HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Hostel | c/ Roger de lluria 41, pr., Barcelona, Spain 08009

97.1% Overall Rating

1550 out of 1554 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

"The location was perfect with many sites within walking distance, the hostel was very clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful with plenty of good advice. We travelled with our teenage daughter and her…"

Read all Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellations will be accepted FREE of Charge only when notified by email to hostel (not by phone) at least TWO (2) days before the arrival date (no later than 11am Spanish time). For late cancellations and no-shows, please read our policy under Overview.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Agua alegre Hostel
34.55 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Sant Jordi Alberg
13.68 USD

Hostel 97.0% 251 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit Palace
22.11 USD

Hostel 98.6% 12 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
16.45 USD

Hostel 91.3% 22 reviews
Praktik Garden
49.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 111 reviews
AWA Hostal Concepcio
35.36 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 50 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
12.44 USD

Hostel 89.9% 17 reviews
AWA Barcelona City Center Hostal
22.53 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

1550 out of 1554 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona Central Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
97.6%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 1263 of 1512 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 50 | 51   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First of all the staff is just excellent. I've been stayed in many hostels during the years, but these guys (and girls) were not only friendly but really eager to help you whenever they can. The hostel itself is between two cafés where you can have nice breakfast for pennies. Almost every major attraction is in 5-30 minutes walking distance. Bathrooms are not ensuite, but they are regularly cleaned and have luxury feeling. There was always hot water available due to the boiler which heated the water on demand. The rooms were big enough and the indoors were quite friendly. Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and it is also quite fast, but they have normal PCs with huge monitors available for free as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Fellay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff was really helpful and friendly, giving excellent advice on what to do in Barcelona. In addition, great group activities were proposed by the hostel. The common areas were extremely clean and inviting.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NAYOUNG KO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 NAYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever been before. Staff were very friendly. Everything was perfect.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at this hostel felt like you were staying at a friends home. The staff are welcoming, informed and helpful. It had a friendly atmosphere and every night people would have a chat in the back garden or in the comfortable lounge. There is free tea and coffee which is a nice little perk and one night we came back and everyone got to have a slice of cake and a cocktail cause one of the guys staying at the hostel was celebrating his birthday. The hostel owner was taking part. It was a fun place to stay. For things to do the hostel organises dinners once a week out to recommended places and a night out to watch flamenco. It was a great way to meet other people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The beds were a little hard/squeaky but it was comfortable enough for the 4 nights I stayed. I found the pillows a little flat but its really not the worst thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Thoresen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was extremely impressed when we first arrived that they pulled out a map of Barcelona and suggested places to go and how to get to them. I was also extremely impressed that they organized a dinner out with anyone staying at the hostel that wanted to go. Staying at this hostel was one of my best experiences.

Disliked: I really enjoyed my stay so I do not have anything negative to say.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy access to subway and train to airport. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Would be good to provide breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lars Spangemacher

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this brilliant located hostel was very nice. Service and nice people to get in touch with.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me sentí muy bien acogida desde un primer momento. El personal fué muy atento. Ni bien llegar me dieron un mapa de Barcelona con toda la información necesaria para visitar la ciudad. Me sentí muy a gusto y segura. Ambiente muy acogedor y familiar. Realmente limpio. Hay personal las 24 horas, lo cual también es muy útil ya que muchas veces se necesita ayuda después de medianoche, como imprimir un boarding pass o llamar a un taxi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel. Everything was impeccable. My dorm was very spacious with a nice balcony. Comfy bed. Loved the terrace, the kitchen, and the common areas. Very friendly and helpful staff. They helped me to book my tickets for Sagrada Familia. Great Flamenco night. Thanks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

steven lambe

Alone

City break

20 October 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Initially I was given a room sharing with four rather objectionable females and fel very uncomfortable. Staff at the hotels were very accomodating and sorted me out an alternative dorm. Tge staff were very apologetic that I had to share with them!. The staff were lovely and the hotel was snall but pleasant

Disliked: Initial being given a room with 4 obnoxious females. The beds were very uncomfortable and were rickety but it is a hostel not a 5 star hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lifeng yu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 lifeng would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Hostel offer kitchen. I can cook there myself.

