HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Be Mar Hostel

Hostel | Carrer Sant Pau 80, Barcelona, Spain 08001

84.3% Overall Rating

602 out of 659 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/09/2014)

"The rooms are really nice, the lockers are big enough to put all your laggage. Each bed has a plug and a light and the room has A/C. The shower room it is quite good, has enough showers and hot water. The hostel in…"

Read all Be Mar Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Linen USD 3.16
  • Towel USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Cancellation policy is 24 hours. You can cancel your booking the day before you arrive before 12 mid-day. If not you have to pay for the first night and the rest of the booking is cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hotel Barbara
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.7% 5 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
12.52 USD

Hostel 92.7% 401 reviews
Be Ramblas Hostel
34.16 USD

Hostel 86.3% 279 reviews
Hotel Principal
75.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Downtown Paraiso Hostel
36.69 USD

Hostel 87.4% 731 reviews
Welcome Inn
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 90 reviews
Center-Ramblas Barcelona
13.85 USD

Hostel 79.3% 349 reviews
Apartments Ramblas Massana
25.30 USD

Apartment 83.5% 156 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

602 out of 659 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Be Mar Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 403 of 448 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really nice, the lockers are big enough to put all your laggage. Each bed has a plug and a light and the room has A/C. The shower room it is quite good, has enough showers and hot water. The hostel in general is very nice and clean. The staff is super friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The safety has to be imrpoved

Disliked: Safety( 3 phones from stolen from the rooms)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Brooks

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff. Fast checkin. Amazing atmosphere and great laughs

Disliked: Nothing at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

STEVE DIXON

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014 STEVE would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were informative. Value for money.

Disliked: 16 BED ROOM WAS A BIT SMALL BUT WE MANAGED

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Farryn Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Farryn would recommend this property

Liked: Right from the moment we got there the Staff were super helpful and gave us advice on everything from activities, to restaurants, banks, subway tickets, help to book flights and more! Nothing was ever a problem. They offer two really good free walking tours which are super informative and gave us a really good view of the city and confidence to do other activities ourselves. he hostel itself was very standard issue, we were in a 6 bed mixed room and found it to have enough space with really secure big lockers. The location is awesome, only a 5 min walk from Las Ramblas! I was a little wary about booking in this area as past reviews had said it was dodgey. we (2 young girls) never had any issue coming and going from the hostel and there is good security on the front door. there definitely are a few drunks etc around but you find that anywhere in the main areas of Barcelona and is just part of the vibe of the city, we never felt unsafe because of it! The cleaners at the hostel were always thorough and they supply a really good standard free breakfast! All in all our stay was really enjoyable, especially for the price and we would definitely recommend it to travelers!

Disliked: Farryn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Woodham

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing stay with Be Mar Hostel!! First time in Barcelona and will defiantly stay there again! Was clean and cosy, the beds were very comfortable and the toilets and showers both clean and work well. Cant fault it, GO TO BE MAR!!!!!!!!

Disliked: It went too quick:(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Giles

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice small apartment, literally 2 minutes walk from Las Ramblas. Staff at the main hostel were very friendly. Also the apartment is located next to wok and walk which is awesome when you're drunk! A very reasonably priced place to stay for couples. Nice balcony.

Disliked: Air conditioning broken, only enough hot water for 1 shower daily, Balcony door didn't lock. The area, although very central, was in a very rough part of the City. Not to be stayed in if you're the nervous type, lots of men standing around looking menacing, prostitutes & pimps, phone shops, p*ssed up northerners etc.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near La Rambla! Double Room was clean and safe.

Disliked: Breakfast was quite poor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Venturi

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Near the Rambla, easy to find. With the same key you can open the hostel door, the room door and the box locker

Disliked: The bed was too short for me (I'm 183cm tall)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2013

Liked: Not alot

Disliked: No atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff,,great athmosphere and helpful people. I just loved the lockers,they are quite big and secure.

Disliked: showers could be better.One had no hot water,other no cold water,and other was unstable.But it had enough to take good ones.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tara Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it felt like home. The staff weren't awkward and there was no curfew.

Disliked: There was never any hot water, the heating didn't work and the breakfast and coffee were pretty average.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: The location in relation to the metro was good. Easily accessible and also near La Rambla. Also the small balcony was cute.

