HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Hostal Concepcio

Guesthouse | Carrer d'Arago 353, Barcelona, Spain 08009

80.1% Overall Rating

45 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"The owner was really friendly & welcoming. Our room was great (we opted for the private bathroom) & the bed was comfy. Didn't really get the chance to try out all of the facilities as we were only there for one night."

Read all AWA Hostal Concepcio reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Fabrizzio´s Petit
33.57 USD

Hostel 96.8% 22 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
22.83 USD

Hostel 88.2% 23 reviews
Agua alegre Hostel
31.82 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Ona Barcelona
18.80 USD

Hostel 74.2% 274 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
29.41 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
51.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 111 reviews
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
25.38 USD

Hostel 97.0% 1563 reviews
Que Tal hostel
33.13 USD

Hostel 83.4% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

45 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Hostal Concepcio'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really friendly & welcoming. Our room was great (we opted for the private bathroom) & the bed was comfy. Didn't really get the chance to try out all of the facilities as we were only there for one night.

Disliked: Our room had a double door which folded inwards & felt a little less secure than the other rooms in the hostel (more of an issue when we were in the room than out). Other than that - nothing!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

clara acevedo freixas

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014

Liked: esmuy tranquilo y es un lindo edificio.

Disliked: las camas eran imposibles muy incomodas no se podia dormir, el cuarto con baño privado es muy chiquito y el baño es mini. preferible los cuartos sin baño.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katerina Havlova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: The staff have no idea what they are doing. Although I knew I could be moved, they kept sending me emails saying I would be in a different location every other day and in the end I found out they thought my reservation was on a wrong date.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cozy and comfortable

Disliked: There was a little confusion upon our arrival but things got straightened out and everything was okay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Harding

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: It as clean and had aircon. There was also an elevator!

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hague

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: This FAR exceeded any hostel experience. Was definitely more of a guesthouse. Had a lovely large privete room with balcony and en suite (we were expecting a shared bathroom) use of a clean, lovely kitchen and living room. The owner Idan was very helpful and friendly, shared dinner with us on the first night and gave us plenty of tips for our days in the city for the rest of the trip. Overall this was a great place to stay and will return to this accomadation as soon as we can. other extras/pleasant things: nice powerful shower, free wifi, clean, good aircon (much needed after we had just been camping at FIB), lovely atmosphere, safe, spacious, great decor (has a modern, ikea interior meets classic Barcelona, feel) For the price we payed you really cannot ask for more!! better than MANY hotels I have stayed in. Enjoy your stay here! good transport links to seafront (3 mins from Girona Metro) and walkable to many other sights. THANK YOU for a gret experience and stay!!!! John & Siobhan please note: Just check address of the hostel before you fly out as number is a few blocks down

Disliked: We turned up to the wrong address because the one on hostel bookers is a little inaccurate. But everything was resolved and we were directed via phone a few blocks down and apologies were made!! really no problem, just check before you arrive! :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything feels very relaxed and you can literally do what you want there, almost as if you are at home. The kitchen is well equipped, the terrace is great and you have nice fresh food market nearby

Disliked: The smell of smoking weed very often in the evenings, loud music played by the staff, only 2 bathrooms for the whole hostel was not enough in the mornings, the staff member at the time seemed very reckless and as the reception was not open 24 hours, he was supposed to be reached by phone if necessary, but he did not reply at times

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to both the train station (Rodalies/Cercanias) Passeig de Gràcia - good for travellers coming from/goind to the airport - and the Metro station Girona, so it was easy and fast to visit the centre.

Disliked: Bed wasn't very comfortable...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the stuff and location

Disliked: There was to much noise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and relaxed. staff was awesome and very helpful. people were great and so close to everything.

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

styliani chatzinikolaou

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012

Liked: The living room

Disliked: To much people in one room!!And the owner had loud music at 12o'clock in the night.I had to tell him to turn it off.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The original address given to us was incorrect and it took a little while to find it, but the staff helped us find it and even offered to pay for the cab fair. The hostel had a great location near Plaza Catalunya and the Gothic Quarter. The room we stayed in was huge and there were about 16 beds and 1 bathroom, but the bathroom never had too much traffic. It was a great hostel!