Disliked: lifeng left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Millar

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 October 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place. The staff are really friendly and they have created a great, respectful environment here. The place attracts a really good crowd. It is not a hardcore party hostel, but that doesn't mean you can't have a good time here. I stayed for 4 nights and on two of the nights there were activities like a flamenco show and a paella night. It was a great way to meet people and really contributed to a great time in Barcelona. It really feels like the staff are looking after you. The outdoor terrace is lovely and there is a nice lounge area, free wifi and computers and small kitchen. Good location close to supermarkets. Thank you so much everyone!

Disliked: errrr......nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant. The most helpful and hostel staff I have come across in years of travelling. It was also super clean and had a gorgeous atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

George Marmaridis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great, all areas were constantly being cleaned throughout the day so it remained clean at all times. Great location near the city's most famous street, supermarket and bars nearby. Also walking distance away from the Nord bus station.

Disliked: One minor thing we didn't like was a secret cost of 0.75 euros per night per person. It's a catalan tourist tax, sure, but I believe it should be included in the initial booking cost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pauliina Rajala

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 October 2013 Pauliina would recommend this property

Liked: Barcelona Central Garden Hostel is extremely clean hostel with good location. Staff was very friendly and gave great tips what to see and where to eat in Barcelona. Hostel was also quiet during the night time. Kitchen, showers and common areas were good.

Disliked: Pauliina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allisha sloan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 allisha would recommend this property

Liked: Just returned from a 3 night stay here, and I would go so far as to say this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Upon arrival (and I arrived with a friend at 11:30pm to check in) we were greeted with a lovely lady that sat us down, gave us a glass of water, explained what to do in the city, where we should go for dinner and gave us a map. We went to the resturant she recomended which was about a 10 minuite walk and was absolutely fabulous! My friend and I was so impressed we returned on our last day for another meal there. I really recomended taking the staff' advice - they are fantastic and can't help you enough. The place was perfect - spacious, homely and extremly clean. The location was close to everything that you could walk to it or get the metro/bus. If I come back to Barcelona again I will definately stay here. Thankyou for a wonderful stay!

Disliked: allisha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Baekmi Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Baekmi would recommend this property

Liked: 화장실과 욕실이 깨끗하고 스텝들도 친절

Disliked: 딱히 없었지만, 굳이 고르자면 나무 바닥이라 물흘리는 것에 굉장히 조심해야 함.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. The staff is so helpful and kind.

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful, location of the hostel was fantastic - right in the middle of all the main attractions!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If it were possible to give a place 10 stars, it might almost be enough to properly describe how amazing the Barcelona Central Garden is! Although the location is incredible (very conveniently and centrally located) and the hostel itself is immaculately clean, comfortable, and homey, it´s the staff who make this place the best I´ve ever stayed in. Julian and Karen are incredibly kind, friendly, and knowledgeable, willing to help in any way possible to help make your visit to Barcelona enjoyable. The owners, especially, make this hostel stand out. Mirko went above and beyond expectation again and again, personally arranging the overnight shipping of an Iphone I had lost in Madrid and spending hours of his own time helping me to plan out and book the rest of my time in Europe. Thank you SO much for your help, and for opening this wonderful home away from home! Absolutely Amazing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed. It was clean and safe. Shared dorms were really comfortable. Free lockers. Bathrooms were cleaned several times per day. They were impeccable. The staff was really helpful and friendly. At my arrival I was given a map that came with very useful information about the city. Nice terrace.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia McCann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: The place was perfect. The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Kitchen, terrace, common areas were all great. It felt like a really small and homey hostel, we had plenty of space and everything was very clean.

Disliked: Would have liked to sit out on the terrace at night time.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 September 2013

Liked: This is the cleanest hostel i have ever visited. The facilities are beautiful.

Disliked: The hostel has absolutely zero atmosphere. I felt like I had to tip toe around in the middle of the day because it was so quiet. My friend and I got in trouble for talking in our room at 11.15 at night (we were not drinking or drunk). DO NOT COME HERE IF YOU WANT TO PARTY OR MEET PEOPLE. I also found the 35 min Barcelona talk by the staff when I first arrived to be over-indulgent and annoying, I just wanted a shower not a presentation on all things Barcelona. A brief 10min chat would be fine, this dragged on for 35min.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andryo Haripradono

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2013 Andryo would recommend this property

Liked: I booked the bunk bed room and got a so much better room for some reason. The staff are helpful and super friendly. They enforce guests to be quiet (respectful to others) which was great. And it is kind of small so it's easy to interact with other travellers there. And the staff sometimes offers to make us coffee. Great service.

Disliked: Nothing.