HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Gracia

Hostel | Calle Terol 35, Barcelona, Spain Barcelona, Spain 08012

95.9% Overall Rating

89 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Jiaojiao Wang thinks…

"cosy, clean, newly renovated or newly opened hostel, very very friendly staff, bed lights, in a cool area although not too close to downtown, but it's definately a great area to explore if u want to…"

Read all Sant Jordi Gracia reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. ***Check In Information - Very Important*** Reception is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Check-in is from 14:00 (2:00 pm) Please Note: If you are changing your arrival time, please e-mail or call us directly. It is important that we are kept aware of any changes to your reservation. Note that the booking system uses the 24-hour clock. ***Check-Out Information*** Check-out is at 11:30 a.m. – If your departure is later, you are more than welcome to utilize the common areas of our hostel during that day. We also have free luggage storage! ***Cancellation Policy*** Cancellations are accepted by e-mail only and have to be received at least 24 hours in advance of your arrival time. There are no exceptions. All late cancellations will be automatically charged the price of the first night of the reservation to the credit card provided with the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Gracia City Hostel
15.54 USD

Hostel 92.2% 217 reviews
Bedcelona Gracia Hostel
11.33 USD

Hostel 78.8% 17 reviews
Bohemia Barcelona
17.27 USD

Hostel 85.9% 136 reviews
Generator Barcelona
27.63 USD

Hostel 92.0% 137 reviews
Generator Hotel Barcelona
54.57 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator Hotel Barcelona
54.57 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
23.62 USD

Hostel 92.8% 992 reviews
Corcega Accommodation
51.80 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

89 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Gracia'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
97.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 87 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiaojiao Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Jiaojiao would recommend this property

Liked: cosy, clean, newly renovated or newly opened hostel, very very friendly staff, bed lights, in a cool area although not too close to downtown, but it's definately a great area to explore if u want to spend more and a few days in Spain.

Disliked: can be a bit too loud at night with music in the loundge and ppl trying to sleep in the room, other than that all great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel was very helpful and approachable. There was a small incident with a Russian traveler who got drunk and hit my friend. This unfortunate incident could of happened anywhere but i'd like to point out that the staff handled the incident professionally and took care both of my friend and of keeping this traveler away from any hostels in the city. The greatest part of staying in the Sant Jordi hostels is that your part of chain meaning you go out and meet other travelers who are staying at the other Sant Jordi hostels. We really had a great time!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lihi wood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 lihi would recommend this property

Liked: very cool place, interesting and beautiful with the bestest staff. I liked it very much planning on coming back soon.

Disliked: nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JoAnna Hortillosa

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2014 JoAnna would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend anyone going to Barcelona stay at Sant Jordi Gracia. (That is, unless you're allergic to fun.) Awesome people and good times are unavoidable. The staff (particularly Pablo and Marc) are super friendly and always helpful. And I maybe have a crush on both of them, but that's beside the point :) I would go back to Barcelona just to hang out with everyone again... or maybe drop out of my masters program and apply for a job there. Many thanks and good luck in the future! Hopefully we'll see each other again soon!

Disliked: JoAnna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Ramírez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff ( Marc, Mathieu, and Elizabeth) and the installation, everybody was so nice and helpful. The best thing was the dinner made by the staff where you can meet and share your experience with other people. Really recommend this hostel if you are going to Barcelona

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nimrod Shwarts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Nimrod would recommend this property

Liked: OMG!!! Beside this words I can't really describe how was this hostel... But, ;) this hostel is more then a family, more then just a hostel... It was the best experience of my life! The staff was amazing... Marc, Elisa, Mathew who welcomed me so nicely from the very begining... I'm still overwhelmed by how all the atmosphere of the place makes you feel like home... Every night dinner together and every night going out together, every body just make the place really feel how is it to get free love and not asking for somthing return... I learned how to create my own family every where from this hostel.... Who ever comes to barcleona, just remember that it's not the beauty of the city only who makes the experience... It's where and with whom you decide to share it with, and sant jordi hostel is the number 1 hostel for that ;) Highly recommended!!!!

Disliked: No such a thing on earth :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadene Lam Sam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2013 Nadene would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, great facilities, and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They definitely go the extra mile to make sure you feel apart of the family. The hostel is very clean and the location is perfect, with the metro only 5-10 minutes walk away. Mathieu, Pablo and Mark are some of the greatest dudes we met on our travels - we can't wait to be back!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johannes Plessing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, helpfull staff, clean, situated in the heart of Gracia, with a lot of bars around, but also very quiet. comfortable beds, absolutely safe!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel oñate

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: El hostal buenisimo !! La pase de fiesta toda la estadia. Bareclona es lindisimo y lo mejor la gente re copada. La gente que trabaja en el hostel es de 10. Me ayudo en todo. Elisa, Mark, Matieu, Dani, Pablito y Lucho. Re buena onda !!!!

