HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melon District Marina Residence

Hostel | Calle Sancho de Avila 22, Barcelona, Spain 08018

87.3% Overall Rating

277 out of 289 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"Has a very clean and safe feel to it! We felt like at home, very peaceful and comfortable."

Read all Melon District Marina Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.42

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

• People under 18 years old are not allowed to stay. • Not pets allowed. • Smoking is not permitted in rooms and other closed areas. To ensure we provide all guests with a fantastic atmosphere, for reservations of 10 people or more special conditions will apply: - The hostel will contact the client to arrange 25% prepayment of the booking. This amount will be deducted of the final balance. This prepayment is non-refundable. - The total payment of the booking should be made by bank transfer or credit card, eight (8) days before the arrival of the group. - The hostel reserves the right to cancel any group booking whose full payment has not been received 8 days before the arrival date. - The hostel will send a document containing behaviour house rules that the client will have to accept via email. - No cancelation or amendment will be accepted with less than 8 days prior to arrival. Any cancelation or amendment outside this period will incur in a 100% cancelation charge. - Failure to comply with any of the conditions above will result in your booking being cancelled. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Twentytu Hostel
17.25 USD

Hostel 92.6% 119 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
35.88 USD

Apartment 89.2% 13 reviews
Barcelona Park Studios
39.10 USD

Apartment 82.3% 19 reviews
La Ciutadella Residence
36.57 USD

Hostel 88.1% 141 reviews
Confortel Auditori
49.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
23.01 USD

Hostel 85.1% 59 reviews
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
41.40 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
Graffiti Hostel
11.03 USD

Hostel 70.9% 248 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

277 out of 289 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melon District Marina Residence'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 280 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best for this price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rebecca Sheean

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful

Disliked: The room was tiny!!! It looked much bigger in the pictures! I would only recommend staying here for a short stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DANIEL VASCONCELOS

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 August 2012 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place. The staff is prepared and ready to provide all kind of informations. The building is new , organized and clean. The locations is a good point too. I would recommend this place for everyone.

Disliked: DANIEL left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated near a metro stop. Staff were very helpful and although it was peak season the hostel didn't seem too crowded. The pool was always available to use and the hostel was very clean and safe.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tereza Koryntová

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 August 2012 Tereza would recommend this property

Liked: new, clean, swimming pool

Disliked: cleaning service is not included

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from Sagrada Familia, and the beach. Also, very near Metro station (Marina). Lots of facilities (kitchen, launderette, swimming pool on roof!). Wired internet in bedroom and wifi in kitchen.

Disliked: Cafe is not very good. Also there was a protest while we were there because apparently the hostel had fired a member of staff for being a union member. This created a lot of noise.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is newly built and the facilities are nice.

Disliked: They didn't have enough key cards to get into the room or facility so my friend and I had to share one which meant we couldn't go out without eachother or setting specific return times. The internet doesn't work in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sivaraj mohana sundaram

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 August 2012 sivaraj would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Staff cooperation with the customers was very friendly and active too. 2. Facilities like internet connection, room cleanliness, air conditioning, kitchen, refreshing lounge mainly restaurant was very nice. 3. Simply speaking this hotel name will come to my mind whenever I think about my barcelona trip :-)

Disliked: nothing to dislike actually. I would like to suggest one thing as, would be very nice if you keep one bar also in the restaurant.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet and peaceful.

Disliked: Very small rooms, no balcony. AC works only with the keycard, so for example towels don't dry during the day if you are not in the room :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great security, clean & simple rooms (looks like an ikea room), facilities for laundry and a kitchen and meeting people. Great closet/storage space. Bed is decently comfortable and full powered a/c! Not that you need it as much in Barcelona. Perfect for any type of stay. Close to the subway and a reasonable (15 minute) walk to the beach. Great club and bar close by (Razzmatazz and La Oveja Negra).Friendly staff and other guests.

Disliked: None of these are complaints, but just as a forewarning. Room is very small. and efficient. Also don't expect a cleaning person everyday or change of towels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop Pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcin Mazurkiewicz

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

23 July 2012 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Pool on the roof

Disliked: Nothing work mention

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aideen Greenlee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Aideen would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact that there is a pool on each roof, excellent for a dip after a hot days sight seeing/ shopping. The rooms are excellent and quiet. There's laundry facilities too which were so useful considering we had just arrived back from a festival

Disliked: The kitchen whilst excellent had become extremely hot the day we decided to use it and it took a while to figure out the air conditioning, which was unfortunate. The only other complaint I could add is that there were no knives suitable for cutting veg/ meat in there- dinner making was interesting

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean, pool was an added bonus!

Disliked: No atmosphere, felt like a budget hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were small but were designed well for the size. Roof top pool was nice but no atmosphere what do ever which kind of ruined the joys of having it didn't use it much. The whole residence is very modern and the communal kitchen & lounge were great on each level. Free Internet & wifi we had a good stay there but the location let it down.

Disliked: Location was disappointing I think mainly because we have been to Barcelona before & stayed centrally that we missed being in the hub off it all as Barcelona is a awsome city on the side note it's only a 15 minute walk to the beach but is still stay somewere else more central next time but depends what your looking for. Stayed for 5 nights which is a decent amount of stay and house keeping wasn't included! Which is a bit ridiculous as toilet paper starts to run out. The room & bathroom could of done with a clean which u can't expect us to go out & buy cleaning products to do this!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of this property is good you can easy reach main sights and beach by foot and it is near metro and bus stations

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven blackshaw

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2012 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic value

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room. Friendly staff. Internet connection in the room.

Disliked: During the night it was a bit loud and random people nocked on the door. So do not forget your ear plugs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlette Berry

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Marlette would recommend this property

Liked: Great hotel! Staff was wonderful. Room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. Cafe downstairs is reasonably priced and good.

Disliked: A bit far from the city center, but just a short walk from the Metro station. The wi-fi was only in common areas - would have been nice if it worked in the room, but could easily step out into the hall and use it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a location with good connections to local transportation. It was clean and Fresh and the staff was very very helpful for all our questions.

Disliked: Our room was next to the common kitchen area, and there seemed to be people partying til morning so it was rather noisy due to that. And also the partying people had been drinking our drinks from our fridge compartment.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop pools!

Disliked: Lack of wifi in private rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruby Sokol

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were vibrant and clean. Not too long of a walk from la ramblas and the beach.

Disliked: New towels weren't available and we had to tidy the room ourselves and had to wash our own towels if we wanted them clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nettes Personal; Netter Pool;

Disliked: Kein Zimmerservice inklusive;

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Always there to help you out. The room was perfect for a short stay vacation. Kitchen was always clean and had everything that we needed. The pool was what you needed to relax in the end of the day (open until 22h) About 25 min walking distance from the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool in the roof was fabulous during the heat of the day

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.