HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Nice & Cozy guest house

Guesthouse | Calle Chapi 85, Barcelona, Spain 08031

93.5% Overall Rating

190 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

"The nice and cozy hostel really lives up to its name! The hole neighbourhood Horta is really nice and quiet full of friendly local people. The hostel has a laid back atmosphere and everything works as it should.…"

Read all Barcelona Nice & Cozy guest house reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.33
  • Breakfast USD 2.65
  • Towel USD 1.33

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Feetup Garden House Hostel Barcelona
22.81 USD

Hostel 91.0% 302 reviews
Hillview Barcelona
11.94 USD

Hostel 79.9% 20 reviews
La Flor de Gaudí Park Güell
22.55 USD

Hostel 88.9% 32 reviews
The Hostel Box Gaudi
23.88 USD

Hostel 94.3% 5 reviews
Bedcelona Gracia Hostel
17.91 USD

Hostel 76.1% 23 reviews
Confortel Bel-Art
47.42 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
BcnStop Parc Güell
31.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Ronda Lesseps
35.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

190 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Nice & Cozy guest house'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 194 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice and cozy hostel really lives up to its name! The hole neighbourhood Horta is really nice and quiet full of friendly local people. The hostel has a laid back atmosphere and everything works as it should. Beautiful view from the rooftop, friendly staff and other travelers make you not wanna leave this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for Money...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Durstmueller

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2014 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly familiy atmosphere. Nice and charmy hostel in the authentic Suburb of Horta. A bit out of the city-center (20min by metro), therefore really quiet and off the tourist mainstream. Colorful and comfy rooms, 3 clean bathrooms, big roof-terrace, kitchen to use (fridge) and living room. Breakfast (2€) was delicious, including: bread, jam, cheese, ham (spanish jamon serrano), butter, fruit, cereals, juice, milk, coffee, tea. Nelly, the owner, was super helpful, friendly and always gave us tips about what to do and where to go. One of the best hostels we have ever been to - if we come to Barcelona again, we will crash it again!

Disliked: Basically nothing, only the fact that you need the metro, which only works till midnight, to go to the city center.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aoife Banks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Aoife would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely modern, clean and stylish rooms. The lady that runs the hostel is the nicest we've met on our travels! Upon arrival he gave us a free city map and marked out all of the best locations and tourist spots. Very helpful indeed. The hostel also offers a rooftop terrace with seating and a hammock which is great to enjoy a beer on after a long day of wakling around the city!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVID WOODS

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: This small Hostel has the atmosphere of being invited into a family home. The Hostel was full but never felt busy. Depending on the deal a great breakfast was included in room price or just 2 euro per head consisting of breads cheese, meats fruit, cereals, freshly brewed coffee or good choice of other hot drinks and juice. There is a fridge In the kitchen large enough for all travelers needs. A patio adjoins the kitchen. The other rooms on the ground floor included a large lounge and dining room with large screen television and internet computers and a toilet /bath/ shower room. Up stairs the bedrooms are served by 2 further bath / toilet/ shower rooms, one very large and would be useful for young families ablutions. A stairway leads to the roof terrace, which is a great place to sit and chat as the sun goes down over the city. On arrival Nelly made sure we understood the facilities available, and sat down with us giving us a map of the city drawing on a number of key sites, indicating routes from metros, and also indicating some areas to avoid. One local walking distance site to visit is the park with a maze a short distance up the hill from the hostel. Note that there is an entry charge but as with a number of sites it is free on Sunday. Our double room was compact but comfortable and was room 1. This opened out onto a small shared balcony above the front door of the hostel. We liked Horta which felt a safe suberb. Close enough for an easy metro ride of 20 minutes or so to the sites but far enough to get away from the hustle and bustle at night. Walk back down the hill for somewhere to eat and we recommend at traditional tapas bar cerverceria on the left by the traffic lights ( not the sausage serverceria which is a little further) we ate one tapas off the menu, had 2 drinks and 4 open tapas on slices of bread chosen from a counter in front of us as we sat at the bar for 16 euro. Bargain and authentic. Enjoy your stay we did and will return. Don't be frightened of using the metro it's clean safe and never very busy. Much better experience than Paris or London Underground. Buy a T10 ticket from a machine at the station which currently gives you 10 trips for 10.3 euro and can be shared.

Disliked: The worst thing about the hostel is it's up a bit of a hill from the Metro Station, but that's also the best thing in the evening as it means you are high enough for views over the city. So really we disliked nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alex herod

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 alex would recommend this property

Liked: After spending ages reading reviews, we were so pleased we booked Nice and Cozy! As soon as we were arrived, we were greeted, shown around, given a map of the area. Everyone was very friendly and the hostel feels very homely - we loved being able to grab breakfast and just hang out on the patio / roof terrace in the morning. The room was clean and right next to the bathroom, which always had hot water. The hostel has a lot of character and is quite small which was what we wanted. Despite being a little way out of the centre, there are some lovely bars and restaurants in the area and it's only a 5-10minute walk from the metro. We actually welcomed being able to escape the bustle of the city centre and over 4 days didn't feel like we'd lost out choosing somewhere in Horta. We didn't need the internet / stay in much, but there was a computer and comfy lounge area with tv.

