We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A & A Arco Youth Hostel

Hostel | Arc de Santa Eulalia 1, Barcelona, Spain 08002

83.7% Overall Rating

195 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

"The location is fantastic, in the middle of Barrio Gotico, good walking distance to many places including metros. Stayed there during La Merce - a local festival - and many of the festivities were round the corner. It…"

Read all A & A Arco Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.16
  • Linen USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Sun and Moon Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 73.1% 867 reviews
A&A ( Palermo)
30.36 USD

Hostel 80.6% 68 reviews
Hotel Atlas
34.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Kabul Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 83.5% 1443 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
31.63 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
Cool Hostel
8.84 USD

Hostel 82.1% 146 reviews
ideal youth hostel
11.32 USD

Hostel 84.9% 10 reviews
Stay in bcn suites
56.93 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

195 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A & A Arco Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 211 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic, in the middle of Barrio Gotico, good walking distance to many places including metros. Stayed there during La Merce - a local festival - and many of the festivities were round the corner. It is down a side street, so keeps most of the noise out, however some drunkards passing by can wake you - but it's BCN!! Most staff I talked to were super friendly and easy to talk to, giving plenty of advice. Place was quite clean, lockers in the room to stash your stuff, basic breakfast provided and there was a common room and kitchen to use too. Great!

Disliked: I'm not bothered by this personally, however I know some people would be. There were no locks on the dormitory rooms, so in theory anyone staying there could snoop in your room. But the lockers are big enough to keep many possessions, even clothes, in so no probs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kara Handberg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to hostel from train station on metro. Street off of Las Ramblas. Travel Bar around the corner was very helpful and did the free walking tour and Spanish cooking class.

Disliked: Had to pay €2.50 for linen which we probably didn't need if the air conditioning wasn't on. Shared bathroom (3-4 toilets and showers) which was fairly clean, could be cleaner. Not enough sockets to charge electronics. Breakfast very basic - toast and cereal.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Garrett Preikschas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Garrett would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Fuery

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 January 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff nice showers

Disliked: Poor choice of breakfast

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lydia Stott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and quiet. The room wasn't too full so you could sleep. VERY good location and lovely staff.

Disliked: Not much of a party but that is ok.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yiyang chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 yiyang would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location ~ and helpful stuff ~!!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing....

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Majdlik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 October 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very helpful if you need anything. It was also good meeting some of my room mates. There is not much more you can ask for when the location is right in the middle of Barcelona! If I come back I will defiantly be staying here again.

Disliked: Nothing. Just 3 stories up but not very bad.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location, the staff are super nice. I stayed at 3 hostels in Barcelona and this one is my favourite.

Disliked: The showers could be a little cleaner but that is being a bit picky.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is top-notch. Overall I loved the atmosphere between the travellers. The staff is very friendly and professional; they were often very helpful as for suggestions of places to go and things to do. We could come back at whatever time of the night or day because there was always a staff member at the front desk. It truly felt safe.

Disliked: Sometimes the bathrooms weren't always that clean, and the fridge was most often too full, which meant that it was hard to find space for our food.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hollie Seanor

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2013 Hollie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close this hostel was to the main attractions of Barcelona. I found the staff to be extreemly helpfull and kind- as i had my bag stolen. They really looked after me and made me feel safe.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AUDRIUS CERNIAUSKAS

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 AUDRIUS would recommend this property

Liked: A place worth going. Good atmosphere inside and just few steps away from main street, from metro. I had a great time and met new friends

Disliked: AUDRIUS left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Candice Moule

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome. For the money it was good value and the location was amazing.

Disliked: Although there were two plug sockets once you had an adapter in you could only fit one plug in, as I was a single person in a room for eight charging phone etc was a bit hit and miss.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relatively convenient location, lockers provided, minimal breakfast included

Disliked: had to pay for linens, internet ok but not great, bathrooms not very clean, bunk beds very low

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nicole TAMSETT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 June 2013

Liked: the staff on reception, helpful always offered to help and charged my phone for me due to lack of powerpoints in the room! in the city centre off las ramblas. internet in rooms.

