We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Generator Barcelona

Hostel | 377 Carrer de Còrsega, Barcelona, Spain 08037

89.3% Overall Rating

187 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2015)

"rooms were alright and location was good, had a good air conditioner in the room which was necessary as it was super hot outside."

Read all Generator Barcelona reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

If cancelled or modified up to 1 day before the date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. Please note: A tourist tax of 0.72€ + VAT per person per night will apply for the first 7 nights. Children under 16 are exempt. Property do not accept under 18 in 6 and 8 shared bed dorms. Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Generator Hotel Barcelona
45.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Barcelona Sport Hostels
17.85 USD

Hostel 84.7% 48 reviews
Casa Diagonal
32.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Factory Gardens Hostel
16.90 USD

Hostel 83.2% 15 reviews
Hostel Bruc
13.52 USD

Hostel 75.8% 13 reviews
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
18.25 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1144 reviews
Martinval Hostel
50.69 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 5 reviews
Que Tal hostel
28.16 USD

Hostel 83.4% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

187 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Barcelona'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 119 of 197 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were alright and location was good, had a good air conditioner in the room which was necessary as it was super hot outside.

Disliked: Excessive annoyance from the cleaners who came in more than once into the room. I was asleep one day alone in the room and the cleaner opened the door and looked in after she'd already been in before that day, she saw me look at her and left the room quickly which raised much suspicion so be careful. Another dislike, was the fact there were no hangers in the room to hang up some clothes, it all had to be laid out underneath the beds which was annoying. Sinks are so small it's hard to wash your hand without having your hand immersed in the sink water. Wasn't expecting shampoo, but i was expecting soap at least. Another annoying rule is no drinking alcohol in the game room area with the pool table, which is stupid as people who play pool in bars etc are usually having a drink at the same time

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joey Chua

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2015 Joey would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is modern, and very well furnished. This makes you feel more comfortable and make you feel better about the quality of your stay.

Disliked: The rooms in Generator Barcelona is a little cramp, with little places for luggage. (especially in the all female rooms)

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Damian Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2015

Liked: The facilities are pretty nice. Warm showers, comfortable beds, secure building.

Disliked: Management is HORRIBLE. No organization whatsoever at the reception. We had multiple issues with the wrong beds being occupied and they had no solution for the problem. Literally each day we were here we had issues with the keys and/or wrong beds being occupied. We wanted to the tapas tour and waited 20 minutes before the start and talked to reception multiple times about it- They left without us. I just can't express enough how unorganized and clueless the staff was. Very unfortunate considering the potential of this hostel

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 May 2015 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, airy, cool atmosphere, helpful friendly staff. Good drinks

Disliked: Nothing, probably only that I was a bit out from the bars

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mollie Moslin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2015 Mollie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! My room was lovely and clean with great air con!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and good facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Santi was excellent in Barcelona!

Disliked: Lockers under beds.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2015 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I spent my first week in Barcelona at the Generator Hostel. It was a great way to assimilate to Barcelona. They have connections with the free walking tour and tapas tour. There's a bar downstairs that serves great beer and delicious patatas bravas. Getting out of bed every morning was a challenge because the beds are so comfortable! The staff is delightful, warm, and friendly. I had class the day I checked out. They let me keep my bags at the hostel for the day until I returned. I also accidentally lost the key to my luggage lock. Without hesitation, the Generator staff helped me cut the lock so I could get to my stuff. While there I met other students on exchange and individuals in town for job interviews. I stayed in a 8 person co-ed dorm. Plenty of space, personal plugs for each bunk, and extremely comfortable. I absolutely loved my stay at the Generator and highly recommend it for all travelers. For more reviews and travel tips, visit my blog at andawayshewent.weebly.com

Disliked: One point of caution: the bar is open to the public. One of my classmates had their backpack stolen while doing homework there during the day. Also note that food and drinks are slightly more expensive here than at other establishments near by. For more reviews and travel tips, visit my blog at andawayshewent.weebly.com

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Laing

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The spacious rooms

Disliked: No free breakfast

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015

Liked: Good decor

Disliked: 100s of people, no soap provided in the bathroom, tiny rooms, no sense of community

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! Rooms were very unique and friendly! Staff were great!

