We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.7% Overall Rating

1568 out of 1572 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/10/2014)

Edina Pinjic thinks…

"When you walk in it almost feels as if it is your own home and the staff definitely do their very best for you to feel at home. It is absolutely STUNNING, CLEAN, it has everything you need and more."

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
29.98 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
9.99 USD

Hostel 97.0% 257 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
12.65 USD

Hostel 97.7% 39 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
9.17 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
38.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.4% 112 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
10.12 USD

Hostel 86.1% 26 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
12.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 29 reviews
Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal)
19.01 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

1568 out of 1572 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1279 of 1530 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Too much noise coming from the street next to the room even if the windows were closed. That was really hard to sleep. Regarding the atmosphere in the hostel, I didn't find it enjoyable at all. Expensive for the service offered... You can find other hostels in the city center that are much more money worth. Barcelona is a nice city but if I go back there, I would not choose this hostel again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I hadn't stayed in a hostel before and wasn't sure what to expect, but my stay far exceeded my expectations. The staff at this hostel was really great. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel had a very "homey" atmosphere and was exceptionally clean. I hope to return to Barcelona again (my stay was too short!), and I will definitely stay at Central Garden Hostel when I do!

Disliked: There were two minor things I disliked about my room (a 5-bed dorm). First, the bunk beds were made of metal and mine squeaked every time I moved around in bed. This noise wasn't particularly bothersome to me, but I felt bad for the others in the room! Second, my room was on the street side of the building, and the traffic was loud in the morning. For anyone who thinks traffic noise might be a concern, I would recommend requesting a room on the terrace side, as I assume it is much quieter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serina Pritchard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Serina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very safe, and very clean. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and got everyone together with optional activities

Disliked: Serina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Treeby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding hostel, by far the best we have stayed in so far on our 3 months of travel. Squeaky clean, modern, cosy hostel in the centre of Barcelona. Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Free wifi and computers available (we were also able to print tickets for the next part of our travels). Laundry service available on site for 7.50€ - we dropped our clothes off in the morning and collected them in the afternoon (they were even folded nicely!) Great location right near Passeig de Gracia, very easy to get to all points of interest, the metro and the airport bus at Placa Catalunya. Safe and secure, there is a seperate key for the building entrance, the reception and then your room.

Disliked: Nothing. Cannot fault this hostel!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,clean , friendly staff , good security measure & good facilities.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly welcome, we sat down with a map and the receptionist went over the highlights of Barcelona for us (at her suggestion). Pizza and Sangria on one night was a great chance to meet other guests, and the common room was a great place to hang out. Super clean, lovely beds, great kitchen facilities (olive oil, salt & pepper etc provided), good location - definitely would recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel that we've stopped at during our month in Europe. Unlike other hostels on arrival you're not just shooed to your room but instead we were sat down as the staff told us anything and everything about Barcelona including great tips on where to go for food, drink and sightseeing. Really can't say enough about how helpful all the staff here were. We had a private twin bed room which was clean and comfortable and with there being several shared bathrooms on each floor we never had to wait to use them. It is a short 10 minute walk to La Rambla which is the heart of the city of Barcelona so the location couldn't be any better. Now this isn't a party hostel but that doesn't mean that there's not chance to go out and meet fellow travellers, we spent our evenings out on the terrace with a few drinks chatting to people and staff helped arrange taxis and recommend clubs for those who wanted to do that instead. There is good wifi in all the rooms and they also have a printer which we used to print our boarding passes for the flight home, can't wait to go back!

Disliked: Nothing wrong with it at all, just avoid the city altogether if there happens to be a Catalan independence march though!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING !! ...

Disliked: NOTHING ...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best in town

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, within walking distance to pretty much everything, though you'll want to take a bus (like they recommend) for the sites at the top of hills. Helpful, friendly staff, who helped us carry our luggage up to the hostel, gave us an excellent, thorough orientation when we arrived, and were always willing to answer every question. Friendly owners too, who go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome (making tapas for tapas night, and the wife installed a lamp for the bottom bunk while we were there because she wanted to make sure both guests had light if they wanted to read at night). Good events (again, tapas night). Super clean.

