We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albergue New York

Hostel | D'en Gignas 6-8, Barcelona, Spain 08002

81.1% Overall Rating

537 out of 656 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

Grete Povilaityte thinks…

"I liked the way there are computers and breakfast is really good. The chairs are sort of uncomfortable tho,but thats okay."

Read all Albergue New York reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL • The hostel is open 24 hours. • It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well. • After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel. • The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used. • Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

No 5 Barcelona Apartments
70.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal NITZS BCN
28.16 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 25 reviews
Barcelona D-Guesthouse
37.46 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 6 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
42.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 152 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
14.19 USD

Hostel 85.9% 677 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
22.52 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews
Kabul Backpackers Hostel
20.28 USD

Hostel 81.3% 1465 reviews
Som Nit Born
42.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

537 out of 656 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albergue New York'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 385 of 465 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the proximity to the centre was fantastic- the staff were extremely friendly and willing to help- rooms were basic but functional

Disliked: - problems with the showers on 3rd floor (no hot water) - having students meant that I really needed to have a floor to myself - I was unsure of other guests (especially the ones who shared a balcony with my students and spent all day smoking illegal substances) - would have preferred locks on bathrooms because of the age of my students and my privacy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap but tidy

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Milos Trivanovic

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 September 2010 Milos would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendliness and helpfulness of the staff !

Disliked: With this property everything is ok ! But barcelona have a big problem with thieves on the streets!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Tully

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

21 September 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Close to some good bars and restaurants!

Disliked: Not very sociable atmosphere - limited allowance to use kitchen. Staff don't ask for ID or anything when you ask for room key - so if someone guessed a room number anyone would be let in!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, breakfast included in price.

Disliked: Beds were in very bed condition. The view through the window was on the neighbour wall. Linen not included in price.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Carmen Jiménez Sánchez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: It could be cleaner and the beds are broken.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010

Liked: Nothing, this without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed. The room had previously been a bathroom and you could still se where the fittings had been. The bathroom was filthy. Find yourself somewhere else to stay!!

Disliked: This without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed. The room had previously been a bathroom and you could still se where the fittings had been. The bathroom was filthy. Find yourself somewhere else to stay!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice, but the bathrooms and showers were very strange!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010

Liked: Good localisation (but little bit dangerous) next to bar-shebeen with old rusty boozers

Disliked: If you have other options take them! I stayed there becouse i had to (no free twin bed room in other hostels) . You have to leave your room between 11AM-3PM (cleaning time) but i havent seen anything gatting cleaner and rooms in that hours are wide open to everybody so better get good padlock with you. Also rule about coocking from 8PM-11PM is little bit wierd.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean

Disliked: the breakfast was poor. we expected bread but there wasn't. just simple toasts.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location and the kitchen is great!

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't very good but there's a kitchen so you can always cook your own

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Beata Wardecka

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2010 Beata would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly, the bathrooms were clean and our room mates were funny and the place is well located but that is all. You can sleep there but don't expect more than a bed and a locker in a hot room, without a table or chairs. Just to sleep, go out in the morning and get back late in the evening.

Disliked: Beata left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marlene Breier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

26 August 2010 Marlene would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. I met great, nice people!

Disliked: One shower per floor may be a bit annoying during "rush hour"

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CleaninessFree internet

Disliked: - really bad breakfast, you had to buy your own to not feel hungry - no fan in the 4 person dorm, which felt like a sauna! - too expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katherine Manbeck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 August 2010 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient to the beach and shopping. They gave my two friends and I a private room..

Disliked: Breakfast was meager. There was no toilet paper much of the time. You had to push the shower button every 30seconds. The room was stifligly hot!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Susan Lear

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: good location, cheap

Disliked: No airconditioning, very hot!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wietze Feddema

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 August 2010 Wietze would recommend this property

Liked: The location is based in the historic city center of Barcelona. The staff is very helpfull. We had to leave before breakfast time, and the staff made us a special breakfast for free! Definitely a good place to stay!

Disliked: Wietze left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Filippova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 August 2010 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was really easy to meet people! The balconies of the rooms are very close to eachother so its easy just start to talk to some one. Another thing that I liked is that the hostel is VERY close to everything!

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that the rooms had no furniture apart from the beds and very ugly metal cabinets. I was hoping for at least a sink in the room. The common bathroom also kept on running out of toilet paper..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lily Wynne-Jones

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

03 August 2010 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: The location! And the balcony.

Disliked: Nochair to sit on in dorm.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tara Slade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

26 July 2010

Liked: in a good spot, in the gothic area- easy to find 'hidden' places in barcelona off la ramblas.

Disliked: there was a lack of atmosphere- the charis in the commen room are always kept up on the tables so it discourages people to sit and hang out. i left after 2 nights as i was travelling alone and didnt think i'd meet anyone very easitly there

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly.The hostel is a really secure place. You are able to find someone at the reception all the time, even in the middle of the night. the location is perfect. it is on a narrow street in the middle of Barri Gotic which was authentic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is brilliant. 5 mins walk from many attractions. very friendly staff.. staff is obliging too.........

Disliked: cots were small...say 5 feet and 8 inches... they were making a lot of noise.. the table fan was useless... bathroom had a smell.... 25 euros per night was not worth it...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GR Janssen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 July 2010 GR would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff (esp. Adrian and the Chilean girl).Beside that: nice place to stay. Breakfast is OK (albeit slightly little for big guys, but I reckon its ok for girls). Rooms are clean. Beds are not the best, but it slept quite OK.Only atmosphere: it's not really a great place to meet new people. We didnt see too many of them, and the people that were there, werent to keen on meeting new people it seemed.

Disliked: When we first arrived they did not have our reservation in their ' system' (a lot of papers, bound to make errors). After a little hesitation, they found us another place (which could be considered a proper upgrade). After all: they did handle it very good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the location was great and the people who were staying there were fun and friendly!

Disliked: It doesn't have the best showers, but it's fine. Depending on what you expect from a hostel, I thought it was worth what I paid.