HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melon District Marina Residence

Hostel | Calle Sancho de Avila 22, Barcelona, Spain 08018

87.3% Overall Rating

287 out of 300 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"Very clean and modern. Felt very safe. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a swimming pool with a beautiful view. Only used the cafe for breakfast but was very good. Good value for money."

Read all Melon District Marina Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

• Not pets allowed. • Smoking is not permitted in rooms and other closed areas. To ensure we provide all guests with a fantastic atmosphere, for reservations of 10 people or more special conditions will apply: - The hostel will contact the client to arrange 25% prepayment of the booking. This amount will be deducted of the final balance. This prepayment is non-refundable. - The total payment of the booking should be made by bank transfer or credit card, eight (8) days before the arrival of the group. - The hostel reserves the right to cancel any group booking whose full payment has not been received 8 days before the arrival date. - The hostel will send a document containing behaviour house rules that the client will have to accept via email. - No cancelation or amendment will be accepted with less than 8 days prior to arrival. Any cancelation or amendment outside this period will incur in a 100% cancelation charge. - Failure to comply with any of the conditions above will result in your booking being cancelled. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Twentytu Hostel
29.54 USD

Hostel 89.3% 133 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
37.40 USD

Apartment 89.2% 13 reviews
La Ciutadella Residence
36.26 USD

Hostel 88.1% 143 reviews
Confortel Auditori
58.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
26.84 USD

Hostel 84.0% 60 reviews
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
40.28 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
Graffiti Hostel
14.76 USD

Hostel 74.6% 257 reviews
Urbany Hostel Barcelona
16.11 USD

Hostel 78.7% 1615 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

287 out of 300 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melon District Marina Residence'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 291 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2011

Liked: No curfew/24 hour reception.

Disliked: Key cards failed, so no electricity in the room. Dirty, hairy bed sheets and bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the residence is new, close to metro station, close to the city and bus station

Disliked: the space in room was too small for two people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the metro, clean rooms and nice terrace / swimming pool

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe, excellent security, great having a pool and terrace to sunbathe in! very handy having vending machines and a cafe also, it was not very central however the metro station was onlt a 2 min walk away so that was good.

Disliked: there were no leaflets of things to do in reception and there was no laundry facilities I was aware of.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

OSMAN MURATDAG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 OSMAN would recommend this property

Liked: unbelievable

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good, close to 2 metro stations, refreshing rooms with nice view over the city

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Pool on the roof, nice kitchen, staff was very friendly, everything was clean!

Disliked: Rooms were small!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it seemed very new and modern, it was cool that there were kitchen (which i didnt had time to use) and laundry service was amazing, since i have never seen washers and dryers in hotel!

Disliked: The room they gave me and my husband was extremly small!! Our luggage took the whole empty space on the floor. Shower was also uncomfortably small. And nobody ever came in to clean up or change the towells, which i didnt expect, so showering with wet towels was pretty bad for a girl. My husband didnt seem to mind though, i guess its just for the female then :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The internet in the room was not wireless, but it was FREE and SCREAMING FAST!

Disliked: They did not have any sort of soap, and the room was TINY. also, the air conditioning was running the whole night, so it was quite chilly in the room the entire time. Also, it was advertised that the beach was 10 minutes walk away, and in reality it was 25 minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wojciech Wierzbowski

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place with friendly staff and good secure. Rooms are small but neat,clean and modern. Kitchen lounge - to share for 10 rooms, what avoid a crowd in the kitchen, with space to seat and relax. On the roof is swiming pool and the excelent view to Barcelona. The location very nice - about 15 minuts walk to the beach and 3 metro stations to placa catalunia and la rambla. I strongly recommend this place!

Disliked: Everything was excelent - I was in others Barcelona hostels before, so I have a comparison.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

LIAM CLARKE-TINSON

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

21 June 2011

Liked: Small rooms, rattly air conditioning, cold atmosphere.

Disliked: Small rooms, rattly air conditioning, cold atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephanie Knight

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Roof top pool, not in expensive tourist area, safe and secure, walking distance to beach. The air-conditioning was very loud so we couldn't have it on all night. The room was smaller than in the pictures, but still had adequate facilities.

Disliked: The air-conditioning was very loud so we couldn't have it on all night. The room was smaller than in the pictures, but still had adequate facilities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof with the pool. Hands down, the best view I've ever had of Barcelona. It's right in the middle of Barcelona and you get to see everything from the rooftop (if you are in the "A" building which is a 12-story building). Wicked awesome.

Disliked: It's a shame that there was BLOOD in our bed sheets. I have no idea what happened there, but it sucked real bad. Told the people at the reception to change it ASAP, which they did.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Henrich

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011

Liked: Nice Place to live!

Disliked: ./.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable with good facilities including well-equipped kitchen and pool

Disliked: The exchange rate for Euro/GBP listed on Hostelbookers was misleading as if we had paid in GBP it would have been much cheaper

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfortable.

Disliked: While the staff were super friendly and helpful, waiting to speak to someone at reception was always a long wait!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. The staff were very helpful. It was good to have kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Small room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tal maoz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 tal would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, facilities, free internet , accessible by metro

Disliked: location is not the best, but still accessible by metro.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Prescott

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and a quiet area.. Great views from the roof and a swimming pool.

Disliked: It is a students residence so you should be aware of the odd riotous behaviour.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: goog staff

Disliked: small rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, view, modern design, service, security gyus, internet on the rooms, perfect kitchen... but forward information about own lock for fridge was missing

Disliked: small rooms especially bathroom, maybe it could be tea keettle in the kitchen,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Solar place, clean and efficient staff seriously

Disliked: nothing everything was perfect especially the price and quality

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Near the bus staion Barcelona Nord, if you trevel by bus, itś very convenient.

Disliked: Itś right next to the place for funeral, and the shops on the streets nearby the hostel are selling stuffs for funeral, it could be uncomfortable for Asians.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well-equipped kitchen Helpful staff, available 24/24

Disliked: Very noisy, could hear all my neighbours Average location Small room with dirty walls Water leaked from the shower on the floor, bathroom with no ventilation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LULU ZHANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 LULU would recommend this property

Liked: emm, almost everything is fine, the staffs are nice and the kitchen is just wonderful though i didn't use it cooking

Disliked: emm, almost nothing, maybe with one chair in the room would be better, and if in the room there is wifi, would be more convenient, but the staff here is just excellent!!!