HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alberguinn Youth Hostel

Hostel | Melcior de Palau 70-74, Barcelona, Spain 08014

84.8% Overall Rating

939 out of 984 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/10/2014)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"Although it is far from the centre, it is quite near Sants station. The bed was fine and the dorm was fairly spacious."

Read all Alberguinn Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from November 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night will be charged for the first 7 nights. People under 17 years old are exempt.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hostelscat
18.91 USD

Hostel 87.0% 18 reviews
ROOM 018 BCN
12.52 USD

Hostel 89.4% 23 reviews
Hostel One Sants
10.12 USD

Hostel 91.1% 411 reviews
Apart Center Sants
30.36 USD

Apartment 83.2% 112 reviews
Hotel Transit
49.34 USD

Hotel 81.0% 11 reviews
Barcelona Pere Tarres Youth Hostel
12.27 USD

Hostel 78.9% 730 reviews
Flowery Palace
8.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sercotel Abbot
215.05 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

939 out of 984 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alberguinn Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 712 of 767 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ahmed abdalrady

Alone

Events / festivals

25 April 2013 ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay there...i went on this time to watch barcelona vs psg match ...it was very nice ,clean,secure,near the stadium,near the metro station ,there were a nice turkish retaurant nearby as well as many bakeries, the breakfast was good ,the stuff was very nice and helpful specially LAURA ...i recommend for all

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, breakfast provided, clean environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Secure lockers, great location if travelling by bus, very near to Sants, excellent service, good breakfast, nice rooms.

Disliked: Given that it is distant from the main nightlife areas it could improve on ways to connect travellers to the nightlife.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peng Wang

Alone

City break

29 March 2013 Peng would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay in this hostel; clean and safe, easy to get accessed by metro lines, nice neighbourhood.....

Disliked: dislike is not suitable for this hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely friendly and helpful. The place was clean, modern and very well designed. The bathrooms were big enough so you would never had to wait to use a shower or a toilet. The location was great since it was very near the Sants train station and Plaça del Centre metro station.

Disliked: I think everything was ok and I will return to this place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anesilina Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Anesilina would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely liked the stuffs at the reception, all spoke in english or spanish. Also the hotel is really modern, organised and clean. Love the choices in breakfast and the fact that it is already included in the accommodation price.

Disliked: Just the location that is a little confusing at first.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stewart Aitken

Alone

Business / conference

24 September 2012 Stewart would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure and safe - lockers and keycards to enter your room. Close to Barcelona Sants railway station. There were several toilet and shower cubicles so never had to wait.

Disliked: Staff were helpful upon request but not very friendly. Usually a sound sleeper but the combination of creaky bunk beds, metallic lockers and a group of noisy Germans made it difficult to sleep.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aditya Chopra

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

10 September 2012 Aditya would recommend this property

Liked: Its the best hostel i have ever lived.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for one of the cheapest hostels in Barcelona. Simple, clean, inviting, free internet, fairly comfortable bed, etc. Nice lounge space.

Disliked: Free breakfast was rather poor (bread and maybe cereal), bust mostly not really organizing social events. They are written on a chalkboard in the main room but never seem to materialize. Staff should be more enthusiastic about pulling this together.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Staples

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

22 August 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly! A cool place to stay in spain in the summer, free wifi and computers was wonderful!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyssia Roussel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Lyssia would recommend this property

Liked: Very home with kitchen and nice common room, computers, television, and socializing. Breakfast provided, which I loved since no other hostel I stayed at provided this, and it was a good breakfast. Common bathrooms for girls and boys, clean and spacious. Bedrooms have lockers and comfortable beds. VERY close to the central train station.

Disliked: Location was a little tricky to find, but if you follow their directions you will find it easy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean; helpful, friendly staff; safe; nice, quiet neighbourhood; very close to Sants trainstation and metro

Disliked: squeaky dorm door, people going in and out kept me awake

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexis Trevethan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

22 July 2012 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Metro, so it's easy to get around.

Disliked: Could have had a little bit more bench space for the bathrooms, but certainly not bad!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AIR CONDITIONING! If you go to Barcelona in the summer, this is the spot for you! The rooms are nice and cool and everything is so clean! Nice big washrooms with many showers! The kitchen is pretty big and so is the common area!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostal esta a dos minutos de la estacion del metro y a 5 de la estacion del tren lo que hace que llegues facilmente a los destinos que quieras visitar. La seguridad es muy buena y el staff es muy amable. Las habitaciones son amplias, limpias, seguras y tienen espacio suficiene apra poner tus cosas. Los lockers igual son espaciosos. Cada dia tienen una actividad en la tarde lo cual es bueno si planeas quedarte en el hostal aunque podrian amenarlas un poco mas.

