HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.8% Overall Rating

1565 out of 1569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Julia Marini thinks…

"I definitely recommend this hostel. At the arrival they already gave us a warming welcome, with great tips about the city and a good map! The localization is great, near a metro station, restaurants…"

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
31.12 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
27.45 USD

Hostel 97.3% 256 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
26.26 USD

Hostel 97.1% 27 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
20.88 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
57.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.4% 112 reviews
AWA Hostal Concepcio
30.90 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 52 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
18.38 USD

Hostel 86.4% 24 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
23.64 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.8%

Overall Rating

1565 out of 1569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1276 of 1527 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Treeby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding hostel, by far the best we have stayed in so far on our 3 months of travel. Squeaky clean, modern, cosy hostel in the centre of Barcelona. Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Free wifi and computers available (we were also able to print tickets for the next part of our travels). Laundry service available on site for 7.50€ - we dropped our clothes off in the morning and collected them in the afternoon (they were even folded nicely!) Great location right near Passeig de Gracia, very easy to get to all points of interest, the metro and the airport bus at Placa Catalunya. Safe and secure, there is a seperate key for the building entrance, the reception and then your room.

Disliked: Nothing. Cannot fault this hostel!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,clean , friendly staff , good security measure & good facilities.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly welcome, we sat down with a map and the receptionist went over the highlights of Barcelona for us (at her suggestion). Pizza and Sangria on one night was a great chance to meet other guests, and the common room was a great place to hang out. Super clean, lovely beds, great kitchen facilities (olive oil, salt & pepper etc provided), good location - definitely would recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel that we've stopped at during our month in Europe. Unlike other hostels on arrival you're not just shooed to your room but instead we were sat down as the staff told us anything and everything about Barcelona including great tips on where to go for food, drink and sightseeing. Really can't say enough about how helpful all the staff here were. We had a private twin bed room which was clean and comfortable and with there being several shared bathrooms on each floor we never had to wait to use them. It is a short 10 minute walk to La Rambla which is the heart of the city of Barcelona so the location couldn't be any better. Now this isn't a party hostel but that doesn't mean that there's not chance to go out and meet fellow travellers, we spent our evenings out on the terrace with a few drinks chatting to people and staff helped arrange taxis and recommend clubs for those who wanted to do that instead. There is good wifi in all the rooms and they also have a printer which we used to print our boarding passes for the flight home, can't wait to go back!

Disliked: Nothing wrong with it at all, just avoid the city altogether if there happens to be a Catalan independence march though!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING !! ...

Disliked: NOTHING ...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best in town

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, within walking distance to pretty much everything, though you'll want to take a bus (like they recommend) for the sites at the top of hills. Helpful, friendly staff, who helped us carry our luggage up to the hostel, gave us an excellent, thorough orientation when we arrived, and were always willing to answer every question. Friendly owners too, who go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome (making tapas for tapas night, and the wife installed a lamp for the bottom bunk while we were there because she wanted to make sure both guests had light if they wanted to read at night). Good events (again, tapas night). Super clean.

Disliked: AC could be a bit loud, but without it, the room got a bit hot (that's probably also because we spent the day out in Barcelona). The noise was not a problem for us, but the AC should not keep on (even at low) overnight since in the private budget room, I ended up getting a cough due to the way the AC blew air at the bottom bunk. We ended up using the AC for an hour or so when we got back from sightseeing and leaving the fan on overnight, which worked fine. One staff member was very friendly but could be a bit cheeky when answering questions. This is fine for the most part but could get a bit annoying after awhile.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located hostel with xcellent atmosphere. Not a loud party hostel which was perfect. The staff were helpful and friendly and organised events which brought people closer

Disliked: Nada...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sight-seeing tips from the friendly and very helpful staff!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place. Great location. Very clean. Very friendly and helpful (at least with sincere intentions) staff. 24-hour reception. I think the staff really help make this hostel great.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was GREAT, and I'll be recommending it to friends and family. Where to begin... I think its super nice that they make the beds for you (just on the first day that you arrive.) This means that if you're wiped out from traveling, you don't have to throw the sheets on the bed before crashing. Total win. The staff is super duper friendly and helpful. They give you a little primer on the entire city right when you check in. There are events a few times a week (like pizza & sangria night) that are super affordable and make it really easy to meet the other people staying in the hostel. The hostel is the cleanest I have ever seen. It's hard to beat free internet access. Basically, STAY HERE. You won't regret it.

