HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melon District Marina Residence

Hostel | Calle Sancho de Avila 22, Barcelona, Spain 08018

88.2% Overall Rating

277 out of 288 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"Has a very clean and safe feel to it! We felt like at home, very peaceful and comfortable."

Read all Melon District Marina Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.43

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

• People under 18 years old are not allowed to stay. • Not pets allowed. • Smoking is not permitted in rooms and other closed areas. To ensure we provide all guests with a fantastic atmosphere, for reservations of 10 people or more special conditions will apply: - The hostel will contact the client to arrange 25% prepayment of the booking. This amount will be deducted of the final balance. This prepayment is non-refundable. - The total payment of the booking should be made by bank transfer or credit card, eight (8) days before the arrival of the group. - The hostel reserves the right to cancel any group booking whose full payment has not been received 8 days before the arrival date. - The hostel will send a document containing behaviour house rules that the client will have to accept via email. - No cancelation or amendment will be accepted with less than 8 days prior to arrival. Any cancelation or amendment outside this period will incur in a 100% cancelation charge. - Failure to comply with any of the conditions above will result in your booking being cancelled. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Twentytu Hostel
17.28 USD

Hostel 92.6% 119 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
34.90 USD

Apartment 89.2% 13 reviews
Barcelona Park Studios
39.16 USD

Apartment 82.3% 19 reviews
La Ciutadella Residence
36.63 USD

Hostel 88.1% 141 reviews
Confortel Auditori
45.61 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
19.34 USD

Hostel 85.1% 59 reviews
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
41.47 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
Graffiti Hostel
11.04 USD

Hostel 70.9% 248 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

277 out of 288 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melon District Marina Residence'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 279 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, services, 24 hour check in etc

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff and people, location is good, s-market and metro station nearby.

Disliked: rooms are a bit tiny - and because of the rather young crowed it can be a bit loud at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

james gates

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the roof top terrace was beauttiful, it was so nice to chill out in the sun looking out over the city.

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Abalos

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

14 June 2012 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Me encanto el lugar!!, es muy limpio y tiene todas las comodidades necesarias. Esta cerca de la playa y de los boliches.

Disliked: Ana Laura left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very highly secured, you have to use the card for entering the district, building, room and common room. Clean and organized. Following what was said in the previous reviews, the room was small but that's pretty enough for travellers. (not sure for exchange students, which I assume the complex is for exchange students instead of travellers) Laundry was excellent.

Disliked: The area is quite gloomy for the streets behind the hostel. Prevent them when it's getting dark. Internet access in the room is only by cables not wifi, there's only wifi in the common room. Staff members are very helpful, but usually there's a very long queue at the reception desk for checking in, spare some time to wait for the helpful staff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Benites

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the cleaness, the staff,

Disliked: the rooms are small ( a little bit) and if go when is summer i think that can be so hot, but i don't know if they has air condition there , but is a nice place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the rooms are small it is an amazing value for money-safe,clean and secure. The roof terrace and swimming pool just adds to it! You can see (and walk in 20min) to sagrada familia from the room, beach is also within a convenient walking distance... The cafeteria is a good idea if you want to catch a quick coffee in the morning before taking off to the sites. All in all no lies in the advert, we had great time there and would recommed it to all our mates!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends, I booked an ensuited twin room in building A, I stay on 7th floor, the room size is ok for me, one wardore and two bed, no deck, but I really enjoy staying in there as the view of the window is nearly the whole view of barcelona. Moreover, the top floor included a swimming pool, is not big, around 50m*20m. And the view over ther is amazing. You can view 360 'C of balcenlona over there. Overall with the price, I am so impress of this hostel! And the location is petty good, around 3-5mins walk to the nearest metro and 20mins walk to the bench, which allow to watch a sun raising in the morning around 6am.