Disliked: El hostal me gusto mucho, podrían completar un poquito mas el desayuno con fruta o yogurt pues es solo cereal y pan, (aunque me gusto mucho que dieran crema de cacao para el pan.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gladys Guardia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012 Gladys would recommend this property

Liked: Unfortunately I forgot to ask for her name, but the girl at the desk with all the sweet tats was so helpful. Asked her for a map, and she marked down close Metro Lines, places I should visit,etc. Any questions I had, she helped me out with. I stayed in a dorm of 14 and it wasn't bad. Everyone has their own decent size locker. Upon arrival, sheets were given so you know they were clean. I would reccomend this to anyone traveling to Barcelona

Disliked: It was a little tricky to find. Its on a corner on the second floor. I passed it twice, but it didnt seem like a bad location so I didnt really mind it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hirenkumar Patel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Hirenkumar would recommend this property

Liked: I got to the hostel at 6:30 in the morning, and as soon as I got there I was welcomed, I was able to leave my luggage and the staff was very helpful and welcoming. I liked the fact each person is given a individual locker and a key, to get in the hostels and rooms and your own locker key. I was able to leave important things in there like passport and some cash. There are multiple showers and toilets in bathroom and I never had to wait to use either of them. The rooms are big, and there are cool and very breezy and comfortable to sleep. Next to each bed there is a personal lamp which I was very impressed with. There are so many power extensions that every one can recharge their electronic gadgets and you never have to wait of use them. Also the continental breakfast was also very good with good variety and there were people there ready to clean the tables as soon as someone was finished that way the tables and the area was always clean no matter when you came in to eat, that was very impressive. The location was not in the heart of downtown and the stores in the area were not open late night, but still it was close to the Sants Station and in the day you would have access to pretty much everything. I like also the fact that they had a lot of information on things to do and they had a bulletin board that lists things that were happening that day so it gave you a lot options on what to do and gave you ideas on activities and places to go where you can meet other like minded travellers like yourself. There are a lot of things I like that i can keep writing on, the things I wrote about were what had impressed me the most. But overall, what puts this place over the top is really the staff. Each and everyone of them were very friendly, and helpful and just had a great attitude and vibe that made this hostel very good. I would most definently stay here again.

Disliked: I didn't like that the reception closed at midnight (officially) but the staff was very cool and let you finish your things on the internet and would not kick you out. There was only 1 laundy and dryer, so you would have to wait to use it at times, and also they have a rule that you cannot use it after 10pm which I didn't like since there is only one.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and the staff was very helpful. The lockers were free and the property felt safe. Close to the main train station.

Disliked: Had to take a metro to the city center

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

SEUNG HEA NOH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 SEUNG HEA would recommend this property

Liked: It has very good system. Their key card, free computers, shower area, breakfast and big locker was a big big plus.

Disliked: The location was the only problem small problem because it is pretty far from the city centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LI CHEUK MING

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

28 May 2012 LI would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 4 nights here. The staff are very friendly and helpful! (thanks a lot); location is good, just few minutes walk from 3 station exits (one of which is the main station that connect you to airport or other main cities); the room is clear and enough space with large locker (big backpack, no problem); also there is a kitchen with sufficient equipments as well.

Disliked: There are only 2 computers (with internet access) in the common area, sometime have to wait for a relatively long time to use. but it's not really a big problem; there seems not much restaurant to choose around at night; and the door closer is too noise when opening, you will surely be woken up by it when sleeping (even you open it very carefully...)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, helful and kind. I liked the included breakfast and the common areas- kitchen/ livingroom.

Disliked: I thought the womens bathroom could be a little cleaner. The air conditioning in my room was on very high most mornings and it was a little uncomfortable. One suggestion- pan integral or a cereales like muesli offered at breakfast would be nice.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

camila cid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2012 camila would recommend this property

Liked: Was a very clean place and the staff so nice.

Disliked: So much sounds in the night, it was dificult sleep

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Magni Freyr Ingason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012

Liked: really nice staff , really helpful

Disliked: showers , hard to meet new people , long way from downtown so you always had to be back by 12 midnight because metro stops at 12 midnight

The property's response is...