HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel New York Barcelona Hostel

C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 93%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 2.83USD

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL

• The hostel is open 24 hours.
• It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well.
• After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel.
• The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used.
• Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 93%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating


08 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Affordable, good location close to centre, friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Café da manhã era bom.

Disliked: Internet não funcionava e os chuveiros ruins. Não havia privacidade na hora do banho, pois não se podia trancar a porta e a cortina era de plástico, além de o chuveiro desligar a cada 15 segundos.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: nothing

Disliked: no windows only small door to the balcony and the rooms were connected by the balcony so if you want to have fresh air during the night someone from other rooms could come into your room, dirty,not good smelling place, very small rooms, bad beds, no sheets - you need to pay for it, weak breaffast nothing to choose, bad view, very noisy, not in every wc there was a toilet paper, not working showers - the water was going over the shower, when someone was having a shower in all hostel there was big noise coming on the walls, this place need renovation!!!!!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: I liked the way there are computers and breakfast is really good. The chairs are sort of uncomfortable tho,but thats okay.

Disliked: The chairs are uncomfortable..

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and helpfulness of staff, breakfast

Disliked: We were on the top floor and it was ridiculously hot

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to the beach and other touristic places in Barcelona

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was particularly helpful and always giving lots of information. They have luggage storage which is free of charge and they also allowed us to take showers on our last day after we checked out!

Disliked: The breakfast was limited to croissants, cupcakes and bread. I would have liked if there was something fresh - a fruit or a vegetable and maybe some eggs.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is gorgeous

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Clean, near place that I had to go another day, pubs in the area

Disliked: I have arrived ther at night and if I would be alone I migh be even pretty scared of the area and people there. Little streets are as charming as they look like from criminal movie (that is a little bit exaggerated view but you get the point I believe)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, clean and with decent kitchen facilities.

Disliked: If you're after a social hostel/you're a lone traveller, this might not be for you.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability