We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sun and Moon Hostel

Hostel | Carrer de Ferran, Barcelona, Spain 08002

74.9% Overall Rating

596 out of 875 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2015)

Natalie zadarko thinks…

"It's in a good location. I found it no problem at 2am alone. The staff are super friendly and really polite."

Read all Sun and Moon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.82
  • Luggage Room USD 2.26
  • Linen USD 2.26
  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note from 4th to the 27th of November the hostel will be under refurbishment. This will mean that in those days no breakfast will be served. We hope this is not too much inconvenience. Please, note card payments will have an extra charge of 5% for each transaction. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

A&A ( Palermo)
39.53 USD

Hostel 78.1% 70 reviews
Kabul Backpackers Hostel
23.72 USD

Hostel 81.3% 1465 reviews
ideal youth hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel 81.4% 23 reviews
Hotel Atlas
70.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sunshine Hostel
22.57 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews
Hotel Dalia Ramblas
53.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 3 reviews
Apartments Bahia
39.53 USD

Apartment 70.9% 157 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
26.35 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

596 out of 875 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sun and Moon Hostel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 470 of 503 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiri Paboucek

29 September 2009 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights in a private double. The location is perfect - right in the middle of everything. The room was very clean with new furniture and nice bathroom, would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Jiri left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tim Buckley

22 September 2009

Liked: Ok if you only need a place to sleep. But I am sure you could find better.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanna Soczewinska

15 September 2009 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, big room to sit down and hang out with new friends :)

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location at a reasonable price. Very clean. Breakfast was great. The "extras" such as towels and sheets, however, were more expensive than other hostels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Met loads of great people in our room and more in the common area. Free interent a bonus!!! And 30 seconds from the ramblas as well as close to all the bars/restaurants/clubs etc. Thanks sun and moon xx

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOHAMAD SHAHRIL ZAINUDDIN

01 September 2009 MOHAMAD SHAHRIL would recommend this property

Liked: everything was good...right in the centre of barca...free wifi...aircon... near carrefour n shopping all around...however staff dont know anything abt barca....you ask them where to go for cheap food n each n every1 of them will tell u they dont know or tell u to go fastfood or supermarket...come on...it's a budget hostel for backpackers....u nid to noe ur stuff....but still it's a good place to stay with the cold aircon n free wifi n smacked in the city...u get out of the hostel....walk few steps n wala...ur at la rambla...

Disliked: MOHAMAD SHAHRIL left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lockers in rooms very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

26 August 2009

Liked: We loved the location, was great to walk straight off our road onto las ramblas. the beds were comfortable, the shower worked but that was about as far as it went!Did not feel like our room was particularly safe, there were three doors between the street and our room, but the door to the room itself even when locked could be kicked open. we weren't offered safety boxes. had a great time in Barcelona nevertheless, and if i couldnt find anywhere else i probably would stay there due to the great location. One of the staff members on reception was really rude when we first arrived but the other one that took over seemed helpful and nice enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 August 2009

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 August 2009

Liked: The central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really great location... gnarly bathrooms if youre into clean...internet costs 2 euro for half an hour cool people...breakfast was free...great staff....would go back....bon voyage

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 August 2009

Liked: breakfast is only between 8 and 9

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Hersman

05 August 2009

Liked: You have to buy sheets, which was not listed on the website. The internet wasn't working on the computers for the majority of my stay. The food was pretty good, and the people were helpful and friendly and the location was excellent.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was alright. Great location wise- just off La Rambla, right near the metro and next door to a great vegie place. Staff were average. The only real problem was that they are very strict with breakfast. It is only served between 8 and 9, when it is promptly whisked away at 9! I came for a holiday and would have liked a bit more a sleep in then worrying about missing breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly, free breakfast and internet, safe, brilliant location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatum O'Halloran

03 August 2009 Tatum would recommend this property

Liked: The sun and moon is in an excellent location, right off la rambla and close enough to the beach! the room has lockers in to ensure safety of belongings. there was free internet access which is brilliant. i was travelling on my own and I met some lovely people and had great roomies. I def would recomment sun and moon!

Disliked: Tatum left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just off las rambles on ferran. you want to be head towards the columbas statue on the left hand side on ramblas you will see kfc and m.donalds on a street coner, thats where you are. irish pubs along the street. free breakfast. very clean, air con you can control yourself, ensuite, big lockers (2euro to activate, you get it back everytime you unlock) vending machines, free internet, kitchen and big dining area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great, except for this one guy that didn't really speak to you - just grumbles at you.Also the free net + PC is great and only young people there! They have "kitchen" facilities. Like a microwave, sink and table room.. which is cool I guess if you are on a really low budget - Spain is cheap when it comes to food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

alex scheikowski

29 July 2009

Liked: The best thing about our stay was that they over booked the hostel so our group of five got a private room across the road. Staff were very unfriendly

Disliked: alex left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has good atmosphere and 24/7 aircon in your dorm that forces you to pay for a blanket if you do not have a sleeping bag. it has good safe central location and great place to meet people. i guess the only drawback is the constant aircon and rude personnel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double room. The stairway to the room was very run down, so we were expecting the same for the room. However we were pleasantly surprised that the room was very clean and nothing looked too old. The room had a good view of the street, which was always bustling with activity. If you're worried about security, the reception desk can safe-keep your valuables with no extra charge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 July 2009

Liked: Firstly the staff were rude and unhelpful. Communal area not a great place to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.