HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arian Youth Hostel

Hostel | Av. Mare de Déu de Montserrat, 251, Barcelona, Spain 08032

84.0% Overall Rating

170 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2013)

Samuel Paquini thinks…

"This place is amazing! Best hostel I've stayed in by far. Awesome friendly and helpful staff, trust me when I say they take care of you. Locations is outside the main city which is awesome cuz the…"

Read all Arian Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.14
  • Linen USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 2.76

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. WE ONLY ACCEPT MASTERCARD AND VISA. ANY RESERVATION MADE WITH A DIFFERENT CARD WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT LOST! - There will be a prepayment of 2 nights after booking which is not refundable in case of cancelation. - If you book for more than 5 nights, the property will charge you the first 3 nights after booking which is not refundable in case of cancelation. - Bookings on Holy Week period will not be refundable in case of cancellation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hillview Barcelona
9.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sant Jordi Sagrada Familia
13.67 USD

Hostel 95.3% 1105 reviews
Confortel Bel-Art
37.98 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Sagrada Familia Hotel
65.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Graffiti Hostel
10.48 USD

Hostel 70.9% 248 reviews
Feetup Garden House Hostel Barcelona
16.89 USD

Hostel 90.5% 300 reviews
Barcelona Nice & Cozy guest house
20.58 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 188 reviews
Urbany Hostel Barcelona
10.91 USD

Hostel 86.5% 1593 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

170 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arian Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 162 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas muller

20 June 2010 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: In few words. - the best!!Tks Arian

Disliked: thomas left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shelly Hoyer

20 June 2010 Shelly would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the owners! They were very helpful and so nice! The place was a little difficult to find. The streets in Barcelona are confusing in themselves though. The bedroom was very clean, the bathrooms could have had a few more accommodations but the shower was always hot! (no paper towels, sometimes the sinks weren't wiped up, and sometimes no toilet paper).

Disliked: Shelly left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff happily digged up sewing kit for me, iron for bunk-mate. I managed to sleep 17 hrs in 3 long runs during the day (traveling through, extreme case of exhaustion), and the place was really quiet and comfy. (between 12pm-5am on a saturday)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personal muy amable y capacitado.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Paul McCain

18 June 2010

Liked: This hostel, when you first arrive, seems nice. The owner is almost overly friendly, outlining a map of the city for you and showing you around the place when you arrive. It is well furnished and everything is fairly clean and modern. Nice kitchen, tiled floors, OK main WC. But we quickly found out why it was in good shape- no one stays there, so there's nothing to clean! We stayed for 7 nights, left a day early, and over the entire course of our stay, there were a total of less than 10 other people in and out. We stayed in a 14-bed dorm, and it was just the two of us for much of our stay. It was deserted. During the day, the only sign of life was the non-English-speaking receptionist, who lives upstairs, loudly blasting Iran folk music and singing along (speaker system through all the hallways). This hostel does not have any locks on the room doors, although you do get your own locker next to your bed for no charge, lock included. But the front door of the hostel is locked 24/7, and you have to hit a button and be buzzed in. If the receptionist was always at the desk, this system would be fine. But often, (as she is the only employee), she is off doing her own laundry, cleaning the kitchen, or something else, and you have to wait 5-15 minutes outside before she shows up or the owner comes running to the door to unlock it from across the street. This happened almost every time we came back to the hostel, no matter what time of day.If you want to go out at night, you better leave before 11- because at whatever point the receptionist gets tired, she goes to bed and locks and gates the door shut. You're either forced to awkwardly knock on her door so you can get out, or leave earlier and buzz in when you get back- she'll wake up and come open the door if you're lucky. 24-hour reception MY ASS.And the kicker? NO ALCOHOL ALLOWED IN THE BUILDING. How does it call itself a Youth Hostel with no alcohol allowed? There's a lare kitchen area where you could possibly hang out with people, if there were other people there, but it closes at midnight, and the receptionist will come around shushing you at any time of the day if you're talking too loud because "there could be people sleeping," although she still blares god-awful music to her heart's content.Overall, the furnishing is nice, but that is the only good thing. Why you should NEVER stay here:-NO Alcohol.-NO 24-Hour reception (lies here and on their own site)-CURFEW-Not the best location, 20 minute metro to the Barceloneta (beach) stop-TERRIBLE atmosphere-Charge for towels and timed-push-button showers-Sketchy, weak wifi signalI sincerely hope you are not tempted to "take your chances" based on the low price. It is NOT worth it. Spend a little more and stay at one of the many well-run hostels right near the beach or closer to the main city.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Warwick Stephens