Disliked: First of all, we reserved 6 nights in an apartment with kitchenette and private bathroom. We have done this in another city so we expected our experience to be as good as the first. Three days before we arrived in Barcelona, we received an email saying that due to technical and maintenance problems we were being moved to a twin room (2 twin beds) with a shared bathroom. There was no mention of any discount or free night so I emailed back saying that we would appreciate the first night free since this was out of our control and not what we asked for. They responded saying that we would have to pay the full price for the twin room instead of the price for the apartment (no mention of even a discount). I emailed back saying that we could not, in good spirit and principle, accept to pay full price for a room we didn't originally reserve because of problems out of our control. It wasn't until THEN that they said, ''Ok we will give you 50% off your first night.'' We weren't too happy that it took us bothering them enough just for the offer. Upon arrival we wanted to pay with our card, only to be surprised that if you pay with a foreign bank card they add 7 % to your total, which was never explained anywhere on their website when we booked. We had to leave in the middle of checking in to go get cash and come back and then wait while someone else was being checked in. The lady at the desk didn't smile once and it wasn't a very warm welcome at all. We arrived a bit early so they let us go to our room to leave our luggage (with the understanding that it wouldn't be clean yet). We left our luggage and came back many hours later to find the apartment only semi-clean (from how we had seen it in its previous state). The floors hadn't been swept, objects had just been removed like trash, etc (there was still a pair of socks from the previous renters).The bathroom smelled horrible. While the sheets smelled clean, there was a big yellow stain on the duvet cover (on the underside so hopefully we wouldn't see it?). Also the towels weren't very clean. We went to complain at the front desk and they said they could give us new sheets and towels etc. but that they couldn't have anyone come properly clean it until the next day and that WE had to pass by the front desk to remind them the next morning. No thanks! Not very professional if you ask me. For the price we were paying for our private room, we expected to be treated as if it was a hotel and not a hostel (seeing as the apartments are down the street from the actual hostel). I guess we will think twice next time. For us, we were on the 4th floor, the noisy street wasn't a HUGE problem. We never heard anyone in the other apartments, but the street just added to the ambiance of being in a vibrant and busy city.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpful staff,for this money - ideal property

Disliked: there was about +8 C in Barcelona - and it was a bit cold in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lubos Dolezal

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Lubos would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel on Perfect location near Ramblas. Friendly staff and very nice room with enough of room. We were not in the main building of hostel, but this separe apartman is very nice and silent.

Disliked: Basic breakfast (only toast, cheap nutella, margarine and musli. tea and something like coffee ). Our room was far from main hostel building, but finaly it was good because this room is closely to la rambla. Non funcional fridge.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julian Evans

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 April 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Typical urban youth hostel atmosphere, free breakfast, plenty of interesting things on the walls, huge lockers

Disliked: Toilets need updating, no plates at breakfast, lots of people making noise in the reception area late at night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eleanor Derry

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 April 2013 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean, basic facilities. It was great value for money given that breakfast was included. The rooms and shared areas were clean and the showers were spacious and organised well.

Disliked: The staff really weren't very helpful when we arrived. The hostel is a very noisy one, big party vibe so if you're on a sightseeing trip and want a good nights sleep I'd stay elsewhere. There were a couple of stag does staying there so it's not all backpackers and the corridors got really noisy throughout the night. The location is very central but you need to be careful late at night on the side streets, especially if female.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Sheridan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, a very clean and nice hostel. The breakfast was also great

Disliked: It was very big so it didnt have as much character, but still a great place to stay!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big spacious area with kitchen and lounge area as well as comfortable beds.

Disliked: It was a little walk away from check-in. There were no towels and we had to walk back to the check in area and purchase the towels for €2.50 each. They could have mentioned this during check in but no one did.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Nomarhas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the apartment and it was fantastic! Big bedroom, own kitchen, bathroom and living room.

Disliked: We could only stay there one night as it was booked for the rest of our stay in Barcelona

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

RONEN COHEN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: the stuff wanted to help.

Disliked: that it is in a very bad location.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dimitri Gryl

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 September 2012 Dimitri would recommend this property

Liked: Good place

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: loved that they had lockers in the room to lock up your belongings that also gave you access to your room, free internet great as well, breakfast was nice

Disliked: showers got a little crowded when everyone was trying to go out at the same time, 4 showers for the whole hostel, and 1 didnt work, 1 without shower curtain

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Middleton

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

08 September 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 5 minute walk onto La Ramblas so it's close enough to the action without being too close for you to be able to get some sleep if needs be, also just round the corner from Paral Lel metro station so it's easy to get around the city from there. Good showers, clean beds, friendly staff, met some great fellow travellers and the organised pub crawls were always a laugh and good value for money.

Disliked: Could have done with a bar, but there were a few just around the corner so it wasnt like we went without.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loction, location, location! So close to La Ramla & short stroll to the beach!

Disliked: Due to no terrace or outdoor area, it's hard to get to know other people staying & to be able to sit around & casually have a drink.