HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albergue New York

Hostel | D'en Gignas 6-8, Barcelona, Spain 08002

76.0% Overall Rating

518 out of 632 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2014)

"Really cheap yet situated in a great location at Barri Gothic (Accessible to many tourist attractions by foot), Helpful Staff & Clean Hostel. A steal considering the price paid."

Read all Albergue New York reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL • The hostel is open 24 hours. • It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well. • After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel. • The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used. • Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

SHS APARTMENT & HOTEL IN BARCELONA, S.L.
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 3 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
27.19 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 23 reviews
Barcelona D-Guesthouse
46.30 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
52.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 149 reviews
AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel
12.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.8% 484 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
14.51 USD

Hostel 81.9% 648 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 88.2% 96 reviews
Escudellers House
16.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

518 out of 632 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albergue New York'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 440 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CleaninessFree internet

Disliked: - really bad breakfast, you had to buy your own to not feel hungry - no fan in the 4 person dorm, which felt like a sauna! - too expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katherine Manbeck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 August 2010 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient to the beach and shopping. They gave my two friends and I a private room..

Disliked: Breakfast was meager. There was no toilet paper much of the time. You had to push the shower button every 30seconds. The room was stifligly hot!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Susan Lear

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: good location, cheap

Disliked: No airconditioning, very hot!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wietze Feddema

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 August 2010 Wietze would recommend this property

Liked: The location is based in the historic city center of Barcelona. The staff is very helpfull. We had to leave before breakfast time, and the staff made us a special breakfast for free! Definitely a good place to stay!

Disliked: Wietze left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Filippova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 August 2010 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was really easy to meet people! The balconies of the rooms are very close to eachother so its easy just start to talk to some one. Another thing that I liked is that the hostel is VERY close to everything!

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that the rooms had no furniture apart from the beds and very ugly metal cabinets. I was hoping for at least a sink in the room. The common bathroom also kept on running out of toilet paper..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lily Wynne-Jones

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

03 August 2010 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: The location! And the balcony.

Disliked: Nochair to sit on in dorm.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tara Slade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

26 July 2010

Liked: in a good spot, in the gothic area- easy to find 'hidden' places in barcelona off la ramblas.

Disliked: there was a lack of atmosphere- the charis in the commen room are always kept up on the tables so it discourages people to sit and hang out. i left after 2 nights as i was travelling alone and didnt think i'd meet anyone very easitly there

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly.The hostel is a really secure place. You are able to find someone at the reception all the time, even in the middle of the night. the location is perfect. it is on a narrow street in the middle of Barri Gotic which was authentic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is brilliant. 5 mins walk from many attractions. very friendly staff.. staff is obliging too.........

Disliked: cots were small...say 5 feet and 8 inches... they were making a lot of noise.. the table fan was useless... bathroom had a smell.... 25 euros per night was not worth it...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GR Janssen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 July 2010 GR would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff (esp. Adrian and the Chilean girl).Beside that: nice place to stay. Breakfast is OK (albeit slightly little for big guys, but I reckon its ok for girls). Rooms are clean. Beds are not the best, but it slept quite OK.Only atmosphere: it's not really a great place to meet new people. We didnt see too many of them, and the people that were there, werent to keen on meeting new people it seemed.

Disliked: When we first arrived they did not have our reservation in their ' system' (a lot of papers, bound to make errors). After a little hesitation, they found us another place (which could be considered a proper upgrade). After all: they did handle it very good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the location was great and the people who were staying there were fun and friendly!

Disliked: It doesn't have the best showers, but it's fine. Depending on what you expect from a hostel, I thought it was worth what I paid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything :) but especially the staff.. very friendly and very very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kind staff and good location. also the cleanliness and good price.

Disliked: the fact that the only window opens up as a balcony door which is not a private balcony. the lack of air condition caused us to need to open the balcony door in order to not be too stuffy. we were staying next to a large room of boys next door who would come out on the balcony in the middle of the night and stand right by our room and could see us sleeping inside. this was scary because we did not know them at all and they were drunk and high at night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

CRAIG MORGAN

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010

Liked: You really couldn't find a better location. 5/10 walk to Metro/Beach/La Rambla. Perfect if you are only there for a few days and want to do as much as possible. Somewhere to lay your head at the end of the day. Breakfast was something to put in your belly. Couple of little muffins. Toast (spanish kind though - out of a box, rock hard, almost like a buscuit but strangly tasty). Jam, butter, honey, chocolate spread, peanut butter on offer. Coffee. Orange/pineapple juice.

Disliked: Booked a double room. We ended up in the smallest room i've ever stayed in with a bunk bed, shelf and locker. Really was like a jail cell. Tiled floor. Whitewashed stone wall. Clean though. We chose this hostel cause it was he cheapest we could find. Didn't feel you really got a lot for your money compared with other city hostels we've stay in for a similar price. The dorm rooms we walked passed at least looked spacious with a large window.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well situated, bed and breakfast OK. Too much noise at night inside the hostel (People coming back in the early morning) and no isolation from noise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. very clean and we managed to score a private bathroom which was great. the room was also a 2 person room when we had paid for a 4share dorm, so we were very happy. we requested to stay another night but unfortunatley they were full. The receptionist however recommended, called and booked us into another equally good place. fantastic service and 24hr reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice crew and good location. just the locations seems to be a little dangerous in evening

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was worse than I expected but well, Bcn is quite expensive so it was possibly appropriate for the local price. Toilets were decent. Room could have been better rearranged/decorated to make it a nicer stay, it was just 2 bunk beds and 2 lockers surrounded by 4 white walls. No chair, table or mirror, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: truly spartan conditions, but cheap and in the perfect location, so if you are planning to be spending a few hours daily in hostel just for a sleep, this is very good place for you; and another virtue: free and tasty breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BURAK KAPLAN

03 June 2010 BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed by cleaning. Nice and secure place. Only negative thing is beds werent confortable enough.But still recommended.

Disliked: BURAK left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raquel Gurgel

14 May 2010 Raquel would recommend this property

Liked: it was good for the money. location is great, friendly staff, breakfast is really good and there's a nice kitchen, too. bathrooms are a little scary, though (you can't lock them) but everything was just fine.

Disliked: Raquel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, cheep prizes and you get the perfect barcelona atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, the location is PERFECT!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

JUSTYNA HUMIEJA

06 April 2010

Liked: NIC

Disliked: JUSTYNA left no negative feedback.