Disliked: La verdad nada, todo de 10

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel oñate

Alone

Events / festivals

12 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fantastic. The best ever. I have was travelling alone and i found a realy group of friends here in sant jordi. The people of recpetion were very kind and fun. We maje friendship iwth Elisa the bralizan girl Matieu the frnech, Mark, and Dani. I ll repeat this experience.

Disliked: Well i will like to have more expended machines, or more variety in there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel oñate

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: I like very much the family atmopshere. The workers of hte hostel were just great. Mark, Matieu, Dani, Elisa, Pablo, and one that borrowme his guitar. We use to cook al togheter and have great time. Just perfect

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was freaking awesome.

Disliked: All of the workers are so nice!!! Except one~~

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly the best hostel experience I've had in 12 years of traveling. The staff is incredibly welcoming, smiley, and friendly. I've honestly never met people who could make every single person feel comfortable, and who were so happy to do it! And if they're not the ones cooking, they always lend a hand to those who are! The lockers in the rooms are huge, beds are comfortable, dinners and activities are great every night, but it's not too big of a party to keep you up. The people who stay here are constantly re-booking and hanging out in the common areas because there's such a great vibe. The beanbag chairs and cushions in the common area and on the roof terrace make a great relaxing atmosphere. Wifi and computers work well, the huge refrigerator is big enough for everyone's food, and there are plenty of kitchen utensils and even an oven! And smokers are kept away from the kitchen/dining area which is great for non-smokers. I don't want to leave my new hostel family!!!

Disliked: In general the place is amazing, but a few things that could be improved: shower hooks need replacing and it would be great if there was a separate changing place where your stuff didn't get wet (there's only a half-wall and stuff still gets wet). It would be nice if they closed the stairwell doors at night so the noise from the dining area doesn't go upstairs to the rooms. I feel like it's a waste of energy for the lights to be turned on at 11 and kept on all day, instead of being on motion sensors with nighttime overrides instead. Lacking a small freezer for ice. And the knives could use a sharpening~ but I'm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time at Sant Jordi Gracia, Matthew and Pablo were super friendly and very helpful / patient dealing with a couple of very drunk/hungover tourists. Would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Barcelona, my only regret was not spending more time there! Muchos gracias - Mike, New Zealand.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Henriques Ferreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Daniel Henriques would recommend this property

Liked: 6 computers to use, Fast WIFI avaiable within the premises, complete kitchen to use with fridge. Very moderm place, with an outdoor rooftop. Location was not too bad, had to walk 10mins from metro. 50min walk to the beach. The beds was comfortable with Air condition in the rooms. Huge lockers wtih card security. 24hrs reception was great.

Disliked: Not enough mens bathroom and showers. There was only 2 men showers for entire place. The WIFI signal was very weak in the dorm. Laundry price is expensive (10Euros)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuhin Jain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Tuhin would recommend this property

Liked: If I could rate the Hostel Excellent, I would have done it across the board for this hostel. I stayed in a lost of hostels across 7 countries, but this one clearly stood out . The atmosphere and the character of the place coupled with the amazing people managing the hostel makes it a place to remember. The facilities were top- notch, clean, good wifi, good clean showers, good kitchen were all in place. But what stood out at this hostel, were the warmth of the people and the fun place it made into by all the activities like..Pasta night / Sangria night etc which helps you to mingle with the rest of the hostel residents. But to top it all , Elisa makes your stay even more fun with the Pub / Club craws that see takes you to each night where you get to meet residents of other Sant jordi hostels. Two thumbs up to this hostel !!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing .am sending all my friends going to Barca to this hostel !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jo Heibach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Extemely helpful and knowledgeable staff. Especially Pablo.

Disliked: Jo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with good WiFi. Easy to get to some of the big sights around Barcelona. Staff were friendly and nice. The swipe card for the lockers are a good idea as well as the power sockets and reading lights for every bed.

Disliked: That the lights are controlled by reception so in the morning they turn on at 11am and if you are on a top bunk they are right in your face. After a night out in Barcelona that not what you want. The showers could have more dry area to change in private. The floor in the shower gets very slippery too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013

Liked: It was in a cool neighborhood but very far from main tourist sights. 45 minutes by foot, unless you want to spend your time on the subway, prepare to walk a lot. Not the city center but definitely a cool area. The place was very clean and modern, showers were nice and hot.

