HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Barcelona Hostel

C/ Roger de Lluria 41, Principal, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 93%

Location 97%

Safety 98%

Staff 97%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.69USD

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 93%

Location 97%

Safety 98%

Staff 97%

Value 98%

Showing 31-40 of 87 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff there are extremely helpful, I didnt know where to go when I first came and they helped me with every place and even showed me where to eat and they made a map for that

Disliked: nothing it was perfect

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: When you walk in it almost feels as if it is your own home and the staff definitely do their very best for you to feel at home. It is absolutely STUNNING, CLEAN, it has everything you need and more.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean and staff was friendly and helpful, their small garden was really nice to have breakfast in.

Disliked: our double room was rather small and had really squeaky bed

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is an excellent hostel. It's not large and impersonal, rather small and homey. It has a nice patio loaded with green plants. There is an efficient kitchen and the whole facility is kept spotlessly clean.Best of all the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. They organized some lovely social evenings out. The location couldn't have been better.

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I definitely recommend this hostel. At the arrival they already gave us a warming welcome, with great tips about the city and a good map! The localization is great, near a metro station, restaurants and a supermarket. The place is super clean, the bedroom had airconditioned, and people are SUPER nice! You can book your tickets for the sightseeing stuff on their computers, and they even print it for you! We just loved it.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lo que mas me gusto fue la calidez humana, el ambiente familiar y seguro y tambien la limpieza. El hostal tiene una terraza muy bonita llena de plantas donde se puede desayunar tranquilamente. Tambien disponen de una pequeña cocina donde podia calentar mis alimentos. Esta ubicado muy cerca de Plaza Cataluña y desde ahi me fue muy facil visitar todos los lugares mas importantes de la ciudad a pie.A pesar de viajar sola me senti muy segura durante toda la estadia.

Disliked: Me gusto todo.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location, facilities and rooms are all great, and the price is good for the center of Barcelona (and in the height of summer!), but it's the cozy vibe and staff that really make this place stand out. If I were to return to Barc, I would book this without hesitation. All of the staff at the hostel were incredible, friendly and made us feel part of a family, almost. It's a relatively small hostel, which may seem bad initially, but actually it's perfect for the social aspect. The activies organised are fantastic, and on Flamenco night the staff came out for dinner and drinks with us, which was super cool. Ray and Sandra were great guides and it actually felt like hanging with friends rather than some people who are paid to walk around with you and don't actually care. Strong wifi, good kitchen, free coffee all day.

Disliked: Outside area could be improved, but that's the only downside.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was perfect and had lots of options for restaurants and markets. The staff were absolutely awesome and bet helpful with suggestions for places to go around the city. Very nice facilities and all around a great hostel.

Disliked: There were only three showers and two toilets which sometimes made it difficult to use the facilities whenever you needed, but this was a relatively minor problem for me.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Shannon,
This is Ale from the BCG hostel. Thank you very much for your nice review. It made all us very happy.
Regarding the bathroom facilities, actually we have five (5) bathrooms (and not 3). Moreover, one of the them is subdivided into 4 sectors, so actually many people can use them simultaneously.
We hope you will be back soon! Best wishes, ale

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: We were welcomed with a free upgrade to a private en-suite room, which was a great start! Really reasonable rates for the location - which is fabulously central. So easy to walk everywhere or hop on the metro. Facilities are immaculate - no dirt I could see anywhere. Staff very friendly, always someone on hand to help out. They gave great recommendations of where to go and what to do in our short time in Barcelona. Quiet too - never had any issue getting to sleep.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing: we would recommend to all our friends.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was one of the best Hostels I have stayed at all through backpacking in Europe and Central America. The stay started with a full overview of how to make the most of your visit in Barcelona at check-in which was totally helpful and amazing. The hostel is comfortable and clean and small enough that you can easily meet and hang out in the common spaces with the other travellers. The staff do a great job of organizing different activities for the guests and my cousin and I had so much fun joining in on their Sangria, Tapas and Karaoke night and dinner and Flamenco night. I will definitely be returning when I come back to Barcelona!

Disliked: One of the bunk beds in our dorm room was incredibly squeaky and squeaked in the night whenever the guy who was in it moved. I'm a pretty light sleeper and so this was pretty unpleasant to be constantly wakened by. The guy sleeping in it apologized (even though it was in no way his fault)- I kept meaning to mention it to the staff to see if they could help fix it but didn't get around to it. I'm sure if we had mentioned it to them they would have tried to find a solution for us. The rest of the room and the bathrooms were all quite nice though.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability