HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melon District Marina Residence

Hostel | Calle Sancho de Avila 22, Barcelona, Spain 08018

88.2% Overall Rating

277 out of 288 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"Has a very clean and safe feel to it! We felt like at home, very peaceful and comfortable."

Read all Melon District Marina Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.43

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

• People under 18 years old are not allowed to stay. • Not pets allowed. • Smoking is not permitted in rooms and other closed areas. To ensure we provide all guests with a fantastic atmosphere, for reservations of 10 people or more special conditions will apply: - The hostel will contact the client to arrange 25% prepayment of the booking. This amount will be deducted of the final balance. This prepayment is non-refundable. - The total payment of the booking should be made by bank transfer or credit card, eight (8) days before the arrival of the group. - The hostel reserves the right to cancel any group booking whose full payment has not been received 8 days before the arrival date. - The hostel will send a document containing behaviour house rules that the client will have to accept via email. - No cancelation or amendment will be accepted with less than 8 days prior to arrival. Any cancelation or amendment outside this period will incur in a 100% cancelation charge. - Failure to comply with any of the conditions above will result in your booking being cancelled. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Twentytu Hostel
17.29 USD

Hostel 92.6% 119 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
34.93 USD

Apartment 89.2% 13 reviews
Barcelona Park Studios
39.19 USD

Apartment 82.3% 19 reviews
La Ciutadella Residence
36.66 USD

Hostel 88.1% 141 reviews
Confortel Auditori
45.65 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
19.35 USD

Hostel 85.1% 59 reviews
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
41.50 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
Graffiti Hostel
11.05 USD

Hostel 70.9% 248 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

277 out of 288 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melon District Marina Residence'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 279 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a very clean and safe feel to it! We felt like at home, very peaceful and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, clean, perfect location.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the view, location

Disliked: could be slightly cleaner

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cristina Michicin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a modern and new building, well-equiped. It was nice to have a swimming pool on the roof with a view over the city center

Disliked: The design of the room is way too simple> Everything is just white. And they clean the room just once, in the middle of the stay. You're supposed to pay around 7 Eur more if you want the room to get cleaned before or after>

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pleasent staff and nice facilities

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Andersen

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Det var ret nyt, og dejligt lydtæt, blev ikke generet af andre gæster larmede

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen facilities were very useful

Disliked: Staff made it very difficult to socialise in kitchen and pool areas

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Gillibrand

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good facilities in the kitchen & pool was great.

Disliked: Staff were a bit unfriendly at times particularly in the cafe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within 5min walk of major metro station - 5mins ride to Las Ramblas/town centre, trains every 3mins. 30min easy walk into the centre of town. Felt very secure, with security cards needed to enter complex, stairwell/lift and rooms/communal areas. Small but well functioning room - as it looked in the photo. Helpful friendly staff. As mentioned by others, if you want cleaning services additional to the once weekly provided, this costs extra. We didn't see the lack of housekeeping as a problem for a 4night stay. Good communal cooking facilities if required - useful to have a space in the fridge to keep drinks cool.

Disliked: Not a dislike but just a warning that it is basic and there is limited space but this is completely understandable from the price and description and we did not expect anything different.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin nilsen

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2013 martin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: martin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the view, the distance to metro (Marina) and the friendlyness of the team! Ideal for beach/sagrada!

Disliked: The "Duschkopf" was "verkalkt", the curtain not very clean...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice cafe on the first floor, close to metro.

Disliked: Landscape is a bit ugly around it. Though it is the center of Barcelona, it's not the most beautifully-looking part of it. But this is not the hotel's fault anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, well informed and friendly staff where the sea is just 10 mins walk far. Cute little room, plenty storage space for our things and clean bathroom, for nice price! Thank you! We could not choose better for our short stay! Kind regards!

Disliked: It was perfect for our needs, thank you!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet area. New modern and very private and secure. Clean and comfortable. Great kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Nothing. Only on our second visit heating not working in our room. Only stayed one night so no big problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Colin Bruce

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very good stay and would certainly have no problems in booking here again.

Disliked: Nothing really, rooms were small but this was expected. Good value.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was ok.

Disliked: It seems there has been some water damage in our bath room. Other thing I was visiting the hotel lobby and went to internet. A man came to the neighbour computer and talked spanish. I guess he tried to ask how the other computer is working. He went away and I noticed that something is not right. My hand bag was taken. My bag was on the table right next to the computer I was using (I had been really careful with my bag in the city). It took literally a couple of seconds for them to steal my bag. I ran right away after him to find the guy and he was around the corner with his partner. When he saw me he dropped the bag to the street and said "it's ok". Luckily my money, camera and phone were still in the bag. I told the reception what had happen and they said they told they were going to call police. They said they were really sorry but they did not ask my room number or not even the description of the thief. I took this experience "as a warning" and now I am really paranoid because of my bag.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebekha Ruffle

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Rebekha would recommend this property

Liked: It is nicer than most 4* hotels ive stayed in! Clean, secure, spacious rooms and kitchen/lounge. Choice of rooftop pools! its more than value for money, it is a genuine good stay. There are individual safes in the rooms so no problem bringing laptops to a hostel, key cards that allow you into your rooms as well as kitchen and seperate building so you dont get strangers or people's mates wandering around. CLEAN and friendly staff - dont know what else to say, book!

Disliked: the place is perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great location, only a short walk to the beach, taxis are cheap if you need to get one anywhere (la rambla) there's a kitchen/lounge on every floor which is very handy! The rooftop pool is great, the air cons are great! Staff were amazing and very helpful! No curfew, can go in and out whenever you like without needing a code, cafe just right down the bottom, nice age mixture! All in all had a great stay, would stay again!

Disliked: Rooms were quite small but didn't matter all that much, our floor was pretty noisy, but that's just the people that were staying here, nothing else to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worked out well and mostly the staff was friendly enough.

Disliked: I was disappointed because they didn't answer my e-mail before the trip.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Antony Barber

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 September 2012 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, cool accomadation. Excellent roof top swimming pool with views over Barca.

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Turville

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

26 August 2012 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous! We stayed for 3 nights. Room is adequate for short stay. Location is a fair hike into town by foot (30 mins) but 10 mins from the beach. Room was clean and aircon worked so well! Kitchen on every floor was great - meant that we could make our own meals. Very nice little pool on the roof with great views!

Disliked: Shower was clogged and there was no fan, vent, in bathroom so towels/washed clothes got smelly. No wifi in room - had to go to kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqui Cooke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Jacqui would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a great place to stay! the hotel offered everything that a traveler could need, the rooms were clean and innovative, making the most of a smallish space. the staff were all really nice and helpful. The location's great, within easy walking distance of the main city and the beach.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

max jenkins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 max would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish, modern, colourful, friendly and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and will run

Disliked: It is a bit like a monks cell but it good for sleeping nice bed and clean showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the concept, the swimming pool with spectacular view over the city, the facilities, the interior, the restaurant, ...

Disliked: little comments... the towels cannot dry in the room, some more launchbeds on the swimming pool, ...