We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cool Hostel

Hostel | La Rambla 44 2nd Floor, Barcelona, Spain 08002

82.1% Overall Rating

107 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Shaun Edwards thinks…

"the staff were very helpful, easy to ask about where to go..the washing service was ideal, left it with the girls and was done when i got back, has a kitchen and located halfway down las ramblas,…"

Read all Cool Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: all cancellations must be made by e-mail only. On receipt of Cancellation e-mail a confirmation of cancellation will be sent to e-mail given at time of booking. Telephone cancellations will NOT be accepted. If you wish to cancel or alter your reservation, 24 hours of notice must be given. We only accept guests between the ages of 16 and 40 in our dormitories. Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult. Our private rooms do not have a maximum age limit. Please note: a tourist tax of 0.75c per person per night will apply for the first 7 nights. Tourist tax is NOT included in price of reservation and is to be paid at lodging establishment on arrival. Unfortunately, we do not accept groups. MAX per booking: 4 people

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Stay in bcn suites
56.93 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews
The Kabul Hostel
9.49 USD

Hostel 82.4% 1446 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
31.63 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
25.29 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews
ideal youth hostel
11.32 USD

Hostel 85.5% 11 reviews
Escudellers House
88.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sun and Moon Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 73.1% 867 reviews
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 83.7% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

107 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cool Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

typu 'City Break'

07 October 2014

Liked: great location on the ramblas, good quality price ratio

Disliked: shared bathrooms between guys and girls

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location. Right beside the Gothic Quarter

Disliked: The street outside is very noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Laura Pezzullo

Sam

Plaza/opalanie
Imprezy/zycie nocne

08 September 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, awesome location, nice staff

Disliked: not very clean, smelly, got loads of mosquito(not sure if really mosquito..) bites (40 on one lower leg) BUT for that price and location you really can't complain!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

24 August 2014

Liked: not staying here again. its a filthy place with no security

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Savannah Evans

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

01 August 2014 Savannah would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what you need out of a cheap hostel. Nothing more, nothing less.

Disliked: Two things... 1) Hard to find once you get to las ramblas. Make sure you find the doorway with 44 over it on las ramblas. It will say hotel Forno but just push the alarm button and you'll be buzzed up. Then it's up a flight of stairs and the door will be open. 2) pretty loud if you intend to stay in and sleep.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shaun Edwards

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 July 2014 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful, easy to ask about where to go..the washing service was ideal, left it with the girls and was done when i got back, has a kitchen and located halfway down las ramblas, beds quite comfy and even though on las ramblas pretty quiet.

Disliked: bit hard to find, and not a very big social area, and ran out of hot water, but they are all minor things

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Cristina Morales Cruz

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Plaza/opalanie
Zwiedzanie i kultura

30 June 2014 Sandra Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff it's really kind, the locations its perfect.

Disliked: More indications.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Plaza/opalanie
typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location, atmosphere

Disliked: No keys for both the hostel and the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Lilja

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

19 May 2014 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: I pretty much liked everything about this hostel! Great staff and perfect location!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Lissdaniels

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Biznes / konferencja
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

28 April 2014 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff that is very enthusiastic about making the stay worth the while. For example, they made pancakes for everyone and are really helpful if you need advice or directions!

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Davison

Sam

typu 'City Break'

22 April 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how clean an tidy it was an its central location.

Disliked: its location was however VERY noise all night long. The road is never quiet! It really depends what your after but if sleep is required this could be difficult!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Omar

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

06 April 2014 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: You know when you're travelling and you want to find a place which feels like home but away from home? Well this is it! Excellent location, lovable friendly management.

Disliked: Muhammad left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Zwiedzanie i kultura

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very good location and have a nice view on la Ramblas

Disliked: Its a little bit old building with lots of stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Babaieva

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

19 November 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and great location!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tine Pungar?i?

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Imprezy/zycie nocne

05 October 2013 Tine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location, people staying there, the safety... Practically everything

Disliked: Because I didn`t look for much and been there much except sleeping, I didn`t dislike anything :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is damn nice

Disliked: Dont have Cooking but only microwave

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Gross

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

08 August 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great

Disliked: the stair to the hostel are really annoying if you have a lot of luggage

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Sam

Imprezy/zycie nocne

31 July 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: all the rest

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a very good locación! The staff is great! Close to a plaza with lots of bars and places to hang out. Two showers and two bathrooms. Laundry services!

Disliked: The place dones not have AC. So it can get hot a little in the summer. Also, the place looks a little old, but nothing really supper nasty to complain about. Also, even though in the second floor, it is also a full 4 set of stairs (Therefore, if you haves heavy bag, that at be a problem.) overall, more positives than negative! I like the stay!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Zen Pham

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

12 July 2013

Liked: The location and the people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: THE SPANISH LADY AS THE STAFF IN THE MONING IS PROBABLY THE RUDEST SPANISH LADY I HAVE EVER MET IN MY LIFE. Gave me a lecture for continuous buzzing in and out of the hostel continuous and has anger problems as she raged at me in front of everybody? This was a humiliating moment for me. And the place was dirty and the people this hostel attracts is awful as we were sleeping and a group of British guys came in, turned on the light and started talking in the middle of the night. COULD NOT GET ANY SLEEP. In the end I could've just let this place go with a moderate review if it wasn't for the rude Spanish red hair lady in the mornings that clearly has anger problems.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Evdokia Bakalou

Sam

Relaks / spa

14 June 2013 Evdokia would recommend this property

Liked: i adored the people the staff was really friendly.

Disliked: Evdokia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sheridan McLeod

Sam

Plaza/opalanie
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Relaks / spa
Zwiedzanie i kultura

08 June 2013 Sheridan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely helpful girl on reception (from I think Poland?) Cheap, reliable Internet!

Disliked: The stairs you need to climb to reach the hostel! I had two bags which ment 2trips up the three flights of stairs! It was too much, if you pack little it would be ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Orhan Allaf

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Plaza/opalanie
typu 'City Break'
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

15 May 2013 Orhan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! Just 100 meters from placa reial and on the Ramblas. The atmosphere of the hostel is laid back , small and I really felt that I was visiting a local's apartment. The girls who worked there during our stay, Monica and the girl with the bright red hair, were really friendly, outgoing, fun and helpful. We stayed in the private bedroom which was good enough for a city trip. The dorm bedrooms have a balcony and the other guests were very cool about us using the balcony whenever we liked. Also a big thumbs up for the girls was the fact that they kept our luggage in their own private staff room when we arrived on 9 o clock in the morning and when we left. This wasn't a problem at all and they were very helpful It was my first time in a hostel and I am used to good hotels, from 3 to 5 stars, but this place really grew on me.

Disliked: The place could have some upgrades. Like a couple of hooks on the wall or a bar so you can dry your towels and being able to use some glasses or cups for drinks would be cool instead of the old coffee mugs. These are just minor details but for me this is going to be my go to place if I ever plan a trip to Barcelona again

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Behaeghel

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

29 April 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nous avons passé un bon séjour dans cette auberge, elle est située en plein centre, sur les ramblas. Monika étaient adorable, elle nous a donné de bons conseils pour savoir où sortir le soir. Bonne rencontre!!! L'auberge est petite, l'ambiance est décontractée, et le prix est super attractif.

Disliked: il n'y a que 3 douches, l'auberge n'est pas très récente et pour des personnes à cheval sur la propreté il vaut mieux savoir fermer les yeux! il n'y a pas de casiers pour mettre les affaires

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dino Norrman

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

07 April 2013 Dino would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. No problems.

Disliked: Dino left no negative feedback.