We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alberguinn Youth Hostel

Hostel | Melcior de Palau 70-74, Barcelona, Spain 08014

87.1% Overall Rating

939 out of 983 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"Individual lockers in the rooms and good bathroom facilities. Very close to Barcelona Sants station."

Read all Alberguinn Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from November 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night will be charged for the first 7 nights. People under 17 years old are exempt.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hostelscat
19.20 USD

Hostel 87.0% 18 reviews
ROOM 018 BCN
22.99 USD

Hostel 89.4% 23 reviews
Hostel One Sants
12.59 USD

Hostel 91.1% 411 reviews
Apart Center Sants
30.83 USD

Apartment 83.2% 112 reviews
Hotel Transit
50.74 USD

Hotel 81.0% 11 reviews
Barcelona Pere Tarres Youth Hostel
12.72 USD

Hostel 79.0% 729 reviews
Flowery Palace
11.56 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sercotel Abbot
62.30 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

939 out of 983 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alberguinn Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 711 of 766 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean, not too noisy at night

Disliked: Was a bit of a walk from the station, with luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly atmosphere, easy to find, helpful staff

Disliked: Quite far away from everything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Benji Knights Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2010 Benji would recommend this property

Liked: it was amazing!! free internet!! excellent beds and bathroom facilities. great place to meet people as they are all in small groups and so easy to get involved. staff were amazingly helpful, told us everything we needed to know about the city. was very well air conditioned which is great as in the summer the sun gets very very hot and so you can barely stand being outside. good cooking facilities, two microwaves, big fridge and freezer that was well organised. generally an AMAZING hostel!!!!

Disliked: the only bad thing was that it was a little far to get to tubes or busses, but still was only a 5 min walk to the metro, which is fine!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Dortmans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: I found it hard to meet people here as most stayers were French, but the common room is nice and cosy and the rooms nice and big. Small touches are good like hair dryers in the bathroom and the staff were quite helpful.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was relatively easy for me to get to since I had lived in the area and they gave great directions on the website. Placa de Sants is a good area to be in because it has the train station, Barcelona Sants, a couple blocks away and a metro station with the best line (red) in my opinion. Red will take you to basically everything worth seeing if you're sightseeing in Barcelona. The hostel is only a short ride or walk away to the Magic Fountain too. The guy who works at the reception late night/early morning was very nice and helpful. Wifi in the lobby area was a nice perk and they made it look very modern. There are plenty of travel guides on Barcelona and Europe if you're looking for places to go.

Disliked: It's hard to sleep with 14 other people but if you're only there for a night then it's tolerable, especially for the price! I'd suggest putting in your Ipod or something. Also, the noise from the streets is pretty disruptive even though you think you're on a small street. Nothing in Barcelona is ever truly quiet. I would say the bathroom area needs to be cleaned more often as everyone from the dorms basically shares only 2 bathrooms and it's only cleaned once a day, from what I could tell.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Smart

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

29 July 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, homey feel. Location wasn´t super central, but is really only a 5 minute walk from the sants plaza metro. bed was comfortable. really really nice staff.

Disliked: breakfast was free, but it really sucked. I wish there was a terrace area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe. Hospitable and friendly.

Disliked: Insufficient ventilation in the bathroom and kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Above all, its cleanliness! its been said before, but this is the cleanest hostel i have ever stayed at (and that is saying something!). The facilities are very good and the staff is very welcoming and helpful:

Disliked: I didnt have any dislikes!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff, air conditioning, common area and kitchen, good breakfast

Disliked: location was sometimes tiresome, bathroom got really really steamy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalie Valcourt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: clean, very colourful and not too big

Disliked: the lockers are a bit small and because they are made of metal they make a lot of noise when you go into them. Also, there are no individual lights, it can be annoying to have all the lights open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I spent just one night there, but it was perfect. I can recommend it for everyone! the staff is supersymphatic, the people too, the hostel is very clean and comfortable. You can't be disappointed if you choose this hostel!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yi Ka Tang

22 June 2010 Yi Ka would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and provide very useful travel tips! The toilet facilities are clean and equipped with hairdryers. Overall, the hostel provides very attentive service and good breakfast. I enjoy my stay here so much!

Disliked: Yi Ka left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoy is staying, very helpful and nice staff :))

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrej Boznik

09 June 2010 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: near shops, helpful staff, common room

Disliked: Andrej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiaqi Chen

08 June 2010 Jiaqi would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are super nice and helpful! they made my stay in Barcelona thank you so much!very clean and spacious bedroom n bathroom! the hostel's really thoughtful they provide everything u need!!wil definitely stay at this hostel again when go bk to Barcelona!

Disliked: Jiaqi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Winkler

06 June 2010 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: That hostel is amazing. Very clean, stuff is very helpfull, wifi free, good location and everything is great. Thank you very much.

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful. They provide all kinds of info, like what to eat cheap tapas, where to enjoy a night life. Amazingly nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My best experience at a hostel in four years of living abroad.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YI-PING WANG

26 May 2010 YI-PING would recommend this property

Liked: At my first day in Barcelona, my money and passport were stolen, and they really did a great help to me, they are all very nice to me. Thank you so much I have to say. If I have any chance to go Barcelona, it will be the first choice that I want to stay in.

Disliked: YI-PING left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really love this place. If there is a star rating, it will deserve more than 6 stars!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i definitly recommend this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.