HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of LENIN HOSTAL

Hostel | Valencia 278, Barcelona, Spain 08007

79.3% Overall Rating

228 out of 281 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/10/2013)

karl o'sullivan thinks…

"the staff were very friendly and helpful, the building is old but has a great beauty and charm to it, there is also free wifi and computers to use and a cheap market so close by. its not lavish but…"

Read all LENIN HOSTAL reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal)
45.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 41 reviews
The Hipstel
22.22 USD

Hostel 84.0% 282 reviews
Art City Hostel
28.14 USD

Hostel 93.8% 148 reviews
Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
26.93 USD

Guesthouse 97.0% 22 reviews
Equity Point Centric
16.97 USD

Hostel 88.3% 2578 reviews
La Flor de Gaudí Hostel la Pedrera
22.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Que Tal hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 83.4% 11 reviews
Martinval Hostel
37.26 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

228 out of 281 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'LENIN HOSTAL'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 273 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james owens

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: has a very rustic feel to it, staff were very helpful, very spacious room (double en suite), great location, 10 minute walk to plaza catalunya, la ramblas and segrada familla. plenty of restaurants and shops close to the hostel, nice buildings around it, down hill all the way to town and the beach and free maps available at the front desk!

Disliked: the pipes in the bathroom were a bit noisy on a night but then it is an old building, felt a bit unnerving at times but we both adjusted to it by the end of our stay... then again it was just the noise of an old building, wasnt really a dislike more a wish for ear plugs or more to drink before sleeping!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No english speaker on reception.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011

Liked: Location. you can't say anything bad about the location, it is just round the corner of matro station passeig de gracia, and along the street there are a range of shops and restaurants. also it is very close to some sights. housekeeping everyday

Disliked: the rooms are pretty big but looks a bit dodgy, broken floor tiles, a slightly dirty bathroom, an unpleasant smell in the room. the main thing we dislike the most is the noise. we understand being close to main street means more noise, but not that level of noise...if you can sleep in a very noisy environment, then you should be fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: internet and lift provision.

Disliked: taps are not good. The sound insulation is very poor, the vehicle noise from the street is so disturbing that we could hardly sleep well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and you really can't go wrong for the price!

Disliked: nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place. Free internet. Nice staff.

Disliked: xx

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the spacious rooms and how they made our beds while we were out. I really liked the location right around the corner from great shopping and the metro.

Disliked: I did not like how there was no breakfast.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lukasz Lupa

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011

Liked: Elavator for multistory building. Buzz to enter the main gate. Internet without charge.

Disliked: The room was infected with matured, grown up human parasite: bed bugs, which 3 night were biting us during the night. It ended up at hospital on emergency - there were so many of insects. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bed_bug) Unfortunately several scars on skin remained. While reported the first stuff with showing the pictures, they were acting as if they do not know the animal at all, trying to get rid of us. While reporting the second time the other day to the other stuff guy, he assured all have knowledge about the insects through several obligatory courses. (we we cheated the first time they do not know about what it is). The consequences of bites were so severe, that the second guy returned us all the money as a small compensation. Kitchen poor (not equipped well. Together with washing machine - you could feel the detergent all the time) We advise the stuff to make professional anti-bug treatment (not just spray bought in supermarket) You needn't go through reception to get to your room or floor level - not secure.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ideal location in the middle of the Exaple quarter, friendly staff, good quality for the price

Disliked: On our corridor there was only one bathroom for too many people. We didn't have an introduction by the staff and had to discover ourselves that there was a kitchen, computer with interenet, terrace, TV,...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing price, lovely safe location away from the madness of La Rambla, but close enough for a night out (10 mins walk). 3 or 4 minute walk to Passiege de Gracia, metro. Actual beds in the private 4 person room (not bunks), with balcony. Beds made everyday. Definitely more like a cheap hotel than a hostel!

Disliked: No oven/hob in kitchen. Only microwave, fridge, sink, kettle. A vending machine would be nice too for bottled water etc.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location couldn't be better, very close to all the interesting places of Barcelona.

Disliked: Not many other travellers when we were staying there

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011

Liked: The location was the highlight.

Disliked: Thought Lenin Hostel was over priced. It was a weekend away with my boyfriend, we booked a double private room with ensuite but ended up with a room that had 4 single beds in it! The room was very basic. The saving grace was the location.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniil Pospelov

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011

Liked: Location - that's all

Disliked: Staff's english was awful. There was very cold in the room. Everything was old and ragged. Strange acoustic - I could here every word and every sound from other rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a tripple private ensuite. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and there was heating in the room.

Disliked: The kitchen was untidy and not very clean, so I didn't use it.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro station.

Disliked: Too noisy.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gašper Košmrlj

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2010 Gašper would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: No kitchen. Rooms without real heating.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and free actually working wifi

Disliked: Nothing, it is perfect for the money i paid

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

TREEHARIT SANKHA-ANURAK

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2010

Liked: It's very good location and good place.

Disliked: TREEHARIT left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Needs repair.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, jisto one pile from famous Casa Mila and about 600m to the Catalunya plaza.Kitchen witm microwave oven, refrigerator and dishes.

Disliked: On a noisy street...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Ruido, ruido, ruido... people having party in the middle of the night..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and friendly staff

Disliked: We didnt have hot water

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, ok prices compared to the rest of Barcelona, helpful staff

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathrooms was horrible, but it's not altogether the hostel owners' fault, guys don't go to take a shower in the middle of the night in your shoes and step into puddles of water leaving mud everywhere! Everything else was fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room full of character and original features.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.