We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE HostelBoat Port Forum Barcelona

Hostel | Port Forum Barcelona Dock A, Yellow Line Metro or Tram, Barcelona, Spain 08002

72.2% Overall Rating

19 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2014)

"I get sick of the huge amount of thieving, trash Spaniards that ignore you if unable to speak that garbage Catalan even if they know English so THE BOATYARD IS WONDERFULLY LOCATED ( as any slip should be ) in a more…"

Read all AAE HostelBoat Port Forum Barcelona reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. "We meet you at the dock A, at Port Forum within the time you give us. Here you will be given a parking pass and gate keys to boat. The boat itself is located in Port Forum. Please see map. All linen will be provided. " Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Amistat Beach Hostel
19.32 USD

Hostel 87.9% 50 reviews
Confortel Barcelona
55.97 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Be Dream Hostel
11.46 USD

Hostel 84.9% 848 reviews
Barcelona City Apartment
34.73 USD

Apartment 89.2% 13 reviews
Urbany Hostel Barcelona
12.75 USD

Hostel 79.8% 1617 reviews
Mellow Apartment
17.85 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Twentytu Hostel
21.90 USD

Hostel 87.2% 137 reviews
Melon District Marina Residence
38.22 USD

Hostel 88.2% 313 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

19 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE HostelBoat Port Forum Barcelona'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Work / volunteering

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I get sick of the huge amount of thieving, trash Spaniards that ignore you if unable to speak that garbage Catalan even if they know English so THE BOATYARD IS WONDERFULLY LOCATED ( as any slip should be ) in a more professional and absolutely quiet area but be aware that probably changes in summer. The price is exceptional if with a couple friends, family or possibly a significant other but only if you plan to be in and out because much of nothing works on the boat for a total retreat time.

Disliked: The guy that meets you only speaks Spanish and the actual owner never once returned my messages to ask about using things. I suggest you get directions for fixing a power short because the breakers do trip often and BRING AIR FRESHNERS since the inside of the boat in winter smells like a combination of leaking gas, mold, etc. Please be aware the door is unable to be locked from the inside, the television had no working channels, etc.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012

Liked: It was a house boat, though it doesn't really match the pictures online. It was very quiet in the area.

Disliked: It was run down, dirty and not particularly secure -- The towels I had laid out for me were wet, paint was peeling, it wasn't really clean. When I got there, I wasn't met by the person I was told I would meet, but by a pair of people who don't speak much English. Got put on the phone with the original guy, who explained a lot of the things about the boat. They give you a card that opens the door to the dock -- but they give you a numeric lock for the door to the actual boat, which you can't lock while you are inside of it. Since I was a female traveling alone, I didn't feel safe not having a door lock and ended up leaving and finding another hostel to stay at. I would not recommend it to anyone traveling in threes or fours, because the other two "beds" are just benches that don't have support all the way through (I nearly fell into the cabinet beneath one on accident). Additionally, it was waaay further out from the city than they lead you to believe on the website. It is connected by a tram, but it is still a long ride in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Few days what I spent in HostelBoat with my girlfriend were abolutely fantastic:) If you dont like the regular and standard things, you like the unique accomodation this is your choose. Near to the city center (few station by Underground or tram) and near to a beautyfull beach:) Ok you have to be a little bit "hippie" because there are no bathroom on the boat (water, micro and fridge are on boat) only in the near in the building of the Port and this isn't a five star hotel but for this money it is very sufficient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 May 2012

Liked: The fact that it was a boat for an affordable price. We stayed already three nights in Barcelona at another apartment, but for our last night we choosed this boat (our friends flown back home, we remained only two of us and thought this will be kind of romantic and also a more cheaper solution). We were lucky enough to catch a storm exactly on this night, so that was a nice experiment.

Disliked: Quite far from the center (Changing metro lines, counting down the remaining stations, and neither the metro station was so near - we haven't tried the trams). The boat itself it's simply not clean. Offers refrigerator, tv, satellite, microwave, etc. but you really have to take care while using them, because of the electricity - They doesn't seem quite secure. There are 24h open toiletts, but you should check their location daytime. We didn't do so, so we didn't find them at 11PM, it was just too dark at the dock. I don't regret this night, but if I could choose again, I had stayed at the first apartment even we had have to pay two of us for four persons.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere - really nice old yacht, good "nest". Location - Port Forum is 5 minutes walking from beach, not so crowded by people. same 5 min to subway.

Disliked: very small amount of space, but that was expected on the yacht :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great experience, but not suitable for long time stay. Great view though.

Disliked: A little dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohsen Najafian

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 November 2011 Mohsen would recommend this property

Liked: everything...im on a boat!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Brown

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: AAE HostelBoat Port Forum was awesome!!!! It was so cool to be on the water in such a vibrant port city. Awesome way to get a taste of the Barcelona scene. On top of that, the room was excellent, anything I could have asked for, and at a great price. We really appreciated the friendly and helpful service too. Next time I'm back in Barcelona, I will absolutely go back to AAE HostelBoat Port Forum!!!

Disliked: Noting. It was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed on the boat for one night. It was a really fun experience but i wouldn't stay there long term.

