We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melon District Marina Residence

Hostel | Calle Sancho de Avila 22, Barcelona, Spain 08018

86.5% Overall Rating

306 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

"The hotel staff are very helpful and well organized. The room is very clean. There is a very good and safe option to keep your luggage even before check in/"

Read all Melon District Marina Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

• Not pets allowed. • Smoking is not permitted in rooms and other closed areas. To ensure we provide all guests with a fantastic atmosphere, for reservations of 10 people or more special conditions will apply: - The hostel will contact the client to arrange 25% prepayment of the booking. This amount will be deducted of the final balance. This prepayment is non-refundable. - The total payment of the booking should be made by bank transfer or credit card, eight (8) days before the arrival of the group. - The hostel reserves the right to cancel any group booking whose full payment has not been received 8 days before the arrival date. - The hostel will send a document containing behaviour house rules that the client will have to accept via email. - No cancelation or amendment will be accepted with less than 8 days prior to arrival. Any cancelation or amendment outside this period will incur in a 100% cancelation charge. - Failure to comply with any of the conditions above will result in your booking being cancelled. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Twentytu Hostel
26.85 USD

Hostel 87.8% 145 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
29.63 USD

Apartment 88.0% 14 reviews
La Ciutadella Residence
34.68 USD

Hostel 88.2% 150 reviews
Confortel Auditori
85.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
24.84 USD

Hostel 83.0% 62 reviews
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
33.56 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
Urbany Hostel Barcelona
11.08 USD

Hostel 82.3% 1638 reviews
Graffiti Hostel
12.31 USD

Hostel 75.8% 277 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

306 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melon District Marina Residence'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 311 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not very easy to find, and the description is too short, it makes us confuse!

Disliked: so many people come around, not very secure!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean and good location

Disliked: The rooms are small, we went knowing that and so we had no problem - so not really a dislike. Plenty of storage space makes up for this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Graham McCulloch

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, great price and facilities. Location is ok as access to the rail station is within 3min walking distance. 24hr staff very knowledgeable with good language skills. Great to have access to to rooftop terrace and pool facilities, also the cookig facilities were reasonable. Thanks for a great stay as I found the value for money was very good :)

Disliked: Poor drainage from the shower and towels not changed for 4 day duration stay affected my cleanliness rating but loved the stay none the less. Thanks melon district :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was simple, modern and clean.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Refreshingly modern, which is pretty unusual in this price range. The rooftop seating area and pool was a great feature, It was never too busy either.

Disliked: The shared kitchens needed opening windows - this was just too clinical. Perhaps having a couple of seating / lounge areas in the complex for the travelers staying over would really make this place excellent. I understand that free towels are expensive for hotels to wash - but new towels every 6 days unless you pay extra is not good!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great, a bit small the bedrooms but just for sleeping its fine.

Disliked: some of towels had a few dirty marks on them but the staff were happy to give clean ones

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

23 July 2011

Liked: Not much at all.

Disliked: I hate this place. Don't go there. It's cold, has no vibe, is in a terrible area and the staff are rude. Rooms are tiny, towels are not replaced, shared kitchen is disgusting and not sufficiently equipped (doesn't even have knifes for cutting food) and it is in an awful location (situated opposite a funeral parlor that has grieving families out the front of it at all hours of the day).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011

Liked: the staff was receptive everytime even we were shoutin' at 4am =))

Disliked: they don't have any organization like cultural tours or night parties.it looks like a hotel not hostel Don't wait to meet with somebody at hostel area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrace at the roof with pool and amazing view of the city. Very clean. Close to metro and nightbus. 15min walk to the beach. Free internet/computers.

Disliked: Don't expect to do much cocking in the room (not enough equipment). The staff doesn't know so much about things going on in the city. Also our booking had got lost in the system, however the staff sorted if out without making a fuzz.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2011

Liked: No curfew/24 hour reception.

Disliked: Key cards failed, so no electricity in the room. Dirty, hairy bed sheets and bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the residence is new, close to metro station, close to the city and bus station

Disliked: the space in room was too small for two people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the metro, clean rooms and nice terrace / swimming pool

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe, excellent security, great having a pool and terrace to sunbathe in! very handy having vending machines and a cafe also, it was not very central however the metro station was onlt a 2 min walk away so that was good.

Disliked: there were no leaflets of things to do in reception and there was no laundry facilities I was aware of.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

OSMAN MURATDAG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 OSMAN would recommend this property

Liked: unbelievable

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good, close to 2 metro stations, refreshing rooms with nice view over the city

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Pool on the roof, nice kitchen, staff was very friendly, everything was clean!

Disliked: Rooms were small!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it seemed very new and modern, it was cool that there were kitchen (which i didnt had time to use) and laundry service was amazing, since i have never seen washers and dryers in hotel!

Disliked: The room they gave me and my husband was extremly small!! Our luggage took the whole empty space on the floor. Shower was also uncomfortably small. And nobody ever came in to clean up or change the towells, which i didnt expect, so showering with wet towels was pretty bad for a girl. My husband didnt seem to mind though, i guess its just for the female then :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The internet in the room was not wireless, but it was FREE and SCREAMING FAST!

Disliked: They did not have any sort of soap, and the room was TINY. also, the air conditioning was running the whole night, so it was quite chilly in the room the entire time. Also, it was advertised that the beach was 10 minutes walk away, and in reality it was 25 minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wojciech Wierzbowski

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place with friendly staff and good secure. Rooms are small but neat,clean and modern. Kitchen lounge - to share for 10 rooms, what avoid a crowd in the kitchen, with space to seat and relax. On the roof is swiming pool and the excelent view to Barcelona. The location very nice - about 15 minuts walk to the beach and 3 metro stations to placa catalunia and la rambla. I strongly recommend this place!

Disliked: Everything was excelent - I was in others Barcelona hostels before, so I have a comparison.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

LIAM CLARKE-TINSON

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

21 June 2011

Liked: Small rooms, rattly air conditioning, cold atmosphere.

Disliked: Small rooms, rattly air conditioning, cold atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephanie Knight

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Roof top pool, not in expensive tourist area, safe and secure, walking distance to beach. The air-conditioning was very loud so we couldn't have it on all night. The room was smaller than in the pictures, but still had adequate facilities.

Disliked: The air-conditioning was very loud so we couldn't have it on all night. The room was smaller than in the pictures, but still had adequate facilities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof with the pool. Hands down, the best view I've ever had of Barcelona. It's right in the middle of Barcelona and you get to see everything from the rooftop (if you are in the "A" building which is a 12-story building). Wicked awesome.

Disliked: It's a shame that there was BLOOD in our bed sheets. I have no idea what happened there, but it sucked real bad. Told the people at the reception to change it ASAP, which they did.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Henrich

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011

Liked: Nice Place to live!

Disliked: ./.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable with good facilities including well-equipped kitchen and pool

Disliked: The exchange rate for Euro/GBP listed on Hostelbookers was misleading as if we had paid in GBP it would have been much cheaper

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfortable.

Disliked: While the staff were super friendly and helpful, waiting to speak to someone at reception was always a long wait!!!