We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albergue New York

Hostel | D'en Gignas 6-8, Barcelona, Spain 08002

78.6% Overall Rating

526 out of 641 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"The hostel was walking distance to the beach. I did not like anything about the hostel itself."

Read all Albergue New York reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL • The hostel is open 24 hours. • It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well. • After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel. • The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used. • Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

SHS APARTMENT & HOTEL IN BARCELONA, S.L.
25.66 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 6 reviews
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
36.34 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal NITZS BCN
33.78 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 24 reviews
Barcelona D-Guesthouse
34.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
48.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.7% 505 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
16.16 USD

Hostel 83.3% 663 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
25.64 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

526 out of 641 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albergue New York'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 378 of 450 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Grimes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastically located, right where everything is. Close to the beach, metro, and Ramblas.

Disliked: I don't really have anything bad to say, to be honest.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: balconies

Disliked: too loud, rooms like prison cells

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The staff were very unfriendly. We had room without window. It was very dirty and noisy in the hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: Our twin room was really puritan: only two beds and a coupboard, small window with the view inside yard (2 x 2 m), but on the same time it was good, we didn't want to spend much time in our room and were mostly outside discovering Barcelona. It is suitable only for sleeping. We didn't like the breakfast, because it was very unhealthy and non-environmental-friendly and too sweet ... nothing to nordic taste and commons. The room charge would include linen instead of breakfast!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011

Liked: Very central, friendly staff, good if you are very short on your budget or come back JUST to sleep in a hostel (I mean JUST to sleep, spending time in a common area before bed is not included in that)

Disliked: Interior is very poor, two-storey metallic beds and a locker, nothing more in a room, no common lounge except for the dinning room with tables and chairs which is not very convenient for waiting, computers with internet just until 11.30 pm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alessandro Olsen

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2011 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing ... so helpful and nice. Location was fantastic and overall just a great place to stay.

Disliked: The rooms were bare and the beds were pretty beat. It's a hostel ... what do you expect??

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: The rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Silvio Banya Lang

Alone

City break

20 February 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: needs renovation

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Juan Fernandez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011

Liked: Very kind and helpful stuff. Good situation, everything is close.

Disliked: Rooms are not very comfortable, and they have very bad appearance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MURIEL VERBOVEN

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 MURIEL would recommend this property

Liked: For me and my friend, our stay in Barcelona wasn't about meeting people, so my rating in that area is not relevant. Our stay was about visiting the wonderful city that is Barcelona, and to indulge in its delicious cuisine. And for that, Albergue New York is nearly perfect. Friendly staff, a very hearty breakfast (that is included in the price), clean sanitary services, and with only 14 euros per person per night (for a private bedroom) we had much of our budget left to spend on eating well. And its central location meant that we only had to use the subway about 3 or 4 times during our 6-day visit. In short: very recommended indeed!

Disliked: If I have to split hairs: A choice of more than just one type of jam during breakfast would have been nice. We had some very loud guests on our floor during one or two nights. Not that this was the hostel staff's fault, ofcourse.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elle Carlsson

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 January 2011 Elle would recommend this property

Liked: Its central location and chilled out staff...

Disliked: its not really pretty...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ali MAGHSOUMI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2011 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: location

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

ALVIN TING SING HUNG

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011

Liked: OFFERS SIMPLE BREAKFAST WITH VERY NICE HOT MILK. ROOM WAS NICE AND CLEAN. RECEPTIONIST SPEAKS ENGLISH. WIFI WAS AVAILABLE IN THE LOBBY AND THERE ARE TWO COMPUTERS YOU CAN USE FREE OF CHARGE ANYTIME.

Disliked: TOILET WAS DIRTY AS IT'S A SHARED BATHROOM. I EVEN SAW USED TAMPONS IN A GUYS TOILET. LOCATION WAS BAD BECAUSE IT IS VERY NARROW AND YOU HAD TO CROSS SOME REALLY DARK AND DANGEROUS STREETS IN ORDER TO REACH. I WAS ALMOST ROBBED WHEN I WAS ON MY WAY BACK TO THE HOSTEL. ADVISE FOR FUTURE TRAVELLERS: IF YOU CAN AFFORD, PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE. BETTER FIND A HOTEL NEAR PLACA DE CATALUNYA OR ALONG LA RAMBLA. IF YOU HAD TO, PLEASE BE CAREFUL AND DO NOT BRING MUCH CASH WITH YOU. PICKPOCKETS ARE EVERYWHERE IN BARCELONA.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gustavo gianotti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011 gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: wifi and pc free!!! Great breakfast! Nice kitchen!!

Disliked: very very bad signal of wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet access is a plus. Good location.

Disliked: Rooms are not cozy, only beds and bare walls without any pictures. Feels like in a prison.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chloe Hay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: The beds were ridiculous, you just role over and one of the wooden beams pops out sinking the mattress (and i am not fat!!) and the breakfast was too much of a sugar fest for me at 8.30 in the morning!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Igor Fedotenkov

Alone

City break

07 December 2010 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great! friendly stuff.

Disliked: the group of Arabs which tried to rob me 50 meters out of the hotel. However, I escaped and everything was Ok.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2010

Liked: very helpfull and friendly stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the proximity to the centre was fantastic- the staff were extremely friendly and willing to help- rooms were basic but functional

Disliked: - problems with the showers on 3rd floor (no hot water) - having students meant that I really needed to have a floor to myself - I was unsure of other guests (especially the ones who shared a balcony with my students and spent all day smoking illegal substances) - would have preferred locks on bathrooms because of the age of my students and my privacy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap but tidy

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Milos Trivanovic

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 September 2010 Milos would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendliness and helpfulness of the staff !

Disliked: With this property everything is ok ! But barcelona have a big problem with thieves on the streets!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Tully

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

21 September 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Close to some good bars and restaurants!

Disliked: Not very sociable atmosphere - limited allowance to use kitchen. Staff don't ask for ID or anything when you ask for room key - so if someone guessed a room number anyone would be let in!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, breakfast included in price.

Disliked: Beds were in very bed condition. The view through the window was on the neighbour wall. Linen not included in price.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Carmen Jiménez Sánchez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: It could be cleaner and the beds are broken.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010

Liked: Nothing, this without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed. The room had previously been a bathroom and you could still se where the fittings had been. The bathroom was filthy. Find yourself somewhere else to stay!!

Disliked: This without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed. The room had previously been a bathroom and you could still se where the fittings had been. The bathroom was filthy. Find yourself somewhere else to stay!!