We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.9% Overall Rating

1566 out of 1570 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Mardi Swords thinks…

"This is an excellent hostel. It's not large and impersonal, rather small and homey. It has a nice patio loaded with green plants. There is an efficient kitchen and the whole facility is kept…"

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
29.98 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
12.52 USD

Hostel 97.0% 257 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
21.51 USD

Hostel 96.9% 34 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
13.79 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
55.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.4% 112 reviews
AWA Hostal Concepcio
27.54 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 52 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
16.45 USD

Hostel 86.1% 26 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.9%

Overall Rating

1566 out of 1570 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1277 of 1528 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Canuto

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible staff, very helpfull, they gave us great tips about the city! The hostel is really clean and well-located, two blocks away from Passeig de Gràcia. They organize some activities so you can meet other travellers, like "Flamenco Night" and "Tapas & Sangria Night". There are 2 equiped kitchtens were you can store and cook your own meals if you wich to do so, Wi-Fi and several computers with internet access also. We felt very comfortable, and we recommend this place! :) We had an amazing time in Barcelona.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darran Fletcher

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 November 2012 Darran would recommend this property

Liked: Justin was super helpful and cheerful. Good wifi service. Very clean and characterful place.

Disliked: You need earplugs if you in a street-side room, but they do offer them in reception. Some of the toilets are locked during the night making it awkward and inconvenient for a visit in the wee small hours. It may have been out of consideration for guests near those toilets but this seems ill-judged.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, security. Onesty. There was a friendly atmosphere which my friends and I appreciated even if we couldn't participate very much due to the shortness of our stay. The staff encouraged everybody in creating this atmosphere, so everybody (not only the staff) was ready to help you in anything..very nice!

Disliked: There was some queuing for the bathrooms but that's normal in an hostel...the problem is that two out of three bathrooms were closed at night and early in the morning, and that caused some delays for us.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIELA ARIAS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 DANIELA would recommend this property

Liked: Me encantó el hostel.La ubicación es excelente. A 3 cuadras de la Plaza Cataluña, super céntrico. Nos recibieron muy bien y nos hicieron un mapa con los atractivos para visitar. Me sentí como en mi casa. Tenia computadoras disponibles y la gente super amable. Lo unico que no tenia es desayuno incluido, pero tenes muchos bares cercanos con precios muy accesibles. La verdad que lo recomendaria y claramente volveria a ir!

Disliked: DANIELA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing. The lady owner/manager is lovely and all of the desk staff are really great. Rooms are nice and they have organised activities so you can meet the other travellers staying at the hostel. Great experience

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've ever been to. It's clean, well-located, super friendly and helpful staff, has a kitchen if you want to cook (with free coffee/tea), a tv if you want to watch movies, and the free wifi works everywhere in the hostel. When I was here the hostel hosted a tapas night which was a good way to get to know other travelers. Great place. I definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elian Lobos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Elian would recommend this property

Liked: I'm glad with BCG is super clean, spacious and have bright rooms.! Very nice and helpful staff. Friendly atmosphere, lovely terrace, and great common areas. Felt really at home here, the place had a nice laid-back vibe. I enjoyed very much the dinner and the Flamenco night! Also the kitchen is exceptional: they have everything you need to cook dinner, with a large table, lots of glasses, plates, pots, large fridge etc. Thank you guys!

Disliked: Elian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Quiroz

Alone

Business / conference

25 October 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time there. I' happy! People running the place were really nice and helpful. Nothing but praise for the hostel and it's staff. The hostel was perfectly located, close to all of the must-see-places of Barcelona. Next to Paseo de Gracia, and casa Battló. Plaza Catalunia was only 3 blocks away. I couldn't have asked more!

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Enriquez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Baduell

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2012 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was comfortable, clean, and centrally located. The rooms were really nice too.

Disliked: None. Everything was just great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a nice hostel with everything you need. there is a kitchen you can use, free coffee and tea and a super nice living room with a tv. there are also 2 computers you can use for free to check mails and stuff. the staff is very nice and helpfull, they could answer all my questions and told me some nice facts, bars and locations i would not know without them - thanks :) so i will stay there next time again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yolanda Fernández García

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 October 2012 Yolanda would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, comfortable, and very well located. Our room was excellent. Bathrooms were impeccable and conveniently located next to the rooms. Nice kitchen, too. Good value for money.