Disliked: There is a Funeral opposit to the hostel, but for me I am ok with it. as it won't disturt much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

london Shaver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 london would recommend this property

Liked: The internet from the direct ethernet cable connection was incredibly fast! new facilities and friendly staff. nice rooftop pool and decently equiped cooking lounge.

Disliked: great property, but the room we stayed in was especially small. tiny bathroom, smaller than some i´ve been in south east asia.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenton Parry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Brenton would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great. The rooms and facilities were nice and new. Pool would have been great if it was warmer. Facilities were really good, they have everything- cafe, kitchens, wifi, computers, laundry, pool.

Disliked: A little far from the central area, about 25 min walk, but it is very close to the metro. Would be nice if the kitchens had toasters and the dish towels were changed more often.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Klose

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

08 April 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: 100% recommendable! Clean and very safe and modern hostel, with very friendly staff. Roof terrace with pool offering a view over the whole city is the bonus on top of that. Free WiFi in various areas of the hostel, with some luck in Your room as well. Max 3 minutes to walk to Metro station Marina and 3 Stations heading Downtown You will be at Plaza Catalunya & Las Ramblas.

Disliked: Nothing at all regarding the hostel. The restaurent in the building is operated by a sub-company and not that good at all - except for a small continental breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Melon District Marina Residence was a really pleasant experience for me. The staff were friendly and ever ready to entertain our requests. No problems with communication. Secure environment with keycard access. Clean compound. The only problem I had was locating it on the first day. But that was kind of expected considering it was my first time to Barcelona. Overall a really pleasant first experience in Barcelona. Will try to stay there again the next time I go. Swimming pool on the top floor but it was too cold to do any swimming when i went . Great view nonetheless.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike really. Would have been nice if it were cheaper though that's purely wishful thinking on my part....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Voyer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice and comfy and there was a safe in the room which was very useful. The staff helped us a lot as well to find ou way in the city and recomended great non touristic restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Ágnes Seres

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 March 2012 Andrea Ágnes would recommend this property

Liked: cool building, modern design inside, very helpful staff, clean and modern room, food service at the location

Disliked: Andrea Ágnes left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, actually it's more like a hotel and a great one! I stayed with my boyfriend in a double room. At first I was a little worried about the room and bed size, because of some comments regarding too small beds and so on, but it was totally enough space for us two. Bed size in double rooms is 135x200 cm. I was especially delighted with amount of closet space, because in other hostels we stayed in closets were usually very small or sometimes there were none. Also to have free of charge safe in a room was absolutely great! Everything was very clean and even when we made a mess a cleaning lady cleaned everything up. I really can't find any remarks to this hostel, it's perfect, especially for that money!

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Wang

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel is as good as it was described. the room was not big, but sufficient to stay. everything is neat, tidy, and clean. the location is really good, as it is close to the metro station, which connects the main lines. the price is also quite nice. i enjoyed the stay very much.

Disliked: maybe the room could have been a little bit bigger.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern

Disliked: Not much

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emanuele Sgro

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2011 Emanuele would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: almost nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Galstyan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2011 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, close to the metro station, the hotel is pretty new. Good kitchen!

Disliked: Very very small rooms. They don't clean the rooms everyday!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vladimir Dangubic

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Location, swimming pool.

Disliked: Small bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Mariana Mello

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

08 September 2011

Liked: the hotel is very young and beautiful.

Disliked: the hotel is very young and beautiful, but it is not clear. On the day we had a huge cockroach in the bedroom and the bathrooms were not clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and felt very safe, helpful staff and free access to computers and wifi. Close to metro but not the beach (15min walk). The pool on the roof was simply awesome and perfect for an early morning swim :D

Disliked: The distance from the beach, everything else was great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything :]

Disliked: The walls are not the best and if you have some redneck neighbor that makes random thumping noise that will all be heard properly through the wall... but that's not something too bad :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: Its be nice to find some cups and proper cutting knife and board in community kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good room, nice kitchen facilities swimming pool free wifi

Disliked: nothing