HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ramblas Portaferrissa

Guesthouse | Carrer de la Portaferrissa 26, 1, Barcelona, Spain 08002

82.3% Overall Rating

28 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/04/2013)

Michelle Alderson thinks…

"Location, price, cleanliness, security. A very good apartment and good value for money."

Read all Ramblas Portaferrissa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking on www.hostelbookers.com the property will do a pre-authorisation on your bank card. if it is not possible proeprty will contact the guest to request more details. If no reply in the next 24 the booking will be cancelled. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorisation will then be removed from your card within a few days.” - There is no reception, so you have to call when you reach the city center/main station to arrange the check in time. - Check in time: from 13h - Check out time: 10h - Late check in: after 22h there is an extra charge of 10€/hour or fraction/room - Payment only cash on arrival. We don't accept cards - Required deposit: 100€-200€ (apartment bookings) - Pets are not allowed - Children (less than 10 years old) are not allowed - Cancellation Policy: 48h, otherwise we will charge the first night, the same if you don't show up -Tourist tax not included Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Rembrandt Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
Sercotel Barcelona Sailing
40.02 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hotel Atlas
61.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A&A ( Palermo)
44.85 USD

Hostel 78.5% 64 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
20.56 USD

Hostel 90.2% 462 reviews
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
16.56 USD

Hostel 85.3% 217 reviews
Sun and Moon Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 77.7% 858 reviews
Emily Alhambra hostel
25.53 USD

Hostel 68.2% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

28 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ramblas Portaferrissa'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 32 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Thomas Marttin Christensen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Thomas Marttin would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and quiet.

Disliked: Budget rooms are very bad - no windows or air inside. Stayed a hole week without knowing if it was day or nigth!.. and no helpfulness from staff to change to a better budget room with Windows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Alderson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, cleanliness, security. A very good apartment and good value for money.

Disliked: The member of staff who let us in the property when we arrived charged us about €4 more than the balance should have been. Which is not much money but it's the principal. And I asked him if the place had an iron a few times on arrival and he kept saying yes I'll show you and then in the end just left without showing me because basically there wasn't one and he couldn't be bothered getting one. Also sometimes it could be quite noisy in the area and we were woken up quite often by the bell tower nearby.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Whiteside

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: It was just down a side street off La Ramblas.. it's basically a self catered apartment, really clean and has everything you would need. There is no reception as it's just a building with lots of different apartments in it. It's safe, secure and really good value for money.

Disliked: It didn't have a reception as we wanted more advice on tours and goings on etc but the staff were helpful and told us all we needed to know on the map!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 July 2012

Liked: balcony with nice view

Disliked: hot and muffy sleeping room with water tippeling into the room from the upper floor

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2012

Liked: It was clean and centrally located

Disliked: We were in a windowless room next to the stairwell so it was both loud and without ventilation. When we complained about the heat, stuffiness and noise, the hostel staff was unresponsive and disrespectful insisting that all of the relevant information had been communicated to us beforehand.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012

Liked: A convenient location right off of Las Ramblas.

Disliked: Our apartment was of far lower quality than what was shown in the pictures. Our room was reminicent of a prison cell and had a window going to the common stairwell so the voices from the common area were loud and clear in our room the whole night. That in combination with slamming doors made for 3 nights of very little sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucie Vrkotova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. The apartment was clean and cozy. Nothing like a hostel, it felt more like living in our own flat. The hostel manager was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I like the most was the location and the staff that was always free to help. For instance, I forgot my jacket in the room last day and they sent the jacket to me in the same day. I arrived the next day. The price of the jacket was 300€ so that proves that the staff are serious people.

Disliked: Maybe the cleanliness could be better but it wasn´t bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

António Carlos Dias

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 António Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is near Ramblas. It's in the city center. It's very comfortable and the staff was very kind. Fully recomend this hostel. The kitchen it's very good and the bathroom is shared and very cleaned.

Disliked: The room have a window to the kitchen. But have curtains so it's not a big issue.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located centrally

Disliked: property is ok... nothing dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiago Sousa

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 November 2011 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: location, good equiped kitchen, not many rooms, conftable atmosphere, v. nice place to stay really.. and top quality price!

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Burt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! You are free to do whatever you like!

Disliked: Nothing other than -There was a washing machine in the picture - but when you get there they tell you that you are not allowed to use it!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was terriffic. The agent was very helpful, met us and directed us to the property. Great security for Barcelona. Shared facilities for our private room were very clean and we were still able to retain our own privacy from the other couple staying. Great value for money

Disliked: A little bit hot for September. A fan or air con in room would have been a bonus. Also, just for suggestion, a lounge or sofa in the common area would be good for socialising with the other couple or just relaxing out of room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Highly satisfied from the conditions. Perfect location. Very clean.

Disliked: No terrace.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maryna Slobodianiuk

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2011 Maryna would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fantastic stay. The location is perfect (you'll experience the never-sleep Barcelona quite well), the staff is friendly (just checking in, never disturbing), the facilities are very good (fully equiped kitchen, 24-hours entering), well-cleaned and fresh shower, towels and linens, conditioned rooms. Only best memories!!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although their was no reception, the staff was very disponible and helpfull! We had something to be sent to us, and they gave us their personal adress and brought us the letter as soon as it had arrived! We are very grateful for that! The location is great, easy to find. Calle Portaferissa is in the middle of the touristic center, it's just 1 minute from la rambla, 5 min from plaza de Cataluña.... and it is a street full of shops :) In a perimeter of 5 minute walking distance, you have a pharmacy, a supermarket, a nice "cafeteria", a cash withdrawer, a beauty institute...everything you need! A cleaning lady comes every day so the flat (kitchen, bathroom...) stay clean, which is nice when you share it with people you don't know!

Disliked: We shared the flat with girls who kept letting the doors open when they left, so we didn't felt very secure : the doors of the private room are closed only with a small locker, like those we put on our suitcase! But if we had shared the flat (which had 2 rooms) with people concerned about security, this problem wouldn't have existed! And another thing : we had a huge bug in our room... we couldn't catch it and had to sleep knowing it was there, running around...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dai Reed

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

23 July 2011 Dai would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location just off las ramblas, cooking facilities and AC. Were very patient and understading when we got lost trying to find the flat.

Disliked: It states payment in cash on arrival which is fine, but at no point before arrival or stated in their information is it stated we would also have to pay an extra 200 Euros (cash) as a refundable deposit on arrival too. Seemed quite sneaky to just throw that in when you actually get to the accomodation having already paid your deposit. May want to actually inform people of this beforehand.