Disliked: The only downside was the weather, as it rained a lot, but for the rest, we loved it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nebojsa Jovovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2012 Nebojsa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very good! Staff was very polite and helpfulness! Kitchen has everything we needed!

Disliked: Nebojsa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Olivera

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 José would recommend this property

Liked: The best about this hostel is the care and attention they give to each of the hostel guests. The whole vibe of the place is warm and welcoming. Beyond this, the beds and rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are gorgeous (with amazing showers- not the push button type) and the common spaces are clean and attractive, especially the beautifully landscaped terrace and the lounge area. It is extremely good located. We had a last minute change of plans (we missed our flight) and the owners were extremely helpful and put in a lot of effort to accommodate us and book a new flight. Overall, one of the best hostels we have stayed at. Would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone else traveling to Barcelona – and we will definitively come back!

Disliked: Everything was great, I can't think of anything to complain about.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and beautiful (private) rooms. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - but see below.

Disliked: *Terrible kitchen, tiny and ill-equipt. Excessive amount of rules and asking you to abide by them. Staff (owners I think) are always in your face and you feel like your are in their house using their "stuff". Uncomfortable from this aspect - more like private apartment or home-stay than a hostel. *Upgraded to a "special new room" then asked for a CASH payment in exchange was unreasonable, I felt. *EUR60 deposit for 2 sets of keys!? (30EUR each) - Nobody is going to loose BOTH sets...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff was absolutely amazing, during the check in they served us delicious sangria. Place has a very nice atmosphere. It's very, very clean. In the Kitchen free coffee and tea. I can't think of more...

Disliked: The double beds in shared rooms are a bit "laud", every move create a noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pin chang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 pin would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Betty Roth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like a home away from home!!! It´s unlike any other place I´ve stayed in it´s genre. It´s in the heart of city, in a wonderful old Spanish building but renovated and stylish. There´s nothing better than being greeted by a friendly face and warm environment on the warrior road of back packing. I loved the staff, atmosphere and cleanliness of the place. I needed a bed and they went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and happy. I am definately coming back next time I´m in Barcelona and would recommend it to single travelers, couples or even groups as they can accomodate! Thank you :)

Disliked: Couldn´t stay longer!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Jackson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Really central location, only a few minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya/Las Ramblas, and the Gothic Quarter. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff - we arrived during their tapas night and we treated to free sangria and food, which was welcome after a flight! We had a twin private room which was basic but very comfortable with excellent shared amenities. Couldn't ask for much more at such an excellent price.

Disliked: Small kitchen area in main lounge - not great when it's busy at dinner time, and air conditioner is a bit noisy at night, particularly with road outside. However, FREE ear plugs were provided, so that is only a very small gripe in an otherwise brilliant stay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Woodd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: it was more like a shared appartment than a hostel- need that home away from home feel after awhile

Disliked: rooms on the streetside were extremely noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMazing hostel, staff is beyond friendly and helping, met good people. Great experience !

Disliked: Pretty much everything was great..!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Kruger

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Europe! The double room is great! The location is perfect!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel - the checking in process goes through the tourist sights of Barcelona, a city map (+metro map) and recommendations of good, local restaurants suitable for a budget traveller. Staff are always on hand to answer any questions you may have. Free tea/coffee/wifi/internet is always a bonus. 100% recommend. Walking distance to the majority of all tourist sights. Lots of information about free/cheap activities to do for a budget traveller.

Disliked: Only slightly negative comment is that my bed was slightly squeaky, but this is very minor and wasn't a problem.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Too much noise coming from the street next to the room even if the windows were closed. That was really hard to sleep. Regarding the atmosphere in the hostel, I didn't find it enjoyable at all. Expensive for the service offered... You can find other hostels in the city center that are much more money worth. Barcelona is a nice city but if I go back there, I would not choose this hostel again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I hadn't stayed in a hostel before and wasn't sure what to expect, but my stay far exceeded my expectations. The staff at this hostel was really great. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel had a very "homey" atmosphere and was exceptionally clean. I hope to return to Barcelona again (my stay was too short!), and I will definitely stay at Central Garden Hostel when I do!

Disliked: There were two minor things I disliked about my room (a 5-bed dorm). First, the bunk beds were made of metal and mine squeaked every time I moved around in bed. This noise wasn't particularly bothersome to me, but I felt bad for the others in the room! Second, my room was on the street side of the building, and the traffic was loud in the morning. For anyone who thinks traffic noise might be a concern, I would recommend requesting a room on the terrace side, as I assume it is much quieter.