We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albergue New York

Hostel | D'en Gignas 6-8, Barcelona, Spain 08002

81.1% Overall Rating

537 out of 656 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

Grete Povilaityte thinks…

"I liked the way there are computers and breakfast is really good. The chairs are sort of uncomfortable tho,but thats okay."

Read all Albergue New York reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL • The hostel is open 24 hours. • It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well. • After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel. • The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used. • Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

No 5 Barcelona Apartments
66.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal NITZS BCN
26.23 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 25 reviews
Barcelona D-Guesthouse
37.38 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 6 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
42.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 152 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
18.77 USD

Hostel 85.9% 677 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
22.47 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews
Kabul Backpackers Hostel
23.61 USD

Hostel 81.3% 1465 reviews
Som Nit Born
42.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

537 out of 656 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albergue New York'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 385 of 465 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything :) but especially the staff.. very friendly and very very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kind staff and good location. also the cleanliness and good price.

Disliked: the fact that the only window opens up as a balcony door which is not a private balcony. the lack of air condition caused us to need to open the balcony door in order to not be too stuffy. we were staying next to a large room of boys next door who would come out on the balcony in the middle of the night and stand right by our room and could see us sleeping inside. this was scary because we did not know them at all and they were drunk and high at night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

CRAIG MORGAN

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010

Liked: You really couldn't find a better location. 5/10 walk to Metro/Beach/La Rambla. Perfect if you are only there for a few days and want to do as much as possible. Somewhere to lay your head at the end of the day. Breakfast was something to put in your belly. Couple of little muffins. Toast (spanish kind though - out of a box, rock hard, almost like a buscuit but strangly tasty). Jam, butter, honey, chocolate spread, peanut butter on offer. Coffee. Orange/pineapple juice.

Disliked: Booked a double room. We ended up in the smallest room i've ever stayed in with a bunk bed, shelf and locker. Really was like a jail cell. Tiled floor. Whitewashed stone wall. Clean though. We chose this hostel cause it was he cheapest we could find. Didn't feel you really got a lot for your money compared with other city hostels we've stay in for a similar price. The dorm rooms we walked passed at least looked spacious with a large window.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well situated, bed and breakfast OK. Too much noise at night inside the hostel (People coming back in the early morning) and no isolation from noise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. very clean and we managed to score a private bathroom which was great. the room was also a 2 person room when we had paid for a 4share dorm, so we were very happy. we requested to stay another night but unfortunatley they were full. The receptionist however recommended, called and booked us into another equally good place. fantastic service and 24hr reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice crew and good location. just the locations seems to be a little dangerous in evening

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was worse than I expected but well, Bcn is quite expensive so it was possibly appropriate for the local price. Toilets were decent. Room could have been better rearranged/decorated to make it a nicer stay, it was just 2 bunk beds and 2 lockers surrounded by 4 white walls. No chair, table or mirror, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: truly spartan conditions, but cheap and in the perfect location, so if you are planning to be spending a few hours daily in hostel just for a sleep, this is very good place for you; and another virtue: free and tasty breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BURAK KAPLAN

03 June 2010 BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed by cleaning. Nice and secure place. Only negative thing is beds werent confortable enough.But still recommended.

Disliked: BURAK left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raquel Gurgel

14 May 2010 Raquel would recommend this property

Liked: it was good for the money. location is great, friendly staff, breakfast is really good and there's a nice kitchen, too. bathrooms are a little scary, though (you can't lock them) but everything was just fine.

Disliked: Raquel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, cheep prizes and you get the perfect barcelona atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, the location is PERFECT!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

JUSTYNA HUMIEJA

06 April 2010

Liked: NIC

Disliked: JUSTYNA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a realy nice place with friendly people..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 February 2010

Liked: maybe it was because i stayed in sant jordi before coming to this place [because sant jordi is incredible] but i'm sure the staff would be friendly or something if i had questions. i saw one of the staffs smile at me but the rest didn't look so friendly. i had a private twin on the 3rd floor; there were 2 showers for the girls and one of them didn't work while the other one was clogged and didn't really have hot water. worst shower ever. the window from my room doesnt open. beds were noisy. wifi was only available downstairs where it was really cold. the computers they offer have a "stallion" system that doesn't have good browser options i needed. breakfast is nice though. and free. stay for a night or 2. not any longer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location; cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Exactly what it says on the tin - good, clean and basic. There's stuff in the kitchen but you'll probably want to bring your own soap & toilet paper.We were a group of 3 and had a 4 person dorm to ourself which was brilliant. However there's not much communal space so might not be so good if you're travelling alone and want to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Catalin Nastase

14 September 2009

Liked: Only 2 showers and 1 toiled for many rooms on a floor. 2/1 for men and 2/1 for women. The men shower room was not available for 1 day. On the breakfast you just receive a plate with 2 pieces of bread and 2 "Magdalene" and some juice/coffee/milk. And you get a very nasty look if you get there at 10:20.The rooms are ok, pretty big, but the ones that sleep on the beds up, take care when you get down. You can easily fall with all the bed :). But the location is very good and this compensate many bad things.

Disliked: Catalin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ZEESHANA KHAN

09 September 2009 ZEESHANA would recommend this property

Liked: Located right in the heart of the Gothic Quarter (10 mins from La Rambla/ 15 mins from the beach) Breakfast was better than some of the places I've been (and its free!) Rooms are basic but the lockers are handy (take your own padlock) Not much of an atmosphere for meeting people but ideal if you just want somewhere to leave your stuff...get ready...go out...come back...and have a decent night's sleep ;)Really helpful staff, especially the lady (Fernanda) Lost my Gucci sunglasses on the day I was due to leave. Not only did they manage to find them, they also arranged for them to be posted back to the UK. Which was nice of them :DReally good for the price overall...would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: ZEESHANA left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 September 2009

Liked: Location is good if you like to be in the central tourist area. We left after a night. Staff are not overtly helpful or friendly. The guy at the front desk on our arrival did not want to give us any of his time, acting way too cool.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

lauren wilkins

04 September 2009

Liked: location was ok but didnt feel safe at night.

Disliked: lauren left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Francis Kruyer

28 July 2009 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: its just a basic hostel for the cheap! but had sleepless nights when being there

Disliked: Francis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very nice, the small and narrow streets of the Barri Gottic are wonderful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 July 2009

Liked: The Location was the only thing I liked about the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.