HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.0% Overall Rating

1559 out of 1563 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Siobhan Davis thinks…

"We were welcomed with a free upgrade to a private en-suite room, which was a great start! Really reasonable rates for the location - which is fabulously central. So easy to walk everywhere or hop on…"

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
31.82 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
42.84 USD

Hostel 97.5% 253 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
33.57 USD

Hostel 96.8% 22 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
29.41 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
51.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 111 reviews
AWA Hostal Concepcio
31.60 USD

Guesthouse 80.1% 51 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
22.83 USD

Hostel 88.2% 23 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
24.17 USD

Guesthouse 97.0% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

1559 out of 1563 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1270 of 1521 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 50 | 51   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Quiroz

Alone

Business / conference

25 October 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time there. I' happy! People running the place were really nice and helpful. Nothing but praise for the hostel and it's staff. The hostel was perfectly located, close to all of the must-see-places of Barcelona. Next to Paseo de Gracia, and casa Battló. Plaza Catalunia was only 3 blocks away. I couldn't have asked more!

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Enriquez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Baduell

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2012 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was comfortable, clean, and centrally located. The rooms were really nice too.

Disliked: None. Everything was just great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a nice hostel with everything you need. there is a kitchen you can use, free coffee and tea and a super nice living room with a tv. there are also 2 computers you can use for free to check mails and stuff. the staff is very nice and helpfull, they could answer all my questions and told me some nice facts, bars and locations i would not know without them - thanks :) so i will stay there next time again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yolanda Fernández García

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 October 2012 Yolanda would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, comfortable, and very well located. Our room was excellent. Bathrooms were impeccable and conveniently located next to the rooms. Nice kitchen, too. Good value for money.

Disliked: The only downside was the weather, as it rained a lot, but for the rest, we loved it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nebojsa Jovovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2012 Nebojsa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very good! Staff was very polite and helpfulness! Kitchen has everything we needed!

Disliked: Nebojsa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Olivera

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 José would recommend this property

Liked: The best about this hostel is the care and attention they give to each of the hostel guests. The whole vibe of the place is warm and welcoming. Beyond this, the beds and rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are gorgeous (with amazing showers- not the push button type) and the common spaces are clean and attractive, especially the beautifully landscaped terrace and the lounge area. It is extremely good located. We had a last minute change of plans (we missed our flight) and the owners were extremely helpful and put in a lot of effort to accommodate us and book a new flight. Overall, one of the best hostels we have stayed at. Would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone else traveling to Barcelona – and we will definitively come back!

Disliked: Everything was great, I can't think of anything to complain about.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and beautiful (private) rooms. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - but see below.

Disliked: *Terrible kitchen, tiny and ill-equipt. Excessive amount of rules and asking you to abide by them. Staff (owners I think) are always in your face and you feel like your are in their house using their "stuff". Uncomfortable from this aspect - more like private apartment or home-stay than a hostel. *Upgraded to a "special new room" then asked for a CASH payment in exchange was unreasonable, I felt. *EUR60 deposit for 2 sets of keys!? (30EUR each) - Nobody is going to loose BOTH sets...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff was absolutely amazing, during the check in they served us delicious sangria. Place has a very nice atmosphere. It's very, very clean. In the Kitchen free coffee and tea. I can't think of more...

Disliked: The double beds in shared rooms are a bit "laud", every move create a noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pin chang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 pin would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Betty Roth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like a home away from home!!! It´s unlike any other place I´ve stayed in it´s genre. It´s in the heart of city, in a wonderful old Spanish building but renovated and stylish. There´s nothing better than being greeted by a friendly face and warm environment on the warrior road of back packing. I loved the staff, atmosphere and cleanliness of the place. I needed a bed and they went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and happy. I am definately coming back next time I´m in Barcelona and would recommend it to single travelers, couples or even groups as they can accomodate! Thank you :)

Disliked: Couldn´t stay longer!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Jackson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Really central location, only a few minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya/Las Ramblas, and the Gothic Quarter. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff - we arrived during their tapas night and we treated to free sangria and food, which was welcome after a flight! We had a twin private room which was basic but very comfortable with excellent shared amenities. Couldn't ask for much more at such an excellent price.

