We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alberguinn Youth Hostel

Hostel | Melcior de Palau 70-74, Barcelona, Spain 08014

86.2% Overall Rating

940 out of 985 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/10/2014)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"Although it is far from the centre, it is quite near Sants station. The bed was fine and the dorm was fairly spacious."

Read all Alberguinn Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from November 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night will be charged for the first 7 nights. People under 17 years old are exempt.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hostelscat
12.64 USD

Hostel 87.0% 18 reviews
ROOM 018 BCN
13.79 USD

Hostel 89.4% 23 reviews
Hostel One Sants
20.11 USD

Hostel 91.1% 412 reviews
Apart Center Sants
24.04 USD

Apartment 83.2% 112 reviews
Hotel Transit
49.34 USD

Hotel 81.0% 11 reviews
Barcelona Pere Tarres Youth Hostel
10.37 USD

Hostel 78.9% 730 reviews
Flowery Palace
15.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sercotel Abbot
215.05 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

940 out of 985 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alberguinn Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 712 of 768 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent everything: services, room, shower, reception, peoples!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alberguinn Youth Hostel was amazing. Our corner room was spacious and had a lot of natural light. Breakfast was really good. I especially liked the chocolate cereal and the nutella for the toast. The staff was really friendly and helpful. A lot of tour and restaurant recommendations were available that made our trip even more fulfilling. Also, we met a lot of friendly people staying in our room with us. It was a great envrionment to live in and have as a base to explore Barcelona.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liise Kallas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Liise would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and bright.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hwee Sian Britney Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Hwee Sian Britney would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and the location is very central with many metro stations around. The staff were also very helpful and it was good that there were computers available for use.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and speaks good english :) They provide useful informations about Barcelona and it helps me a lot. No need to wash dishes, they use dishwashing machine.

Disliked: There is no lift, need to climb up 1 floor. The location is slightly far from the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially staff - very helpfull

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and quiet

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Garliss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: It was hot, but after opening the windows, very comfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

edward albert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 edward would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean and safe and open 24 hrs

Disliked: the location is a bit far away from the action of barcelona

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very service-minded staff, made me breakfast even though i had to leave before breakfast hours. Everything was super nice and clean.

Disliked: It was a bit noisy from traffic outside even though it's on a small street.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it. Close to the metro, a very easy train system to use. Very helpful staff, thank you!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anne Campbell

Alone

City break

09 May 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast

Disliked: Price a bit high for 12-bed room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful especially Cedric! Included wifi, lockers, kitchen and a simple breakfast. A short walk from the metro. There are a few little supermarkets down the street.

Disliked: Fans in the 14 bed dorm would have been nice for some air flow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is located near two metro stations (and near the main station of the city); it is clean and secured; breakfast included in the price; nice staff

Disliked: Maybe a little bit too far from the city centre, so we have to take the metro to go downtown. The streets surrounding youth hostel are particularly noisy (especially early on mornings)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, very neat to Santz station. And people were kind and friendly, the kitchen was kept clean, bathroom was clean enough, good-working hair dryer, and comfortable bed. I'm totally satisfied.

Disliked: I felt a little unsafe around here midnight, but if you come back earlier it does not matter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's great if you need to be near Sants station! The staff were friendly and the facilities were good. Nice lounge with TV and a kitchen.

Disliked: Keycard access to every door was kind of annoying.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bathrooms. Excellent staff. Spacious dorm.

Disliked: price a bit high for the location which is not too central.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nate Longfellow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Nate would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to Metro and Rail station.

Disliked: Hard to find via the English directions

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful stuff.

Disliked: Can't say I disliked something.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Unruh

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone I met was nice and even the people in the rooms were warm and welcoming. they did a good job putting together people who spoke the same language.

Disliked: It was a long walk to any metro stations

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine McAllister

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, willing to help, and available 24 hours. The free wifi was a huge plus. I also liked that it was fairly small, so it was easy to get to know other guests. It was very clean and in a safe location.

Disliked: While the location is very close to two metro stations (and from there a 15 minute ride into downtown), it's possible that we could have actually saved money by staying somewhere closer to downtown for more per night since we wouldn't have needed to buy so many metro passes. The breakfast was, for lack of a better word, lame. White bread, nutella and cornflakes? Really? We had thought we could save money by having breakfast included, but we ended up going elsewhere in the mornings. All in all though, those two things are relatively minor and I thought the hostel was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to a metro station, although this station is a bit far from the centre. The hostel is clean and safe. The location looks a bit dangerous but it is not. The staff are friendly and helpfull. We have lockers close to the beds. Bathroom and bedrooms are clean and the linen as well. The common area is friendly and the wifi and the computers are very helpfull! If you are backpacking and are not worried about comfort, I will totally recommend this place!

Disliked: It is a bit far from the centre!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe anthony

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2011 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk worker was always friendly and willing to help. The common area was always clean and very nicely decorated. The free wiki and two computers was a HUGE help. The rooms were clean, and so were the bathrooms. Absolutely no complaints, would recommend to anyone traveling!

Disliked: The location was a bit far from everything but with a metro stop only several blocks away, it turned out to be fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you got breakfast from 8 to 11 .. but a few of us had to leave very early (4 to 5 am) but they still provided breakfast for us.. not something special.. but that was very nice... also the stuff was nice and helpfull.. best hostel i ´ve lived for a few days unitl now!!!!

Disliked: well, actually there was nothing... the price was ok for what we got.. well it was way better then i expected!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. We appreciated the free breakfast though it is simple. The free lockers are very useful.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk (20-30 minutes) from the center of town and even farther from places like Park Guell and the Sagrada Familia.