HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of INOUT Hostel

Hostel | Major del Rectoret, 2, Barcelona, Spain 08017

82.1% Overall Rating

75 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

"Lovely affordable restaurant, cool non-profit for adults with disabilities, clean, good value for money."

Read all INOUT Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Albergue Studio
15.14 USD

Hostel 86.4% 47 reviews
Apartments Bahia
35.42 USD

Apartment 70.9% 157 reviews
Barcelona Pere Tarres Youth Hostel
12.27 USD

Hostel 79.0% 729 reviews
Cool & Chic Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 91.5% 121 reviews
Feetup Yellow Nest Hostel Barcelona
12.27 USD

Hostel 84.7% 471 reviews
ROOM 018 BCN
12.52 USD

Hostel 89.4% 23 reviews
BcnStop Parc Güell
26.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Ronda Lesseps
36.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

75 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'INOUT Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

emmeline broad

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014

Liked: free parking. Train location to hostel.

Disliked: The receptionist greeted us by being very rude, ordered us to 'sit down until they were ready to see us' whilst listening into their conversation behind reception being held in spanish it was apparent we were causing this particular lady to leave her shift late if she started to check us in. Despite us being there she spoke about myself and my partner to the other receptionist like we were dirty pieces of furniture, It made me feel very unwelcome and frankly if my partner had not talked me around i would have been inclined to leave without checking in for the night. The lady that did eventually check us in was quick, and we were given our room key. The room was 4 x bunk beds, dirty and looked exactly like a place I stayed on a school trip in cornwall...I actually came back to find all the toiletries had been removed from the bathroom and put on the single bed I was sleeping on, nothing has been cleaned, i declined to complain or even approach reception until I had to check out, which in its self was amusing. The buffet was deep fired everything, you can however get a pizza, menus are not offered you have to go find one. This hostel provides no help about tours or 'off the beaten track' in sites into Barcelona. The check out was done via the telephone, not on my side, I was gestured to hand over the key, and thrown my 10 euro deposit, how could we expect anything else! I was very disappointed with the choice, all the properties I have ever booked before with hostel bookers have been amazing run by wonderful people with a great environment, I would recommend you remove this property or rebrand it as the basic of basic. Concerning the hostels focus on Disabled people and their approach to employment, everyone that works there is very miserable, I would question the ethics in place if they are for the good of the people, or the financial benefit of the green man behind the curtain.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is for free, and you can choose between many options.

Disliked: The beds are uncomfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely affordable restaurant, cool non-profit for adults with disabilities, clean, good value for money.

Disliked: It is near a Metro stop in the north of the city, but on top of a giant hill, which suuuucks to walk up in Barcelona summer heat.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my third visit to the Hostel. I will probably always choose this Hostel when staying in Barcelona. It is in a beautiful location. Breakfast is very good as are most lunch and evening meals, and food such as pizza is available 24 hours a day, and drinks too. The swimming pool is a good size and is a really nice feature. The staff in the restaurant are very efficient and most speak good English, thanks esp to Abde who always works very hard to make the stay more comfortable. The best thing about this place is that it's a great place to meet new people from all over the world. Thanks again Inout for a restful holiday.

Disliked: Checkin times can be a little too long though staff on the whole are friendly and accommodating, the could be much better. Overall the hostel is very clean but the toilet in the room had an odour at times even though it was cleaned every morning. The climb to the hostel is steep, and having transport from the station, even on an hourly basis might attract more guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Bird

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful and friendly. Got my purse stolen in the metro on the way to check into hostel, the lady on the desk was very understanding and have us info of the nearest police stat ion . The facilities are really clean and there is a kitchen with a fridge and hob and microwave. Breakfast was great seeig though it was free- cereal, bread, pastry, ham, cheese et. Also near the natural park which is really pretty and definitely worth exploring! Basketball and swimming available too. Free wifi. A great hostel who need continued support!

Disliked: Nothing. Some travellers may find it is too far out if want to stay out late at night . The FCG closes at 12.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed atmosphere, quiet due to being in the hills but plenty of common areas to hang out and have a good time if inclined. So clean.

Disliked: Beds are a bit rough, but not the worst by any stretch. Bit of an effort to get to the hostel too.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Jupp

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The majority of the staff are disabled in some way but they try hard and are friendly and helpful. The organisation run this hostel are a non profit making charity and the price for the accommodation and food is amazingly cheap. Just be prepared to be a little patient sometimes.

Disliked: The location is out of the city and at the top a steep hill. There is a good train service into Barcelona and it is inexpensive. I had my own transport but if you are on foot be prepared for a long slog up the hill from the station

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Garcia Montoya

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 March 2014 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Relación calidad precio

Disliked: El desayuno es un poco bajo de calidad

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlee Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and staff. Clean with decent lockers.

Disliked: Really far away. Don't bother getting a taxi there!!!! It cost over 40 euros from the airport and that's with the driver stopping the meter and getting lost. It's no where near the city. It's up a big hill, it's not a bad walk... unless you walk up the wrong hill. Other than location, not many complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Mäeorg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a hostel with a character, it's interesting.

Disliked: Katrina left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Hostel rooms should be cleaned more carefully, a lot of stuff in the rooms from their previous owners. And it's quite stupid to pay for the sheets. And - that loud and very stupid noise of electronic key to enter the room - it should be changed so you don't wake up in the middle of the night because someone just want to enter the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Keogh

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: good staff, nice pool, very relaxed.

