We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Hostal Orleans

Guesthouse | Avda. Marqués de Argentera, 13, city center, Barcelona, Spain 08018

92.2% Overall Rating

131 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/10/2013)

Olga Nikonova thinks…

"The location is perfect both for those, who want to enjoy excellent beaches and those, who prefer strolling trough the interesting quarters. All that you need for comfortable staying is here: cosy…"

Read all AWA Hostal Orleans reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

“Please note that after you have made a booking on the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AWA Nuevo Colon
20.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 45 reviews
Som Nit Born
23.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Equity Point Gothic
7.97 USD

Hostel 83.7% 665 reviews
Best Location in the Old city of Barcelona
44.28 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
27.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Albergue New York
12.64 USD

Hostel 80.6% 642 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 24 reviews
SHS APARTMENT & HOTEL IN BARCELONA, S.L.
28.46 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

131 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Hostal Orleans'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 137 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that we were provided with towels and soap and that the room and bathroom were cleaned every day and I especially enjoyed the location, that it was not far from anywhere.

Disliked: nothing particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free wifi is a plus! Great location; across the street from Estacio de Franca and easy to get to from Estacio de Sants on the subway/metro line (which is different from the train lines). I was a little apprehensive when I saw the outside of the building and after climbing the numerous stairs with a 45 pound suitcase (hostel claims to be on the “1st floor” but after 3 flights of stairs, it’s NOT the 1st floor! What we consider in the States to be the 1st floor, Europeans call it the ground floor or floor “0”… 2nd floor in the U.S. to the Europeans it’s the 1st floor,etc..). But I was pleasantly surprised with the room. We got a private room with ensuite, which was clean and décor is up-to-date. It seemed more like a hotel than a hostel since it included towels, linens, and toiletries at no extra charge. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and held our luggage for no extra charge on the day of check-out.

Disliked: No elevator; makes it hard with luggage, so I would not recommend if you have heavy luggage, a lot of it, or have a bad back!! Also, we stayed there during the winter and the radiator was not warming up the room, the staff controls the central unit and even though we were told they had turned it up, the room was still cold but we used the extra blankets and it was enough to sleep through the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethan Stuckey

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and offers facilities I wasn't expecting at a hostel and at this price, like a hairdryer and towels and sachets of shower gel. We were offered a choice of two rooms, one with a view and one we were told was quieter as it was internal so we chose that. The hostel itself is very nicely decorated. The location is fantastic, right by the Gothic area and the beach. The staff were friendly, although we didn't need much from them.

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing to dislike about this property. It is excellent value for money and if I go back to Barcelona I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: nil

Disliked: directions on train is wrong,train does not stop at estacio franca, we end up some place very far away from barcelona at 1 am.arrived the property later than expected and received a very unwelcoming sarcasm from staff.another staff could not understand English at all, let alone speak! staff was unfriendly when ask to help with closing window

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amber van der Graaf

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 January 2011 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and i stayed in a private room with an ensuite which was quite nice :) as it was an anniversary trip the option of such privacy was really great. that and the location were excellent about this hostel! also the place is technically a two star hotel as well so our towels and such were refreshed daily which was also very nice.

Disliked: some of the items in our room weren't working as well as they could, our shower head for instance was quite loose. apart from that there was not much to complain about!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, helpfull staff, close to the train station la Franca, 10 min walk to las ramblas. The outside of the house is not very appealing and nor the staircase, but the inside is fine !

Disliked: Outer apearance, everything else was ok its a clean hostel to stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool

Disliked: no parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alla Lovina

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Alla would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location, excellent price, clean and cosy room itself, extremely friendly and helpful staff (special thanks go to Eddie!)

Disliked: no elevator (can be not very comfortable for those with many bags & suitcases, but not essential)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its awesome place.very very clean...n neat...n its complete value for money n would recommend it to evryone.....staff is very cooperative...m happy to be there...it rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: nothing to dislike

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean rooms with toilet and bath!

Disliked: No fridge to put own food in

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

22 November 2010

Liked: The location was excellent but that is the only positive I can recall

Disliked: The staff were blunt and we found it difficult to communicate as we speak no spanish and they speak no english (excluding one lady), we were told breakfast was included but the place doesnt even do breakfast or have anywhere you could possibly have breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Victoria Crook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Great location less than a minute from Estacio de Franca!

Disliked: A bit expensive, but then that's Barcelona.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanness

Disliked: teh money I paid was a bit high

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010

Liked: The location.

Disliked: does not have an elevator.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, comfortable rooms. Exceeded our expectations. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Steps away from the Barcelona Zoo.

Disliked: On a busy street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff & location

Disliked: point 7: don't know haven't checked

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was only a few blocks from the beach and the metro line. The staff was very nice and respectful and the room was cleaned every day.

Disliked: Our room was by the street, so it was somewhat noisy at night but not to be unexpected in a big city.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michal Bukowski

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2010 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean nice rooms , air con , great location.

Disliked: Unhelpfull staff , nobody speak english , no free internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, cleanliness, location and its being cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camila Rocha

13 June 2010 Camila would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel in my trip in Europe. It is more like a comfort hotel: towels, bath tube, hair dryer, cleaning service daily, shampoo, bath foam, etc. And very clean.The staff is also very friendly.For the breakfast, you can have one in the Adriatico bar, which have great sandwiches and coffee.

Disliked: Camila left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very recomendable. Clean, chip and great location. Free wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELISE RALPH

04 May 2010 ELISE would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a lovely (albeit a bit noisy) location, just up the road from the marina and beaches, 10 mins walk from the Ramblas along the sea front, the back streets of the hostel are quaint and trendy. It's fairly near a metro as well as the train station. We would all go back there. The staff were friendly and helpful, though their English was limited, they were really nice, every one of them. We'd recommend ear plugs as the traffic could get noisy, but for value for money, with a small balcony as well, we were all very pleased. Our room just about had enough room for the 4 beds for us to walk between, so it was a bit 'cosy', but towels were changed every day, the room had a large wardrobe, the shower was always hot and powerful. Not for less abled travellers because of the stairs, but we would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: ELISE left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to the city center, but thats about it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naila Mukhtarova

18 March 2010 Naila would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything!!! STRONGLY RECOMMEND! :)

Disliked: Naila left no negative feedback.