Disliked: AC could be a bit loud, but without it, the room got a bit hot (that's probably also because we spent the day out in Barcelona). The noise was not a problem for us, but the AC should not keep on (even at low) overnight since in the private budget room, I ended up getting a cough due to the way the AC blew air at the bottom bunk. We ended up using the AC for an hour or so when we got back from sightseeing and leaving the fan on overnight, which worked fine. One staff member was very friendly but could be a bit cheeky when answering questions. This is fine for the most part but could get a bit annoying after awhile.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located hostel with xcellent atmosphere. Not a loud party hostel which was perfect. The staff were helpful and friendly and organised events which brought people closer

Disliked: Nada...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sight-seeing tips from the friendly and very helpful staff!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place. Great location. Very clean. Very friendly and helpful (at least with sincere intentions) staff. 24-hour reception. I think the staff really help make this hostel great.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was GREAT, and I'll be recommending it to friends and family. Where to begin... I think its super nice that they make the beds for you (just on the first day that you arrive.) This means that if you're wiped out from traveling, you don't have to throw the sheets on the bed before crashing. Total win. The staff is super duper friendly and helpful. They give you a little primer on the entire city right when you check in. There are events a few times a week (like pizza & sangria night) that are super affordable and make it really easy to meet the other people staying in the hostel. The hostel is the cleanest I have ever seen. It's hard to beat free internet access. Basically, STAY HERE. You won't regret it.

Disliked: The only teeny tiny thing I would say is that my bunk was missing a reading light.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Huang

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I was living at home there. The place is so well maintained, impeccably clean, the furniture all seemed to be as good as new. The lounge was so comfortable with it´s leather couches and it was such a Best of all though were the people! Everyone there was so friendly and helpful. They really made me feel at home.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ameya Raich

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Ameya would recommend this property

Liked: Whoao!! When I was booking BCG with its over 99%+ rating I was intrigued just how good could this hostel be. So off I went with high expectations. The hostels surpassed them all !!! Amazing staff - everyone takes that one extra step (in fact, far more than one!) in making sure your stay at Barcelona is cherished.. Great location, friendly & logical rules, very clean and no words can aptly describe the able staff. Its hard to not fall in love with this place!

Disliked: They've set the bar way too high for other hostels..so u'll find it hard to like other hostels after being here!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell Ware

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: We would highly recommend this hostel, best one we've ever stayed in. Clean, central, very friendly, we felt safe and secure for the entire stay. Our accomodation was changed/upgraded after a couple of days as they had a better room free - felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The owner was lovely to talk to, and we took some of her advice of places to visit. A trip to the Flamenco was amazing as were some of the other places she mentioned, and next time, we will try a boat trip! All in all a 5* place to stay, we will definitely be going to this Hostel again.

Disliked: I disliked NOTHING, and will definitely go back!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Augusto Maya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Juan Augusto would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Only 300m from Plaza Cataluña, the main square of Barcelona. The environment in the hoste is great. The stuff is very helpful. Evrithing is perfect.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, atmosphere.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met every need and were always looking to help out. Much better than an average hostel - almost like a hotel!

Disliked: kitchen possibly on the small side but it was actually never a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hopkins

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

09 August 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice room and a great location in the city.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central if you are intersted in being around La Rambla and Pl de Catalunya. The staff is wonderful, the hostel is quiet (which is great for someone who wants to relax), yet offers you the opportunity to meet new pple too..i would definitely come back when im back in Barcelona.

Disliked: The AC in the private room is extremely loud, making us turning it off at night and opening the window: - weather in summer is really hot - window overlooking a main street hence vey noisy in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josipa Suc

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Josipa would recommend this property

Liked: Barcelona Central Garden Hostel has a nice staff that seem like a family. Hostel is also very tidy and safe. Each day was very pleasant atmosphere and I realy enjoy there. High rating has fully justified my expectations.

Disliked: Josipa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Gilberto Gulde Maia e Bezerra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 João Gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice, and the beds are really confortable. They will help to go around and are really supportive. By far the best hostel i have stayed in. Highly recommend.

Disliked: There is nothing i would point as a bad thing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Raley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing! One of the ladies sat with us for 40min talking about sights to see and how to get there etc....FANTASTIC!

Disliked: Its VERY quiet. Don´t come here expecting to party but you will meet people in a relaxed and cool environment.....away from the hustle and bustle of the city which for some could be a like or a dislike.

The property's response is...