HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel One Paralelo

Hostel | c/Salva' 62, Barcelona, Spain 08008

96.5% Overall Rating

509 out of 510 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Great hostel!!!! 5 min walk to Metro and walking distance of many sights of Barcelona. The staff we're all really friendly and helpful with advice on things to see/do in the city (special shout-outs to PJ and Gonzalo!!)…"

Read all Hostel One Paralelo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Breakfast USD 3.45
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Sant Jordi Mambo Tango
15.05 USD

Hostel 99.1% 286 reviews
Melon District Residence Poble Sec
42.79 USD

Hostel 91.2% 213 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 91.0% 2340 reviews
Zoo Loco
34.51 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews
BCN Market Inn
20.71 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
12.29 USD

Hostel 81.8% 554 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
24.71 USD

Hostel 92.2% 392 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
21.95 USD

Hostel 82.7% 653 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

509 out of 510 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel One Paralelo'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 455 of 498 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel!!!! 5 min walk to Metro and walking distance of many sights of Barcelona. The staff we're all really friendly and helpful with advice on things to see/do in the city (special shout-outs to PJ and Gonzalo!!) The hostel also has nightly meals which is a great way to meet the fellow travellers in the hostel - it's like a big family meal. Great atmosphere - made my stay in Barcelona A+

Disliked: The showers were a bit tiny, but it's to be expected sometimes in a hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun and friendly staff!

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandon Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 March 2014 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel-One is one of the absolute best in the City of Barcelona if not SPAIN. Upon my arrival I was treated like family. I let them know that I would be arriving later that scheduled check-in and they replied within an hour notifying me that is was absolutely okay and they would work with my schedule. The Facility was very clean i would not even mind sleeping on the floor if I had to. Complimentary break fast and spanish style dinner is the quality of a 5 star restaurant and it is basically all you can eat. Angel the Hostel Manager treats everyone like they are family, introducing new guest as his friend, making it very comfortable. WiFi is key when it is your only source of communication and this place has top of the line connection. I would definitely recommend this hostel to any traveler.

Disliked: Brandon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, such a laid back atmosphere! When you arrive one of the staff members give you a map and sit you down and tell you all the places to go in Barcelona (which was something I had never experienced before) and make you feel very welcome. The staff are just so lovely and genuine. The dining room/kitchen and outside bit is a good place to meet everyone and also if you stick around after dinner a group of people usually head out to a bar or a club. "I'm with Angel" seems to be some sort of secret code... Delicious dinners and breakfasts and also a wee computer room with wifi, all for free! Everyone's always cheerful and respectful and it's easy to start a conversation with anyone. Basically, this hostel just seems to bring out the best in everyone! Don't look any further, just stay here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing. They make your stay in Barcelona even more incredible. Angel is a superstar!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Bleakley

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and made good recommendations. The place itself was well situated, clean and pleasant with good facilities. Very much enjoyed my stay here and will come again. Thanks in particular to Carla for cooking a great meal and helping me practise my Spanish!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Murad Pim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was unprecedently kind and easygoing. We had such a great time with Angel, Cynthia, Marcus and PJ. The breakfast was nice for its price, and some of the collected breakfast money went towards a dinner which the staff prepared. The dinner was diverse, tasty and free. A lot of people would dine together in the hall floor, which created a nice atmosphere to meet new people. People would usually grab some drinks from a cheap market close-by and drink throughout and after dinner. After that, on weekends, the staff would take people out to clubs and bars - it's nice to have a group when you don't know the place. You can use computers with internet for free. There is free wifi within the entire hostel. Even though it wasn't really needed because the hostel isn't that big, there's an elevator.

Disliked: There was a leak in our bathroom shower cabin, which would make the floor get wet when people took showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jamie white

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 February 2014 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Hands down best atmosphere of any hostel I've been to. Every night the staff cooked great food, which was eaten with the other guests in the common room, met heaps of awesome people. The staff were amazing in showing us around, what to see/do, the best place for going out and where to avoid. Rooms and bathrooms always clean, breakfast till one, late check out, good WiFi, printers and a jacuzzi. Stay here.

Disliked: Too cold in January to use jacuzzi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyojeong Son

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Hyojeong would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs in this hostel were really nice, kind and funny. Also, I liked their neat rooms and facilities. The most impressive thing was dinner given by the staffs. It was not only delicious but also made people gether at the same space so it was easy to get to know each other. If you choose this hostel, you'll never get disappointed with your stay in Barcelona! ;)

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Hayman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: HOSTEL ANHYGOEL.. un o´r gorau! mae popeth yn perffaith yma.. yr lleoliad, glendid, gwasanaeth a´r awyrgylch! Pj, Cynthia a Marcus (yr staff).. rydych chi i gyd yn ffab! mae nhw´n mor hwyl, caredig, ddefnyddiol ac yn hapus i helpu gyda unrhywbeth.. DIOLCHHHH (am rhoi lan dy fi)! :) mae´n hawdd i gwrdd a´r pobl newydd ac mae pawb yn dod at ei gilydd am te (am ddim) pob nos! yr UNIG lle i aros yn Barcelona, byddai´n dod nol un diwrnod! ;)

