HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.8% Overall Rating

1565 out of 1569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Julia Marini thinks…

"I definitely recommend this hostel. At the arrival they already gave us a warming welcome, with great tips about the city and a good map! The localization is great, near a metro station, restaurants…"

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
31.23 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
23.59 USD

Hostel 97.3% 256 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
26.36 USD

Hostel 97.0% 24 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
20.95 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
47.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.4% 112 reviews
AWA Hostal Concepcio
42.65 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 52 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
18.45 USD

Hostel 86.4% 24 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
23.72 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.8%

Overall Rating

1565 out of 1569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1276 of 1527 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Marini

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely recommend this hostel. At the arrival they already gave us a warming welcome, with great tips about the city and a good map! The localization is great, near a metro station, restaurants and a supermarket. The place is super clean, the bedroom had airconditioned, and people are SUPER nice! You can book your tickets for the sightseeing stuff on their computers, and they even print it for you! We just loved it.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lo que mas me gusto fue la calidez humana, el ambiente familiar y seguro y tambien la limpieza. El hostal tiene una terraza muy bonita llena de plantas donde se puede desayunar tranquilamente. Tambien disponen de una pequeña cocina donde podia calentar mis alimentos. Esta ubicado muy cerca de Plaza Cataluña y desde ahi me fue muy facil visitar todos los lugares mas importantes de la ciudad a pie.A pesar de viajar sola me senti muy segura durante toda la estadia.

Disliked: Me gusto todo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location, facilities and rooms are all great, and the price is good for the center of Barcelona (and in the height of summer!), but it's the cozy vibe and staff that really make this place stand out. If I were to return to Barc, I would book this without hesitation. All of the staff at the hostel were incredible, friendly and made us feel part of a family, almost. It's a relatively small hostel, which may seem bad initially, but actually it's perfect for the social aspect. The activies organised are fantastic, and on Flamenco night the staff came out for dinner and drinks with us, which was super cool. Ray and Sandra were great guides and it actually felt like hanging with friends rather than some people who are paid to walk around with you and don't actually care. Strong wifi, good kitchen, free coffee all day.

Disliked: Outside area could be improved, but that's the only downside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Barcelona Central Garden was amazing, before we arrived we were sent an email letting us know they had our booking which was reassuring and asked roughly what time our flight was landing so they could check us in as soon as possible. When we did actually arrive they checked us in straight away even though we were early and sat down and went through a map with us to show us exactly how to get to all the tourist sites and the best/cheapest places to eat and actually marked on the map as well including prices etc! Our room was basic but exactly what we wanted as we were not going to be spending a lot of time inside, but it was very clean and secure. The actual hostel had free internet and computers in the common area with a kitchen which we could use if wanted too and a terrace area which we spent every evening before we headed out in. In terms of location it was brilliant as we near enough walked everywhere and was only a short walk (5 mins) away from the nearest metro station when we arrived/left. We were a group of 4 girls in our early 20's and saw others like us but families also were staying here with older people and couples. It was lively but still suitable to families. If I went back to Barcelona again I would 100% stay here as the staff really made our trip in suggesting places to go.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Casey

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this hostel. The staff were super friendly and helpful. I liked how they organised group activities from the hostel so you could meet other people. It felt like a home because it was quite small compared to others which was really nice. The rooms were clean, comfortable beds and air conditioning. There was a communal kitchen which was perfect and a lounge area for chill times. There was also a really nice outside area too. Showers were hot. Pretty much perfect hostel really.

Disliked: Honestly, not much. Actually, no complaints, i loved it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shannon Boehm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and had lots of options for restaurants and markets. The staff were absolutely awesome and bet helpful with suggestions for places to go around the city. Very nice facilities and all around a great hostel.