Disliked: the doors to the rooms do not lock, had to pay for sheets and towels, one power point for 6 people!! only lockers to secure your valuables, showers werent the cleanest

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Engledow

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

27 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and always easy to have a chat with someone, the staff were super helpful on most occasions. but the location was key, right in the heart of las ramblas puts you at the epicentre of barca giving you the oppertunity to branch out and explore from there. 19/10

Disliked: Usually would be a bit expensive, but we got it half price so we cant complain :D

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marie-Luise Zierenner

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013

Liked: centrally located

Disliked: cleanliness you had to pay extry for a sheet + blanket breakfast was only zwieback (could have been more)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Gadeborg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 April 2013 Malin would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, strange no alcohol policy but ok to take some drinks. Nice with the sheets and tissels - hit extra for the beach

Disliked: Malin left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Georgina Dainty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013

Liked: location was really good

Disliked: Too many rules, the airconditioning didnt work and it was RIDICULOUSLY HOT- staff were unsympathetic about it. You have to buzz to get in every time you enter the building. Atmoshere was dull...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: GUESTS

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

owen dungworth

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 October 2012 owen would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean, central, though away from the nosiest parts of Las Ramblas. The receptionist was great, he had a ton of knowledge about where to go, very helpful. Free internet, free use of computer, lounge to chill out in. Useful to be able to wash clothes (inexpensive). The beds were good. Fans in rooms (though I prefer them to air conditioning). Compared to some of the other nearby hostels that others in our group had booked, this was a lot better. I will definitely come back!

Disliked: Compared to the amount of guests the washroom facilities are limited (though not a lot of people stayed there, so this was not a huge problem) But again they were clean and they cleaned the washrooms regularly. The kitchen facilities could be improved, but again the place was kept clean.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Louise Neervoort

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 September 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: We were overcharged for our booking by a significant amount when we paid the balance upon arrival. We later checked the daily rate of the room per person and also asked other travellers what they had paid - this turned out to be substantially less thank we had paid. We tried to bring the issue up twice with 2 different staff members at reception, explaining that we had been over charged. They basically shrugged their shoulders and said that there's nothing they could do. We gave up and decided to absorb the loss and review the hostel on trip Advisor instead. Other than this issue, the hostel was OK. bedrooms are fairly clean but toilets are not.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Judith Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Provides breakfast, location is good, wifi was good in the common areas, good place to just rest your head for a night (especially in transit).

Disliked: Very basic youth hostel, there aren't many in Faro so you don't have many options. This one is fine for the price and pretty close to everything in town. However you don't get a key for the room, so safety and security in the room isn't the best (although there are lockers) and the bathrooms always had a funny smell to them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and the place was pretty clean. Great location - really close to beach, metro, la Rambla, la Boqueria, etc. Internet was reliable and fast.

Disliked: The facilities weren't in the greatest condition. Hard to get bathroom doors to latch, etc. While the location can be quiet at times as they say, you are in the center of town so you may hear people outside your window partying late and I was once woken up by someone on the street having a yelling match.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel. It was probably our favorite place to stay at during our trip. It was in a wonderful location. Right next to an amazing market and lots of restaurants and entertainment. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. Everyone was very friendly and the staff was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: We were in a room where lots of people would stay out late and come back loudly in the early morning. Though that was not the hostels fault.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ronnie Waite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Ronnie would recommend this property

Liked: The character, the staff, the variety of travellers who network and meet up. One of the best Hostels I´ve stayed in. It´s just absoluteley magnificent. A great time and a great place to stay to meet other places. Loads of Character aswell.

Disliked: Not much. The place was pretty spot on. Theres meant to be no alcohol, but people still drink there at night time anyways.