Disliked: The noise from the street was a little loud as we had the window open for air, but it didn't stop us sleeping and nothing some ear plugs wouldn't sort out if you're a light sleeper. No other complaints, we loved it!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Boynton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what it says on the tin. Great roof terrace and the patio is a real sun trap. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. There were no issues with the shared bathrooms as it is a small hostel (more like a guest house) . As somebody who has been to barcelona before I wanted somewhere a little further out and this is just a few hundred metres from a metro station with some well priced bars nearby. Felt very safe there unlike off La Ramblas.

Disliked: Not great if you struggle with stairs but where is.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel felt more like a home than a hostel which was great for me.

Disliked: Depending on how you look at it, the downside could be that it's farther from the city centre. But if you want more quiet, then this place would be great. It's still only a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro so it's not a problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our host was very hospitable, warm, friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our little chats. The hostel has a homely and down to earth vibe. Enjoyed lounging on the couch to watch TV or sitting at large kitchen table to eat meals and write postcards. The staff and fellow guests were pleasant & friendly. €2 breakfast is a treat, as well as the €1 beers. The massive rooftop terrace is a great place to chill out with a drink, a book, soak up the sun and enjoy the amazing views of the surrounding mountains and Barcelona. Even though this hostel is not in the centre of the city, the train ride isnt a big deal and its close to a metro. I have made friends here and this place is a stand out compared to other hostels we have stayed in based on our experience. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and very cozy. Amazing views from the roof terrace and very helpful English speaking staff.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place! The people running the hostel made us feel at home, and even took us on a little tour of the Catalan neighborhood. They gave us suggestions for where to go, and it was so peaceful to be a little outside of the city. While it is a little far from the center of the city, just take the metro (which is pretty close to the hostel) and enjoy a good night's sleep outside of the nightlife zone. The rooftop gives a wonderful view of Barcelona.

Disliked: Kind of far - but the price makes up for it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luis Castro Badilla

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: very nice with a lot of services, having a drink and some food enjoying the view is amazing! helpful staff!

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jekaterina Nazarova

Alone

City break

28 June 2013 Jekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: This is actually the best place to stay in Barcelona, especially for those who don't like when it is too noisy around. The staff does everything to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. And let's not forget about the terrace. IT IS GORGEOUS!!!. I loved it so much.

Disliked: Jekaterina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a full kitchen we could use, roof top table & chairs, internet access great from their pc's. Very homely feel to it. Staff really helpful & breakfast of toast & condiments, fruit, cheese, cold meats, cereal coffee & juice only 2 euros!

Disliked: Fair way out of city but metro is close

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Rakef

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: For me the most important was cleanliness and liveliness of staying and it was well care of that. Very nice place to stay, the staff was very helpful and friendly. They show me what is good to see in barcelona, what is the easiest way to get there. I love colours of the rooms, nice kitchen, ability to cook yourslef a lunch, dinner,...friendly travelers :) Next time i visit barcelona i ll return back here.

Disliked: It is really very nice place, quiet at night. Great and quick connection of metro lines. Maybe is a little distant from the center especially if you want to go out tonight. But after couple of days i used to that, i used a metro, one day a taxi at night. I got a feeling of safetyness in barcelona :) In conclusion I was very satisfied with all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and the guy who works there were nice and helpful. The room was nice. A big advantage is the terrace on the roof – you can eat there or just admire views.

Disliked: It was a little bit too noisy because of the traffics outside, especially in the morning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The area was so nice despite it being outside of the main city. It was definitely good to see a different side to Barcelona. The metro was very easy to take into the city and only took 30-45 minutes to get to the main attractions. We had an early flight our last morning and the staff made sure breakfast was ready just for us. So nice! I would definitely recommend this place to people wanting to go to Barcelona.

Disliked: I'm pretty sure we booked a Deluxe Double Room and only got a standard one with beds that could not be pushed together as advertized...but it was still a nice room. The bathrooms were ok but could be a little nicer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were greeting with a free BBQ, sangria and very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cleanless

Disliked: Heating system made noice at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was off the main drag so offered a relaxed retreat after our day trips throughout Barcelona. It has a nice terrace, lots of computers for internet access and a printer. TV's for those interested. It was clean and near local food and beverage shops, in a more affordable neighbourhood. Kitchen was good for cooking.

Disliked: During the morning hours the bathrooms were often full (8:30 to 9:00), but easy to plan around.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: The rooms are nice and the view from the rooftop is beautiful.

Disliked: The rooftop, lounge area, and kitchen closes at 11pm so relaxing in the hostel isn't really an option unless you stay super quiet in your room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcome staff ; give you advises ; common rooms ; quiet to sleep.

Disliked: pretty far away of the center but not really a problem (just need a change of metro and 20 minutes extra than usual)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Montgomery

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and safe, I felt comfortable throughout my stay and even booked to stay again on the return part of my trip.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good service and very helpfull people. Competitive prices.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cesar Vargas

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 February 2013 Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great, has plenty of space and I felt very comfortable. The rooms and baths are very clean and I felt secure at all times. For my personal belongings I used the locker and everything was fine. I enjoyed the terrace, a great place to take a little bit of sun, have a drink and read a book. The place was very well heated and the owner and personnel are warm people, that help you a lot. It's location is perfect, because you are near the turistic spots but still far enough to be away from the crazyness of downtown. Besides, it was near to metro, train and bus stations, so I didn't have mobility troubles. Next time I'm going to come with my girlfriend and stay in a room for two.

Disliked: I really don't have any negative issues, since I've travel a lot alone, I know which are the difficulties of sharing a room with strangers and in fact I feel that in this hostel I have experienced a great stay in comparison with others that I've been, within Barcelona and in other places.