HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bohemia Barcelona

Hostel | Gran de Gracia 123, Barcelona, Spain 08012

87.2% Overall Rating

129 out of 140 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

"It's was in a great location. There isn't a ton of rooms (only 6-7) which means you never end up with a lot of people. They cleaned it every day (though not your rooms, but to me that's safer since you'll know if a…"

Read all Bohemia Barcelona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. On the day of your arrival, we would need you to call us when you reach Barcelona city center, in order to arrange key-collection since we do not have a fixed reception. .Check in is after 12:00 midday . For late arrivals there > is a surcharge: > a. From 22:00 to 00:00 = + 20 euros per room > b. After 00:00 (midnight) + 30 euros per room > c. After 02:00 (2am) + 40 euros

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hotel Via Augusta
38.26 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hip Hostel Barcelona
20.98 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Gracia City Hostel
23.09 USD

Hostel 90.3% 255 reviews
Sant Jordi Gracia
19.66 USD

Hostel 97.7% 114 reviews
Barcelona City Street
35.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Barcelona City North
34.74 USD

Apartment 88.4% 19 reviews
Barcelona City Seven
43.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
JAM HOSTEL BARCELONA
19.79 USD

Hostel 98.3% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

129 out of 140 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bohemia Barcelona'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 136 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very close to the metro, it's so convenient. Apartment inside was so nice, clean and tidy.

Disliked: That place have not any reception room or staff stay in there, it have a bit confused when the guys arrival in there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment is really nice, located in a very nice area with bars, restaurants, individual shops and close to the metro go see other places of the city.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I expected place when we can come after long days of walking accross Barcelona and spend our evenings nicely, rest during nights. And because of quite big kitchen, it was posibillity to make your own meals. So we all were glad of being there.

Disliked: None

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011

Liked: The building is beautiful.

Disliked: Very low temperature inside. Traffic noise outside. You did not have anyone from staff around.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi, Flat-screen TV with international channels, kitchen

Disliked: One of the bathrooms cannot be locked!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: privacy

Disliked: reception

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bohemia Barcelona is a cool place to stay if you're looking for a cheap, independant and clean place to stay in a friendly neighbourhood of Barcelona. Gracia is a great area to stay, full of nice shops and cafés, bursting with life night and day. Although it's away from the main tourist areas, those are easy to get to, metro Fontana is at your door and you can walk to Park Guëll (20min). As for Bohemia Barcelona, i enjoyed having my own keys, so that we could come and go as we wanted. Although bathrooms and kitchen are shared, this is a small hostel and we never had to wait to use them (nor lacked hot water in the showers!). We particularly appreciated the possibility to cook our own meals in the kitchen, saving time and money (there are several supermarkets nearby). There's also a sunny terrace where we could enjoyed breakfast and drinks before going out. Wi-fi was provided for free in the whole apartment.

Disliked: Not having a proper reception at the hostel can make things a little more complicated, especially to arrange key collection (don't forget to call them on arrival if you don't want to wait). The hostel is clean and provides anything one can need but could be better maintained... It is not spotless and it could use some heating in winter, especially in the bathrooms. One has a window broken, which provides "natural ventilation" and the lock is broken for the other one. We booked the double room, that is clean but quite small and dark (one small window) and can be noisy at night (ventilation noise coming from outside). Bed was OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice and comfortable apartament. It is situated in wonderful neighborhood: Gracia.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen

Disliked: It is quiste old. The handle of the room door and the flush for the toilet is broken

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room is big and with complete furniture...