Disliked: The only teeny tiny thing I would say is that my bunk was missing a reading light.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Huang

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was living at home there. The place is so well maintained, impeccably clean, the furniture all seemed to be as good as new. The lounge was so comfortable with it´s leather couches and it was such a Best of all though were the people! Everyone there was so friendly and helpful. They really made me feel at home.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ameya Raich

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Ameya would recommend this property

Liked: Whoao!! When I was booking BCG with its over 99%+ rating I was intrigued just how good could this hostel be. So off I went with high expectations. The hostels surpassed them all !!! Amazing staff - everyone takes that one extra step (in fact, far more than one!) in making sure your stay at Barcelona is cherished.. Great location, friendly & logical rules, very clean and no words can aptly describe the able staff. Its hard to not fall in love with this place!

Disliked: They've set the bar way too high for other hostels..so u'll find it hard to like other hostels after being here!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell Ware

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: We would highly recommend this hostel, best one we've ever stayed in. Clean, central, very friendly, we felt safe and secure for the entire stay. Our accomodation was changed/upgraded after a couple of days as they had a better room free - felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The owner was lovely to talk to, and we took some of her advice of places to visit. A trip to the Flamenco was amazing as were some of the other places she mentioned, and next time, we will try a boat trip! All in all a 5* place to stay, we will definitely be going to this Hostel again.

Disliked: I disliked NOTHING, and will definitely go back!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Augusto Maya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Juan Augusto would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Only 300m from Plaza Cataluña, the main square of Barcelona. The environment in the hoste is great. The stuff is very helpful. Evrithing is perfect.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, atmosphere.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met every need and were always looking to help out. Much better than an average hostel - almost like a hotel!

Disliked: kitchen possibly on the small side but it was actually never a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hopkins

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

09 August 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice room and a great location in the city.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central if you are intersted in being around La Rambla and Pl de Catalunya. The staff is wonderful, the hostel is quiet (which is great for someone who wants to relax), yet offers you the opportunity to meet new pple too..i would definitely come back when im back in Barcelona.

Disliked: The AC in the private room is extremely loud, making us turning it off at night and opening the window: - weather in summer is really hot - window overlooking a main street hence vey noisy in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josipa Suc

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Josipa would recommend this property

Liked: Barcelona Central Garden Hostel has a nice staff that seem like a family. Hostel is also very tidy and safe. Each day was very pleasant atmosphere and I realy enjoy there. High rating has fully justified my expectations.

Disliked: Josipa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Gilberto Gulde Maia e Bezerra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 João Gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice, and the beds are really confortable. They will help to go around and are really supportive. By far the best hostel i have stayed in. Highly recommend.

Disliked: There is nothing i would point as a bad thing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Raley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing! One of the ladies sat with us for 40min talking about sights to see and how to get there etc....FANTASTIC!

Disliked: Its VERY quiet. Don´t come here expecting to party but you will meet people in a relaxed and cool environment.....away from the hustle and bustle of the city which for some could be a like or a dislike.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clare easton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 clare would recommend this property

Liked: great information on arrival, very clean, respectful and great staff. Location central for sights and near transport bus and metro. would reccommend to stay here- it is not a party hostel, it is relaxed good vibes.

Disliked: nothing- I loved it

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Glick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome. It has the best location, and is really central. The staff here are also the best I've encountered so far. They will go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay and enjoy Barcelona. The rooms and bathrooms were squeaky clean, and there's aircon on at night if it's still hot. I would have stayed longer, it's that good.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and really helpfull staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.