Disliked: Small kitchen area in main lounge - not great when it's busy at dinner time, and air conditioner is a bit noisy at night, particularly with road outside. However, FREE ear plugs were provided, so that is only a very small gripe in an otherwise brilliant stay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Woodd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: it was more like a shared appartment than a hostel- need that home away from home feel after awhile

Disliked: rooms on the streetside were extremely noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMazing hostel, staff is beyond friendly and helping, met good people. Great experience !

Disliked: Pretty much everything was great..!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Kruger

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Europe! The double room is great! The location is perfect!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel - the checking in process goes through the tourist sights of Barcelona, a city map (+metro map) and recommendations of good, local restaurants suitable for a budget traveller. Staff are always on hand to answer any questions you may have. Free tea/coffee/wifi/internet is always a bonus. 100% recommend. Walking distance to the majority of all tourist sights. Lots of information about free/cheap activities to do for a budget traveller.

Disliked: Only slightly negative comment is that my bed was slightly squeaky, but this is very minor and wasn't a problem.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Too much noise coming from the street next to the room even if the windows were closed. That was really hard to sleep. Regarding the atmosphere in the hostel, I didn't find it enjoyable at all. Expensive for the service offered... You can find other hostels in the city center that are much more money worth. Barcelona is a nice city but if I go back there, I would not choose this hostel again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I hadn't stayed in a hostel before and wasn't sure what to expect, but my stay far exceeded my expectations. The staff at this hostel was really great. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel had a very "homey" atmosphere and was exceptionally clean. I hope to return to Barcelona again (my stay was too short!), and I will definitely stay at Central Garden Hostel when I do!

Disliked: There were two minor things I disliked about my room (a 5-bed dorm). First, the bunk beds were made of metal and mine squeaked every time I moved around in bed. This noise wasn't particularly bothersome to me, but I felt bad for the others in the room! Second, my room was on the street side of the building, and the traffic was loud in the morning. For anyone who thinks traffic noise might be a concern, I would recommend requesting a room on the terrace side, as I assume it is much quieter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serina Pritchard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Serina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very safe, and very clean. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and got everyone together with optional activities

Disliked: Serina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Treeby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding hostel, by far the best we have stayed in so far on our 3 months of travel. Squeaky clean, modern, cosy hostel in the centre of Barcelona. Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Free wifi and computers available (we were also able to print tickets for the next part of our travels). Laundry service available on site for 7.50€ - we dropped our clothes off in the morning and collected them in the afternoon (they were even folded nicely!) Great location right near Passeig de Gracia, very easy to get to all points of interest, the metro and the airport bus at Placa Catalunya. Safe and secure, there is a seperate key for the building entrance, the reception and then your room.

Disliked: Nothing. Cannot fault this hostel!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,clean , friendly staff , good security measure & good facilities.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly welcome, we sat down with a map and the receptionist went over the highlights of Barcelona for us (at her suggestion). Pizza and Sangria on one night was a great chance to meet other guests, and the common room was a great place to hang out. Super clean, lovely beds, great kitchen facilities (olive oil, salt & pepper etc provided), good location - definitely would recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel that we've stopped at during our month in Europe. Unlike other hostels on arrival you're not just shooed to your room but instead we were sat down as the staff told us anything and everything about Barcelona including great tips on where to go for food, drink and sightseeing. Really can't say enough about how helpful all the staff here were. We had a private twin bed room which was clean and comfortable and with there being several shared bathrooms on each floor we never had to wait to use them. It is a short 10 minute walk to La Rambla which is the heart of the city of Barcelona so the location couldn't be any better. Now this isn't a party hostel but that doesn't mean that there's not chance to go out and meet fellow travellers, we spent our evenings out on the terrace with a few drinks chatting to people and staff helped arrange taxis and recommend clubs for those who wanted to do that instead. There is good wifi in all the rooms and they also have a printer which we used to print our boarding passes for the flight home, can't wait to go back!

Disliked: Nothing wrong with it at all, just avoid the city altogether if there happens to be a Catalan independence march though!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING !! ...

Disliked: NOTHING ...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best in town

Disliked: nothing