Disliked: it felt a bit slapdash and disorganised. but that was ok for the experience of it all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Meyer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2011 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed on the boat overnight. Very unique experience. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to accommodate us! It's easy to reach the middle of Barcelona with the tram.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: This is a sailboat - probably about 32 feet (10m) long that has spots for up to 4 people to sleep (two beds and two couches). There is also a sink (non potable), small refrigerator, microwave, and a small heater (which you will need on chilly nights!). The port itself is open to the public but the dock is locked with keycard access - while there were other people on the dock I never felt unsafe. You are given a padlock for the boat itself, but that only locks from the outside so it's more for piece of mind when you are away then security at night. The private beach is pretty incredible. We arrived very late, and despite not being located nearby, the receptionist met us at the boat even though it was after midnight - she was VERY patient and helpful to us. If you are looking for a very unique place to stay, this is definitely it! While not near the city center, it is right on the busline, and near a huge superstore (think mega Walmart) called Al Campo.

Disliked: There are only a few minor problems we had. The bathroom is not located on the boat - there is one about 50m from the dock but this is locked at night. The bathroom with the showers and laundry is open all night, but is about 150m away in the main building (which is also where you will have to go to pick up wifi). The port and surrounding area was surprisingly nice during the day but at night is pretty much deserted.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011

Liked: That was really cool to wake up in the morning and to see the water, palms and boats around and to have breakfast outside. Kind of romantic and very funny, we liked it very much! The boat is old but it's nice and it's quite good inside too, but could be and should be cleaner! So we liked this unusual experience and the place itself. The owners should just renovate the boat!!

Disliked: Well, first of all - no safety! I've said about it already and I'll repeat! The boat can't be locked from inside. That means you should lock it from outside and then get inside through the window. But the window has no locker at all. And to lock it means just to cover the hole by glass that can be removed from outside by anyone!!! And the Dock A where the boat is situated is reachable for anyone too. So we felt unsafe completely and the only thing that was like a guarantee of safety - is that in the boats next to ours there lived people too and so we were not completely alone. 2nd - It's dirty. It's clean for a boat but very dirty for a hostel. 3rd - All our staff was a little bit wet after being in the boat, so its very humid there in spring and it's smells the sea or kind of - again it's the problem of cleanness. 4th - You cannot use two or more electric devices at once, only one by one as there is danger of fire.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect near to public transportation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Viktorija Heinschko

08 May 2010 Viktorija would recommend this property

Liked: It was so different from other places we stayed before :) It was qute far away from centre of Barcelona but everything was so near, the big supermarket and metro. Our only bad luck was the weather, but it was great!!

Disliked: Viktorija left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 January 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 November 2009

Liked: Interested travelers should treat this boat hostel as a form of camping - no toilets/showers on the boat (available in the port facilities). Pros: it was a boat, which was different and kind of cool. Good security, very quiet environment.Cons: Place was very dirty and smelly, wifi not available on boat (only in port facility), kitchen limited to microwave (and tiny sink and refrigerator) but no cleaning liquid, dish towels, bowls, cutlery, etc. Had the place been clean, none of the above (except for wifi access) might have mattered but it was the kind of place where you just didn't really want to touch anything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ralitsa Atanasova

26 October 2009

Liked: It is an interesting and different place to stay in, if that is what you are looking for. The port complex is nice, the facilities (toilet, showers) are clean. They are shared with all port visitors but at the time we stayed there, there weren't any people so we had them to ourselves. There is a beach nearby.BUT: as said, the boat is far form the city centre and there aren't many places to go to or eat in, except for the big commercial centre, about 10 minutes walk away. The boat is quite small so you have to bend over to go around most of the cabin. It keeps swaying and creaking so you may find it hard to sleep and especially if it is windy as it was during our stay, the whole boat starts to shake. The last night it rained and in the morning the roof leaked.

Disliked: Ralitsa left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Eilidh Hanratty

05 September 2009

Liked: The Port itself was great, most of the area is new and some still under construction. The port is surrounded with interesting, modern architecture and has a very urban feel. The beach near by is very nice. The facilities in the main building where the boat is docked (showers, toilet) were clean and very nice. The boat however was dirty and very smelly. The toilet on the boat was blocked and out of order and despite a note on the door appoligising for the fact that it was out of use had obviously been left uncleaned for quite some time. As the boat is small this was unbearable and very unhygenic, as the toilet door did not fully cover the entrance to the toilet.Although clean linen and towels were provided the living and sleeping environtment was thick with dust, ground in dirt on the windows, walls and floor. Food crumbs were found on polished surfaces and deck seating area. Also mouldy food in the fridge and a dirty glass with a dead fly in it! Not good enough.The seating area on the deck was filthy and the cushions were old, tattered and soiled. I don't mind staying in basic accomodation and have stayed in many hostels in britan and europe but this was unacceptable. My friend and I stayed one night on the boat and then asked to be moved to one of the groups other hostels which was much better. The member of the staff who helped us sort it out was more than helpful although the boat was not her responsibility.

Disliked: Eilidh left no negative feedback.