We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duo by Somnio Hostels

Hostel | Carrer del Rosselló 220, principal, Barcelona, Spain 08008

87.0% Overall Rating

115 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

"Good location, just outside of the main busy areas. Felt very safe here and everyone was very respectful!"

Read all Duo by Somnio Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Rodamón Hostel
26.92 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
25.29 USD

Hostel 93.7% 1080 reviews
B&B Barcelona Best Location
38.63 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 16 reviews
Casa Diagonal
33.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
15.33 USD

Hostel 90.5% 30 reviews
The Hipstel
12.75 USD

Hostel 78.4% 289 reviews
Casa Kessler Barcelona
27.04 USD

Hostel 96.8% 22 reviews
Gracia City Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 88.2% 262 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

115 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duo by Somnio Hostels'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 116 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Constantinos Theophanous

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

21 August 2014 Constantinos would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location. Great stuff. Very good hostel. Very clean

Disliked: Bathroom needs renovation . overal very satisfied

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014

Liked: Good location, just outside of the main busy areas. Felt very safe here and everyone was very respectful!

Disliked: Wifi did not work from my bedroom or common areas, had to sit in the hallway to use it properly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Betty Rutter

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: Nice large room:-)

Disliked: 3 showers, only one was working! No kitchen facility for our use:-(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Selena Nadal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Selena would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the metro station. Staff was really nice.

Disliked: Selena left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were four bathrooms each with showers. Towels were provided. There was a fan in the dorm and helpful staff.

Disliked: The kitchen seemed to be very small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location just north of Las Ramblas so out of the main activity centre but only about 20 minute walk. As well, there was a metro station just outside. I liked the old building and small size of the hostel, so it felt more intimate, and the little courtyard outside. I also liked the free storage lockers for everyone.

Disliked: I was disappointed in the kitchen facilities as there was no kettle to make a proper cup of tea, only a coffee espresso maker.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels more like a grand old home than a hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lichun Lin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Lichun would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good!

Disliked: no

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and speak English and other languages as well. The hostel is in an old building and takes up about the entire floor, with assorted room types as well as four bathrooms with showers/some with tubs, too. The kitchen is ok, but locked until one requests to use it. The hostel is on the 2nd floor, there's a small old elevator that works well, and it's pretty quiet at night, which is good for Barcelona. The price is ok for Barcelona, which is a pricey city full of tourists. I would recommend the hostel, but please be aware of the small room, fan instead of ventilation, etc. The bed was VERY comfortable, there's free wifi/computer, and the sitting room and patio are quite comfy as well.

Disliked: My single room was small and stuffy; the window opened onto a moldy old central courtyard (small) that smelled pretty bad when I opened the window. . the fan helped, and considering the other factors, this room was ok. Bunk rooms seemed less stuffy, though I didn't stay in one....no AC, so summers could be very warm/stuffy. *NOTE: I really am a fresh air fanatic, so this comment may not be pertinent to those who don't like to sleep with open windows, fresh breezes, etc.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: enough number of showers for guests good receptionists comfortable common space

Disliked: where is kitchen...? i could not find on the first day

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

CHI FONG HOI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 CHI FONG would recommend this property

Liked: good experience

Disliked: CHI FONG left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a great hostel! The staff is super helpful. They answered every question I had and made great recommendations. The place is really charming. Huge terrace, clean, pretty. Location is good - right next to La Pedrera and Las Ramblas and near Sagrada Familia. I'd recommend to everyone!

Disliked: No AC, but it wasn't a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Ben Eliyahu

Alone

City break

29 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Amaizing hostel! if you like an old style of architecture - this hostel is the one.Very clean,Great porch,Large rooms and showers,Comfortable beds,Very nice and helpful staf.Great location. There is also drinks in a very reasonable price. Also,not loud. Love this hostel!

Disliked: 1.I think they need to add one or two more computers for the guests.There is one copmuter and it doesn't seams enough. 2.The kitchen is very small and if you'd like to cook something its impossible.You can warm it though in the microwave.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Location is excellent.

Disliked: Crowded dorm room without room to turn around. Bathroom tub/shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atomosphere was great! they have a large sunny terasse where you can take your breakfast and a special design inside. They have four bathrooms which are cleaned daily!

Disliked: The kitchen in the hostel was very small and there was no opportunity to cook. There were no tables to eat or write beside on the terasse.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff -- they were all super-friendly and helpful. I also loved the charm and character of the converted apartment. Gorgeous!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, super helpful, fantastic location. Nice quiet hostel.

Disliked: No kitchen, bathroom floors got a little flooded.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Seely

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: It is a quiet and small hostel. All staff I encountered were very helpful. I usually try a few different places to stay on every vacation to get a good feel for the city. This was the first place I stayed and I would have been very satisfied to stay here the entire time. In fact, I had an issue with another place I had made a reservation and came back here for three more nights. The staff is super accommodating. They gave out a great map too.

Disliked: Only down side, I originally stayed in a room right on the street, and the street is fairly busy - not their fault.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff are very good, on arrival I was given a map of the city and a lot of tips where to go etc.

Disliked: Not have fun if you travel alone is complicated because it has a common room with television, or parties to promote interaction among the guests.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious rooms, beds were very comfortable too. Staff were extremely helpful whenever approached. Located in quite a trendy, upmarket region of Barcelona (nice 15 minute stroll to get right into the heart of town). The place was very nicely decorated, free internet and a balcony too! GREAT! Would certainly stay in same place next time in Barca!

Disliked: Next to nothing, smallest of criticisms would be that the rug in the bedroom hadnt been hoovered. But other than that it great, bathrooms are cleaned every day!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Design

Disliked: The rooms with window towards the street was extremely noisy. THe single room was without window!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was just amazing, just by Rambla de Catalunya and Diagonal metro station, so center and other venues could be reached very easily.

Disliked: No smoking area Only one pc with internet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me gusto la tranquilidad, siempre esta todo muy limpio y las habiataciones amplias. Al menos la privada es muy recomendable.

Disliked: Tal vez no que no hya propuestas de salidas , incoporar el desayuno.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful. They recommended where to go sightseeing to eat or go out without even asking. They helped with all questions i've had. And were really nice in general

Disliked: It's in a really nice and safe neighborhood and close to the metro

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Kynvin

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 September 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, clean and very reasonably priced

Disliked: Nothing