Disliked: one of the bathrooms can´t be locked, and it´s not safe to stay out of the room at night, coz the roommates are crazy and yelling all night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere

Disliked: I had problems connecting to the Internet. I had to wait to check in.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mairead Collins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

15 November 2010

Liked: If it weren't for the noise this place is perfect. The room was bright and nicely furnished and comfortable. the kitchen is clean and well stocked for cooking. The showers are great and the communal areas are bright, clean and comfortable

Disliked: We did not get one full night's sleep. The hostel promotes itself (on literature within the hostel) as not being a party hostel and reminds residents that there is no heavy drinking or any noise after midnight. However, the communal areas each night were taken up with people drinking heavily and we were kept awake well after midnight. We are not anti-party people, we had been out in the local bars but needed our sleep on return. The hostel owners told us we should have rang them, but it takes 30 minutes for anyone to arrive and the onus should not be on residents to call (expensively) to have someone come over to ask people to be quiet. I did call on the last night but the reply was vague and by the time they arrived I had already asked the group (for a second time) to be quiet and they had gone out. The owners cannot expect to have an apartment with rooms suitable for large groups of people and NOT have parties but it is the responsibility of the owners to ensure the other residents can get sleep. They NEED to have someone there. I found it intimidating to have to (on the 2nd night) get up and tell a large group of very drunk men to be quiet. They moved into the kitchen so I got sleep but situations like this can become nasty when people are drunk and the owners do not have any concept of this. I would have loved to recommend this place because it is a great location and a wonderful place and we enjoyed a very pleasant welcome from Alberto but as my boyfriend has said, if you want sleep don't stay here. It's a real pity.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

11 November 2010

Liked: Very nice appartment in an old building. Well located: not a turistic location but nearby the city center. Nice and cheap restaurants in the neighborhood.

Disliked: Not very clean. The high ceilings make it really cold for the winter. The room doors don't close properly neither do the windows. Very noisy to sleep: you can ear all the traffic outside and the other people staying in the hostel can be quite loud when there is no permanent reception!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this price one can't have too high expectations. It's a low price for a low level place to stay, but if you're out of your room most of the time, just look for some basic comfort and a place to pass the night : why not? I was convinced by the price only, went there without any expectation, had a very small room but I didn't expect more so I was happy with that.

Disliked: It would have been good to have better sound insulation; I went there during the weekend and most of the people go out then. You really hear every step, every lockturn, every laugh... But OK, never mind, that's the only negative point I can think of. I didn't even hope for a space to sit outside and have a smoke/beer, but I got it, which was nice...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to live in Barcelona, it is a convenien area to get metroNo too far from city central. Cleaner come everyday!!

Disliked: No proper Reception counter in the accomodation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Salguero-Callejas

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 October 2010 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: that it was in a very good location, the place was nice and clean, easy acces to metro, and other locations, very very nice

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a good central area. It's a quaint, cozy hostel and we enjoyed the living room and patio.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Self catering facilities were excellent and the place is very close to the metro. Large room.

Disliked: Construction work started at 8am next door all 3 mornings we were there, which was irritating and the walls are quite thin.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010

Liked: it was quite close to a metro station

Disliked: the shared bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay! Meet some awesome kids from Belgium, it's right in the center of cool, clean, and a bargain for the money. PLUS, framed Clash poster in the living room and absolutely NO BED BUGS! :) So, if that's one of your concerns and it should be, you need not worry!

Disliked: lack of staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Akif Cem Heren

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Akif Cem would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mara Goodman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

26 August 2010 Mara would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment was much more elegantly appointed than I expected. It had a lovely sundeck, a handy kitchen, and spacious rooms. The bathrooms were also the best I have had in Europe.

Disliked: There was no internet!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Abigail Schachter

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2010 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the high ceilings and mosaics, great location on the Gran de Gracia

Disliked: It was very loud outside at night because of the busy street and there was no fan in our room, but the room was HUGE and perfect for our group. We had expected to be able to fit one more person (5 into a 4-person room) because the website said we could request a cot, but they wouldn't give us one since we asked for a 4-person room online.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shuo Lun Kng

18 June 2010 Shuo Lun would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! Was cheap, clean and spacious. The only down side was it was near the road and it was a little noisy when cars went past and people making noise. Besides that it was a great place to stay!

Disliked: Shuo Lun left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a pleasant stay. Single room is very small but usable and everything was perfectly clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.