Disliked: Bread at breakfast was a little stale this morning but great yesterday!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Virpi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, one of the best hostels I've been to. Large common areas, nice bar, good food! Very helpful and smiley staff! Absolutely value for the money.

Disliked: That I had to leave!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hilary Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

30 January 2015 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was nice, and the food was reasonably priced. The staff was friendly. They had nice little packets you could buy that had things like shampoo and toothbrushes in them. There were showers in different areas in case your shower was occupied

Disliked: There was no kitchen, and the bathrooms in the rooms were super tiny

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very profassionaly organized Hostel. The staff is helpful and the rooms are very new and clean. Theres also a great bar which serves quite nice food.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Veprek

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Services, people and atmosphere were excellent. We got bigger room than reserved with the same price. Satisfied at all!

Disliked: Sometimes hearing people from next room due to thin walls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orlando Colon-Soto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2015 Orlando would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good Hostel!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nick Bastaens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: It is a modern place! The common/relax room is amazing! The pub/disco inside the building is also verry nice!

Disliked: The showers... 1) they smell really bad! 2) many of the locks are broken.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed at The Generator for one night, but it was a nice hostel! Clean and simple and a good bed to rest for the night. It has a good atmosphere as well!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serena lanzalonga

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 serena would recommend this property

Liked: such an awesome place! It'sa big but cozy hostel with a great atmosphere and good vibrations. Its design is super cool, people are friendly,and rooms are tiny but clean and with air con. Loved this place!

Disliked: the only think I would add is a kitchen. The have a bar/restauraunt that's really good, but sometimes a kitchen would help...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nada Cheaitou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Nada would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing hostel!

Disliked: Lockers in dorm were a bit fiddly

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Dammers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was funky, full of life and very clean, safe a drink secure. And had great wifi! Thanks to the reception staff after I checked out who held onto my phone which I accidentally left behind!!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Murray PATTERSON

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Murray would recommend this property

Liked: really cool and funky design : the lobby looked like a modern-art exhibit. Excellent wifi connection

Disliked: the left-luggage room was a bit insecure, with many bags in one room and no verification system (such as labels) or anything, even if only the staff had access to the room (they'd never remember which bag belongs to whom)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daigo hagihara

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 daigo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good.

Disliked: You can't bring food to the property.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Generator is a super cool place! Great location. Hipster decor (esp the bar, cafe, lounge areas) The dorms are basic but clean, with secure lockers. Ensuite bathrooms (though v tiny) are good. But the best thing about the Generator is the vibe—the really cool and helpful staff. The cafe has a simple breakfast, and the hip in-house bar has a rocking party on weekends. The DJs were spinning some super tracks till early one morning and the next day I realized they were actually the hostel staff! My stay here was fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing at all. All was great! But just something I'd like to point out to the hostel: was staying in a 6 room dorm where 4 beds were taken up by a part of a 11 member business men group who had come for training. All 11 used both the rooms as a common area. One of them slept on the floor (coz they had booked in only for 10). Not the kind of company you'd want in a young hostel. The idea of living in a cool hostel is to meet fun travelers not shady business men looking for a cheap accommodation.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

William Lindores

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: The staff were helpful, the bar is kinda cool, the rooms are clean

Disliked: It is not in a great location, its a 20 minute walk to la ramba, and at least 40mins to the beach. There are not many bars close by with the exception of the hostel bar. The metro ride to the beach takes 20mins minimum, as the metro stops are both a few blocks away. Also €7 for washing and drying is a bit steep, especially when only half of the machines worked. I didn't dislike the hostel but i do think that the location detracts from the Barcelona experience.

The property's response is...