We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

98.4% Overall Rating

1581 out of 1585 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/06/2015)

"Friendly staff, they organize a great dinner and flamenco outing on Tuesday nights, nice common area and patio."

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Sant Jordi Alberg
20.88 USD

Hostel 97.0% 267 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
29.82 USD

Hostel 96.1% 49 reviews
Soul Backpackers Barcelona
26.51 USD

Hostel 89.0% 46 reviews
Praktik Garden
38.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 113 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
20.88 USD

Hostel 81.8% 32 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
19.88 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 44 reviews
Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal)
35.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.4% 43 reviews
Mediterranean Hostel Barcelona
31.92 USD

Hostel 91.5% 81 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.4%

Overall Rating

1581 out of 1585 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 1291 of 1543 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, they organize a great dinner and flamenco outing on Tuesday nights, nice common area and patio.

Disliked: I stayed in room 2 (5 person dorm). The room is equipped with big windows, if they are closed the room tends to get stale and hot (despite the little AC unit) if they are open it is very loud in the room. Mostly just a matter of finding a compromise you and the other guests are happy with - I recommend open windows and earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhiannon Ledger

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 June 2015 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful and very knowledgable about where to go in Barcelona. The hostel is really clean and well kept and the free tea and coffee and sun cream and bats and balls are a bonus. It's in a really good location and easy to get around using the metro

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. Far better than I expected for a hostel. They have a nice patio, and the staff is really helpful. They keep it clean, and make you feel at home. I'll definitely stay again if I go back to Barcelona!

Disliked: Honestly, nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were SO friendly and helpful, I really had a great time there! Very convienet location as well. I would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Davis

Alone

City break

22 May 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel. Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble, great location.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff friendly and helpful, property clean, bright and located centrally! Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Again, this is the best Hostel in Barcelona. It's perfectly clean, the staff is amazingly friendly and the location is the best. Also, it's a fantastic place to meet other travelers. All these for just a few Euros makes the Hostel a must for any traveller. 110% over 100% is my rating!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Halpin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel, the staff were so friendly and helpful they went through all the main sights and gave us tips when we first arrived. The hostal itself is lovely and in a great location all the sites are within walking distance. Would definitely recommend and will hopefully staying there again soon!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Dexter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2015 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay. Ale has great recommendations and all the staff truly are wonderful.....especially sweet Louisa from Venezuela! Thank you everyone!

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Dogan Erdogmus

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 Ali Dogan would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are amazing. Best friendly staffs that i have ever seen. They explain where to go how to go when you get in. İf you have even a tiny question, ask away and i am sure they do their best to help you. İt is very close to gaudis house and plaza catalonia. Gotic town 10 minutes by walking, metro 5 minutes, sagradafamilia 15 minutes walking.

Disliked: If they would have a bar or something to buy from the hostel to a drink except tea and coffee, they would be fine even they offer whatever they have as free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Coulter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2015 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best Hostels I have stayed at all through backpacking in Europe and Central America. The stay started with a full overview of how to make the most of your visit in Barcelona at check-in which was totally helpful and amazing. The hostel is comfortable and clean and small enough that you can easily meet and hang out in the common spaces with the other travellers. The staff do a great job of organizing different activities for the guests and my cousin and I had so much fun joining in on their Sangria, Tapas and Karaoke night and dinner and Flamenco night. I will definitely be returning when I come back to Barcelona!

Disliked: One of the bunk beds in our dorm room was incredibly squeaky and squeaked in the night whenever the guy who was in it moved. I'm a pretty light sleeper and so this was pretty unpleasant to be constantly wakened by. The guy sleeping in it apologized (even though it was in no way his fault)- I kept meaning to mention it to the staff to see if they could help fix it but didn't get around to it. I'm sure if we had mentioned it to them they would have tried to find a solution for us. The rest of the room and the bathrooms were all quite nice though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Makkawi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2014 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there are extremely helpful, I didnt know where to go when I first came and they helped me with every place and even showed me where to eat and they made a map for that

Disliked: nothing it was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edina Pinjic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2014 Edina would recommend this property

Liked: When you walk in it almost feels as if it is your own home and the staff definitely do their very best for you to feel at home. It is absolutely STUNNING, CLEAN, it has everything you need and more.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Simbirtsev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and staff was friendly and helpful, their small garden was really nice to have breakfast in.

Disliked: our double room was rather small and had really squeaky bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mardi Swords

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Mardi would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent hostel. It's not large and impersonal, rather small and homey. It has a nice patio loaded with green plants. There is an efficient kitchen and the whole facility is kept spotlessly clean. Best of all the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. They organized some lovely social evenings out. The location couldn't have been better.

