HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.0% Overall Rating

1549 out of 1553 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

"Loved everything about it. Location was amazing, staff were so helpful and wonderful. Felt very homey! Highly recommend this place and would stay here again next time I stop in Barcelona."

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least TWO (2) days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
34.51 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
13.67 USD

Hostel 97.0% 251 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit Palace
24.85 USD

Hostel 99.4% 9 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
16.43 USD

Hostel 90.9% 21 reviews
Praktik Garden
45.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 111 reviews
AWA Hostal Concepcio
35.33 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 49 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
12.42 USD

Hostel 91.4% 16 reviews
AWA Barcelona City Center Hostal
22.50 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

1549 out of 1553 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1262 of 1511 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 50 | 51   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and very good location. Central enough to walk everywhere but also far enough from las ramblas to be quiet and safe. The kitchen and wifi facilities were great and dorm rooms were a really good size.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Jose Pruneda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Marcos Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Well, were start describing my experience?, The hostel is very well located ( fast access to the metro, and at walk distance of the main plaza and other city interesting points), the building is in excellent shape, wide and comfortable living room, well equiped kitchen and fantastic patio ( one of the highlights of Barcelona Central Garden I guess), no less important, a very clean and comfortable room.But, for me the most important thing was the friendly and absolutely "buena onda" staff, starting with Alexia and Mirko, following with Mady, Claudia, Julián and Jerome and the other people, all made my stay in Barcelona very relaxed and enjoyable.thanks!

Disliked: Nothing to comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anabela Carigo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Anabela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were some of the most friendly and genuine people.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff is what makes this property stand out for us. Good location, clean.

Disliked: Our room had no window

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY helpful staff, and interior is very new and clean. But it's also in an historic building, so has character. It's on a busy street and the common room can get noisy, but they've put in some very good soundproof doors and double-pane windows so sleeping wasn't a problem.

Disliked: The kitchen cooking area was a bit cramped--can really only have one person in there at a time. But that's a minor issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karan Saraf

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Karan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel between 25-30th June. This is the best hostel I've stayed in yet. Coming from England, all the staff spoke excellent English. Extremely clean, as good as any hotel. Staff more friendly than I would have expected at any hostel. Make you feel very welcome, give you lots of information about the city as soon as you arrive, very accommodating. Rooms are nice. Not a party hostel, so not very much noise and you can sleep. However lots of social activities. They take you out for flamenco on Wednesday nights and provide a Tapas night at the hostel on Fridays. Common rooms (x2). Chilled out atmosphere, can meet other travellers here. 3x computers with internet access. Wi-Fi also provided for free.

Disliked: Karan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet late at night to allow people to sleep. Helpful staff. Property is clean, centrally located.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christin Leistner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Christin would recommend this property

Liked: sehr sehr nette atmosphaere!

Disliked: Christin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Description was very accurate, had a wonderful experience! Staff was great, I felt very safe, rooms and bathrooms were spotless. They really did try and foster a sense of community by organizing events every other night (I went to a flamenco show!) and I got to meet a lot of the other travelers at the hostel. Would highly reccommend!

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hostel itsleft had a great vibe and we met a lot of great people here.

Disliked: There was nothing really that I disliked but it would have been nice if it was a little closer to a metro station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Martin

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: This place was such a wonderful find! We got a great introduction to Barcelona from one of the staff members (I think his name might have been Alex? - he was great!) and a very good map. We got a private twin room and it was small and fairly basic, but quite comfortable. The hostel felt very safe and the atmosphere was laid back and friendly. The bathrooms were spotless and I never had to wait for a shower or toilet or anything. The room was air conditioned. The location of the hostel was pretty close to the gothic quarter but closer to Sagrada Familia than the beach. I preferred this location to that of Hostel One Paralelo where I stayed later in the week. All in all, fantastic experience with Barcelona Central Garden. I would stay here again!

Disliked: My one little gripe was that during the Tapas and Sangria night (which was very tasty and excellent for the 6 EUR price), the other hostel guests weren't as social as I'd hoped. People mostly talked to those they already knew or watched TV, but it wasn't as much about meeting the other guests as I thought it might be. But it wasn't a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiana Rakotondratrimo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Tiana would recommend this property

Liked: very central location, about 10-15 mn walks from all the touristic places to visits. Very close to train and bus station to the airports. 4 supermarkets in 5 mn walk so perfect really. Very quiet too and clean, kitchen was a definitive plus (big fridge, microwave, everything ready if you want to cook or heat up a meal and save money )

Disliked: Nothing, it's ideal

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are reallly hospitable and knowledgable about Barcelona. They had pretty much anything you asked for.

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente servicio, ubicacion y atención.súper limpio!! Cerca de calle principal, metros y autobuses. MUY RECOMENDABLE.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was more like a home away from home which made travellers feel really comfortable.

Disliked: The traffic noise outside in the early mornings

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything: it's very clean, nice atmosphere, easy to meet people, very close to the main attraction , comfy bed, free internet, nice staff............ I could keep on going.... hehehe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful, guests are friendly and respectful. This place was perfect for me. It's a great place to stay if you are travelling by yourself and want to meet new people because it's neither to big or too small and it has nice common areas. It's also a great place for people who want to go out sightseeing all day and then go our for a few drinks in the evening, but also be able to get a good night's sleep without being woken up all the time by party people. (you have your own key so you can stay out as late as you want, but people generally seem to return quietly, whatever time they come in) The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are new and clean. The hostel is decorated to make it feel like your staying in a home rather than some cheap backpackers.

Disliked: I liked everything. You can hear the noise of the traffic from some of the bedrooms, but this didn't bother me at all. (there's no loud music or loud people on the street, which is the kind of noise which personally would keep me awake. I find the gentle hum of cars quite soothing! But if you don't, it could bother you.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HECTOR MARTINDELCAMPO VILLEGAS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 HECTOR would recommend this property

Liked: Es dificil decidir si lo mejor son las instalaciones, el ambiente o el staff, sin duda el mejor hostal en que me he alojado.

Disliked: Nada, todo me ha gustado

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at Barcelona Central Garden because of the friendly staff, cleanliness, and comfortable rooms. It was my first experience staying in a hostel in Europe and I was really impressed. The hostel is incredibly secure and the neighborhood seemed really safe. The staff was super helpful and everyone was very friendly--the friendliest I met on my trip through Spain.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Burton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms/bathrooms were extremely clean and tidy. Great location in safe area near the city center. Would definitely return to this hostel in the future!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: schöne Terrasse, Bäder sind sehr sauber, nettes Team

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kelsey Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice and clean hostel. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and willing to help. It was very acomodating

Disliked: Kelsey left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Stirling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: no coffee up stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the south part of L'Eixample, making it easy to walk to both the new and old parts of town. 10 min walk to Placa Catalunya (where the AeroBus station is), 5 min to Passeig de Gracia. Subway stations nearby. Very clean property and nice washrooms. Free internet on the computers provided. Nice little balcony, but it closes at around 10:30 pm. Large kitchen and very helpful staff.

Disliked: No breakfast. Other hostels in the area that charge the same (or less) provide at least some breakfast, so this was kind of disappointing. Although I did not plan on drinking hard alcohol, some people may wish to do so. This hostel does not allow hard alcohol consumption. It only allows wine or beer.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated in amazing building!!

Disliked: It's not a party hostel

The property's response is...