HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel New York Barcelona Hostel

C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 60%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 78%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 2.80USD

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL

• The hostel is open 24 hours.
• It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well.
• After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel.
• The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used.
• Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 60%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 78%

Value 68%

Showing 51-28 of 28 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was fantastic! It is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the beach, less than 10 minutes from many monuments and sights of interest (where tours meet etc) and close to the metro. The rooms were clean and there was a fan included which was great for the heat. The room also had a balcony which worked out really well for drying our beach stuff.

Disliked: We were under the impression internet woud be available in the rooms but it was only accessible in the lobby but access was still free. Also the free breakfast wasn't overly great but I guess any breakfast is better than nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good staff, ok location. Has elevator (reaaaaaally slow dough)

Disliked: It was so hot we considered sleeping on th beach...

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Like how we were not so much in a tourist area but we could walk to all the main touristy things to do. I came with a male friend, so I didn't feel unsafe roaming the small confusing streets with him. But I would feel a little unease if I was by myself. But again, this location was great for us because we were able to find some really awesome places just around our hostel. If you are wanting a more local feel to your trip this is the place to come to.

Disliked: I really didn't like my room. We had a window, but it faced a brick wall and no fan was provided or offered. It was super hot and everyone kept their doors open so air could possibly circulate. Unfortunately, that really didn't do much and I needed to close the door because it was getting to loud in my hallway.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpfull reception all times.You can get your bed in a 4 beded room for the price that you need to pay in a 8-12 beded dorm elsewhere, so it's a good choice for small group of friends.

Disliked: You will need earplugs!One of the cheapest hostels, so don't expect much, it's not for the picky travellers.It opens from a dodgy dark street, which might be scary for a lonely lady at night.Gets full on the weekends.Boring and very little breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: very noisy inside and outside; the doors of the room didn't lock

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Los propietarios son muy simpaticos. Hablen un ratito con ellos !

Disliked: El desayuno no es extraordinario pero, hay un desayuno incluido.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpfull at hours of the day. The rooms were clean and so was the bathrooms.

Disliked: There is'nt a lot a toilets on each floor

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: My bed squeaked very badly.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Tolle Lage im Gotischen Viertel, gleich am Hafen und an der La Rambla, haben viel zu Fuß erreicht, Bettwäsche und Handtuch nur 2 Euro

Disliked: unser Zimmer war wie im Knast, Stockbett, durchgelegene Matratzen, Spint, Fenster zum Lüftungsschacht raus und kein Stuhl, sehr hellhörig, gemischtes Badezimmer und keine Möglichkeit dieses abzuschließen

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Verry frendly recepcioners, maps, good location, cheep.

Disliked: Small rooms, old PC, undfrendly >, bad beads, noysee place, horrible breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability