We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel One Paralelo

Hostel | c/Salva' 62, Barcelona, Spain 08008

98.5% Overall Rating

549 out of 551 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2015)

Jaswant Singh thinks…

"HostelOne was fantastic! The minute I walked in, I felt welcomed and comfortable staying here and traveling alone. This was my first experience at a hostel and I don't think it could have been any…"

Read all Hostel One Paralelo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.10
  • Breakfast USD 2.75
  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Sant Jordi Mambo Tango
17.50 USD

Hostel 94.6% 315 reviews
Melon District Residence Poble Sec
33.02 USD

Hostel 88.0% 228 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
16.51 USD

Hostel 90.1% 2372 reviews
Zoo Loco
37.57 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 5 reviews
BCN Market Inn
16.51 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
9.91 USD

Hostel 84.5% 590 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
14.20 USD

Hostel 90.4% 409 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 83.7% 664 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.5%

Overall Rating

549 out of 551 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel One Paralelo'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 539 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaswant Singh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 May 2015 Jaswant would recommend this property

Liked: HostelOne was fantastic! The minute I walked in, I felt welcomed and comfortable staying here and traveling alone. This was my first experience at a hostel and I don't think it could have been any better. The staff was incredibly accomodating, the beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also clean. The amentities such as laundry were super convenient, in addition to the evening communal dinners for free.

Disliked: Can't think of anything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful Staffan. Clean.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Schleif

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2015 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - the staff was incredible, quickly learning your name and making you feel like you're part of the hostel one family. I arrived at 11:30pm due to a very delayed flight and was welcomed by Angel who said I could fully check-in in the morning, but more importantly grab some dinner first. The communal dinner really brings people together and you instantly make friends. The food was also excellent, from pasta with cinnamon (sounds weird, was actually good) to the best risotto with veggies I've had in a while. So many people were traveling by themselves and this was key in meeting others. After dinner each night, the staff took us out to a chill bar for pregaming then a club to dance until the wee hours of the morning. The culture isn't that you have to go out every night (it can be exhausting!) but the option is always there and many people do. Even so, I wouldn't call this a party hostel - the rooms and facilities are very clean and there was no drinking in the actual rooms so you can sleep uninterrupted from whatever else is going on. Everyone staying there was very respectful of each other and the vibe was that of whatever makes you instantly make friends :-) The hostel was centrally located a few minutes walk from the metro, each bed has an outlet (it's important!!), and there's a lift if you're feeling lazy and are on the 4th floor. Just looking at the facilities, perks, etc of all the hostels, many look excellent on paper and are, in fact, very good places to stay, especially with the plethora of hostels in Barcelona. The staff absolutely was the differentiator in my stay here. Over my 5 nights, the main staff I interacted with was made up of Angel, Marcos, Natasha, and Madelyn. Angel is one of the founders of the hostel and it's very clear that he deeply cares about your stay and wants you to have an amazing time. Marcos was our personal party guide for a few of the nights, but also took us to a super chill beach that we spent a few afternoons. Natasha was incredibly sweet and helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area, and was also around during the day to chat with and just hang out. Madelyn was on the night shift a few times when we got back and we had a few great conversations that were way too late/early in the morning, but were very fun. Obviously this is just a quick blurb, but the staff here is truly exceptional. I've also stayed at one of their sister hostels in Prague (Hostel One Home) a few years back and still keep in touch with and meet up with friends from that trip - I know I'll similarly keep in touch with friends from this stay. The atmosphere at both was very conducive to making friends, which was why I got very excited when I saw this listing. Overall, Barcelona was the last stop on my trip and it really finished with a bang. Hostel One was just icing (lots of icing) on the cake.

Disliked: Nothing, I wish I could have stayed longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yelena osin

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Yelena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, the location is great and you can always find someone to go out with. Hands down the best hostel for solo travelers. I knew it was going to be good because of the other reviews, but this completely exceeded my expectations. I even changed my flight and extended my stay 2 days. If I could stay longer I would.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - I loved the property! The rooms were clean and amazing for a hostel. The common area was very inclusive, it was so easy to meet new people!

Disliked: A little far away from the metro station Paralelo but not significantly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, amazing staff and provides all that you need for a comfortable stay. Comfy beds, individual bedside lights and power points. Very clean. Good value breakfast 2.50€. Free dinner (tips welcome). Good wifi in common area. Computers available. Great location within walking distance to La Rambla. Close to public transport. Great information given on what to do and where to go while in Barcelona.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Yanish

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2015 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This place was like staying with family. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating! It really made my stay great. It is clean, the location and price were good, the wifi is great, but I have to say the people and the staff were what really made it exceptional.

