HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Hostal Orleans

Guesthouse | Avda. Marqués de Argentera, 13, city center, Barcelona, Spain 08018

92.2% Overall Rating

131 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/10/2013)

Olga Nikonova thinks…

"The location is perfect both for those, who want to enjoy excellent beaches and those, who prefer strolling trough the interesting quarters. All that you need for comfortable staying is here: cosy…"

Read all AWA Hostal Orleans reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

“Please note that after you have made a booking on the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AWA Nuevo Colon
1.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 45 reviews
Som Nit Born
37.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Equity Point Gothic
9.30 USD

Hostel 83.8% 664 reviews
Best Location in the Old city of Barcelona
44.28 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
33.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Albergue New York
15.18 USD

Hostel 78.6% 641 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
24.67 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 24 reviews
SHS APARTMENT & HOTEL IN BARCELONA, S.L.
28.46 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

131 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Hostal Orleans'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 137 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie challis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 julie would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful good location

Disliked: no lift

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm had a wonderful time!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Abundance of flyers about activities and clubs. Internet and WI-FI. Our room had a small balcony.

Disliked: Regardless of what booking confirmation says, there is no direct train from airport to Estacio Francia. Switch trains at Sants or take sub from Sants to Barceloneta and walk from there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adriana ivan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 adriana would recommend this property

Liked: location and clearliness

Disliked: the stairs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to shops and a short walk from the centre of the hustle and bustle of the seaside.

Disliked: Towels were sometimes stained because of their problems with the "laundry service".

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was fine for the money we payed

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bas Del Tin

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals

19 August 2011 Bas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Airconditioning in the room.

Disliked: TV didn't work, but after telling the staff we got a free drink and they fixed the tv while we were gone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location - close to metro station and 10min walk to La Rambla. Really clean and secure! Enjoyed my stay here, lovely hostel would reccomend to friends. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to estacion franca

Disliked: nothing, but we only stayed there for a short night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lee Francis

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2011 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed one night at the start of a trip also staying at vilanova. After surviving a bag snatch attempt on that first day we asked if we could leave our bags at the hostel for the afternoon before flight on last day of trip.even though we were not actually staying that night the hostel staff agreed.

Disliked: Our room was nearest reception and some late night talking disturbed our sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miao Cao

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Miao would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, clean and nice room

Disliked: no lift

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, close to the metro station and right by a hop on hop off bus stop. It is a family run business and the man who was there most of the time is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We had a room facing the street so there was a lot of street noise at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, cean hostel located about a 15 minute walk to the beach, and 15 minute walk to all of the main parts of barcelona. Great price for the location.

Disliked: Tiny shower, and if you turned the water on to hard it leaked all over the floor and into the apartment below. But everything else was great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lung Sang Chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Lung Sang would recommend this property

Liked: It is a safe place since we haven't lost anything in that hotel. However the key is public to all of the customer to take. There is a 24 hours staff to take care of customers and keys. There is a conditioner and the bed is very comfortable. The staff are nice and the environment is beautiful.

Disliked: It is safe but if you are highly cocern about your properties, it may be a question. There is a case in the room so you can put your important things inside the case.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Absolutely EVERYTHING from rundown, poorly furnished facilities to DISGUSTING customer service. The trip started off as a pleasant experience. Although we arrived a little too early to check-in, fortunately we were kindly greeted by a member of staff and that's about the only good thing i could think off. Things only started to turn ugly at night when we were about to retire to bed. The wooden planks supporting the bed was falling out of place (literally on the floor) just when one of us sat on the bed. When shown to the staff on duty, it seemed like it was an ordinary thing??. Also, one of the beds felt literally like metal wires, it made sleeping very uncomfortable, and if you think that's it, then you're wrong- all these were just the beginning of what constitutes the worst hostel stay ever. The next day, we were out all day long and only managed to reach the hostel at about 9-10pm. Just when one of us finished using the toilet we noticed a leak situated at the vicinity of the toilet bowl. So as compliant guests, we informed the staff on duty about the leak and following inspection he said there was some sort of material (i.e cotton tissue etc.) causing blockage to the water flow. We knew it wasn't our fault because we didn't throw anything into it. The worst thing was we were presented with a mop and we had to do the mopping ourselves, which was absolutely ridiculous. Upon careful deliberations we thought it might be our fault so we took the liberty of looking at the mess and we realised that it was the pipe supplying the water into the toilet bowl tank and not the toilet bowl itself that was leaking. Now if you think carefully, how on earth could we have caused that pipe to get stuck, it is just not possible. The only way for it to get clogged up was to have sands and stones supply, instead of water supply. We suspect that the main problem was the deterioration of the outerlayer of the pipe causing it to crack but they seem to think otherwise and when requested to change room, as the leak couldn't be fixed, we were informed that no spare rooms were available and we were left with a room that might turn what we call the city of water, Venice. In the morning the whole bathroom was literally flooded and we told the staff again and this time the lady came in and mopped the floor, but the whole room smelt so dreadful we had to quickly pack up and move our luggage into the luggage room. We were very dissatisfied with the experience so we decided to request a discount or some sort of compensation, but the lady on duty WAS being AWFULLY RUDE and ATTROCIOUS. Her attitude and demeanor made waiters in ChinaTown seemed like angels. She even went on a ramble of accusing us of spoiling their toilet, but never considered the fact that it might be the condition of their rundown toilet that has caused the leak. In the end, she was very DISRESPECTFUL and demanded us to pay the amount in full, we were only given discount of 10 euros but the original price was around 180. Following payment, we told them we would tell our friends never to come here and she ignorantly said OK, NO PROBLEM. To me money has become a secondary issue here, we NEVER RECEIVED an apology and got accused on top of that. Conclusion, STAY AWAY AT ALL COST unless you want to experience the most offensive treatment you can ever imagine. Stay here and you risk being accused by the Devil of the Underworld.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Berkovich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, and despite the language barrier tried to answer questions, even if that meant using google translate, i appreciated the effort. the room was cleaned daily, and was well maintained in general. we had a tv and bathroom in the room.

Disliked: slightly low ceilings above a set of stairs, it required one to be careful no to bump their head.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Southon

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Really great area with loads of nice bars, restaurants and shops, close to main sights. Really well decorated inside, looked very modern and new, Would definitely recommend for couples. The rooms have air-con, hairdryers, nice ensuite bathroom, toiletries.

Disliked: Climbing the stairs got a bit annoying but other than that it was a perfect place to stat and I would definitely stay there again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Beatriz Alfaro Serrano

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2011 Beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, good location

Disliked: Small rooms, thin walls, you can hear your neighbors from your room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tung Nguyen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Tung would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, staff are friendly

Disliked: hard to find as the train from the airport has been temporarily suspended

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin cooper

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2011 colin would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, minutes from the seafront and close to all the nightlife

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was very clean and high standart bathroom.

Disliked: Can't say anythink bad about our hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joseph Fishburn

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful room! Staff very friendly and helpful! Great location! I got exactly what I expected.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about. :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good location, right opposite estacio fraca train station and about 5 minutes to the metro and the staffs are friendly enough.

Disliked: no wifi and kitchen i think and sometimes the staffs looked not that friendly (but well i know they were)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amber gerrard

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 March 2011 amber would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Nothing it was very pleasant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Moura

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good and the hostel itself.

Disliked: Nothing