We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melon District Marina Residence

Hostel | Calle Sancho de Avila 22, Barcelona, Spain 08018

86.5% Overall Rating

306 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

"The hotel staff are very helpful and well organized. The room is very clean. There is a very good and safe option to keep your luggage even before check in/"

Read all Melon District Marina Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

• Not pets allowed. • Smoking is not permitted in rooms and other closed areas. To ensure we provide all guests with a fantastic atmosphere, for reservations of 10 people or more special conditions will apply: - The hostel will contact the client to arrange 25% prepayment of the booking. This amount will be deducted of the final balance. This prepayment is non-refundable. - The total payment of the booking should be made by bank transfer or credit card, eight (8) days before the arrival of the group. - The hostel reserves the right to cancel any group booking whose full payment has not been received 8 days before the arrival date. - The hostel will send a document containing behaviour house rules that the client will have to accept via email. - No cancelation or amendment will be accepted with less than 8 days prior to arrival. Any cancelation or amendment outside this period will incur in a 100% cancelation charge. - Failure to comply with any of the conditions above will result in your booking being cancelled. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Twentytu Hostel
27.04 USD

Hostel 87.8% 145 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
29.84 USD

Apartment 88.0% 14 reviews
La Ciutadella Residence
34.92 USD

Hostel 88.2% 150 reviews
Confortel Auditori
68.77 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
25.01 USD

Hostel 83.0% 62 reviews
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
33.80 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
Urbany Hostel Barcelona
11.15 USD

Hostel 82.3% 1638 reviews
Graffiti Hostel
13.52 USD

Hostel 75.8% 277 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

306 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melon District Marina Residence'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 311 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great security, clean & simple rooms (looks like an ikea room), facilities for laundry and a kitchen and meeting people. Great closet/storage space. Bed is decently comfortable and full powered a/c! Not that you need it as much in Barcelona. Perfect for any type of stay. Close to the subway and a reasonable (15 minute) walk to the beach. Great club and bar close by (Razzmatazz and La Oveja Negra).Friendly staff and other guests.

Disliked: None of these are complaints, but just as a forewarning. Room is very small. and efficient. Also don't expect a cleaning person everyday or change of towels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop Pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcin Mazurkiewicz

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

23 July 2012 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Pool on the roof

Disliked: Nothing work mention

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aideen Greenlee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Aideen would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact that there is a pool on each roof, excellent for a dip after a hot days sight seeing/ shopping. The rooms are excellent and quiet. There's laundry facilities too which were so useful considering we had just arrived back from a festival

Disliked: The kitchen whilst excellent had become extremely hot the day we decided to use it and it took a while to figure out the air conditioning, which was unfortunate. The only other complaint I could add is that there were no knives suitable for cutting veg/ meat in there- dinner making was interesting

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean, pool was an added bonus!

Disliked: No atmosphere, felt like a budget hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were small but were designed well for the size. Roof top pool was nice but no atmosphere what do ever which kind of ruined the joys of having it didn't use it much. The whole residence is very modern and the communal kitchen & lounge were great on each level. Free Internet & wifi we had a good stay there but the location let it down.

Disliked: Location was disappointing I think mainly because we have been to Barcelona before & stayed centrally that we missed being in the hub off it all as Barcelona is a awsome city on the side note it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach but is still stay somewere else more central next time but depends what your looking for. Stayed for 5 nights which is a decent amount of stay and house keeping wasn't included! Which is a bit ridiculous as toilet paper starts to run out. The room & bathroom could of done with a clean which u can't expect us to go out & buy cleaning products to do this!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of this property is good you can easy reach main sights and beach by foot and it is near metro and bus stations

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven blackshaw

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2012 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic value

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room. Friendly staff. Internet connection in the room.

Disliked: During the night it was a bit loud and random people nocked on the door. So do not forget your ear plugs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlette Berry

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Marlette would recommend this property

Liked: Great hotel! Staff was wonderful. Room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. Cafe downstairs is reasonably priced and good.

Disliked: A bit far from the city center, but just a short walk from the Metro station. The wi-fi was only in common areas - would have been nice if it worked in the room, but could easily step out into the hall and use it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a location with good connections to local transportation. It was clean and Fresh and the staff was very very helpful for all our questions.

Disliked: Our room was next to the common kitchen area, and there seemed to be people partying til morning so it was rather noisy due to that. And also the partying people had been drinking our drinks from our fridge compartment.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop pools!

Disliked: Lack of wifi in private rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruby Sokol

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were vibrant and clean. Not too long of a walk from la ramblas and the beach.

Disliked: New towels weren't available and we had to tidy the room ourselves and had to wash our own towels if we wanted them clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nettes Personal; Netter Pool;

Disliked: Kein Zimmerservice inklusive;

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Always there to help you out. The room was perfect for a short stay vacation. Kitchen was always clean and had everything that we needed. The pool was what you needed to relax in the end of the day (open until 22h) About 25 min walking distance from the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool in the roof was fabulous during the heat of the day

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, services, 24 hour check in etc

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff and people, location is good, s-market and metro station nearby.

Disliked: rooms are a bit tiny - and because of the rather young crowed it can be a bit loud at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

james gates

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the roof top terrace was beauttiful, it was so nice to chill out in the sun looking out over the city.

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Abalos

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

14 June 2012 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Me encanto el lugar!!, es muy limpio y tiene todas las comodidades necesarias. Esta cerca de la playa y de los boliches.

Disliked: Ana Laura left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very highly secured, you have to use the card for entering the district, building, room and common room. Clean and organized. Following what was said in the previous reviews, the room was small but that's pretty enough for travellers. (not sure for exchange students, which I assume the complex is for exchange students instead of travellers) Laundry was excellent.

Disliked: The area is quite gloomy for the streets behind the hostel. Prevent them when it's getting dark. Internet access in the room is only by cables not wifi, there's only wifi in the common room. Staff members are very helpful, but usually there's a very long queue at the reception desk for checking in, spare some time to wait for the helpful staff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Benites

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the cleaness, the staff,

Disliked: the rooms are small ( a little bit) and if go when is summer i think that can be so hot, but i don't know if they has air condition there , but is a nice place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the rooms are small it is an amazing value for money-safe,clean and secure. The roof terrace and swimming pool just adds to it! You can see (and walk in 20min) to sagrada familia from the room, beach is also within a convenient walking distance... The cafeteria is a good idea if you want to catch a quick coffee in the morning before taking off to the sites. All in all no lies in the advert, we had great time there and would recommed it to all our mates!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends, I booked an ensuited twin room in building A, I stay on 7th floor, the room size is ok for me, one wardore and two bed, no deck, but I really enjoy staying in there as the view of the window is nearly the whole view of barcelona. Moreover, the top floor included a swimming pool, is not big, around 50m*20m. And the view over ther is amazing. You can view 360 'C of balcenlona over there. Overall with the price, I am so impress of this hostel! And the location is petty good, around 3-5mins walk to the nearest metro and 20mins walk to the bench, which allow to watch a sun raising in the morning around 6am.

Disliked: There is a Funeral opposit to the hostel, but for me I am ok with it. as it won't disturt much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

london Shaver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 london would recommend this property

Liked: The internet from the direct ethernet cable connection was incredibly fast! new facilities and friendly staff. nice rooftop pool and decently equiped cooking lounge.

Disliked: great property, but the room we stayed in was especially small. tiny bathroom, smaller than some i´ve been in south east asia.