HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Nice & Cozy guest house

Guesthouse | Calle Chapi 85, Barcelona, Spain 08031

92.5% Overall Rating

182 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

Laura Boynton thinks…

"Exactly what it says on the tin. Great roof terrace and the patio is a real sun trap. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. There were no issues with the shared bathrooms as it is a small…"

Read all Barcelona Nice & Cozy guest house reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Breakfast USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Feetup Garden House Hostel Barcelona
16.90 USD

Hostel 90.5% 300 reviews
Hillview Barcelona
9.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Arian Youth Hostel
24.88 USD

Hostel 84.0% 203 reviews
La Flor de Gaudí Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 93.6% 20 reviews
The Hostel Box Gaudi
12.44 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bedcelona Gracia Hostel
11.06 USD

Hostel 78.8% 17 reviews
Confortel Bel-Art
38.01 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
BcnStop Parc Güell
23.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

182 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Nice & Cozy guest house'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 187 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Boynton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what it says on the tin. Great roof terrace and the patio is a real sun trap. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. There were no issues with the shared bathrooms as it is a small hostel (more like a guest house) . As somebody who has been to barcelona before I wanted somewhere a little further out and this is just a few hundred metres from a metro station with some well priced bars nearby. Felt very safe there unlike off La Ramblas.

Disliked: Not great if you struggle with stairs but where is.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel felt more like a home than a hostel which was great for me.

Disliked: Depending on how you look at it, the downside could be that it's farther from the city centre. But if you want more quiet, then this place would be great. It's still only a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro so it's not a problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our host was very hospitable, warm, friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our little chats. The hostel has a homely and down to earth vibe. Enjoyed lounging on the couch to watch TV or sitting at large kitchen table to eat meals and write postcards. The staff and fellow guests were pleasant & friendly. €2 breakfast is a treat, as well as the €1 beers. The massive rooftop terrace is a great place to chill out with a drink, a book, soak up the sun and enjoy the amazing views of the surrounding mountains and Barcelona. Even though this hostel is not in the centre of the city, the train ride isnt a big deal and its close to a metro. I have made friends here and this place is a stand out compared to other hostels we have stayed in based on our experience. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and very cozy. Amazing views from the roof terrace and very helpful English speaking staff.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place! The people running the hostel made us feel at home, and even took us on a little tour of the Catalan neighborhood. They gave us suggestions for where to go, and it was so peaceful to be a little outside of the city. While it is a little far from the center of the city, just take the metro (which is pretty close to the hostel) and enjoy a good night's sleep outside of the nightlife zone. The rooftop gives a wonderful view of Barcelona.

Disliked: Kind of far - but the price makes up for it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luis Castro Badilla

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: very nice with a lot of services, having a drink and some food enjoying the view is amazing! helpful staff!

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jekaterina Nazarova

Alone

City break

28 June 2013 Jekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: This is actually the best place to stay in Barcelona, especially for those who don't like when it is too noisy around. The staff does everything to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. And let's not forget about the terrace. IT IS GORGEOUS!!!. I loved it so much.

Disliked: Jekaterina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a full kitchen we could use, roof top table & chairs, internet access great from their pc's. Very homely feel to it. Staff really helpful & breakfast of toast & condiments, fruit, cheese, cold meats, cereal coffee & juice only 2 euros!

Disliked: Fair way out of city but metro is close

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Rakef

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: For me the most important was cleanliness and liveliness of staying and it was well care of that. Very nice place to stay, the staff was very helpful and friendly. They show me what is good to see in barcelona, what is the easiest way to get there. I love colours of the rooms, nice kitchen, ability to cook yourslef a lunch, dinner,...friendly travelers :) Next time i visit barcelona i ll return back here.

Disliked: It is really very nice place, quiet at night. Great and quick connection of metro lines. Maybe is a little distant from the center especially if you want to go out tonight. But after couple of days i used to that, i used a metro, one day a taxi at night. I got a feeling of safetyness in barcelona :) In conclusion I was very satisfied with all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and the guy who works there were nice and helpful. The room was nice. A big advantage is the terrace on the roof – you can eat there or just admire views.

