HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Be Mar Hostel Barcelona Hostel

Carrer Sant Pau, nr. 80, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 2.50EUR
  • Luggage Room 2.00EUR
  • Towel 2.50EUR

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

Cancellation policy is 24 hours. You can cancel your booking the day before you arrive before 12 mid-day. If not you have to pay for the first night and the rest of the booking is cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Good location close to metro and within walking distance of many of the sites. We got a refund for the first night because it was so awful (see below) but we only stayed there because nowhere else was available (Barcelona Grand Prix was on that weekend).

Disliked: Walls in the room were were allocated were filthy. We changed rooms to one one that was slightly less dirty. Room was in building next to the main hostel, and could only be accessed by going up a dodgy flight of stairs with dangerous broken tiles. Had to open four locked doors to get to room. Despite advertising wi-fi being available it did not reach as far as our room. Bare wires in the bathroom, which was mouldy. On the last day we stripped the bed to find mattresses and pillows very dirty.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: It was in the gothislc area

Disliked: The room was disgusting. The floor didnt look it was cleaned ever. It was dirty and there was hair everywhere. The bed cover didnt have any sheets and i didnt get a pillow. All the toilets were clogged

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: Complete lack of atmosphere, staff gave little information upon check-in and the hostel activities were poorly organised and expensive.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: cleanliness, location, friendliness

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's relatively modern, it's airy and light coloured. I also appreciated the fact that it wasn't too big nor too noisy (day or night!).A step away from La Rambla and 2 stops from Pl Espanya: Central but quiet. I recommend it!

Disliked: For me, the biggest no-no was the mattress I slept on the first night: so thin, the metal bars from the bed base hurt me and I couldn't sleep properly and woke up sore (for the next night I swapped it for another from an empty bed, but you might not be so lucky!)The showers,though spacious, aren't in the best of shape, the kitchen is too small and there's only one fridge (we had to "fight" for space.(not so much meant as criticism, but rather a request for an update)

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not too expensive, friendly staff, great location, organize a lot of fun activities.

Disliked: The hostel advertises as a youth hostel (at least on the signs outside), but it is in fact far from it. Out of all the hostels we stayed at, it had the highest concentration of people over the age of 45-50 (probably around 40-50% while we were there). A lot of them were very weird too. This significantly detracted from the atmosphere of the hostel. All in all it wouldn't be too bad if they didn't advertise as a youth hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Girls boys amazing friendship

Disliked: Not important things

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location, easy to get to from the train station. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable, the rooms were well equipped, and the whole hostel seemed very well run.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was pretty good ! Near of the Rambla and Metro station. It was clean.

Disliked: The vibe at the hostel was not that good, the fact that there is a lot of old people doesn't help. I had three spanish men in my romm who were openning the lights during the night, talking very loud.

Check Availability