Disliked: so far away from everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything about In Out Hostel is perfect... where else can you pay 10 euros a night for a place with a pool, wifi everywhere and breakfast included? Each bed has a big locker, so you can keep all your things secure (big enough for a large back-packers pack), most of the staff have at least basic English, the restaurant will whip you up a pizza at any hour of the night, and being away from the city gives some respite from the hordes of tourists in town.

Disliked: For some people, being out of the city will not be what you want, especially if you are here to go clubbing etc every night. The distance isn't far at all (15 minutes tops) and the hostel don't mind you having some drinks and making a little noise into the night there (the bar and restaurant are open 24 hours), but if you want to be in the city at night, you have to either get the last train by 12:30 or commit to staying until the first morning one at 5. The walk up the hill is also non-negligible, but I didn't find it a problem and it's made quicker by a shortcut path through the bush.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renan Santos

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

29 August 2013 Renan would recommend this property

Liked: I legally liked everything about inout. The hostel is gorgeous, swimming pool amazing, restaurant was perfect and very cheap.... The location doesn't look great but when u go there and see that the train station is really close u see u made best choice. Also the idea about giving opportunity for special needed people is so good, they are very professional, friendly, helpfull .... I really felt at home there and whenever I m in Barcelona for sure I ll stay there..... Well done guys I loved every single min in there!

Disliked: Renan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: with breakfast, has common area

Disliked: too far away from bcn centre. u need to walk a steep slope go there about 20 mins. if u r with yr suitcase, it will be harsh

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thishana Singh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Thishana would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly clean and good value for money.

Disliked: A bit of a long walk up the mountain especially in summer

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite the distance from the city, the transport is really good. Just 15 minutes by train.

Disliked: People who prepare breakfast are a total misstake. They guard the food and don't let customers to eat a proper amount of food. I was leaving restaurant starving.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the arrangement of rooms: the position of beds, sockets and lamps next to each bed, Wi-Fi in rooms (not always the case). Breakfeast was good, and there's a restaurant for those who'd like to have a meal in any time.

Disliked: One of the receptionists has always been busy with something. Location of the hostel isn't that good. Sure, somebody prefers natural environment but I'd like to have the possibility to return "home" for lunch w/o spending half an hour for that. But as there is a lot of hostels in the very Barcelona, I shouldn't complain. If it bothers you, just move to another hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Calum Redhead

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Calum would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere. Nice location and easy enough to get to on the metro. Very cheap with breakfast included. Would deffinately recommend.

Disliked: Be prepared for a massive hill to walk up but you soon get used to it. Especially at for the price.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 10 beds dorms were big and comfortable, with an individual big locker with key, a light and a wall socket. The bathroom was inside the room. The breakfast was fairly good for free. There was a pool. Also, if you like nature it's in a good location, retired from the noise of the city.

Disliked: It's far away from the center: subway, railway and a 10 minutes-climbing up the mountain to reach the property, it will take you around 45 minutes to Plaça Espanya. Also there was quite a few insects since it's in the middle of the nature.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Larry Kraus

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: I like it that the hostel is on the hill. I did not had the feeling I'm in Barcelona. Staff who are working here are special and very kind! It's nice to see that they are involved with the community like this. Hostel is old, but clean. Hostel has free parking space and train is just down the hill.

Disliked: It's kind off far from the city centre (15 min by train). Last train goes midnight and first around 5am. With the taxi will be around 25 - 30 euros. So if you want to party, find a hostel whitin the city centre were you can catch the night bus.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pui Lung CHUN-LAINE

Alone

City break

22 February 2013 Pui Lung would recommend this property

Liked: Very big room, comfortable bed, with bed lamp, and plug. Room with mountain view.Fresh Air. Good breakfast, big restaurant. Special, unique decoration. Common rooms are nice.

Disliked: The internet does not work in the bed room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Shalaeva

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Laundry is really great!

Disliked: the strong smell of canalization in room 14. It should be repaired.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: Place to sleep and wifi.

Disliked: First night I spent there was 9/29 second night I spent there was 10/5. The first visit they took my car keys as collateral and did not return my 10 euro deposit even after returning the keys, the little paper, etc. I was thinking not for profit organization huh well what is that called... Second time I stayed there the female who was at the desk was more concerned about talking on the phone then checking me in (kept saying I will call you up, sit) like I was a freakin pet. Checked out later that night got my deposit back. Overall out of the way (away from the city, etc) I didnt mind walking up the mountain it was just way out of the way. Watch your money and know what they are supposed to be doing on their end (returning your deposit).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was on top of a hill and had a really good views. There were also lots of nice outdoor spaces and the decor of the place was pretty cool. The dorm rooms were nice and had a lot of space with separate shelves, lights and lockers for each bed. The include breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: The hostel was up a big hill and it was tiring if you have a big bag. It was a little bit of a ways out of the city center, which wasn't too bad. It did not seem like a very good place to meet other travelers and there was almost no interaction with the staff. The kitchen had very few things in it, and was very hot and stuffy, but it was nice to have one. There wasn't really anywhere to eat food that you ate expect in the restaurant which felt kind of awkward.