We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

98.1% Overall Rating

1588 out of 1592 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

"Friendly atmosphere and the group outings/meals were great. Having clothes washing facilities and outdoor space was great, air-con worked well during heatwave in August but meant the rooms actually got quite chilly!…"

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Sant Jordi Alberg
17.70 USD

Hostel 96.7% 271 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
23.38 USD

Hostel 95.3% 52 reviews
Soul Backpackers Barcelona
18.92 USD

Hostel 89.0% 47 reviews
Praktik Garden
57.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 113 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
15.59 USD

Hostel 81.8% 32 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
17.81 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 45 reviews
Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal)
45.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.8% 46 reviews
Mediterranean Hostel Barcelona
17.81 USD

Hostel 90.5% 82 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.1%

Overall Rating

1588 out of 1592 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
99.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 1297 of 1550 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked everything

Disliked: Disliked nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Afiqah Aminuddin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2012 Afiqah would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing hostel! really enjoyed our stay there. Staff was very friendly, and helpful. We felt very welcomed in Barcelona. Would recommend this hostel to everyone visiting Barcelona!

Disliked: Although it was a very nice hostel, it did not provide breakfast. location wise, its a bit difficult to find at night but once you know where it is you're fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIANA DEL CARMEN MUÑOZ DE LOERA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

24 December 2012 DIANA DEL CARMEN would recommend this property

Liked: Esta en excelentes condiciones el hostal, muy limpio, un ambiente muy calido y agradable, servicio excelente por parte de todos, una buena localizacion, y fue muy agradable participar en su "Viernes de Tapas" donde convives con todos los huespedes del hostal mientras pruebas comida tipica del lugar, siempre hay alguien encargado a cualquier hora del dia... MUY RECOMENDABLE

Disliked: DIANA DEL CARMEN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff. Tapas Thursdays is a must!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Facundo Boccardi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Facundo would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es excelente, a dos minutos de pleno centro y, a la vez, en un calle silenciosa. Las habitaciones son amplias y bien ventiladas, con la temperatura justa y los espacios comunes son muy confortables y con espacio de sobra. La cocina es completísima, hasta hay una máquina de cafetería. Pero lo más destacable de todo es la limpieza y el orden permanente y la hospitalidad de la gente que trabaja allí. Realmente me hicieron sentir como en mi propia casa, pero mucho más limpia, claro.

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Among all the comfortable things, its staff are really ready to help. Even problems occurred, simply their sincerity made you feel better. Julian is a cheerful guy and I also respect the cleaning guy who is very very hardworking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and the staff is great. Everything was clean and new.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing best hostel I've ever stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwong-Ning Chan

Alone

City break

05 December 2012 Kwong-Ning would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent. Very helpful, happy and made the place great to stay at.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuning Wei

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Yuning would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect. Just like home, even bettern than home. Since for example my home is not necessary always that clean.. If you want to ask something related to pubs and football game just find your 'brother', any shopping center or restaurant or museum just ask your 'sister'. And anything, anything else just ask anyone there, or if someone just heard it and they were all very willing to help. So helpful that even make you don't want to leave! They provide a 'photo' guide as soon as you arrive and give a lot of recomendations and even already marked them on the map for you. Any question? They help you with checking them on the internet and provide real time Spanish-English translation, or even call the place for you to ask and to book! And there's always a nice person there 24h, 24h!!! And it's really close to everything, definitely walking distance, I stayed for 5 days and didn't finish the T10 ticket (for 10 times of travelling) including back and force from the airport.

Disliked: Only thing is, if you always sleep very light, don't take the bed very close to the street window, since it's a busy street and you may hear the cars passing by.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff helpfull in showing places to see around the city. close to all the attractions and public transport. barcelona is a nice city

Disliked: having to ask to get the air con switched on, it would of been nice to be goin into a cool room. it was quite noisy with the traffic, although most cities are prob like that

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Musaab Al-Saleem

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Musaab would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful

Disliked: Nothing. it was ideal

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moustafa Abouelwafa

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 November 2012 Moustafa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alissa Welsh

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Alissa would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was amazing. Good location. Clean.