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CELSO ULISES JUAREZ RAMIREZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 CELSO ULISES would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This is easily the best hostel I've stayed in. The staff makes you feel at home. You have breakfast every morning, and dinner every night (tip based). The dinner was a great experience since you get to know people at the table and taste traditional dishes made by the international staff (sometimes with help from the guests). The location is good, in a quiet neighborhood just 5 minutes from Paralelo metro station. It has an awesome terrace where you can spend time in the Jacuzzi or smoke a cigarette. Rooms where very clean. They deal with disrespectful guests. I've stayed there for a week and didn't want to leave! Cynthia, Marcos, Gonzalo, you were all great. Thanks for everything.

Disliked: Nothing. Book here, this is the best place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lee

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really chill hostel. Not a party hostel by any means, but rather a calmer place to relax and such. It was a great value and a nice change of pace from a party hostel I stayed at earlier in the city.

Disliked: Only real complaints are that the showers are really small and the location is a little out there, but the metro system in Barcelona is good and a stop is not far away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Cynthia and PJ in particular were very knowledgeable about what to do during the day and where to go on a night. The location was ideal, 5 mins walk from Paralel metro station and then you can access the rest of the city very easily from there. There is an outside terrace with a Jacuzzi which is great to relax before dinner after a long day sightseeing. Probably my favourite thing about this hostel is that they cook dinner for you every night at 9pm and they can cook! All they ask is that you leave a tip ad that also includes breakfast on a morning. Breakfast is a standard hostel breakfast, cereal and toast etc. Its nice to have a bite to eat before going out for the day where you can eat as much tapas and Spanish/Catalan food as you like! The hostel is very clean, the beds are comfortable. As someone who has stayed In many hostels, added bonus' like your own light and power socket are always welcome. This is the best hostel I have stayed in, cant really say anything more.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 October 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Cynthia is the best! And this place is amazing!

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bimalendu Shankar

Alone

City break

18 October 2013 Bimalendu would recommend this property

Liked: its proximity to metro station and city center places like La Rambla Placa Cataluniya and all ....... trips are nice

Disliked: Bimalendu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mara Andrew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Mara would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in over the years... Stay here! Loveliest staff, great location and hostel- everything is well thought through.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Lewis

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment I walked in the hostel, where even before I checked-in Cynthia greeted me at the door by name and Audlie offered me food, to my 4 AM check-out where BJ ordered me a special taxi to the airport and Jose wished me well, my stay at Hostel One Paralelo was great. Staff was genuine and friendly - cooking breakfast and dinner for us - facilities were clean, and overall atmosphere was very home-like. They went out with us, helped us plan our itineraries, and made sure we were having a good time. One of the best hostels I've stayed in!

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the dinners every night as a chance to meet fellow travelers. The staff is extremely helpful and gives very good ideas on what to see and do within Barcelona. The rooms have air conditioning and dark curtains. I had some of my best nights of sleep here in awhile. The place is very clean as well.

Disliked: No dislikes

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013

Liked: friendly stuff.

Disliked: they didn't change our sheets and bathroom was very dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ken Arroyo Ohori

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Ken would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and good dinners for a low price.

Disliked: Ken left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the staff working at the hostel. All of the staff, Adrian, Cynthia, Zofia and Gonzales were awesome fun, super-friendly and excellent guides to the city. They told us of the most fun and exciting events and venues in town and spent a lot of time with us. Cynthia's main event was delicious! :D And Adrian has some wicked dance moves! Zofia is a hell of a DJ and Gonzales has hilarious Youtube videos to show ya if you can't sleep at 4AM :D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have stayed at! The staff were so friendly and helpful, they even cook a communal dinner which was delicious and a good chance to meet other people. This hostel has the best atmosphere! We could walk everywhere we wanted to go or it's very close to the metro.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Heathcote

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 September 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, friendly welcoming staff and a great all round hostal experience. I'll never forgot arriving here after a hideous journey and being handed a plate of fresh food. The best!

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis García Prieto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Todos los empleados son extremadamente atentos y están preocupados porque la pases bien constantemente. Y además por ser cálidos. Es increíble el desayuno y que todas las noches preparan una cena para todos los huéspedes a precios muy muy baratos

Disliked: La habitación era de 6 pero en nuestra habitación estaba el baño y la entrada para dos habitaciones mas! Entonces constantemente teníamos 14 personas en nuestra habitación. .. . Muy mal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Danatzis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 July 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have ever been too! Everyone was so nice and friendly and always happy to help!

Disliked: Nothing