hotel Carlit
41.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
LA ISLA HOSTAL
35.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
360 Hostel Barcelona
15.27 USD

Hostel 88.6% 292 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

56 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Serendipity Hostel Barcelona'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014

Liked: Friendly manager.

Disliked: Filthy. Rarey cleaned. No privacy for bathroom/toilet. Kitchen doesn't get cleaned. Just one guy there, so obviously not everything gets done. Lacks any character. Manager didn't even have maps of the city to give us.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool people

Disliked: Terrible bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Ellina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to, safe. 24hour service and not noisy

Disliked: Toilets and showers could have been in better condition

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very quiet, but really spacious and interesting layout - kind of like in old school. Had a lovely dog!

Disliked: Had to be buzzed in on entry, quite far away from tourist spots/beach.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Goodfellow

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: I had an incredible time at serendipity - Orestes is a great person, and if you are genuine and give him the time Of day, don't treat him like a butler but as a friend you will be lucky enough To have the best experience there- The hostel is small in capacity but HUGE in space, no lines for showers Or kitchen time- rooms are BIG, sheets are clean- It wasn't like a hostel, but like a family Yes, it's just out of the city, but we walked to the beach In 25 mins, and la rambla in 20 IGNORE PREVIOUS BAD REVIEWS! I was shocked that they were so wrong when we arrived! Orestes is a hard working lovely guy. Kate and bri give it 100%

Disliked: No dislikes

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013

Liked: Atmosphere was really nice and social, the manager was incredibly friendly and well-meaning, beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The main problem was the bathroom, which was filthy. All the showers were mouldy and didn't drain, so they flooded every time someone showered. This created a muddy mess whenever someone walked through the puddles of water. Also, there was no key to the hostel or the room (you had to buzz the manager to get in). There were lockers, but the other people in our room had taken them all, so we essentially had nowhere to store any of our valuables. Finally, the hostel was understaffed because three out of the four employees were on holiday at the time. This probably explains a lot of the problems we encountered - the remaining employee was very sweet and did his best to manage the hostel alone!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013

Liked: It was cheap and empty, but it's cheap and empty for a very good reason. It's not in the best location, the staff was unpardonably rude (I read the other reviews. I guess it must be under new management), it's extremely dirty, and there are flies and ants everywhere.

Disliked: 1. LOCATION - The hostel is a fair walk from either of the metro stations. It's not exactly near the sights. It's not the best neighborhood at night. There is no sign for the door, only a little sign, maybe 12 or 14 point font, by a separate buzzer. You will stay up all night because the buzzer rings throughout the property. Everytime someone enters at night, the buzzer rings several times before manager/the only guy in the hotel, gets up to let someone in. 2. BATHROOMS: There is one bathroom for the property. It is truly dirty. There were stains on the walls, caked shit stains on the toilet. It had obviously not been cleaned during my stay. 3. CLEANLINESS: The room I stayed in was overflowing with trash. The trash was not taken out the whole time I was there. Additionally, during my stay, some people had checked out. Their rumpled sheets were left as they were. The kitchen is covered in flies and there is an ant problem. 4. SECURITY: There are no locks on the doors. The door to my room didn't even close all the way. The lockers are very small. Your stuff will be out in the open. 5. STAFF: By far, the biggest problem. I only saw one guy there. He literally could give less of a shit. I asked about recommendations on things to see and tours. His reply? "Why would you ask such things?" as he walked away. I told him I needed to print something. There was no ink, so his suggestion was to go somewhere else. I asked him if he was serious, he said, "What, you expect something special from me?" as he walked away. I had an early flight, so I told the staff that I needed to check out early. The response? "Why do you need to check out?" BOTTOM LINE: The hostel is cheap and empty for a reason. -If you do anything to take the one staff member away from his computer/his bed, or inconvenience him in any way, you WILL have a problem. Don't ask questions, don't need anything, and above all, do NOT make noise at night because you will be told off. -If you want to be in a safe neighborhood, it will not feel that way at night. -If you want your hostel clean, it will not be clean. There will be ants and flies. -If you want your stuff to be secure, it won't be. The doors don't have locks.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013

Liked: The guy who runs it is really nice, the rooms are good, kitchen is nice, location is good.

Disliked: Showers and toilets are very dirty. Also, it was almost totally empty when I stayed, very lonely!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I needed a hostel close to the bus station, that wasn't too expensive so I chose Serendipity. I was pleasantly surprised by the great attractions close by ie the beach, sagrada familia and metro too. But for me the Staff - Oresto made it worth it. Just really lovely and helpful.

Disliked: Maybe a little too hot at night as it has no A/C.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really really friendly staff, thanks for a nice stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neville Dias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Neville would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good kitchen, enough space and the common room was very social every night before going out. Orestis is the best!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: such a cool place. the best hostel I´ve stayed at. a really good way to meet new people. kitchen was really good and the areas to hang out were really nice, especially the terrace.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was fantastic!!!! Orestis is such a good guy and we had an amazing stay

Disliked: the shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place very close to Estacio Nord having to catch a bus @ 7 am the location was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Gregory

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, awesome roof terrace, heaps of room, good kitchen and lounge and Orestis was fantastic.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quiet and everything was new

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. It was close to anything we needed but still in a quiet area. It was nice to have a kitchen available and a lounge area. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The main door is locked to the outside (which is nice for security purposes) but you do not get a key, you must ring the bell and be buzzed in. As younger travelers, we would have liked to have keys so that we could come and go later at night without bothering the staff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

LEE HYE JIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 LEE would recommend this property

Liked: very close from bus station

Disliked: in my case when i was stay there some guest arguing with staff. and finally police coming. i don't know what happened exackly but you can not imagine a modern things except kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel guy is amazing.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jinye Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Jinye would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very helpful and nice.

Disliked: there is no air-conditioner. it is too hot in summer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fellow travelers

Disliked: Not much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At the time we stayed the people in the hostel were all friendly, almost like a little family, kitchen facilitis were great and a large dinning room to eat all together, rooms are very spacious, never really felt cramped, I would definitely stay again

Disliked: the only thing was there was a bit of a walk to get to the beach or main attractions, but close enough to metro and bus stations

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ayse balkar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 ayse would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was so warm blooded ,they behave customers like a friend in a good way

Disliked: showers and toilets was dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Ting

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: - Great staff, always helpful. - Reliable internet access.

Disliked: Only 3 bathrooms, can be a bit busy in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere owners treats everybody like a friend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.