Disliked: Alissa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirstin Taufertshöfer

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 November 2012 Kirstin would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend staying at BCG. I had a really good time there. It's a very small hostel, so that all the travelers got to know each other. It was very easy to make friends there. Our private room was very large, had a TV, it’s own bathroom and a balcony. The staff is great. They take very good care of you and over all seem to really enjoy their work. One stuff member, Julian, was really outstanding and went out with us, recommended good clubs or restaurants or just hang out with you if you re in the mood. The couple that runs that place is very nice too and Alessia (I think) really likes explaining everything you ask and at the end you have a list of tons of places you can visit during your stay. The hostel is also very clean and you can reach the good parts of town easily by foot.

Disliked: The bed was kinda too hard for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was amazing! everyone was so friendly and one of the nights, the owner cooked tapas and had sangria! The location was great, you were right next to plaza catalunya which is the heart of barcelona. The staff gives you a run down of the city and recommends all the places to see and when to go. It was one of the best hostels I have stayed at in europe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nam Eun Kim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Nam Eun would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. When you check-in, they brief you what to see and where to go in the city. Very informative. Always approcheable and kind :)

Disliked: Nam Eun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciano Conocchiari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2012 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly. The place is the cleanest I've ever stayed at. Excellent location very close to Plaza Catalunya, Passeig de Grazia, The Gothic quarter and El Born quarter. Really made a huge difference in my staying in Barcelona. If I had more time I'd live in this hostel.

Disliked: Luciano left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING was really great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is perfectly located - 7 minutes on foot from La Rambla and 5 minutes from Casa Batllo. Stuff was very helpful and recommended me some places to go out. Room was small, but clean and equipped with small lockers for the most valuable things.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All staff were very friendly and helpful, and were more than happy to answer any of our silly tourist questions. We had a 4 person dorm room, and the room was relatively spacious, with enough space for our 4 suitcases. There were adequate shared bathrooms for the floor, and all bathrooms were very clean. The hostel is also very secure. The day we checked out, we were taking a night train, and were able to store our luggage for the whole day in a locked cupboard. The staff were also more than happy for us to use the showers before we left for the night train.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Canuto

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible staff, very helpfull, they gave us great tips about the city! The hostel is really clean and well-located, two blocks away from Passeig de Gràcia. They organize some activities so you can meet other travellers, like "Flamenco Night" and "Tapas & Sangria Night". There are 2 equiped kitchtens were you can store and cook your own meals if you wich to do so, Wi-Fi and several computers with internet access also. We felt very comfortable, and we recommend this place! :) We had an amazing time in Barcelona.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darran Fletcher

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 November 2012 Darran would recommend this property

Liked: Justin was super helpful and cheerful. Good wifi service. Very clean and characterful place.

Disliked: You need earplugs if you in a street-side room, but they do offer them in reception. Some of the toilets are locked during the night making it awkward and inconvenient for a visit in the wee small hours. It may have been out of consideration for guests near those toilets but this seems ill-judged.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, security. Onesty. There was a friendly atmosphere which my friends and I appreciated even if we couldn't participate very much due to the shortness of our stay. The staff encouraged everybody in creating this atmosphere, so everybody (not only the staff) was ready to help you in anything..very nice!

Disliked: There was some queuing for the bathrooms but that's normal in an hostel...the problem is that two out of three bathrooms were closed at night and early in the morning, and that caused some delays for us.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIELA ARIAS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 DANIELA would recommend this property

Liked: Me encantó el hostel.La ubicación es excelente. A 3 cuadras de la Plaza Cataluña, super céntrico. Nos recibieron muy bien y nos hicieron un mapa con los atractivos para visitar. Me sentí como en mi casa. Tenia computadoras disponibles y la gente super amable. Lo unico que no tenia es desayuno incluido, pero tenes muchos bares cercanos con precios muy accesibles. La verdad que lo recomendaria y claramente volveria a ir!

Disliked: DANIELA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing. The lady owner/manager is lovely and all of the desk staff are really great. Rooms are nice and they have organised activities so you can meet the other travellers staying at the hostel. Great experience

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...