Disliked: I didn't mind the lights shutting off overnight, but they were locked on at all times during the day which makes it almost impossible to sleep late, take nap or go to bed early when such a bright light is shining in your face. They stay on from 11am to 11:30pm any are so bright, seems like a total waste of electricity in my opinion. Also you can't even open a window, they are locked and the rooms get very stuffy and hot overnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you're staying in Barcelona for a week or more and want to do more than just visit the sites, such as having fun and making friends, this is the place to be. I just booked for three days to see if the hostel was good, and ended up staying a whole two weeks, which still was too short. Its location in the Gracia neighborhood is perfect: lots of little shops and supemarkets and international cuisine restaurants very close by and a great atmosphere. The whole city can be visited on foot, and the metro is close by. The communal room with the beanbags is great to relax and meet people. Also the great kitchen makes it great to cook your own meal, or a meal for lots of people, who then return the favor :) Also twice a week free pasta night. Thanks Elisa, that was great cooking! And it was hard to say no to the pub crawl and visit to clubs you led. Everything you need is there in the hostel to meet people and make plans together. The hostel is the right size and designed for a great vibe. Not in the least with the great staff. Thank you Pablo, Marco, Asteris and Natasha! You were very helpful, fun to talk to and you had a good sense of humour. The trip would be different with another staff :)

Disliked: as in any hostel you can have the bad luck to find snoring people in your dorm, and when the door stays open, you could hear the shower. But if you want to avoid that, you should book a hotel (and even then...) and miss the great vibe

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a nice neighbourhood so I felt safe walking back at night as there were plenty of people around. It's very clean and has a variety of communal areas so if someone is watching a DVD you can go and chill elsewhere

Disliked: It's quite noisy (doors etc) and my room was advertised as a 4 bed which to some extent it was but it had 2 extra beds put in with 2 of the fitted beds folded up. This would have been fine except that it meant I had no light or plug near me which was frustrating when the lights went out. Also you had no control over the main lighting, it's on until 11 when reception switch it off with no warning. Annoying if you're sitting reading with no personal light and also if you want to sleep before 11pm and having been up since 3:30am I was not looking for a late night on my first night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Organised nights out giving you the chance to meet lots of great people! Free pasta dinners were much appreciated and the roof terrace is a great feature. Nice area to chill out with beanbags and big TV.

Disliked: Centrally controlled lights - lights come on at 11am and turn off at 11pm which can be very annoying. The roof terrace shuts at 10pm, it would have been nice to use this area in the evenings. The check-in was very slow as there was a big queue and only one person helping out although many staff seemed to be available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Cordwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Okay so I'm not too sure where to begin because there were so many truly amazing things about Sant Jordi Gracia. I'll start with one piece of very important advice though: STAY AT THIS HOSTEL. I'm on a gap year and have stayed in dozens of hostels across Europe this year - this was the best by a mile. It is pretty much what I envisage as the Perfect hostel. The staff are incredible from the moment you walk in the door. Always friendly and going out of their way to help you out. Special mentions to Natasha, and Pablo with his impeccable taste in music and sense of humour. I could easily write the whole review about Pablo... Location is awesome - Gracia is a really fun place to stay in. Supermarket nearby and easy to get to 2 different metro lines. Rooms are modern, very clean and extremely comfortable. Main lights are switched off at 11 leaving cool little floor lights which are perfect for when you stumble back drunk at 5am. Good WiFi connection everywhere and free access to computers too was a bonus. There was always something happening every night - sangria nights, BBQ night, pub crawls, free pasta night. As a solo traveler it was an awesome way to meet people. The hostel is a perfect size and the atmosphere is incredible. Met more cool people at Sant Jordi than anywhere else (including my now girlfriend!). Thanks again to all the staff for making my stay in Barcelona so great! I hope to be back some day! - Patrick

Disliked: One of the toilets was out of order for the whole week but whatever - there were plenty of others. 10 Euros for washing was kind of expensive too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MINNA MANNERT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 MINNA would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to relax, friendly staff, clean, good air-conditioning, peaceful rooms for sleeping. A nice hang-out corner with book exchange. They also organised a party excursion to the seaside. They take care of you and even the environment (recycling is well taken care of). I appreciated the man at the reception for carrying my backpack up to my room as arriving late and very tired. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location with friendly travellers and staff.

Disliked: No hooks in the lockers.