Disliked: There was only 1 bathroom for about 16 people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alicja Debicka

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Alicja would recommend this property

Liked: really safe and clean place, relaxed atmosphere, great location just round the corner from Passeig The Grazia, with supermarket across the street; planning to come back next year for Sonar week;

Disliked: the noise from the street may be an issue for some, but if you decide to choose a place at one of the main streets of Barca, that is obviously unavoidable; the water in the shower and bath wasn't draining properly; not much to dislike really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Llewellyn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was more of a flat - welcoming, great atmopshere and really friendly staff. The two days I spent there were fantastic - everyone got along, shared tales of their travelling etc. and had a few beers together on occasions. Facility wise, the hostel has two bathrooms, a fully equipt kitchen (bar a microwave) and washing machines (one load = 4 Euros). Location wise, the hostel was just around the block to the Girona metro station and we found ourselves getting the metro everywhere (with a two-day pass costing about 12 Euros. Managed to fit a lot into the stay, for it was all accessible from the hostel; which in itself was conveniently placed opposite a supermarket. Would stay at the hostel again without hesitation.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlyn Wedde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Ashlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Idan and jammy are wonderful people. The hostel feels more like renting a flat that is kept tidy and clean for you, where you can meet other travels. The atmosphere is very laid back and made to easily feel at home. Plus the great market right across the street and access to the hostel kitchen makes traveling much more affordable. I stayed a week and got to see so much of barcelona! I definitely will be back.

Disliked: Ashlyn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

victor macmull

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 victor would recommend this property

Liked: The AWA Hostel Concepcio was a clean and friendly place the managers phoned us to guide me from the airport to the hostel which I liked. The bed was comfortable & the bathroom & toilet were clean. The big kitchen had all the nessesary equipment to cook meals & eat them in comfort. I would recomend this hostel to anyone comimg to Barcelona

Disliked: No Comment

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fine for a weekend away, decent location and ok facilities.

Disliked: I didn't see much of the staff, there were no lockers and only 1 bathroom for 16 people to share. Also, the rooms are open plan, so even if you book a room for 8 sharing, it will be with 16 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: verey nice hostel...clean and very good location.

Disliked: all good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

27 May 2012

Liked: nice, clean, basic hostel

Disliked: a bit expensive, reception situation is a bit different compared to most hostels because you have to notify them of your arrival time and they'll only be in the reception to wait for you (reception is "closed" any other time) - be sure you have a phone which can work in Spain since you'll need to call them

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daphne van Vliet

Alone

Business / conference

20 May 2012 Daphne would recommend this property

Liked: NIce staff, excellent location, fair price.

Disliked: dust, and rush hour at the showers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sisa Rasaku

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Sisa would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location, friendly owners

Disliked: No 24hr reception

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff even when I arrived at midnight.

Disliked: It took a long time for the confirmation that my late arrival was OK, I was becoming nervous. The room I stayed in was very small, with no windows, only a padlock on the door. A "student dormitory style" kitchen with a some uneaten food here and there. Acceptable but not exactly spotless.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly stuff, lovely stay

Disliked: No elevator on weekends ...hehehe

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mercier

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nicely decorated, great location. We had the private room. Very nice workers and informative! I would definitely go back!

Disliked: The lack of signage outside. We had no idea that we were at the right place and no one was answering the buzzer. Turns out there was a mistake made and they didn't know we were coming that day so there was no one there, but we called the cell phone and someone answered and was there right away. We were compensated and all turned out well!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jemma and Idan were amazing. They kept the place clean, they were helpful, and they give the best customer service. When I was late, Idan actually called to make sure I wasn't lost and gave me directions. When I and my friend finally made it there at midnight, Idan was waiting for us with two beers. It is by far and none the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: There was a small issue with the hot water. Apparently the gas had gone out in the building so the water was being heated by electricity. It was full the weekend I was there and the majority of us were girls. Eight girls, one shower, and limited hot water make for very short shower times.