Disliked: I had no complaints about this hostel. Really I have nothing negative to say at all .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Dillon

As a family with children

City break

12 March 2015 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely here, very helpful and welcoming. Great value for money (breakfast and dinner was included in the price). I stayed here with my younger brother and it was a very safe and friendly atmosphere. Would come back again. Right next to metro line.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty standard but they did the job! Basic but clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing stuff, one of my best hostel stays!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Angel runs a great place!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEORGE GARFIELD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 GEORGE would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it as a young traveler they made me feel welcome and it didn't feel like other hostels, it was more like being part of a big family

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya von Rennenkampff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was AMAZING! really calm and relaxed yet organized and VERY helpful in everyway!

Disliked: absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianna Ford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, truly. Good location near lots of food, bars, and public transport. The hostel is a nice small hostel with ample bathrooms and space in the rooms. It was clean, and everything was modernized. There is an area in the back to hang out that has a jacuzzi. There are computers you can use to print tickets and stuff as well. Breakfast is good and worth the €2.50 as you won;t get as much food for that price in Barcelona. The hostel itself is all good and grand, but what made my experience so fabulous was the atmosphere. Staff was one of the nicest, friendliest, and most helpful I have experienced at a hostel. The place is filled with signs, drawings and cool art. There is a communal vibe that the free dinners create. It helps you to meet people and feel more at home. It was just a really rad place that I can't recommend enough.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellant! Family dinners every night are delicious and create a great atmosphere. Location is also good

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Miles

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 November 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Family meals were excellent & it's a very social & well kept hostel :). One of the best I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rameez Akbar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2014 Rameez would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I stayed at during my holiday in Europe. The staff are extremely friendly - Mauro and Nikola are really welcoming and helpful during your stay. There is a dinner organized every night which is a great way to meet the other travelers in the hostel. Everyone at the hostel was extremely welcoming and truly made my experience in Barcelona worthwhile. A must visit!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Kantor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at! Loved the staff, so helpful, especially Ricardo!! He was so nice and funny and helped me out multiple times with reccommendations of how to get places, cool restaurants and bars. He's the best. The family dinners were great, and it was super social: great for solo travellers and people looking to make new friends. Also, super clean! Basically this is my dream hostel.

Disliked: Nothing! It was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Angel and all the staff were amazing.

Disliked: Brendan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne Pahati

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: I love Hostel One Paraelol. Great location and awesome staff! Each staff member was very helpful and knowledgeable about the city of Barcelona. Manuel and Nikoletta were the best! They are the two staff members I saw and spoke to most of my time at the hostel. I highly recommend this hostel! A friend recommended hostel one Paraelol to me and happy he did! Great atmosphere and very clean. Great place to stay if you are traveling solo or even with friends! I was traveling solo on my Europe trip and I felt very safe at Hostel One Paraelol. The hostel has a great community. Highly recommended. Stay at Hostel One Paraelol!

Disliked: Nothing!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely helpful and made you feel at home all the time.

Disliked: It's atmosphere is not for everyone. It can be difficult to have a quiet night in if that's what you want.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: I have had an amazing stay here! What sets this hostel apart from others is how easy they make it for you to meet people. As a lone traveler this is very important. Every night there they cook a dinner funded by optional tips, and during this time everyone gets to know one another and gets ready before we go out. Another thing that made my stay awesome was the presence of their employee Angel who is insanely charismatic. He got us into top clubs like Opium for free, and we would skip the line.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved loved loved our stay here!!! The atmosphere was amazing, it was so easy to make friends. Angel cooks a great family dinner each night and can hook you up with free entry to a lot of night clubs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, cleanliness. Nightlife was awesome too - Angel took us out every night to the best spots

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Vu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a buzzing vibe. You will be sure to have a great time here!! Clean room/bathroom so nothing to worry about there. Great space to meet other travellers and experience Barcelona! We met some really awesome people whilst there. Staff are also heaps helpful with anything you need. Dinner was also superb every night. No pressure to stay in but we did. Huuuugee shout out to PJ (one of the staff) - one of THE best people you will ever meet! Always there to help, cooks amazing food, and hands down will make your experience of Barcelona bigger and better. This guy is the bomb!

Disliked: Not seeing PJ enough haha

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arnaldo Mike Ribeiro

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 June 2014 Arnaldo Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, amazing staff and dinner! They know all about Barcelona!

Disliked: The pillow =)