HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Barcelona City Center Hostal

Guesthouse | Carrer de Girona, 46 2-2, Barcelona, Spain 0000

77.4% Overall Rating

184 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/03/2013)

Diana Wójcik thinks…

"The price, staff and location are the best! :) the hostel itself is nice, clean and fully equipped."

Read all AWA Barcelona City Center Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Please call us about 30 minutes before you arrive: If you can't call then please specify arrival time when making your reservation. All contact details can be found on your booking confirmation **ALL CHANGES, OR CANCELLATIONS MUST BE MADE BY EMAIL OR THE CHANGE OR CANCELLATION WILL NOT BE VALID

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AWA Hostal Concepcio
24.38 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 48 reviews
Fabrizzio´s Petit Palace
27.62 USD

Hostel 99.4% 9 reviews
LivingRoom City Center
16.57 USD

Hostel 91.4% 16 reviews
Ona Barcelona
15.19 USD

Hostel 75.8% 262 reviews
Mediterranean Hostel Barcelona
17.95 USD

Hostel 91.3% 58 reviews
Backpackers BCN Diputació
15.05 USD

Hostel 91.4% 20 reviews
Praktik Garden
45.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 111 reviews
Agua alegre Hostel
34.53 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

184 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Barcelona City Center Hostal'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
72.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 182 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, nice smallish hostel. good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan provided exceptional customer service for us. Very knowledgeable and helpful with where to go and what to do. We got quite a small room with 2 twin beds... The bathroom was not as clean as expected and could have been kept a lot cleaner. Overall an okay stay - wouldnt necessarily stay there again. Location was good :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rhianydd Bevan

11 December 2009 Rhianydd would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, lovely atmosphere, very chilled. Loved the balcony in the 4 person private room. Although we expected single beds, it came with 2 doubles but was fine. Kitchen was super! What made the stay even better though was Jonathan, who totally laid back and so helpful in pointing out the hotspots! Great that it wasn't too noisy and just a stones throw from the metro line, 5mins ride to the centre.

Disliked: Rhianydd left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

sandrine BONZI

08 December 2009

Liked: The building is gorgeous. The guests and the staff were very nice. There's a shop 2 blocks away to get some food at a reasonable price, and the hostel has a kitchen with a big fridge... great to eat ealthy food without spending a lot !

Disliked: sandrine left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marguerite Gasztowtt

08 December 2009 Marguerite would recommend this property

Liked: well, i am actually reviewing the downtown version of this hostel because they changed my reservation from the central location to the downtown location without my consent. thankfully, though the hostel was nice, although not as nice as the pictures made it seem--but not many things are. it's a small place, with nice people. good things--the girl who works there is really sweet and helpful, clean, perfect location, linens included, nice kitchen. not so good things--no breakfast, no lockers (you can have them lock up your passport or personal items), the staff is not always there to answer questions--only at certain times, towels not included, more expensive than other hostels in the area.

Disliked: Marguerite left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, good place to meet new friends

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't wait to stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very sweet plase!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camiel Duijts

30 November 2009 Camiel would recommend this property

Liked: All the different Nationality's was a lot of fun. Good place to stay

Disliked: Camiel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lindan Liu

26 November 2009

Liked: Jonathan is really very very nice! He makes the hostel lovely and nice. Thanks a lot! I did enjoy the 5 days there!The hostel has very lovely baconies, very nice to enjoy the breakfast, coffee, doing nothing. ^0^ The bed is not really very comfortable, but still OK for me. A nice place to meet people!

Disliked: Lindan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Telfer

23 November 2009 James would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the relaxed feel to the place, and the location was good too - close to the bus and metro, but not in a really busy part of the city. The staff are very helpful with orientation and suggestions for things to see and do.Amazing to be in such an old building - never thought I'd climb a marble staircase to a hostel! 15 foot ceilings too, crazy stuff. Note that this is on the second floor of a residential building...

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathon was an excellent host and made sure we had an enjoyable stay. A great place to meet new people and in a good location. I'd highly recommend this hostel to anyone!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

gabriela gallis

23 November 2009 gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is safe & friendly. The location is excellent and helpful staff. The main downside to the place is that to go to the smoking balcony you have to go through one of the shared bedrooms. So very inappropriate if you are staying in that room and people are coming in and out to smoke. I would recommend it though considering safety, location, cleanliness and friendly staff.

Disliked: gabriela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark halliwell

23 November 2009 mark would recommend this property

Liked: great place, friendly atmosphere, thanks Jonathan. Cheers Mark

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nimrod cohen

20 November 2009 nimrod would recommend this property

Liked: lovin' it ! great hostel.

Disliked: nimrod left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: thank a lot! had great time! place is great, very close to the subway, and walking to the center of the city. place is clean and the manager is cool.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had the time of my life !Jonathan you are the best !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

raul fish

19 November 2009 raul would recommend this property

Liked: enjoyed it very much! very recommended !

Disliked: raul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, would reccommend to anyone

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lea brooks

18 November 2009 lea would recommend this property

Liked: i was realy impressed when i got in to the building and in to the hostel.the hostel and the rooms are beautiful , everything is clean and the stuff is very helpful.

Disliked: lea left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, very good location in the city, nice place to meet other travellers and share experiances.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bonnie Walsh

17 November 2009 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: The AAE hostel was fantastic because Jonathan (the man who runs it) was very helpful and kind. The location was good (only about 15 minutes to most attractions), the hostel was clean, safe and also very relaxed. It is a really nice place to stay and to meet other people. I met many nice people there and would reccommend it to others : )

Disliked: Bonnie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FLORCZAK Konrad

16 November 2009 FLORCZAK would recommend this property

Liked: first we entered we were amazed by the high ceilings and how the place was clean. Jonathan, the manager is very friendly. I recommend the hostel if you want to stay in Barcelona for a long weekend. Central location.

Disliked: FLORCZAK left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy fairall

14 November 2009 amy would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this Hostel a couple of weeks ago with a friend and i felt compelled to leave a glowing review. The staff, for starters were sooo lovely. They were funny and cool, and interesting. You actually wanted to have conversations with them it wasnt all buisness and at the same time they were really helpful. they always new the best places to go and they were totally forthcoming with the details. They really promote a social and welcoming atmosphere. We asked if we wanted to join them for dinner and drinks- but we never felt obliged if we had other plans. It was just really relaxed and casual. The hostel itself just felt like home, which was nice after all the travelling we had been doing- moving from dodgy hostels to really large crowded hostels that felt less intimate so you never felt quite as comfortable or at home. The free interenet was a bonus too- and the computers actually worked..which was nice. The rooms were neat and comfortable and the blankets were warm and didnt smell weird. We made friends during our stay, exchanging email addresses and stuff like that. It was just nice to stay in a place that A) Is extremely well located. and B) is somewhere you actually look forward to going back to after a long night out just to chill out and watch a movie. The only downside was a really large, annoying group of people that came to stay halfway through our time there who just kept complaining about everything. But the staff dealt with them much better than i would have. I almost lost it at this one girl who just wouldnt shut up. So unless those same people are there when you go (which is highly unlikely) i recommend this hostel wholeheartedly. Aisha and Amy- Australia

Disliked: amy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephanie Barnes

14 November 2009

Liked: Gerat location, Jonathan was a great help. Hostel was in need of a really good clean and the beds were among the most uncomfortable ive eevr slept in. Hostel could also get really loud at night.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.