Disliked: There were only three showers and two toilets which sometimes made it difficult to use the facilities whenever you needed, but this was a relatively minor problem for me.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Davis

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 July 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: We were welcomed with a free upgrade to a private en-suite room, which was a great start! Really reasonable rates for the location - which is fabulously central. So easy to walk everywhere or hop on the metro. Facilities are immaculate - no dirt I could see anywhere. Staff very friendly, always someone on hand to help out. They gave great recommendations of where to go and what to do in our short time in Barcelona. Quiet too - never had any issue getting to sleep.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing: we would recommend to all our friends.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tony Zhou

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and very helpful and someone

Disliked: Tony left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

naomi jones

Alone

City break

06 June 2014 naomi would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The location was great. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The organised nights are a great way to meet other people and lots of fun. the hostel was always spotlessly clean. I had a great time in Barcelona and would 100% recommend others to stay at this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing - everything was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel for Primavera 2014. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and were given an useful map with some recommendations for food, we tried out those places and they were excellent, fresh and great vaue for money. They also gave us some advice regarding the best way to get to the festival site which was also very helpful. We booked the budget 2 person room (bunk bed) listed as one of the smallest rooms, but what a surprise we had. With the very high ceilings the room didn't feel tiny at all, the bunk beds were sturdy and you could easily sit up in them without feeling claustrophobic or hitting your head. We stayed in room 7 which also had the lovely addition of having a door out onto the garden patio which was very homey. The other facilities such as the bathrooms were plentiful, there was never a queue and the showers were always clean (and most importantly hairless!). They also had quite a few events happening throughout the week which we were unable to attend. We had stayed in Barcelona previously at another hostel, but I would without a doubt stay at this hostel again if I had the opportunity. It was easy to find, close to two metro stations and a pleasure to be a guest at.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Smith

Alone

City break

11 May 2014 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: I have travelled around the world and have stayed in heaps of hostels - this is one of the best I have stayed in. - The lady that runs it is wonderful- so lovely and will always help. - The attention to detail for example all the beds have their own electic socket and light. Plus your own locker. - The personalised map which shows where the hostel is and where the other main sights are. - It's really clean!! - It's very homley & friendly I felt as if I could veg out like I was at home.

Disliked: Perhaps a bigger kitchen- that's if I am being really picky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place has this vibe that makes you feel like you're home and you're part of a big family. It is a medium sized hostel, so you get to meet other travelers easily and they organize activities throughout the week, so even if you're traveling alone you will always have things to do. Location was also wonderful, in the centre of the city, a safe area surrounded by shops, metro stations and main touristy places. Thanks to all the staff at the BCG.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mukul Aggarwal

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Mukul would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and excellent staff!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect with many sites within walking distance, the hostel was very clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful with plenty of good advice. We travelled with our teenage daughter and her friend and although we were much older than the average guest we certainly weren't made to feel out of place and would happily stay there again

Disliked: Beds were a bit hard for me and the rooms at the front of the hostel suffered from traffic noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything about it. Location was amazing, staff were so helpful and wonderful. Felt very homey! Highly recommend this place and would stay here again next time I stop in Barcelona.

Disliked: Squeaky Bunk Beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location near the city centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Southwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break

23 March 2014 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Once again this hostel did not disappoint! Unlike reviews on property's not yet open? The previous reviews about a helpful hostel, in great location, clean and welcoming says it all. Wether it was the owners attempts to go beyond ( trying to help a student who had lost her laptop) or the honest feel at home atmosphere it would not consider any where else, book here and you won't be disappointed!

Disliked: Nothing! They even helped with finding great places to eat!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cecilia WU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, lovely place, lovely room, bit noisy but all great! Super convenient location! It felt like home!

Disliked: Only 1 toilet for all sharing dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathryn clements

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: I've seen this in a lot of comments but it's so true- BEST HOSTEL EVER! It's a beautiful place, great atmosphere and vibe, lovely, helpful staff, very comfy bunk beds, great kitchen, super clean and very safe. Loved the group activity they organised!

Disliked: kathryn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Platts

Alone

City break

28 February 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and wonderful location ! Easy to travel to from the airport via the train !

Disliked: Curtains didn't close completely

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome. It was just a really nice place to be.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Byron Sanders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Byron would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, bathrooms, great place to meet people

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ching-hui Lin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Ching-hui would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room and the room was nice and clean with a big TV. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Our room was facing the street and you could hear the traffic in the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom and kitchen were so clean, it has a nice small garden that you can eat something or take fresh air. They are so helpfull, when we are cold they gave the heater and the blanket immediately:). It is a safe hostel. They gave the information that you need while wandering around the city.

Disliked: The pillows are small and old .the radio is open all the time , and it can be annoying sometime, but it is okey you can turn it off :)