We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.7% Overall Rating

1568 out of 1572 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/10/2014)

Edina Pinjic thinks…

"When you walk in it almost feels as if it is your own home and the staff definitely do their very best for you to feel at home. It is absolutely STUNNING, CLEAN, it has everything you need and more."

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
29.98 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
13.79 USD

Hostel 97.0% 257 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
12.65 USD

Hostel 97.7% 39 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
9.17 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.4% 112 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
8.73 USD

Hostel 86.1% 26 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
12.65 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 30 reviews
Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal)
21.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

1568 out of 1572 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1279 of 1530 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clare easton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 clare would recommend this property

Liked: great information on arrival, very clean, respectful and great staff. Location central for sights and near transport bus and metro. would reccommend to stay here- it is not a party hostel, it is relaxed good vibes.

Disliked: nothing- I loved it

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Glick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome. It has the best location, and is really central. The staff here are also the best I've encountered so far. They will go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay and enjoy Barcelona. The rooms and bathrooms were squeaky clean, and there's aircon on at night if it's still hot. I would have stayed longer, it's that good.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and really helpfull staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

margarita papadaki

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 margarita would recommend this property

Liked: It was very modern and clean. Cleaners did the shared areas every day! Private twin room was one of 5 in an apartment with lovely shared shower rooms, toilets, kitchen, living area and balcony. There was even a computer in the apartment hallway! Great facilities including an iron and the staff were very nice. Felt really safe as we had keys to 3 different doors before we even got to our room.

Disliked: There were far too many unnecessarily repeated rules and it was quite expensive but considering what we received in return for the price it seemed like good value for money - £26 pppn for a private twin. We were not allowed to control the air conditioning in our own room, any time we wanted it on or the temperature changed we had to go down and ask reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Chippindale

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: everything. this is the most amazing hostel ive ever stayed at. the staff are AMAZING, its got the best feeling about this place. I dont want to leave, and considering changing travel plans just to come back and hangout here.

Disliked: That I have to leave. Thats all..... I want to stay forever

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, the rooms and bathrooms were of a high quality of cleanliness, especially for a hostel. The location is good for most things in Barcelona and was a pleasant stay throughout and good value for money.

Disliked: For a twin room only getting one key was irritating, but that was the only major complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were really friendly and knowledgeable - I really liked the 'map tour' when I arrived, which highlighted loads of things about the area I hadn't got from the guide books. The food recommendations were excellent and the food nights - Pizza night and Tapas night (!) were awesome. It was really clean, and felt very safe. The hostel is really well located as well - plenty of public transport around, and most of the tourist things can be walked to.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely nice and helpful staff, that helps even with private issues, very clean rooms. The hostel offers one nice "living room" with TV, books, DVDs etc. and a big patio. Different kinds of events (pizza night, tapas night) are offered for a small amount. After check-in a short but appropiate introduction to Barcelona was given in combination with a map containing some insider information. Sometimes it felt like staying in a guest family.

Disliked: The

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Wick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and offered a sociable atmosphere.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Alex

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: - Central location to all attractions - Very friendly Staff - Clean - Aircon in room

Disliked: - No Wi-fi in the rooms - Lockers in the room is small - No real breakfast as such. Its a standard in most hostels to provide breakfast! - Prefers to pay cash

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was useful and friendly (especially Julian). The people that clean the hostel (especially the asian man) are very effective and thorough. The terrace is huge and comfortable (especially to eat). A lot of bathrooms. Wifi was really good. The AC was more than effective. A lot of DVDs available to watch on a big screen. Good activities were planned (Flamenco show).

Disliked: The slight smell of urine (from outside) when you start the ventilation instead of the AC in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great quality and overall it is great.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Jay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really relaxed and was a good place to come back to at the end of the day. As it says it's not a 'Party' hostel but this by no means it is boring. There is plenty of opportunity to meet other travelers but the 'lets go out and get drunk' mentality is not at the forefront of conversation (although on several occasions this was a bi-product of the evenings out!!!) The staff are so so friendly and their ability to remain enthusiastic is fantastic even though they must have repeated themselves with the same generic tourist info for probably the tenth time that day. The hostel is also spotless and seems to have magic fairies doing all the tidying because I never once had to wait to use anything because of 'cleaning in progress'

Disliked: The hostel was fabulous and I would be hard pushed to fault anything about it. The rooms are perhaps a little on the small side but as some fellow travelers agreed the hostel actually tops a lot of hotels we've stayed in (and with a much nicer atmosphere!)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cherry Muddle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Cherry would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly, vibrant and helpful staff who gave me a great introduction to the city. The sunny garden terrace with lots of plants and the cleanliness of the living spaces!

Disliked: Cherry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Paluzzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were THE best ive ever encountered in my travels and the couple that runs the hostel are just lovely. when you sign in, they give you a map and a mini tour of all the man attractions (on the map, not walking)...24h reception is great, kitchen is clean and they do your laundry for you ($)

Disliked: if i HAD to say something, no shelves for the beds...and they kind of scare you with the amount of rules...but most are common courtesy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean and powerful airconditioning for the sweltering summers. Excellent location, 15 minutes walking to the gothic quarters and easy public transport access to other parts of the city. Good and detailed introduction to the history of barcelona on arrival :)

Disliked: The wifi takes a long time to connect to on your own device, but once on works quickly. However, desktops are available for use, so not a big worry

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and a good location, exactly what we wanted from a hostel!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and very good location. Central enough to walk everywhere but also far enough from las ramblas to be quiet and safe. The kitchen and wifi facilities were great and dorm rooms were a really good size.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Jose Pruneda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Marcos Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Well, were start describing my experience?, The hostel is very well located ( fast access to the metro, and at walk distance of the main plaza and other city interesting points), the building is in excellent shape, wide and comfortable living room, well equiped kitchen and fantastic patio ( one of the highlights of Barcelona Central Garden I guess), no less important, a very clean and comfortable room.But, for me the most important thing was the friendly and absolutely "buena onda" staff, starting with Alexia and Mirko, following with Mady, Claudia, Julián and Jerome and the other people, all made my stay in Barcelona very relaxed and enjoyable.thanks!

Disliked: Nothing to comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anabela Carigo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Anabela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were some of the most friendly and genuine people.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff is what makes this property stand out for us. Good location, clean.

Disliked: Our room had no window

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY helpful staff, and interior is very new and clean. But it's also in an historic building, so has character. It's on a busy street and the common room can get noisy, but they've put in some very good soundproof doors and double-pane windows so sleeping wasn't a problem.

Disliked: The kitchen cooking area was a bit cramped--can really only have one person in there at a time. But that's a minor issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karan Saraf

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Karan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel between 25-30th June. This is the best hostel I've stayed in yet. Coming from England, all the staff spoke excellent English. Extremely clean, as good as any hotel. Staff more friendly than I would have expected at any hostel. Make you feel very welcome, give you lots of information about the city as soon as you arrive, very accommodating. Rooms are nice. Not a party hostel, so not very much noise and you can sleep. However lots of social activities. They take you out for flamenco on Wednesday nights and provide a Tapas night at the hostel on Fridays. Common rooms (x2). Chilled out atmosphere, can meet other travellers here. 3x computers with internet access. Wi-Fi also provided for free.

Disliked: Karan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet late at night to allow people to sleep. Helpful staff. Property is clean, centrally located.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christin Leistner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Christin would recommend this property

Liked: sehr sehr nette atmosphaere!

Disliked: Christin left no negative feedback.