HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.8% Overall Rating

1565 out of 1569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Julia Marini thinks…

"I definitely recommend this hostel. At the arrival they already gave us a warming welcome, with great tips about the city and a good map! The localization is great, near a metro station, restaurants…"

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least 3 days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
31.12 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
27.45 USD

Hostel 97.3% 256 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit
26.26 USD

Hostel 97.1% 27 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
20.88 USD

Hostel 88.0% 34 reviews
Praktik Garden
57.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.4% 112 reviews
AWA Hostal Concepcio
30.90 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 52 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
18.38 USD

Hostel 86.4% 24 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
23.64 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.8%

Overall Rating

1565 out of 1569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1276 of 1527 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 51 | 52   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this property was excellent!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayleigh Edson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Hayleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Free tea and coffee :) Really clean and the rooms and bathrooms were spotless. Secure Excellent location for all of Barcelona's attractions Free walking tour departing from the hostel was fantastic

Disliked: Hayleigh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise England

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place, it´s my favourite hostel ever! This was the second time I´d stayed at Barcelona Central Gardens, and from the moment you ring the door bell you´re welcomed into the family. The staff are amazing, ridiculously friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is beautiful, and there is always someone to hang out with or go see the sights with around Barcelona. I am sure I will be back to Barcelona in the future, and I would not think of staying anywhere but here. Thanks BGC!

Disliked: I couldn´t stay there longer, I had to go home :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, wonderful staff, wonderful atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra Slater

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly, very secure and safe hostel, clean, beautiful rooms, nice bathrooms, excellent location, mstaff tells you about the city sites and provides a map, etc etc. The best hostel I've ever stayed at across europe! Definently recommend!

Disliked: Nothing! Perfect in every way!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julija Vaitonyte

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

30 December 2013 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: Everything in this hostel is very good even though it is not centrally located

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wout Swinnen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Wout would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is unbelievable... I arrived, a little bit nervous because it was the first time I travelled alone, and I was immediate put in a chair, given a piece of pie and a cup of tea. Then a member of the staff put a map in front of me, and calmly took about half an hour to explain me everything there is to see in the city. In the meanwhile, other happy (and beautiful ;) ) travelers sitting at the dining table started asking me where I was from and stuff like that. I couldn't believe what a nice place this was. And it seemed to be like this every night!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really great! They were available 24/7 to answer any questions we had. The paella night that the hostel organized was super fun. The quick review of things to do in Barcelona when we first arrived was very helpful. Most of our trip was planned before we got there, but we learned about a few more places from the quick overview. It was definitely worth our time. The bathrooms were always clean and had great water pressure. There was also a kitchen on both floors in anyone wanted to make food. The quiet hours were much appreciated when we had early mornings!

Disliked: It's not really a dislike, but it did take about 5-10 minutes to walk to the metro stop. Luckily the stop was connected to a bunch of other lines so once you got there, it was convenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended!!.. Very helpful staff... NIce kitchen.. lovely courtyard.. nice and comfy bed.. the hostel is very clean and tidy.. have small lockers (big enough to put your backpack in)... power socket and small lamp in every bed.. Great location..close to supermarket, transports and main attractions...It's a place where you can easily meet friends.. It's great for solo travellers

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmet Mercan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Ahmet would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really amazing...

Disliked: Nothing at all....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Very friendly, clean and felt like a home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel!!! The staff are wonderful, so helpful and friendly, they go above and beyond. It is clean and has everything you would need: lockers, good WiFi, computers, self catering kitchen! Small enough that it has a great vibe that makes it really easy to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the terrace and the coziness of the common area. I did not feel like I was staying in a hostel. It felt like home which I greatly enjoyed! The staff was also very helpful and friendly. They always greeted us and answered any questions or concerns we had.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First of all the staff is just excellent. I've been stayed in many hostels during the years, but these guys (and girls) were not only friendly but really eager to help you whenever they can. The hostel itself is between two cafés where you can have nice breakfast for pennies. Almost every major attraction is in 5-30 minutes walking distance. Bathrooms are not ensuite, but they are regularly cleaned and have luxury feeling. There was always hot water available due to the boiler which heated the water on demand. The rooms were big enough and the indoors were quite friendly. Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and it is also quite fast, but they have normal PCs with huge monitors available for free as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Fellay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff was really helpful and friendly, giving excellent advice on what to do in Barcelona. In addition, great group activities were proposed by the hostel. The common areas were extremely clean and inviting.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NAYOUNG KO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 NAYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever been before. Staff were very friendly. Everything was perfect.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at this hostel felt like you were staying at a friends home. The staff are welcoming, informed and helpful. It had a friendly atmosphere and every night people would have a chat in the back garden or in the comfortable lounge. There is free tea and coffee which is a nice little perk and one night we came back and everyone got to have a slice of cake and a cocktail cause one of the guys staying at the hostel was celebrating his birthday. The hostel owner was taking part. It was a fun place to stay. For things to do the hostel organises dinners once a week out to recommended places and a night out to watch flamenco. It was a great way to meet other people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The beds were a little hard/squeaky but it was comfortable enough for the 4 nights I stayed. I found the pillows a little flat but its really not the worst thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Thoresen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was extremely impressed when we first arrived that they pulled out a map of Barcelona and suggested places to go and how to get to them. I was also extremely impressed that they organized a dinner out with anyone staying at the hostel that wanted to go. Staying at this hostel was one of my best experiences.

Disliked: I really enjoyed my stay so I do not have anything negative to say.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy access to subway and train to airport. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Would be good to provide breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lars Spangemacher

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this brilliant located hostel was very nice. Service and nice people to get in touch with.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me sentí muy bien acogida desde un primer momento. El personal fué muy atento. Ni bien llegar me dieron un mapa de Barcelona con toda la información necesaria para visitar la ciudad. Me sentí muy a gusto y segura. Ambiente muy acogedor y familiar. Realmente limpio. Hay personal las 24 horas, lo cual también es muy útil ya que muchas veces se necesita ayuda después de medianoche, como imprimir un boarding pass o llamar a un taxi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel. Everything was impeccable. My dorm was very spacious with a nice balcony. Comfy bed. Loved the terrace, the kitchen, and the common areas. Very friendly and helpful staff. They helped me to book my tickets for Sagrada Familia. Great Flamenco night. Thanks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

steven lambe

Alone

City break

20 October 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Initially I was given a room sharing with four rather objectionable females and fel very uncomfortable. Staff at the hotels were very accomodating and sorted me out an alternative dorm. Tge staff were very apologetic that I had to share with them!. The staff were lovely and the hotel was snall but pleasant

Disliked: Initial being given a room with 4 obnoxious females. The beds were very uncomfortable and were rickety but it is a hostel not a 5 star hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lifeng yu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 lifeng would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Hostel offer kitchen. I can cook there myself.

Disliked: lifeng left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Millar

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 October 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place. The staff are really friendly and they have created a great, respectful environment here. The place attracts a really good crowd. It is not a hardcore party hostel, but that doesn't mean you can't have a good time here. I stayed for 4 nights and on two of the nights there were activities like a flamenco show and a paella night. It was a great way to meet people and really contributed to a great time in Barcelona. It really feels like the staff are looking after you. The outdoor terrace is lovely and there is a nice lounge area, free wifi and computers and small kitchen. Good location close to supermarkets. Thank you so much everyone!

Disliked: errrr......nothing!