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Marini

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely recommend this hostel. At the arrival they already gave us a warming welcome, with great tips about the city and a good map! The localization is great, near a metro station, restaurants and a supermarket. The place is super clean, the bedroom had airconditioned, and people are SUPER nice! You can book your tickets for the sightseeing stuff on their computers, and they even print it for you! We just loved it.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lo que mas me gusto fue la calidez humana, el ambiente familiar y seguro y tambien la limpieza. El hostal tiene una terraza muy bonita llena de plantas donde se puede desayunar tranquilamente. Tambien disponen de una pequeña cocina donde podia calentar mis alimentos. Esta ubicado muy cerca de Plaza Cataluña y desde ahi me fue muy facil visitar todos los lugares mas importantes de la ciudad a pie.A pesar de viajar sola me senti muy segura durante toda la estadia.

Disliked: Me gusto todo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location, facilities and rooms are all great, and the price is good for the center of Barcelona (and in the height of summer!), but it's the cozy vibe and staff that really make this place stand out. If I were to return to Barc, I would book this without hesitation. All of the staff at the hostel were incredible, friendly and made us feel part of a family, almost. It's a relatively small hostel, which may seem bad initially, but actually it's perfect for the social aspect. The activies organised are fantastic, and on Flamenco night the staff came out for dinner and drinks with us, which was super cool. Ray and Sandra were great guides and it actually felt like hanging with friends rather than some people who are paid to walk around with you and don't actually care. Strong wifi, good kitchen, free coffee all day.

Disliked: Outside area could be improved, but that's the only downside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Barcelona Central Garden was amazing, before we arrived we were sent an email letting us know they had our booking which was reassuring and asked roughly what time our flight was landing so they could check us in as soon as possible. When we did actually arrive they checked us in straight away even though we were early and sat down and went through a map with us to show us exactly how to get to all the tourist sites and the best/cheapest places to eat and actually marked on the map as well including prices etc! Our room was basic but exactly what we wanted as we were not going to be spending a lot of time inside, but it was very clean and secure. The actual hostel had free internet and computers in the common area with a kitchen which we could use if wanted too and a terrace area which we spent every evening before we headed out in. In terms of location it was brilliant as we near enough walked everywhere and was only a short walk (5 mins) away from the nearest metro station when we arrived/left. We were a group of 4 girls in our early 20's and saw others like us but families also were staying here with older people and couples. It was lively but still suitable to families. If I went back to Barcelona again I would 100% stay here as the staff really made our trip in suggesting places to go.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Casey

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this hostel. The staff were super friendly and helpful. I liked how they organised group activities from the hostel so you could meet other people. It felt like a home because it was quite small compared to others which was really nice. The rooms were clean, comfortable beds and air conditioning. There was a communal kitchen which was perfect and a lounge area for chill times. There was also a really nice outside area too. Showers were hot. Pretty much perfect hostel really.

Disliked: Honestly, not much. Actually, no complaints, i loved it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shannon Boehm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and had lots of options for restaurants and markets. The staff were absolutely awesome and bet helpful with suggestions for places to go around the city. Very nice facilities and all around a great hostel.

Disliked: There were only three showers and two toilets which sometimes made it difficult to use the facilities whenever you needed, but this was a relatively minor problem for me.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Davis

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 July 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: We were welcomed with a free upgrade to a private en-suite room, which was a great start! Really reasonable rates for the location - which is fabulously central. So easy to walk everywhere or hop on the metro. Facilities are immaculate - no dirt I could see anywhere. Staff very friendly, always someone on hand to help out. They gave great recommendations of where to go and what to do in our short time in Barcelona. Quiet too - never had any issue getting to sleep.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing: we would recommend to all our friends.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tony Zhou

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and very helpful and someone

Disliked: Tony left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

naomi jones

Alone

City break

06 June 2014 naomi would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The location was great. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The organised nights are a great way to meet other people and lots of fun. the hostel was always spotlessly clean. I had a great time in Barcelona and would 100% recommend others to stay at this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing - everything was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel for Primavera 2014. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and were given an useful map with some recommendations for food, we tried out those places and they were excellent, fresh and great vaue for money. They also gave us some advice regarding the best way to get to the festival site which was also very helpful. We booked the budget 2 person room (bunk bed) listed as one of the smallest rooms, but what a surprise we had. With the very high ceilings the room didn't feel tiny at all, the bunk beds were sturdy and you could easily sit up in them without feeling claustrophobic or hitting your head. We stayed in room 7 which also had the lovely addition of having a door out onto the garden patio which was very homey. The other facilities such as the bathrooms were plentiful, there was never a queue and the showers were always clean (and most importantly hairless!). They also had quite a few events happening throughout the week which we were unable to attend. We had stayed in Barcelona previously at another hostel, but I would without a doubt stay at this hostel again if I had the opportunity. It was easy to find, close to two metro stations and a pleasure to be a guest at.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.