HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cool Hostel

Hostel | La Rambla 44 2nd Floor, Barcelona, Spain 08002

77.8% Overall Rating

97 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

Muhammad Omar thinks…

"You know when you're travelling and you want to find a place which feels like home but away from home? Well this is it! Excellent location, lovable friendly management."

Read all Cool Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Stay in bcn suites
62.19 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews
The Kabul Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 84.3% 1434 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
34.55 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 88.2% 96 reviews
Picasso Boarding House
38.70 USD

Guesthouse 59.3% 182 reviews
ideal youth hostel
16.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Escudellers House
16.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sun and Moon Hostel
12.44 USD

Hostel 77.7% 858 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

97 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cool Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 124 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Davison

Alone

City break

22 April 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how clean an tidy it was an its central location.

Disliked: its location was however VERY noise all night long. The road is never quiet! It really depends what your after but if sleep is required this could be difficult!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Omar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: You know when you're travelling and you want to find a place which feels like home but away from home? Well this is it! Excellent location, lovable friendly management.

Disliked: Muhammad left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very good location and have a nice view on la Ramblas

Disliked: Its a little bit old building with lots of stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Babaieva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and great location!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tine Pungar?i?

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 October 2013 Tine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location, people staying there, the safety... Practically everything

Disliked: Because I didn`t look for much and been there much except sleeping, I didn`t dislike anything :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is damn nice

Disliked: Dont have Cooking but only microwave

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Gross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great

Disliked: the stair to the hostel are really annoying if you have a lot of luggage

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

31 July 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: all the rest

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a very good locación! The staff is great! Close to a plaza with lots of bars and places to hang out. Two showers and two bathrooms. Laundry services!

Disliked: The place dones not have AC. So it can get hot a little in the summer. Also, the place looks a little old, but nothing really supper nasty to complain about. Also, even though in the second floor, it is also a full 4 set of stairs (Therefore, if you haves heavy bag, that at be a problem.) overall, more positives than negative! I like the stay!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Zen Pham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013

Liked: The location and the people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: THE SPANISH LADY AS THE STAFF IN THE MONING IS PROBABLY THE RUDEST SPANISH LADY I HAVE EVER MET IN MY LIFE. Gave me a lecture for continuous buzzing in and out of the hostel continuous and has anger problems as she raged at me in front of everybody? This was a humiliating moment for me. And the place was dirty and the people this hostel attracts is awful as we were sleeping and a group of British guys came in, turned on the light and started talking in the middle of the night. COULD NOT GET ANY SLEEP. In the end I could've just let this place go with a moderate review if it wasn't for the rude Spanish red hair lady in the mornings that clearly has anger problems.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Evdokia Bakalou

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 June 2013 Evdokia would recommend this property

Liked: i adored the people the staff was really friendly.

Disliked: Evdokia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sheridan McLeod

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Sheridan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely helpful girl on reception (from I think Poland?) Cheap, reliable Internet!

Disliked: The stairs you need to climb to reach the hostel! I had two bags which ment 2trips up the three flights of stairs! It was too much, if you pack little it would be ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Orhan Allaf

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Orhan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! Just 100 meters from placa reial and on the Ramblas. The atmosphere of the hostel is laid back , small and I really felt that I was visiting a local's apartment. The girls who worked there during our stay, Monica and the girl with the bright red hair, were really friendly, outgoing, fun and helpful. We stayed in the private bedroom which was good enough for a city trip. The dorm bedrooms have a balcony and the other guests were very cool about us using the balcony whenever we liked. Also a big thumbs up for the girls was the fact that they kept our luggage in their own private staff room when we arrived on 9 o clock in the morning and when we left. This wasn't a problem at all and they were very helpful It was my first time in a hostel and I am used to good hotels, from 3 to 5 stars, but this place really grew on me.

Disliked: The place could have some upgrades. Like a couple of hooks on the wall or a bar so you can dry your towels and being able to use some glasses or cups for drinks would be cool instead of the old coffee mugs. These are just minor details but for me this is going to be my go to place if I ever plan a trip to Barcelona again

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Behaeghel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nous avons passé un bon séjour dans cette auberge, elle est située en plein centre, sur les ramblas. Monika étaient adorable, elle nous a donné de bons conseils pour savoir où sortir le soir. Bonne rencontre!!! L'auberge est petite, l'ambiance est décontractée, et le prix est super attractif.

Disliked: il n'y a que 3 douches, l'auberge n'est pas très récente et pour des personnes à cheval sur la propreté il vaut mieux savoir fermer les yeux! il n'y a pas de casiers pour mettre les affaires

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dino Norrman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Dino would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. No problems.

Disliked: Dino left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013

Liked: Lo mejor es la ubicacion y la vista sobre la rambla. Es excelente. Esta a una cuadra del metro que te conecta hacia todos lados.

Disliked: Decia que aceptaban tarjeta de credito y al llegar nos dijeron que no. La limpieza del lugar dejaba mucho que desear. Solamente ponian una sabana que cubre el colchon y un acolchado, no habia otra sabana. Al ser chico el agua caliente para ducharse no alcanzaba para todos y e lugar comun del comedor podia estar ocupado hasta cuaalquier hora haciendo ruidos molestos sin considerar el horario nocturno para dormir.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hacer Betül Yildirim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2013

Liked: They're so kindly and clean.

Disliked: They have not locker cabin. It's not securely.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

HAKAN KILINC

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2013

Liked: laundry service (both washing machine and dryer), good location, cheap.

Disliked: dirty really need some revisions, it's just an apartment, the entry of the building is horrific and seems as if the building were abandoned, the corridors are dark very narrow so impossible to take big luggage. Good option if you stay for one night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013

Liked: The hostel is situated on famouse street but the building is so old, so first impression was so bad.

Disliked: so old place and it needs recostruction

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and good service

Disliked: no kitchen-range

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and really reasonable price

Disliked: Quite small and no hairdrier

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the centre, with cool balcons and very cheap.

Disliked: No safetylockers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great position, kind staff, cheap price. recommended!!!

Disliked: the entrance of the building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Marcin Mach

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2012

Liked: Only location is worth mentioning.

Disliked: There is no logo or sign from the streets so it`s not so easy to find the place. First impression is terrible. Dark, dirty staircase. We met two girls working there. The Spanish one was rude and not prepared to work in any customer job. The one from US was OK and firendly. Room or maybe the space with two bed was dirty and unpleasant. WE stay only one night and I wouldn´t stay there any longer!