We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Generator Barcelona

Hostel | 377 Carrer de Còrsega, Barcelona, Spain 08037

92.3% Overall Rating

161 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"We only stayed at The Generator for one night, but it was a nice hostel! Clean and simple and a good bed to rest for the night. It has a good atmosphere as well!"

Read all Generator Barcelona reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

If cancelled or modified up to 1 day before the date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. Please note: A tourist tax of 0.72€ + VAT per person per night will apply for the first 7 nights. Children under 16 are exempt. Property do not accept under 18 in 6 and 8 shared bed dorms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Generator Hotel Barcelona
52.43 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Barcelona Sport Hostels
14.24 USD

Hostel 85.1% 15 reviews
Casa Diagonal
33.66 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
DE LIS GUESTHOUSE BARCELONA
25.76 USD

Hostel 93.6% 37 reviews
La Flor de Gaudí Hostel la Pedrera
16.83 USD

Hostel 79.6% 8 reviews
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
28.50 USD

Hostel 93.7% 1080 reviews
Martinval Hostel
36.25 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 5 reviews
Que Tal hostel
30.20 USD

Hostel 83.4% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

161 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Barcelona'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 169 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed at The Generator for one night, but it was a nice hostel! Clean and simple and a good bed to rest for the night. It has a good atmosphere as well!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serena lanzalonga

Sam

Plaza/opalanie
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Zwiedzanie i kultura

31 August 2014 serena would recommend this property

Liked: such an awesome place! It'sa big but cozy hostel with a great atmosphere and good vibrations. Its design is super cool, people are friendly,and rooms are tiny but clean and with air con. Loved this place!

Disliked: the only think I would add is a kitchen. The have a bar/restauraunt that's really good, but sometimes a kitchen would help...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nada Cheaitou

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

26 August 2014 Nada would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing hostel!

Disliked: Lockers in dorm were a bit fiddly

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Dammers

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

26 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was funky, full of life and very clean, safe a drink secure. And had great wifi! Thanks to the reception staff after I checked out who held onto my phone which I accidentally left behind!!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Murray PATTERSON

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

25 August 2014 Murray would recommend this property

Liked: really cool and funky design : the lobby looked like a modern-art exhibit. Excellent wifi connection

Disliked: the left-luggage room was a bit insecure, with many bags in one room and no verification system (such as labels) or anything, even if only the staff had access to the room (they'd never remember which bag belongs to whom)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daigo hagihara

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

14 August 2014 daigo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good.

Disliked: You can't bring food to the property.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Plaza/opalanie
typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Generator is a super cool place! Great location. Hipster decor (esp the bar, cafe, lounge areas) The dorms are basic but clean, with secure lockers. Ensuite bathrooms (though v tiny) are good. But the best thing about the Generator is the vibe—the really cool and helpful staff. The cafe has a simple breakfast, and the hip in-house bar has a rocking party on weekends. The DJs were spinning some super tracks till early one morning and the next day I realized they were actually the hostel staff! My stay here was fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing at all. All was great! But just something I'd like to point out to the hostel: was staying in a 6 room dorm where 4 beds were taken up by a part of a 11 member business men group who had come for training. All 11 used both the rooms as a common area. One of them slept on the floor (coz they had booked in only for 10). Not the kind of company you'd want in a young hostel. The idea of living in a cool hostel is to meet fun travelers not shady business men looking for a cheap accommodation.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

William Lindores

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

23 July 2014

Liked: The staff were helpful, the bar is kinda cool, the rooms are clean

Disliked: It is not in a great location, its a 20 minute walk to la ramba, and at least 40mins to the beach. There are not many bars close by with the exception of the hostel bar. The metro ride to the beach takes 20mins minimum, as the metro stops are both a few blocks away. Also €7 for washing and drying is a bit steep, especially when only half of the machines worked. I didn't dislike the hostel but i do think that the location detracts from the Barcelona experience.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piyachit Sangkrut

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

21 July 2014 Piyachit would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and security. There are security guards 24 hours. The staff are friendly and service-minded.

Disliked: There is no bathroom carpet.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lizet Lopez

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

20 July 2014

Liked: It had a fun young environment.

Disliked: They did not have bathroom soap to wash my hands and the floors could be cleaned.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sam

Praca/wolontariat

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy cool design of the interior, lot of nice atractions like bar, kitchen, bilard.

Disliked: It become to comercial - it's kind of club not youth hostel anymore. I didn't like that for everything I had to pay (even cup of tea)

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emily Jeuniewic

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Plaza/opalanie
Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really big so you meet lots of people. The bar set up is fantastic and the entertainment zone with couches, pool table etc was great fun. The wifi is good quality and everyone was super nice. The breakfast is only 4.50 and was like a buffet.

Disliked: The showers in the rooms are clean but TINY. Don´t expect to get changed in the shower room after a shower. The night life at the hostel was great but they didn´t offer much else during the day.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and modern. Had a very cool atmosphere and offered a lot to their guests.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the main attractions, but a nice walk to get there!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Plaza/opalanie
typu 'City Break'
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel i have ever been! Everything is new and modern, interiors design is really cool, rooms have ensuite bathroom, comfortable beds, real curtains (so you can sleep well in the morning too because there isn't a lot of light in the room), free&fast wifi everywhere in the hostel, great location, really friendly people ...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great, friendly staff.

Disliked: Stayed for four nights in a twin private room, didn't have the room cleaned once or any clean towels provided.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mei Kuen Irene Ling

Dla rodzin z dziećmi

Urlop rodzinny

05 June 2014 Mei Kuen Irene would recommend this property

Liked: location is convenient. supermarket is near, staff is friendly, and there is a big balcony in our room

Disliked: the bathing is too small even for thin guest

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephan Fuhrer

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

06 May 2014 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location and freindly atmosphere

Disliked: Stephan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Any hostel that has a light and plug for each bed is good in my books. It was very clean and very well serviced. It was essentially a hotel where a few extra people stay in your room each night. Great location as well.

Disliked: I wish there had been hand soap for the bathroom and though there were activities planned, it wasn't like a typical hostel where people actually go to them so it was a bit lame, fine for us because we were travelling in a large group and found other things to do.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

typu 'City Break'

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location and great atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The overall environment was good

Disliked: Rooms have very little space between the beds. The private toilet/washroom had no cleaning stuffs One private toilet/washroom for 8 people was not sufficient and was the source of noise all the time inside the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Bigler

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

16 March 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very nice overall

Disliked: the wifi was down for 24 hours and when it came back it didn't really work. Don't advertise free wifi if it doesn't actually exist.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location and it was very nice

Disliked: The shower was tiny and the shower head was broken and sprayed water everywhere

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: too much noisy from the bar

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pamela Brown

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

18 February 2014

Liked: Funky decor and really modern.

Disliked: Cramped room and noisy neighbors. Generally expensive food and drink.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Ifko

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Biznes / konferencja
typu 'City Break'
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

11 February 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Close to the metro, close to the supermarket, breakfast only for 3 euros, great and helpful staff... Would definately stay in Generator hostel again! :)

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.