16 June 2010 Warwick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean place within 2 tube journeys of the centre and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Warwick left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

janet lim

08 June 2010 janet would recommend this property

Liked: 100% Arian the owner is FANTASTICO! He and his sister are extremely helpful and wonderful! It was a bit far from the center, but it was 2 minutes from a metro and so it was very convenient. For a peaceful restful stay where you can sleep and relax. this is it!

Disliked: janet left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

05 June 2010

Liked: Availability

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 June 2010

Liked: Not really anything. It was kind of a pain to get to from the main train station, you had to take a 20 minute subway train. Once you got there the owner does not give out keys and was not even home when we arrived so we had to ring the door bell for 5 minutes. Once we finally got in he over charged us 10 euro each because we had changed out booking about 2 weeks before we arrived. Then he argued with us about our reservation, a really rude guy. Above everything after all of this uncalled arguing about inconveniencing him, there were only 2 other people staying in the hostel other than us. Then there was a 10 euro deposit for the locker key, that was located in your room. There is not a key for the front door, so if you plan on coming and going good luck. We didn't even want to think about going out because he made it seem like an inconvenience to him to open the door late night and we had to tell him the time we would be arriving... The internet hardly works., they shut their rec room at midnight so, you can't sit comfortable and be on your computer or watch tv, and internet does not work in the rooms. Above everything, the lady that works there is a sweetheart and she was SO informative and helpful about site seeing around Barcelona. The next morning we were appalled when the owner would not let us leave our luggage until 3 pm when we were leaving even though there were only 2 people booked in the big hostel. Not a fun environment and we realized we could have stayed SO much closer to the center of Barcelona for the same price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Zellmer

03 June 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk workers were nice and extremely helpful! The hostel was conveniently placed fairly close to the metro making it easily accessible to lots of the sights and was only about a 20-30 minute walk to Park Guell. The kitchen was a nice lounge area to hang out in, but it would've been nice if it were later or all the time.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arian Hostel is very good hostel.It was clean, the staff were very nice and helpful, provided useful tips to get around Barcelona . Its easy to get to the center, its about 10 mins by metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was poor,just cereal.staff was very helpful.it only takes a few minutes to sagrada familia and there are also night buses.if you want to spend some time just for sleeping,this hostel suits you..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is so nice and helpful, he is a really good guy! The hostel is clean and nice and I had a great time here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Castle

23 May 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, in a good neighborhood with lots of shops, a very helpful staff and close to metro.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ras

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Magnus Fain

23 April 2010 Magnus would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice albeit a little disinterested, there was only one shower and one toilet for the men though and from the amount of people there there were frequently lines to use the facilities. Alcohol was not allowed to be consumed in the building which we found an odd rule and we were not given a key to the front door which was a bit inconvenient since the receptionists/owners were frequently not there. All in all it was a good stay for cheap however, helpful staff when present, a decent kitchen area, free wifi, decent location etc.

Disliked: Magnus left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and the place was well kept up. The one thing I did not like was the 2 euro 50 centimes charge for linens that they wanted me to pay even though I had a sleeping bag. Also, the kitchen was not super well equipped but still adequate.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Stephen Hanss

05 April 2010

Liked: The matresses were pretty nice.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

OMAR RONQUILLO

05 April 2010 OMAR would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good hostel, i met really cool people there, the only thing that i didn't like is that the owners charge you 2.5 € for clean blankets which has no sense because you pay for everything, but generally i liked it

Disliked: OMAR left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jessica kerman

21 March 2010 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful and full of information.

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lockers in the rooms, clean bathrooms, helpful (english speaking) staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best I've ever been on. Staff is AWESOME (Except for the bald guy. hes no help. but the other make more than up to him). Clean, GREAT location, good (but simple) breakfast. Not the cheapest but still unexpensive and worth the price. The only thing is that you may be (gently) kicked out on your last day after the max. checkout time if there are people waiting downstairs to sleep, because they wanna be nice to the people coming in. Will definetly stay there whenever I need a hotel in Barcelona.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.