Disliked: It was a little bit too noisy because of the traffics outside, especially in the morning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The area was so nice despite it being outside of the main city. It was definitely good to see a different side to Barcelona. The metro was very easy to take into the city and only took 30-45 minutes to get to the main attractions. We had an early flight our last morning and the staff made sure breakfast was ready just for us. So nice! I would definitely recommend this place to people wanting to go to Barcelona.

Disliked: I'm pretty sure we booked a Deluxe Double Room and only got a standard one with beds that could not be pushed together as advertized...but it was still a nice room. The bathrooms were ok but could be a little nicer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were greeting with a free BBQ, sangria and very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cleanless

Disliked: Heating system made noice at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was off the main drag so offered a relaxed retreat after our day trips throughout Barcelona. It has a nice terrace, lots of computers for internet access and a printer. TV's for those interested. It was clean and near local food and beverage shops, in a more affordable neighbourhood. Kitchen was good for cooking.

Disliked: During the morning hours the bathrooms were often full (8:30 to 9:00), but easy to plan around.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: The rooms are nice and the view from the rooftop is beautiful.

Disliked: The rooftop, lounge area, and kitchen closes at 11pm so relaxing in the hostel isn't really an option unless you stay super quiet in your room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcome staff ; give you advises ; common rooms ; quiet to sleep.

Disliked: pretty far away of the center but not really a problem (just need a change of metro and 20 minutes extra than usual)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Montgomery

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and safe, I felt comfortable throughout my stay and even booked to stay again on the return part of my trip.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good service and very helpfull people. Competitive prices.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cesar Vargas

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 February 2013 Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great, has plenty of space and I felt very comfortable. The rooms and baths are very clean and I felt secure at all times. For my personal belongings I used the locker and everything was fine. I enjoyed the terrace, a great place to take a little bit of sun, have a drink and read a book. The place was very well heated and the owner and personnel are warm people, that help you a lot. It's location is perfect, because you are near the turistic spots but still far enough to be away from the crazyness of downtown. Besides, it was near to metro, train and bus stations, so I didn't have mobility troubles. Next time I'm going to come with my girlfriend and stay in a room for two.

Disliked: I really don't have any negative issues, since I've travel a lot alone, I know which are the difficulties of sharing a room with strangers and in fact I feel that in this hostel I have experienced a great stay in comparison with others that I've been, within Barcelona and in other places.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Owen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: I have been to Barcelona about 10 times and let me say, you MUST experience a stay here. If you want to experience the best side of Barcelona, the most beautiful part and the most authentic part, take my word for it - try this place. The lady who owns it (Nelly) is great and very warm, you will feel more at home here than you do in your own home. The terrace on the roof is superb with amazing district views of the city and Spanish rooftops, giving you that real Spanish vibe. It's a very relaxed place to meet people, even if you're on the shy side. Sure, it's a few minutes out of town but believe me, that's what you'll enjoy most about it. Besides, it's 2-3 minutes walk to the metro, there's a really nice, cosy cafe about 50-100 metres down the road on 'Carrer De Horta' among several bars and cafe's. Trains come literally every 2-3 minutes. Basically, this place is the essence of Barcelona and you'll love walking out the door of this place as the Horta area is lovely. I have never written a review this long...

Disliked: Nada.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great view from the roof terrace.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Demieka Seabrook Sävenfalk

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Demieka would recommend this property

Liked: it was very nice and cozy, hehe. atmosphere was great, Nelly is supersweet and really makes you feel like home. rooftop is awesome!

Disliked: Demieka left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Meneses

Alone

City break

13 September 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice clean place with a great staff, they make you feel like family. The view from the terraces is amazing. Wish I could stay here longer. I will recomended this hostel to everybody who apprecciates quality and comfort.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel. The owner, Nelly was friendly and helpful. She gives a lot of information on things to do in Barcelona. It has a great atmosphere and feels like home.

Disliked: The only thing I would change is that there is no way to do laundry there. And there are no laundromats in Spain. So just make sure you bring enough clean clothes.