HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melon District Marina Residence

Hostel | Calle Sancho de Avila 22, Barcelona, Spain 08018

88.1% Overall Rating

289 out of 303 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"Very clean and modern. Felt very safe. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a swimming pool with a beautiful view. Only used the cafe for breakfast but was very good. Good value for money."

Read all Melon District Marina Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

• Not pets allowed. • Smoking is not permitted in rooms and other closed areas. To ensure we provide all guests with a fantastic atmosphere, for reservations of 10 people or more special conditions will apply: - The hostel will contact the client to arrange 25% prepayment of the booking. This amount will be deducted of the final balance. This prepayment is non-refundable. - The total payment of the booking should be made by bank transfer or credit card, eight (8) days before the arrival of the group. - The hostel reserves the right to cancel any group booking whose full payment has not been received 8 days before the arrival date. - The hostel will send a document containing behaviour house rules that the client will have to accept via email. - No cancelation or amendment will be accepted with less than 8 days prior to arrival. Any cancelation or amendment outside this period will incur in a 100% cancelation charge. - Failure to comply with any of the conditions above will result in your booking being cancelled. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Twentytu Hostel
37.51 USD

Hostel 88.9% 134 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
38.93 USD

Apartment 89.2% 13 reviews
La Ciutadella Residence
36.17 USD

Hostel 88.1% 143 reviews
Confortel Auditori
58.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
30.37 USD

Hostel 84.0% 60 reviews
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
40.19 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
Graffiti Hostel
14.72 USD

Hostel 74.7% 258 reviews
Urbany Hostel Barcelona
18.62 USD

Hostel 78.7% 1615 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

289 out of 303 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melon District Marina Residence'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 294 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worked out well and mostly the staff was friendly enough.

Disliked: I was disappointed because they didn't answer my e-mail before the trip.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Antony Barber

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 September 2012 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, cool accomadation. Excellent roof top swimming pool with views over Barca.

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Turville

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

26 August 2012 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous! We stayed for 3 nights. Room is adequate for short stay. Location is a fair hike into town by foot (30 mins) but 10 mins from the beach. Room was clean and aircon worked so well! Kitchen on every floor was great - meant that we could make our own meals. Very nice little pool on the roof with great views!

Disliked: Shower was clogged and there was no fan, vent, in bathroom so towels/washed clothes got smelly. No wifi in room - had to go to kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqui Cooke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Jacqui would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a great place to stay! the hotel offered everything that a traveler could need, the rooms were clean and innovative, making the most of a smallish space. the staff were all really nice and helpful. The location's great, within easy walking distance of the main city and the beach.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

max jenkins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 max would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish, modern, colourful, friendly and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and will run

Disliked: It is a bit like a monks cell but it good for sleeping nice bed and clean showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the concept, the swimming pool with spectacular view over the city, the facilities, the interior, the restaurant, ...

Disliked: little comments... the towels cannot dry in the room, some more launchbeds on the swimming pool, ...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best for this price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rebecca Sheean

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful

Disliked: The room was tiny!!! It looked much bigger in the pictures! I would only recommend staying here for a short stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DANIEL VASCONCELOS

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 August 2012 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place. The staff is prepared and ready to provide all kind of informations. The building is new , organized and clean. The locations is a good point too. I would recommend this place for everyone.

Disliked: DANIEL left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated near a metro stop. Staff were very helpful and although it was peak season the hostel didn't seem too crowded. The pool was always available to use and the hostel was very clean and safe.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tereza Koryntová

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 August 2012 Tereza would recommend this property

Liked: new, clean, swimming pool

Disliked: cleaning service is not included

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from Sagrada Familia, and the beach. Also, very near Metro station (Marina). Lots of facilities (kitchen, launderette, swimming pool on roof!). Wired internet in bedroom and wifi in kitchen.

Disliked: Cafe is not very good. Also there was a protest while we were there because apparently the hostel had fired a member of staff for being a union member. This created a lot of noise.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is newly built and the facilities are nice.

Disliked: They didn't have enough key cards to get into the room or facility so my friend and I had to share one which meant we couldn't go out without eachother or setting specific return times. The internet doesn't work in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sivaraj mohana sundaram

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 August 2012 sivaraj would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Staff cooperation with the customers was very friendly and active too. 2. Facilities like internet connection, room cleanliness, air conditioning, kitchen, refreshing lounge mainly restaurant was very nice. 3. Simply speaking this hotel name will come to my mind whenever I think about my barcelona trip :-)

Disliked: nothing to dislike actually. I would like to suggest one thing as, would be very nice if you keep one bar also in the restaurant.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet and peaceful.

Disliked: Very small rooms, no balcony. AC works only with the keycard, so for example towels don't dry during the day if you are not in the room :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great security, clean & simple rooms (looks like an ikea room), facilities for laundry and a kitchen and meeting people. Great closet/storage space. Bed is decently comfortable and full powered a/c! Not that you need it as much in Barcelona. Perfect for any type of stay. Close to the subway and a reasonable (15 minute) walk to the beach. Great club and bar close by (Razzmatazz and La Oveja Negra).Friendly staff and other guests.

Disliked: None of these are complaints, but just as a forewarning. Room is very small. and efficient. Also don't expect a cleaning person everyday or change of towels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop Pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcin Mazurkiewicz

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

23 July 2012 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Pool on the roof

Disliked: Nothing work mention

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aideen Greenlee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Aideen would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact that there is a pool on each roof, excellent for a dip after a hot days sight seeing/ shopping. The rooms are excellent and quiet. There's laundry facilities too which were so useful considering we had just arrived back from a festival

Disliked: The kitchen whilst excellent had become extremely hot the day we decided to use it and it took a while to figure out the air conditioning, which was unfortunate. The only other complaint I could add is that there were no knives suitable for cutting veg/ meat in there- dinner making was interesting

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean, pool was an added bonus!

Disliked: No atmosphere, felt like a budget hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were small but were designed well for the size. Roof top pool was nice but no atmosphere what do ever which kind of ruined the joys of having it didn't use it much. The whole residence is very modern and the communal kitchen & lounge were great on each level. Free Internet & wifi we had a good stay there but the location let it down.

Disliked: Location was disappointing I think mainly because we have been to Barcelona before & stayed centrally that we missed being in the hub off it all as Barcelona is a awsome city on the side note it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach but is still stay somewere else more central next time but depends what your looking for. Stayed for 5 nights which is a decent amount of stay and house keeping wasn't included! Which is a bit ridiculous as toilet paper starts to run out. The room & bathroom could of done with a clean which u can't expect us to go out & buy cleaning products to do this!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of this property is good you can easy reach main sights and beach by foot and it is near metro and bus stations

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven blackshaw

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2012 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic value

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room. Friendly staff. Internet connection in the room.

Disliked: During the night it was a bit loud and random people nocked on the door. So do not forget your ear plugs.