HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alberguinn Youth Hostel

Hostel | Melcior de Palau 70-74, Barcelona, Spain 08014

88.9% Overall Rating

925 out of 969 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"Only stayed one night, but it's a great spot if you need to catch an early train from the Sants station. Free breakfast was also convenient."

Read all Alberguinn Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from November 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night will be charged for the first 7 nights. People under 17 years old are exempt.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hostelscat
22.03 USD

Hostel 87.8% 14 reviews
Hostel One Sants
13.67 USD

Hostel 90.6% 401 reviews
Apart Center Sants
33.14 USD

Apartment 83.2% 112 reviews
Hotel Transit
38.67 USD

Hotel 78.6% 8 reviews
Barcelona Pere Tarres Youth Hostel
21.96 USD

Hostel 84.9% 687 reviews
Flowery Palace
15.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sercotel Abbot
182.30 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Hostel Box Diagonal
11.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

925 out of 969 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alberguinn Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 702 of 751 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it. Close to the metro, a very easy train system to use. Very helpful staff, thank you!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anne Campbell

Alone

City break

09 May 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast

Disliked: Price a bit high for 12-bed room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful especially Cedric! Included wifi, lockers, kitchen and a simple breakfast. A short walk from the metro. There are a few little supermarkets down the street.

Disliked: Fans in the 14 bed dorm would have been nice for some air flow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is located near two metro stations (and near the main station of the city); it is clean and secured; breakfast included in the price; nice staff

Disliked: Maybe a little bit too far from the city centre, so we have to take the metro to go downtown. The streets surrounding youth hostel are particularly noisy (especially early on mornings)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, very neat to Santz station. And people were kind and friendly, the kitchen was kept clean, bathroom was clean enough, good-working hair dryer, and comfortable bed. I'm totally satisfied.

Disliked: I felt a little unsafe around here midnight, but if you come back earlier it does not matter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's great if you need to be near Sants station! The staff were friendly and the facilities were good. Nice lounge with TV and a kitchen.

Disliked: Keycard access to every door was kind of annoying.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bathrooms. Excellent staff. Spacious dorm.

Disliked: price a bit high for the location which is not too central.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nate Longfellow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Nate would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to Metro and Rail station.

Disliked: Hard to find via the English directions

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful stuff.

Disliked: Can't say I disliked something.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Unruh

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone I met was nice and even the people in the rooms were warm and welcoming. they did a good job putting together people who spoke the same language.

Disliked: It was a long walk to any metro stations

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine McAllister

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, willing to help, and available 24 hours. The free wifi was a huge plus. I also liked that it was fairly small, so it was easy to get to know other guests. It was very clean and in a safe location.

Disliked: While the location is very close to two metro stations (and from there a 15 minute ride into downtown), it's possible that we could have actually saved money by staying somewhere closer to downtown for more per night since we wouldn't have needed to buy so many metro passes. The breakfast was, for lack of a better word, lame. White bread, nutella and cornflakes? Really? We had thought we could save money by having breakfast included, but we ended up going elsewhere in the mornings. All in all though, those two things are relatively minor and I thought the hostel was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to a metro station, although this station is a bit far from the centre. The hostel is clean and safe. The location looks a bit dangerous but it is not. The staff are friendly and helpfull. We have lockers close to the beds. Bathroom and bedrooms are clean and the linen as well. The common area is friendly and the wifi and the computers are very helpfull! If you are backpacking and are not worried about comfort, I will totally recommend this place!

Disliked: It is a bit far from the centre!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe anthony

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2011 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk worker was always friendly and willing to help. The common area was always clean and very nicely decorated. The free wiki and two computers was a HUGE help. The rooms were clean, and so were the bathrooms. Absolutely no complaints, would recommend to anyone traveling!

Disliked: The location was a bit far from everything but with a metro stop only several blocks away, it turned out to be fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you got breakfast from 8 to 11 .. but a few of us had to leave very early (4 to 5 am) but they still provided breakfast for us.. not something special.. but that was very nice... also the stuff was nice and helpfull.. best hostel i ´ve lived for a few days unitl now!!!!

Disliked: well, actually there was nothing... the price was ok for what we got.. well it was way better then i expected!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. We appreciated the free breakfast though it is simple. The free lockers are very useful.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk (20-30 minutes) from the center of town and even farther from places like Park Guell and the Sagrada Familia.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun Place, Close to Stadium, A+

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Feliciano Cisneros

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 February 2011 Feliciano would recommend this property

Liked: Cedric, leo, Carlos, martha and the argentinian girl (sorry i dont know her name) aré the coolest guys ever, very friendly and helpfull, but what amazed me the most is how celan is the place. Choice it, Im sure u wont be disapointed.

Disliked: Nothing, everything is cool., i mean it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very organized - spacious room, big common area, very good wifi everywhere, ample breakfast (though the same everyday), lockers (very impt!!)

Disliked: the shower - there is no place to hang ur clothes and they are sure to get wet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justina Stabrauskaite

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Justina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really nice- staff was very helpful and friendly, security is very high, great lounge space and attmosphere.

Disliked: it's quite far away from the city center and other objects.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was just fine. I was only there for a night and I picked it because it was close to the train station, which I would be leaving from early the next morning. From that perspective, the location is great. The neighborhood is kind of meh, and I was in a huge dorm room, so atmosphere-wise, it was just okay. They did have free internet and free breakfast though, so that was good! The front desk folks were all very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, it was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Everything ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Momchil Angelov

Alone

Business / conference
City break

08 January 2011 Momchil would recommend this property

Liked: well i just liked it. was close to the rail way station which was good for me

Disliked: everytins just fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanshan Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Shanshan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Computer with Internet - free!

Disliked: Individual shower rooms are too small so my clothes sometimes get wet when taking the shower

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

steve bragg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010

Liked: Very clean, very secure, good wifi

Disliked: No atmosphere, I just felt like a number, not allowed in the dorms from 11-1 not fun if you have been out clubbing till 6!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Seim

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 November 2010 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was well organised. Alberguinn's is structured so that you can go there and rest from your day of sightseeing or night of partying. When you move into the sleeping area, there's total silence (aside from the occaisional snoring person maybe). The breakfast is included although its aim is more to give you a starter and not a total nutritous meal. All the rooms are tidy and nice - to be honest, you really want to go there at the end your day to sleep. Pluss the staff is young and very friendly - they are the same people as you are: traveling, experiencing life and they know what might be of interest to you in the city. I was very pleased with Alberguinn's service to me and a great value for money.

Disliked: -